AbiBird 使用 AWS 帮助老年人在家独立生活

AbiBird

借助技术帮助老年人在家独立生活

AbiBird 是 ATF Services 的全资子公司,后者是一家澳大利亚集团公司,拥有 350 名员工和合同工,在澳大利亚和新西兰设有 60 个分公司。AbiBird 提供的服务由家用红外传感器组成,它有助于通过基于智能手机的应用程序监控老年人群的活动。这些传感器经过设置,可监控老人年的日常行为活动,如在特定时间起床吃早餐或上床睡觉。当日常行为发生改变或者在一段时间内未检测到任何活动时,该解决方案就会通过应用程序向用户的亲人发送警报。

在 AbiBird 开发 AbiBird 服务时,它使用了 ATF Services 已有的传感器技术专业知识。该公司开发了 AbiBird 来使用窄带物联网 (NBIoT) 技术,后者是一种用于连接设备的蜂窝通信技术。NBIoT 的主要优势包括经过改进的室内和室外覆盖能力和低功耗。ATF Services and AbiBird 的首席执行官 Robin Mysell 说,“NBIoT 的低功耗意味着一个 AbiBird 传感器可以用四块 Energizer AA 锂离子电池运行 12 个月。例如,使用 3G 通信技术的竞争性传感器在相同电源上只能运行不超过几天。”

“我们相信,我们在 AWS 上运行的技术可以让更多的老年人在家独立生活,让他们的生活更加幸福。”

Robin Mysell,ATF Services and AbiBird 首席执行官

  • 关于 AbiBird
  • 优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 AbiBird
  • AbiBird 提供的服务可以帮助老年人在家独立生活,它通过智能传感器和智能手机应用程序让亲人始终可以在紧急情况或危难时刻及时回家,从而确保老年人的安全。

  • 优势
    • 将支持票证的数量从 62 降低至 0
    • 利用云 IT 提供竞争优势
    • 通过平台的灵活性驱动创新和产品开发
    • 利用可扩展的全局解决方案实现扩张

     

  • 使用的 AWS 服务

面对最初的技术挑战

在使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 之前,AbiBird 一直与 AWS Partner Network (APN) 中的精选咨询合作伙伴 Two Bulls 携手合作,以在 Microsoft Azure 上构建适合于 AbiBird 服务的后端基础设施。为了保持 AbiBird 的基础设施正常运行,Two Bulls 需要向云服务提供商开具大约 62 张支持票证。Two Bulls 的合作伙伴 Evan Davey 说,“Microsoft Azure 无法提供足够的稳定性和可扩展性。我们需要一个可以提供可靠性并且能够大规模扩展(可能需要毫无问题地扩展至数百万台 AbiBird 传感器设备)的基础设施。” Two Bulls 希望将 AbiBird 迁移到 AWS,后者已经为 ATF Services 的其他多个工作负载提供过支持,包括 ATF Vision。ATF Vision 是一个使用 4G 和太阳能的室外视频安全监控解决方案,其后端已在 AWS 云中运行了差不多五年。

迁移至 AWS 解决了问题

Two Bulls 重新编写了服务后端代码,以便在开放源 AWS 基础设施中最优运行。IT 合作伙伴花了四到五个月的时间将后端从 Microsoft Azure 迁移到 AWS,并且在此时间段内全面测试了微服务架构。支持后端的主要 AWS 服务包括 AWS Lambda,它提供了 AbiBird 的消息摄入管道。该管道使用 AWS IoT Core 将数据从 AbiBird 传感器传输至后端。Davey 评论道,“我们之所以选择 AWS Lambda 是因为它简单易用并且可扩展以及服务的托管属性。”

AWS IoT Core 接收传感器消息,处理数据并将消息发布到 AbiBird 智能手机应用程序上。Two Bulls 正计划在未来使用 AWS IoT Device Management 来跟踪、监控和远程管理连接的 AbiBird 传感器。“我们希望使用 AWS IoT Device Management 来实现双向通信和设备跟踪”,Davey 说。

