3M HIS 不属于 IT 行业,而是一家医疗保健分析公司。我们把 IT 运营交给 AWS 处理,让研发团队能够专注于医疗保健科学。对于我们来说,这意味着支持我们应对医疗保健行业的成本和质量挑战的是分析,而不是 IT。
David Frazee 首席技术官
3M_thumbnail
2:27
了解 3M Health Information Systems 如何每天使用 AWS 扩展和处理数百万条电子记录。

3M Health Information Systems (3M HIS) 总部位于犹他州盐湖城,是全球最大的医疗保健行业软件提供商之一。美国的各大医院均使用该公司的 3M 360 Encompass System 整合其临床文件和编码工作流。该公司为全球 20 多个国家/地区的 7500 多家医院提供解决方案。

3M HIS 的软件解决方案是许多机构的医疗保健系统工作流的关键部分。“我们的应用程序是患者、医疗保健提供商和付款人之间的纽带。3M Health Information Systems 首席技术官 David Frazee 表示。“解决方案的一个核心部分采用自然语言处理来自动创建医疗代码,这对于临床医生和医疗保健服务的提供至关重要。提供商可以使用我们的软件解决方案高效管理其销售与收款过程,也可以使用结果来识别临床文件中的缺陷,并自动推荐措施来消除缺陷。”

3M HIS 以前采用多个 IT 中心和托管环境来支持其软件解决方案。但是这种方法带来了巨大的挑战。例如,某些活动在一天中某些时间段需要更多计算和存储容量。“我们每天约有 18 个小时以峰值处理容量运行”,3M Health Information Systems 高级技术经理 Rick Austin 表示。“在剩余的六小时和周末期间,我们处理的容量非常少,但仍要管理和维护未使用的底层计算环境并支付费用。我们无法高效应对与各种工作负载相关的起伏。”

另外,3M Health Information Systems 还需要敏捷性来更快速地开发和部署新应用程序。“我们不能像预期的那样为研究人员、科学家和开发人员提供充分支持”,Austin 表示。“我们希望奠定必要的基础,以便减少或消除影响 HIS 创新速度的因素。”

3M Health Information Systems 发现,迁移到云是应对挑战的最佳方式。“我们知道,云是获得客户希望 3M 提供的可扩展性、速度和安全性的唯一方法”,Austin 说道。3M HIS 考虑过构建自己的私有云和使用云提供商的解决方案,其中包括 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。经过全面分析后,3M HIS 发现,AWS 的基础设施和性能最能满足他们的需求。“在不改变代码的情况下,我们的一个关键流程在 AWS 上的运行效率比在任何其他平台上的效率高 20%”,Frazee 说道。

选择 AWS 后,3M HIS 开始将多个重要应用程序迁移到 AWS 云中。3M HIS 与 AWS 专业服务紧密合作,而这一服务可以提供加快迁移速度所需的专业架构和配置指导。“AWS 专业服务在迁移过程中发挥了重要作用”,Austin 表示。“预置服务器是一回事,而配置符合严格安全要求的环境是另一回事。如果没有 AWS 专业服务的帮助,这项工作会非常困难。”

3M HIS 的应用程序运行在数百个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上,并使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)。3M HIS 还使用 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 来帮助其操作和扩展其关系数据库部署。

此外,3M HIS 还利用 AWS 托管的 CodeCommit 源代码控制服务来托管私有 Git 存储库,利用 AWS CodeDeploy 来自动执行部署,并利用 AWS CloudFormation 实现基础设施自动化。这些举措都是对开发运营文化(包括使用 AWS CodePipeline 管理其持续集成和持续交付部署工作流)的支持。3M HIS 还使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来满足一部分监管要求和安全要求。

虽然 3M Health Information Systems 采用了多云战略并会继续在其他数据中心托管一些应用程序,但其仍然计划在未来几个月内更多地依赖 AWS。“我们在未来几个月会将另外十几个应用程序和服务迁移到 AWS”,Frazee 说道。“我们认为云是最安全、可扩展性最高并且最经济高效的运行位置。”

通过在 AWS 上运行应用程序,3M HIS 可以轻松扩展或缩减,而无需提前数月购买和预置服务器。“服务器预置流程以前需要 10 周或更长时间,但使用 AWS 之后便减少到了几分钟”,Austin 说道。“这让我们每天都能够灵活地进行多次扩展。我们按需付费。我们不再需要管理不必要的峰值计算容量,也不再需要为其支付费用。最近,我们的一位客户请求进行大量处理,而我们只是在 AWS 上额外启动了 200 个服务实例就满足了客户的要求。处理完大量工作负载后,我们就关闭了这些实例。”

使用 AWS 服务还可以提高开发人员的效率,让该公司加快创新步伐。“使用 AWS CodeDeploy 和 CodeCommit,我们能够更轻松、更快速地构建应用程序环境和管理应用程序”,Austin 说道。“依靠 AWS,我们能够充分支持持续集成和部署管道,这大大提高了我们的开发效率。使用 AWS,我们的部署时间从六周缩短到一周,预计很快就能在每天完成多项部署。”

3M HIS 不断将更多应用程序迁移到 AWS,致力于客户创建和实施创新型医疗保健软件。“3M HIS 不属于 IT 行业,而是一家医疗保健分析公司”,Frazee 说道。“我们把 IT 运营交给 AWS 处理,让研发团队能够专注于医疗保健科学。对于我们来说,这意味着支持我们应对医疗保健行业的成本和质量挑战的是分析,而不是 IT。”

了解有关 AWS 如何帮助您管理医疗保健应用程序的更多信息。

3M HIS is not in the IT business. Rather, we are a healthcare-analytics company. We are getting out of IT operations, and by going to AWS, we can focus our R&D team on the science of healthcare. For us that means analytics rather than IT, enabling us to attack the healthcare industry’s cost and quality challenges.
David Frazee Chief Technology Officer
3M_thumbnail
2:27
Learn how 3M Health Information Systems uses AWS to scale and process millions of electronic records per day.

