长期保持“第 1 天文化”

长期保持“第 1 天文化”

与 Amazon 人力资源高级 VP Beth Galetti 以及 AWS 人力资源首席宣传官 Stephen Brozovich 的对话。

AWS 人力资源高级 VP Beth Galetti 和 AWS 人力资源首席宣传官 Stephen Brozovich 探讨了 AWS 经历的重要成长,在此过程中遇到了维护创新文化的挑战和机遇。在本次聚焦中,他们将会揭示:“第 1 天文化”对于 Amazon 的意义,出现“第 2 天文化”的迹象,以及 Amazon 如何从客户和公司的角度去维持“第 1 天文化”。

“

如果您创造出这种文化,其将每天推动公司在业务各个方面寻求新的突破,从而让客户满意 – 这样的文化会推动以客户为中心的创新。”

成功从第 1 天开始

成功从第 1 天开始

“第 1 天”是我们用来描述 Amazon 文化的术语。一种“客户至上”的文化! 我们提倡敏捷性和创新,制定正确的机制和运营模式,为我们的客户提供优质、快速的决策。我们打破常规。我们勇于探索。我们追寻能够改变世界运作方式的伟大新理念,从而为我们提供新的机会来为客户服务。我们在 Amazon 的每一天都是“第 1 天”。

“

客户正在当下使用产品的时候,我们就已经在构想未来一到两年后的世界了。"

“第 1 天文化”为何重要?

“第 1 天文化”为何重要?

公司可以通过许多途径展开创新、进行扩张。您可以专注于竞争对手,研发新技术,围绕着商业模式或其他方法展开创新。在 Amazon,我们选择以客户为中心。正如杰夫·贝索斯(Jeff Bezos)在 2017 年致客户的股东信中所提到的,我们之所以这样做是因为“客户永不满足,始终追求更好的东西。昨日的惊艳很快会变成了今日的平凡。如果您创造出这种文化,其将每天推动公司在业务各个方面寻求新的突破,从而让客户满意 – 这样的文化会推动以客户为中心的创新。

奉行“第 1 天文化”的公司必须找到一种方法,在应对客户的短期需求的同时,保持长远的眼光。将您的注意力集中在为客户提供长期价值上。追求利润率、生产力、收入目标等内部指标没有问题,但请记住,短期思维会对创新能力造成直接影响。

Amazon 的文化基因

  1. 奉行客户至上。
  2. 建立与维护正确的机制,以保持“第 1 天文化”。
  3. 始终做出优质、快速的决策。
  4. 勇于探索,打破常规。顺势而为。
  5. 乐意承担风险、接受失败,再从失败中吸取教训。
  6. 客户正在当下使用产品的时候,构想未来一到两年后的世界。
“

第 2 天文化”意味着停滞,紧接着是无关紧要的事物,然后是经历痛苦的衰退,最终迎接死亡。”

– 杰夫·贝索斯

“第 2 天文化”不是一夜之间形成的

“第 2 天文化”不是一夜之间形成的

在公司发展的过程中,我们往往需要做出调整,从而在大规模企业中实现高效的管理。这一点在公司上市以后会变得更加困难。在您进行调整的同时,致命的“第 2 天文化”要素会蔓延开来,并且随着短期思维的增加而逐渐显现。很多时候,公司的活动会将重点从客户长期满意度这样的硬性措施转移到取悦股东的短期目标上。各类活动应接不暇,所有员工都很忙碌,但是整体趋势却是以短期目标为中心,而这会扼杀创新和长期思维。

“

我们致力于开展以客户为中心的创新,开拓能够创造惊喜和愉悦客户体验的解决方案。从而解决他们已经知晓的问题,甚至是尚未发现问题。”

如何杜绝“第 2 天文化”

如何杜绝“第 2 天文化”

客户正在当下使用产品的时候,构想未来一到两年后的世界。当今世界,公司必须保持高度警觉,长期以客户为中心,抵制会对快速创新能力形成阻碍的做法。

为了保持“第 1 天文化”,您需要设法付出更重、更大胆的赌注。这自然可能导致更加重大的失败。每次失败都是为客户创造更好事物的机会。创造这样的一种环境:让失败推动改进,而不是招致惩罚。

“

如果失败的规模没有跟着增长,就无法取得真正有进展的进步。”

– 杰夫·贝索斯

分享这个故事


Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素
文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

Amazon 第 1 天文化的要素

把“第一天”付诸实践,需要长期保持关注、对客户执着,以及大胆的创新
阅读更多 
借助领导力原则引领和创新
文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

借助领导力原则引领和创新

随着公司壮大,CEO 们经常会面临关于如何扩展其跨团队、地域和计划领导能力的挑战
阅读更多 
以客户为中心的创新势在必行
文章 | 阅读需时 7 分钟

以客户为中心的创新势在必行

业务的发展速度、技术的进步和细分市场的转变迫切需要在不断变化的客户需求和要求之前进行创新
阅读更多 

联系我们

新闻通讯
Executive Insights 新闻通讯
从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱
订阅新闻通讯 
博客
企业战略博客
向亲自领导云支持转型的高管级领导者学习
阅读博客 
社交媒体
AWS Executive Connection
通过文化、人才和领导力实现创新和转型的观点
在 LinkedIn 上关注我们

Sustaining a Day 1 Culture

Sustaining a Day 1 Culture

A conversation with Beth Galetti, Senior VP of HR, and Stephen Brozovich, Principal Evangelist with AWS HR.

