使用 AWS Service Catalog,我可以在 10 分钟内准备好一个新管道,而不用花费数天的时间手动构建。
James Martin 3M Health Information Systems 自动化工程经理
  • 3M HIS 简介

    3M Health Information Systems (HIS) 是全球科学公司 3M 的子公司,旨在帮助提供商、付款人和政府机构预测不断变化的医疗保健局势并予以引导。3M HIS 提供用于医疗保健性能评估、管理和分析的战略性服务和解决方案,帮助超过 5000 家客户从数量导向的医疗保健转换到价值导向的医疗保健,从而帮助它们降低成本、提升性能和提高护理质量。3M HIS 软件专注于创新型计算机辅助编码、临床记录改善、性能监控、结果报告和术语管理。

  • 使用的服务

  • 获得的优势

    • 预置时间从数天缩短至 10 分钟
    • AWS CloudFormation 模板创建一致且合规的管道
    • 预置速度更快、客户反馈周期更短且销售就绪时间更短

几年前,3M HIS 决定缩减 IT 运营开销,以便能更专注于医疗保健分析这个核心业务。为此,该公司将应用程序从其很多本地 IT 中心和并置环境迁移到了 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云中。

此后,3M HIS 将传统的瀑布式应用程序生命周期管理方法转变成了敏捷方法,目的是实现持续集成和持续交付 (CI/CD)。“我们全部重新开始以消除创新壁垒,这样才能帮助研究人员、科学家和开发人员更快速地构建和部署新的应用程序并为我们的客户带来最大价值。”3M HIS 自动化工程经理 James Martin 说道。但即使该公司向 CI/CD 的初步探索初显成功,但仍有新的挑战需要克服。

“基础设施预置和软件部署均需要由中央运营团队执行。”Martin 说道,“这个流程在很大程度上需要人工干预,会带来风险,也会因运营工作积压而很容易出现延迟。当然,如果出现错误,调试所花费的时间甚至更多。我们希望加快这一流程的执行速度,进一步实现产品团队的自治。但首先,我们要确保能始终维持良好的监管和控制。”

3M HIS 需要一个解决方案来帮助它消除由手动预置开发管道造成的瓶颈,同时还满足关键的监管和控制要求。

为了这个项目,3M HIS 向被指定为核心级咨询合作伙伴和 AWS 公共部门合作伙伴的 AWS 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 成员寻求了帮助。3M HIS 选择的公司还具备 AWS 金融服务和 DevOps 能力,并且其员工获得了 100 多项 AWS 认证。“利用 APN,我们能够找到专门帮助其客户在 AWS 上执行 DevOps 转型和 CI/CD 且业绩累累的公司。”Martin 说道。

项目团队使用 AWS Service CatalogAWS CloudFormation 模板通过 AWS CodePipeline 和 基于 Jenkins 的 CI/CD 平台提升 3M HIS 团队的自治性。使用 AWS Service Catalog,3M HIS 只需点击几下即可创建、管理和监管可预置开发管道的 AWS CloudFormation 模板。这些管道经过了预配置,适用于特定团队和目的,并且符合组织的信息安全策略。3M HIS 使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 分配特定于团队的角色.这些角色仅具有每个团队执行工作所需的最少权限,从而防止应用程序遭到未经授权的更改。

未来,3M HIS 将新增 AWS Lambda,这是一款基于函数的无服务器计算产品,可运行代码来响应事件。“我们正致力于实现完全自动化的自助场景,在这个场景中,团队能够通过 Web 表格提交请求。”Martin 说道,“AWS Lambda 将负责监控审批,然后执行 API 调用来满足请求。”

通过将 AWS Service Catalog 添加到 CI/CD 平台,3M HIS 减少了瓶颈,更严格地遵循了其监管和控制要求,并向完全自动化的管道预置前进了一大步。“最大的优势是我们节省了大量时间。”Martin 说道,“使用 AWS Service Catalog,我可以在 10 分钟内准备好一个新管道,而不用花费数天的时间手动构建。这意味着,新应用程序的启动时间更少,而在部署应用程序后客户反馈周期更短。”

另外,在跨管道和开发周期实现一致性之后,3M HIS 也从中受益匪浅。“因为我们预先批准了 AWS Service Catalog 启动的 AWS CloudFormation 模板,所以知道每个人都会在适当的领域内工作。”Martin 说道,“AWS CloudFormation 模板还能帮助我们避免手动配置错误,后续无需花费大量时间执行调试工作。”

Martin 表示:很显然,AWS Service Catalog 在向 DevOps 文化成功转变的过程中发挥着重要作用。“AWS Service Catalog 与我们的敏捷方法和 CI/CD 流程的关系非同小可。”Martin 说道,“尤其是对像我们这样复杂的全球组织来说,AWS Service Catalog 和 AWS CloudFormation 模板结合能降低 DevOps 学习难度,更轻松地使产品团队实现自助自动化。”

Barracuda 徽标

Stelligent 在 Amazon Web Services 上提供 DevOps 自动化功能,让工程团队有时间专注于创建用户喜欢的软件。作为具备 DevOps 能力的 APN 核心级咨询合作伙伴,Stelligent 能提供更高的敏捷性、更高的置信度和更大的成本节约,因此,客户可以更快速地部署软件并实现更高的一致性。