3M Health Information Systems (3M HIS), based in Salt Lake City, Utah, is one of the world’s largest providers of software for the healthcare industry. Hospitals throughout the United State use the company’s 3M 360 Encompass System to integrate their clinical documentation and coding workflows. The organization provides solutions in more than 20 countries and 7,500 hospitals worldwide.

3M HIS's software solutions are a critical part of the healthcare-system workflow for many organizations. “Our applications are the glue between patients, healthcare providers, and payers,” says David Frazee, chief technology officer of 3M Health Information Systems. “A core part of the solution uses natural-language processing to automatically create medical codes, which are critical to both clinicians and the business of healthcare delivery. Providers use our software solutions to efficiently manage their revenue-cycle operations, but can also use the results to identify deficiencies in clinical documentation and automatically recommend measures to eliminate them.”

Previously, 3M HIS relied on multiple IT centers and collocated environments to support its software solutions. However, this approach led to major challenges. For example, certain activities required more compute and storage capacity at certain hours of the day. “We spend approximately 18 hours per day processing at peak capacity,” says Rick Austin, manager of Advanced Technology at 3M Health Information Systems. “During the remaining six hours per day, as well as weekends, we were processing significantly off-peak, but still had to manage, maintain, and pay for the underlying unused compute environment during those times. We lacked the ability to efficiently support that ebb and flow associated with our various workloads.”

3M Health Information Systems also needed the agility to develop and deploy new applications faster. “Our ability to adequately support our researchers, scientists, and developers was not where it needed to be,” Austin says. “We wanted to lay the foundation necessary to reduce or eliminate barriers needed to increase the speed of innovation at HIS.”

3M Health Information Systems determined that moving to the cloud was the best way to address its challenges. “We knew the cloud was the only way to get the scalability, speed, and security our customers expect from 3M,” says Austin. The organization considered building its own private cloud and using solutions from cloud providers, including Amazon Web Services (AWS). After a thorough analysis, 3M HIS found AWS to have the best infrastructure and performance to meet its needs. “One of our key processes operated 20 percent more efficiently on AWS than on any other platform, without changing our code,” Frazee says.

After choosing AWS, 3M HIS began migrating several important applications to the AWS Cloud. The organization worked closely with AWS Professional Services, which provided the expert architecture and configuration guidance required to accelerate the migration. “AWS Professional Services played an important role in the migration,” says Austin. “It’s one thing to provision servers, but it’s another to configure an environment that complies with strict security requirements. This would have been very difficult without the assistance from AWS Professional Services.”

3M HIS's applications run on hundreds of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and use Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). 3M HIS also uses Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS), which helps the organization operate and scale its relational database deployments.

Additionally, 3M HIS leverages the AWS-managed CodeCommit source-control service to host private Git repositories, AWS CodeDeploy to automate deployment, and AWS CloudFormation to automate infrastructure—all supporting a DevOps culture that includes using AWS CodePipeline to manage its continuous integration and continuous delivery deployment workflows. 3M HIS also meets a portion of its regulatory and security requirements by using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM).

Although 3M Health Information Systems employed a multi-cloud strategy and continues to host some applications in other data centers, it plans to rely more on AWS in the coming months. “We will move an additional dozen applications and services to AWS in the coming months,” says Frazee. “We see the cloud as the safest, most scalable, and most cost effective place to operate.”

By running its applications on AWS, 3M HIS can easily scale up or down without needing to acquire and provision servers months in advance. “The server-provisioning process used to take us 10 weeks or more, but it’s down to minutes using AWS,” says Austin. “That gives us the flexibility to support the scaling events we experience several times per day. We pay for what we need when we need it. We no longer need to pay for and manage unnecessary peak compute capacity. We recently had a customer request a large volume of processing, and we simply spun up an additional 200 instances of our service on AWS. When the large workload completed, we just turned off those instances.”

The organization is also able to innovate faster by using AWS services to increase developer efficiency. “We can more easily and quickly build our application environments and manage our applications by using AWS CodeDeploy and CodeCommit,” says Austin. “We are fully supporting our continuous integration and deployment pipelines by relying on AWS, and that has really boosted our development efficiency. Using AWS, we’ve gone from deployments taking six weeks to one per week, and very soon we expect that to be multiple deployments per day.”

As it continues to migrate more of its applications to AWS, 3M HIS expects to create and implement innovative new healthcare software for its customers. “3M HIS is not in the IT business. Rather, we are a healthcare-analytics company,” says Frazee. “We are getting out of IT operations, and by going to AWS, we can focus our R&D team on the science of healthcare. For us that means analytics rather than IT, enabling us to attack the healthcare industry’s cost and quality challenges.”

Learn more about how AWS can help you manage your healthcare applications.