Beth Galetti (AWS Senior VP of HR) and Stephen Brozovich (AWS Principal Evangelist HR) discuss the significant growth AWS has experienced, which has created challenges and opportunities in maintaining an innovative culture. In this spotlight, they will uncover: What a “Day 1 Culture” means at Amazon, signs of a Day 2 Culture, and how Amazon ensures a “Day 1 Culture” is maintained for their customers and company.

Quote

If you create a culture that pushes itself to look for new ways to delight customers every single day, in all parts of your business, it will drive you to invent on their behalf.”

Success begins at Day 1

Success begins at Day 1

Day 1 is a term we use to describe our culture at Amazon. A culture obsessed with our customers! We promote agility, innovation and produce the right mechanisms and operating models to enable high-quality and high-velocity decision-making for our customers. We disrupt. We are experimental. We dream up big new ideas that may change the way the world works and give us new opportunities to deliver for our customers. Day 1 is day only for us at Amazon.

Quote

We're envisioning a world one to two years in the future where the customers are using the product now.”

Why is a Day 1 culture important?

Why is a Day 1 culture important?

There are certainly many ways companies can approach innovation and scaling. You can focus on your competitors, invent new technologies, innovate around business models or other approaches. At Amazon, we’ve chosen to center our approach on our customers. We do this because, as Jeff Bezos said in his 2017 shareholders letter to customers, “Customers are always divinely discontent, and will always want something better. Yesterday’s wow quickly becomes today’s ordinary. If you create a culture that pushes itself to look for new ways to delight customers every single day, in all parts of your business, it will drive you to invent on their behalf.

Day 1 companies have to find a way to maintain a long-term perspective while responding to the short-term needs of the customer. Center your focus on delivering value to the customer over the long term. Internal metrics like margins, productivity, and revenue targets are fine, but keep in mind, short-term thinking has a direct impact on the ability to invent.

The Cultural DNA of Amazon

  1. Be customer obsessed.
  2. Build and maintain the right mechanisms to retain a Day 1 culture.
  3. Make high-quality and high-velocity decisions every time.
  4. Be experimental and disruptive. Embrace trends.
  5. Be willing to take risks and fail, then learn from those failures.
  6. Envision a world one to two years in the future where customers are using your product now.
Quote

Day 2 is stasis followed by irrelevance, followed by excruciating painful decline, followed by death."

—Jeff Bezos

A Day 2 culture doesn’t happen overnight

A Day 2 culture doesn’t happen overnight

As a company grows, there is often a need to adjust to effectively manage an organization at scale. This gets even harder when a company goes public. As you adjust, the dreadful Day 2 Culture elements may creep in slowly and manifest with increased short-term thinking. Too often, the activity shifts focus from the hard measure things like long-term customer delight to short-term targets that keep shareholders happy. There may be a lot of activity, everybody is really busy, but the movement is centered around short-term objectives, which suffocates innovation and long-term thinking.

Quote

We work to invent on the customer's behalf to identify solutions that will create a surprise and delightful customer experience. To address their issues they know now, or maybe haven’t thought of yet.”

How to keep a Day 2 culture at bay

How to keep a Day 2 culture at bay

Envision a world one to two years in the future where customers are using your product now. In today’s world, a company must be hyper-vigilant, remain long-term customer-focused, and repel practices that prevent the ability to innovate rapidly.

To remain a Day 1 Culture, you need to find ways to take bigger and bolder bets. This naturally opens the door for bigger and more prominent failures. Every failure is an opportunity to create something better for customers. Create an environment where failure drives improvement, not punishment.

Quote

If the size of your failures isn’t growing, you’re not going to be inventing at a size that can actually move the needle.”

—Jeff Bezos

Share this story


Element of Amazon's Day 1 Culture
Article | 7 min read

Elements of Amazon’s Day 1 Culture

Putting "Day 1" into practice relies on maintaining a long-term focus, obsessing over customers, and bold innovation
Read more 
Leading and Innovating with Leadership Principles
Article | 7 min read

Leading and Innovating with Leadership Principles

As companies grow, CEOs are often challenged with how to scale their leadership across teams, geographies and initiatives
Read more 
The Imperatives of Customer-Centric Innovation
Article | 7 min read

The Imperatives of Customer-Centric Innovation

The pace of business, advances in technology, and shifts in market segments create an acute need to innovate ahead of constantly changing customer needs and demands
Read more 

Connect with us

Newsletter
Executive Insights Newsletter
Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS delivered to your inbox
Subscribe to the newsletter 
Blog
Enterprise Strategy Blog
Learn from executive leaders who have personally led cloud-powered transformation
Read the blog 
Social
AWS Executive Connection
Perspectives on enabling innovation and transformation through culture, talent, and leadership
Follow us on LinkedIn