“购买还是构建”?全新视角解旧难

“购买还是构建?” 全新视角解旧难

作者:Gregor Hohpe,AWS 企业战略分析师

您应购买还是构建核心软件应用程序? 传统而言,高管们在回答此问题时往往遵循一个简单的原则:构建那些可以让业务实现差异化的应用程序,而购买其余的部分。在客户的期望快速变化的今天,IT 决策不像从前那么简单 – 今天的差异化布局决定着企业未来的盈利模式。当您领略到云科技如何为您的 IT 架构带来更多选择后,“购买还是构建”这个问题,或许就不再重要了。

构建的局限

构建的局限

当睿智的高管面对艰难的 IT 抉择时,他们会采用启发法,通过简单的策略或思维过程,来形成判断、做出决定并找到复杂问题解决方案。许多组织使用启发法解答这个关键问题:我们应当购买还是构建核心软件应用程序? 他们使用的简单规则是:如果功能可以让我们的业务实现差异化,我们就应当构建;反之,则应购买。

这是非常好的起点,但 IT 并不那么简单.自建软件存在三大经常被忽视的局限:

机会成本。

从开发人员用在构建定制项目上的时间来看,他们本可将这时间用以开发另一种产品,以产生更多商业价值。因此,您必须同时考虑实际成本,例如员工薪酬和设备,以及或许数倍之多的机会成本。普适的商业软件所具备的经济性,使得您很难在内部以更低的成本构建系统。除非,商业软件中包含大量您并不需要的功能。所幸,那种系统并不常见。

下载电子书
电子书

“购买还是构建?” 全新视角解旧难

有了云技术,这多年来困扰我们的问题终于有了新的答案

商业价值并非仅由软件开发产生。基于一系列功能的定制软件是价值链中的第一个环节。您还需要相匹配的软件生态系统,其中透明度、支持系统和流程敏捷性缺一不可。想像一下您已构建了定制前端,但是后端系统的变化更新却慢得多。在这种情况下,您的软件工程师将会经常做无用功,因为他们不得不等待新功能的交付。又或者是,在为用户提供核心价值的功能上,您的软件有所欠缺。甚至说,想要发现功能的欠缺,您都需具备很高的透明度。同时,您还需要同样高的敏捷性,才能不断更新和完善功能。

投入将持续产生。

许多组织考虑构建自己的软件以实现自由使用 – 换言之,如果您自己构建软件,真的就能随心所欲吗? 并不尽然;因为即使系统是您自建的,您仍会受制于系统的复杂性和资产价值。例如,让系统采纳新技术可能会比直接应用商业软件更加困难。而有限的资源很可能会限制您部署新的功能。

“购买还是构建”的决策并不简单。与每个 IT 决策类似,它需要认真地解读和辨析。做出明智的决策,并不只能靠一刀切的简单规则或探索法。因此,思考是一项投资回报率最高的 IT 活动。

关于作者

Gregor Hohpe
AWS 企业战略分析师

作为 Amazon Web Services 的企业战略分析师,Gregor Hohpe 在其技术平台和组织的转型中向技术领导人提出了建议。凭借他作为新加坡智慧国家研究员和 Allianz SE 首席架构师的经验,他在企业策略与技术决策之间建立了双向联系。他喜欢在自己的书中分享关于架构和架构师的想法,他的著作包括《The Software Architect Elevator》和《Cloud Strategy》。

阅读 Gregor 提供的更多内容 

阅读“购买与构建”博客系列

第 1 部分:三个应当避开的陷阱

许多企业将其 IT 策略固化为“购买与构建决策”:他们购买哪些软件包或系统与他们首选自己构建的那些...
阅读更多 

第 2 部分:划线

企业不能容忍每次需要二选一时都陷入分析数据的繁重工作...
阅读更多 

第 3 部分:从购买到构建

在我深入探索决定购买软件还是内部构建的案例第三部分中,我想描绘组织如何转型...
阅读更多 

第 4 部分:您可能问错了问题

云计算已经显著地改变了现代 IT 运营的方式。不需要为等待预置单个硬件而耗费几周时间...
阅读更多 

联系我们

新闻通讯
Executive Insights 新闻通讯
从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱
订阅新闻通讯 
博客
企业战略博客
向亲自领导云支持转型的高管级领导者学习
阅读博客 
社交媒体
AWS Executive Connection
通过文化、人才和领导力实现创新和转型的观点
在 LinkedIn 上关注我们

Why Buy or Build Might be the Wrong Question

Why ‘Buy or Build?’ Might be the Wrong Question

by Gregor Hohpe, Enterprise Strategist, AWS

Should you buy your core software applications or build them? Traditionally, executives answered this question with a simple rule: build what differentiates the business; buy the rest. In a world of rapidly-shifting customer expectations, IT decisions are no longer quite so simple--today’s differentiator is bound to be tomorrow’s commodity. Learn how cloud technology opens up new choices for your IT architecture and might even make asking the buy-vs-build question unnecessary.