Two Bulls 为传感器后端创建了一个混合解决方案,其中公共应用程序编程接口 (API) 托管在 Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS) 中,而消息摄入管道则使用多项 AWS 服务,如 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 和 Amazon DynamoDB。为了在 Amazon ECS 中运行容器,Two Bulls 增加了 AWS Fargate。Davey 说,“我们决定使用 AWS Fargate 是因为我们希望该平台能够尽可能地被托管,并且不想大费周章地管理我们自己的虚拟机。”

消除所有支持票证

AbiBird 于 2019 年 1 月在 AWS 上启动了传感器后端,自此之后再也无需开具有一张支持票证,节省了时间和成本。“我们开具的每一张支持票证都具有成本,因为可能需要 5-15 个人花时间来支持该票证。使用 AWS 之后不再需要开具支持票证,这意味着我们可以在最少支持性开销的前提下更高效地运行”,Davey 说。

借助云保持领先

借助 AWS,AbiBird 的技术已领先于竞争对手两到三年。“AbiBird 使用成熟的传感器技术,该技术与已成功支持 ATF Services 多项服务的 AWS 云集成在一起。我们对物联网的使用也非常地成熟”,Mysell 解释说。“我看到竞争对手仍在研究如何将其技术从本地迁移到云。”

一个可促进开发的平台

AWS 微服务基础设施的可靠性使得 AbiBird 可以专注于开发。该公司目前正在构建 AbiButton 和 AbiWander,两者都将使用与 AbiBird 相似的基础设施在 AWS 上运行。AbiButton 是一款老年人或弱势群体可以穿戴的设备,它使得这些人群可以在其遇到灾祸(如摔跤)和需要帮助时发出警报,而 AbiWander 是一个可在特定情况下向亲人发出警报的传感器,例如,某个家庭成员晚上意外地离开屋子。Mysell 说,“借助 AWS,我们可以专注于创新,并且不受我们的服务器基础设施束缚。”

AbiBird 服务目前已在澳大利亚和新西兰运行,并且该公司计划通过 AWS 在美国、英国、西班牙、德国和世界其他地区推出,因为 NBIoT 的使用已越来越广泛。Mysell 说,“我们相信,我们在 AWS 上运行的技术可以让更多的老年人在家独立生活,让他们的生活更加幸福。”

了解更多

要了解更多信息,请访问 https://aws.amazon.com/iot/

AbiBird Helps the Elderly Live Independently at Home Using AWS

AbiBird

Helping the Elderly Stay Independent with Technology

AbiBird is a wholly owned division of ATF Services, an Australian group of companies with 350 employees and contractors, and 60 branches in Australia and New Zealand. AbiBird offers a service consisting of infrared sensors for homes, which help monitor the activities of elderly residents through a smartphone-based app. The sensors can be set to monitor lifestyle routines such as waking up for breakfast or going to bed by certain times. It then sends an alert to the occupant’s loved ones via the app when a routine behavior has been broken, or no activity has been detected for a while.

When AbiBird developed the AbiBird service, it was built on the expertise that ATF Services had gained in sensor technologies. The business developed AbiBird to use Narrowband Internet of Things (NBIoT) technology, which is a cellular communications technology to connect devices. Key advantages of NBIoT include improved indoor and outdoor coverage and low power consumption. Robin Mysell, CEO of ATF Services and AbiBird, says, “The low power consumption of NBIoT means an AbiBird sensor can run for 12 months on four Energizer AA lithium ion batteries. Competing sensors using the 3G communications technology, for instance, would run for no more than a few days on the same power source.”

“We believe our technology running on AWS will allow the growing number of elderly people to live independently at home—where they are happier.”

Robin Mysell, CEO, ATF Services and AbiBird

  • About AbiBird
  • Benefits
  • AWS Services Used
  • About AbiBird
  • AbiBird offers a service that helps elderly people live independently at home, safe in the knowledge that their loved ones are always reachable in times of emergency or distress through its smart sensors and smartphone app.