有关 Stelligent 可如何帮助贵公司构建并管理 AWS 环境的更多信息,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 Stelligent 列表。

了解有关 AWS Service Catalog 的更多信息。

了解有关 3M 如何使用 AWS 实现自治性和监管的更多信息。

了解有关 3M HIS 如何使用 AWS 扩展和每天处理数百万条电子记录的更多信息。

By using AWS Service Catalog, I can have a new pipeline ready in 10 minutes, instead of needing days to build it manually.
James Martin Manager of Automation Engineering, 3M Health Information Systems
  • About 3M HIS

    3M Health Information Systems (HIS), a division of the global science company 3M, helps providers, payers, and government agencies anticipate and navigate the changing healthcare landscape. 3M HIS provides strategic services and solutions for healthcare performance measurement, management, and analysis that help its more than 5,000 clients reduce costs, improve performance, and raise the quality of care by shifting from volume-based to value-based healthcare. 3M HIS software focuses on innovative computer-assisted coding, clinical documentation improvement, performance monitoring, outcomes reporting, and terminology management.

  • Services Used

  • Benefits realized

    • Provisioning time cut from days to 10 minutes
    • AWS CloudFormation templates create consistent, compliant pipelines
    • Faster provisioning speeds customer feedback loops and time to market

Several years ago, 3M HIS decided to decrease its IT operational overhead so it could focus more intently on its core business--healthcare analytics. To this end, the company transitioned applications from its many on-premises IT centers and collocated environments into the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud.

Following this transition, 3M HIS transformed its application-lifecycle management from a traditional waterfall approach to an agile methodology, with the goal of enabling continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD). "We started reworking everything to eliminate barriers to innovation, so we could help our researchers, scientists, and developers build and deploy new applications even faster and bring the most value possible to our customers," says James Martin, manager of automation engineering at 3M HIS. But even as the company's initial steps toward CI/CD showed promise, there were new challenges to overcome.

"Infrastructure was being provisioned and software was being deployed by a central operations team,” says Martin. "It was largely a human-involved process that introduced risk and was prone to delays because of operational backlog. And, of course, if errors were introduced, debugging them would eat up even more time. We wanted to speed this process up so we could move closer to autonomy for our product teams, but first, we had to ensure we could maintain good governance and controls at all times.”

3M HIS needed a solution that could help it eliminate the bottleneck created by manual provisioning of development pipelines while adhering to crucial governance and control requirements.

For assistance with this project, 3M HIS turned to an AWS Partner Network (APN) member designated as a Premier Consulting Partner and an AWS Public Sector Partner. The company 3M HIS selected also holds AWS Financial Services and DevOps competencies, and its employees have more than 100 AWS certifications. “By taking advantage of APN, we were able to find a company that specializes in and has a strong track record helping its customers with DevOps transformation and CI/CD on AWS," says Martin.

The project team used AWS Service Catalog and AWS CloudFormation templates to improve the autonomy of 3M HIS teams using the AWS CodePipeline and Jenkins-based CI/CD platform. Using AWS Service Catalog, 3M HIS creates, manages, and governs AWS CloudFormation templates that provision development pipelines in just a few clicks. These pipelines are preconfigured for specific teams and purposes, in compliance with the organization’s information security policies. 3M HIS protects against unauthorized application changes by using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to assign team-specific roles with the fewest privileges necessary for each team to do its work.

In the future, 3M HIS will add AWS Lambda, a function-based serverless compute product that runs code in response to events. "We're working toward a fully automated, self-service scenario in which a team submits a request through a web form,” says Martin. “AWS Lambda will monitor for approvals and then make API calls to fulfill the request."

By adding AWS Service Catalog to its CI/CD platform, 3M HIS reduced bottlenecks, strengthened compliance with its governance and control requirements, and took a big step toward fully automated pipeline provisioning. "The biggest benefit is how much time we are saving," says Martin. "By using AWS Service Catalog, I can have a new pipeline ready in 10 minutes, instead of needing days to build it manually. That means less startup time for new apps and much faster feedback loops with customers once the applications are deployed."

3M HIS is also benefiting from the consistency it can now impose across its pipelines and development cycles. "Because we've preapproved the AWS CloudFormation templates that AWS Service Catalog is launching, we know everyone will be working inside the right guardrails," says Martin. "AWS CloudFormation templates also help us avoid manual configuration errors that would need a lot of debugging work later."

Martin says it’s clear AWS Service Catalog plays a key role in enabling successful shifts to a DevOps culture. "It's hard to overstate how relevant AWS Service Catalog is to our agile methodologies and CI/CD processes," says Martin. "Especially for complex, global organizations like ours, AWS Service Catalog with AWS CloudFormation templates can flatten the DevOps learning curve and make it much easier to provide product teams with self-service automation."

Stelligent logo

Stelligent provides DevOps automation on Amazon Web Services, freeing engineering teams to focus on creating software that users love. As an APN Premier Consulting Partner with the DevOps Competency, Stelligent delivers increased agility, confidence, and cost savings so customers can realize faster, more consistent software deployment.

For more information about how Stelligent can help your company build and manage your AWS environment, see Stelligent’s listing in the AWS Partner Directory.