The limitations of building

The limitations of building

When smart executives face difficult IT decisions, they employ heuristics—simple strategies or mental processes that help them form judgments, make decisions, and find solutions to complex problems. Many organizations use a heuristic to answer this critical question: Should we buy our core software applications or build them? The simple rule they use is: If the functionality will differentiate our business, we should build it. But if it doesn’t, we should buy it.

This is a good starting point, but IT isn’t that simple. Self-built software is subject to three limitations that are often ignored:

There is an opportunity cost.

The time your developers spend building a custom project is time they could have invested into generating business value elsewhere, for instance, by working on another product. That’s why you’ll have to account for both their actual costs, such as compensation and equipment, and their opportunity cost, which can be several times as big. The economics of selling commercial software to a broad customer base stacks the odds of building a system cheaper in-house against you. The exception might be commercial software that includes a lot of functionality you don’t need. Fortunately, those kinds of systems are rare.

Download the ebook
ebook

Why ‘Buy or Build?’ Might be the Wrong Question

Thanks to cloud technology, this perennial question has a new answer

Business value isn’t generated by software development alone. Custom software based on a feature list is only the first link in your value chain. You’ll also need a matching ecosystem of transparency, support systems, and agile processes. Imagine you’ve built a custom front end, but your back-end system has a much slower rate of change. In this scenario, your software engineers will be spinning their wheels as they wait for new features to be delivered. Or that your feature list leaves gaps in areas most valuable to users. To even realize that your list is incomplete, you’ll need a high degree of transparency. And to update the list with more useful features, you’ll need an equally high level of agility.

You’re still invested in it.

Many organizations consider building their own software to gain freedom—if you built it, you can do whatever you please, right? Not quite; you’re still bound by the complexity and asset value of a system, just one of your own making. For example, porting your system to new technology might be more difficult than for commercial software. And resource constraints will likely limit the features you can implement.

The simple buy-or-build decision isn’t so simple after all. Like every IT decision, it is subject to careful interpretation and nuance. To make a good decision takes a lot more than a simple rule or heuristic. That’s why thinking is an IT activity with one of the highest returns on investment.

About the author

Gregor Hohpe
Enterprise Strategist, AWS

In his role as Enterprise Strategist at Amazon Web Services, Gregor Hohpe advises technology leaders in the transformation of both their technology platform and their organization. Drawing on his experience as Smart Nation Fellow to the Singapore government and as Chief Architect at Allianz SE, he connects the corporate strategy with technical decision making and vice versa. He enjoys sharing his thoughts on architecture and architects in his books, including The Software Architect Elevator and Cloud Strategy.

Read more from Gregor 

Read the Buy vs. Build Blog Series

Part 1: Three Traps to Avoid

Many enterprises anchor their IT strategy on buy vs. build decisions: what software packages or systems they buy versus which ones they prefer to build themselves...
Read more 

Part 2: Drawing the Line

Enterprises can’t afford to fall into analysis paralysis every time they need to choose left or right...
Read more 

Part 3: From Having Bought to Going to Build

In my third installment on digging deeper into deciding between buying software and building it in house, I want to describe how organizations can transition...
Read more 

Part 4: You Might Be Asking the Wrong Question

Cloud computing has dramatically changed the way modern IT operates. Rather than wait several weeks for someone to provision a single piece of hardware...
Read more 

Connect with us

Newsletter
Executive Insights Newsletter
Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS delivered to your inbox
Subscribe to the newsletter 
Blog
Enterprise Strategy Blog
Learn from executive leaders who have personally led cloud-powered transformation
Read the blog 
Social
AWS Executive Connection
Perspectives on enabling innovation and transformation through culture, talent, and leadership
Follow us on LinkedIn