  • Benefits
    • Cuts the number of support tickets from 62 to 0
    • Delivers competitive edge with cloud IT
    • Drives innovation and product development though platform’s flexibility
    • Enables expansion with a scalable global solution

     

  • AWS Services Used

Facing Initial Technical Challenges

Prior to using Amazon Web Services (AWS), AbiBird was working with Two Bulls, a Select Consulting Partner in the AWS Partner Network (APN), to build the backend infrastructure for the AbiBird service on Microsoft Azure. In order to keep AbiBird’s infrastructure up and running, Two Bulls had to raise about 62 support tickets with the cloud service provider. Evan Davey, partner at Two Bulls, says, “Microsoft Azure didn’t provide enough stability and scalability. We needed an infrastructure that could provide reliability and scale massively—potentially to millions of AbiBird sensor devices without issues.” Two Bulls looked to move AbiBird to AWS, which has supported several other workloads at ATF Services, including ATF Vision, an outdoor video security monitoring solution using 4G and solar power, whose backend has been running in the AWS Cloud for almost five years.

Migrating to AWS Fixes the Problems

Two Bulls rewrote the service backend code to run optimally in an open-source AWS infrastructure. The IT partner spent four to five months migrating the backend from Microsoft Azure to AWS and used this time to fully test a microservices architecture. Key AWS services supporting the backend include AWS Lambda, which provides AbiBird’s message-ingest pipeline. The pipeline transports data from AbiBird sensors to the backend using AWS IoT Core. Davey comments, “We chose AWS Lambda due to its ease of use and its scalability as well as for the managed nature of the service.”

The AWS IoT Core receives sensor messages, processes the data, and publishes messages on the AbiBird smartphone app. Two Bulls is planning to use AWS IoT Device Management in the future to track, monitor, and remotely manage connected AbiBird sensors. “We’re keen to use AWS IoT Device Management to allow for two-way communications and device shadowing,” says Davey.

Two Bulls created a hybrid solution for the sensor backend whereby the public application programming interface (API) is hosted in Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS), while the message-ingest pipeline utilizes AWS services such as Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), and Amazon DynamoDB. To run containers in Amazon ECS, Two Bulls added AWS Fargate. Says Davey, “We decided on AWS Fargate because we wanted the platform to be as managed as possible and didn’t want the hassle of administering our own fleet of virtual machines.”

Eliminating All Support Tickets

AbiBird launched the sensor backend on AWS in January 2019 and has never needed to raise a single support ticket, saving time and money. “Every support ticket we raise has a cost because 5 to 15 people could be spending time in some way to support that ticket. Not raising support tickets with AWS means that we’re running efficiently with a minimal amount of support overhead,” says Davey.

Staying Ahead with the Cloud

With AWS, AbiBird’s technology is two to three years ahead of its competitors’. “AbiBird uses mature sensor technology, integrated with the AWS Cloud that is already successfully supporting several services of ATF Services. Our use of IoT is also at a mature state,” Mysell explains. “I see competitors that are still investigating how they can migrate their technology from on premises to the cloud.”

A Platform That Promotes Development

The reliability of the AWS microservices infrastructure allows AbiBird to focus on development. The company is currently building AbiButton and AbiWander, both of which will run on AWS, using similar infrastructures to AbiBird. AbiButton is a device that elderly or vulnerable people will wear, allowing them to raise an alert when they meet with mishaps such as a bad fall and need help, while AbiWander is a sensor that alerts loved ones if, for example, a family member leaves the house unexpectedly at night. Mysell says, “We can focus on innovation with AWS and not be constrained by what our server infrastructure can cope with.”

Today, the AbiBird service is operating in Australia and New Zealand, but the business has plans to launch in the US, the UK, Spain, Germany, and other parts of the world with AWS, as NBIoT becomes more widely available. Mysell says, “We believe our technology running on AWS will allow the growing number of elderly people to live independently at home—where they are happier.”

Learn More

To learn more, visit https://aws.amazon.com/iot/