一年只有 180 个教学日。老师无法承担浪费孩子一小时宝贵学习时间所造成的损失,更不要说一天了。我们需要提供相应支持,确保充分利用孩子的学习时间。在这方面,没有妥协的余地。
Alex Smolen 安全工程师主管

Clever 是一家发展迅速的教育技术创业公司。该公司提供一种软件服务,学校只需单击按钮即可向 Web 和移动学习应用程序发送更新的学生信息。该公司总部位于旧金山,为美国前 100 家 K-12 公立学校校区中的 90 家提供服务。超过 65000 所学校使用 Clever 软件来管理花名册数据及简化登录,从而管理学生姓名、联系方式以及其他详细信息等敏感信息。

自 2012 年成立以来,Clever 已经实现迅猛发展。目前,美国有超过 85 万名老师和 400 万名学生使用 Clever 在教室里登录教育应用程序。“我们发展得非常快,”Clever 的首席安全工程师 Alex Smolen 说道,“在返校周期间,Clever 每周要增加 1000 所或更多学校,因此我们需要一个技术平台来帮助我们快速扩展服务,以支持每年如此多的新用户。”

Clever 的核心业务是保护学生数据。例如,Clever 处理的所有学校花名册数据都是个人身份信息 (PII),必须得到妥善保护。“我们要处理的是非常敏感的个人数据,包括学生姓名和联系信息,”Smolen 说道,“我们对使用我们的服务的学校做出的其中一个承诺就是妥善保护这些数据。”

为了履行这一承诺,该组织必须帮助学校遵守《家庭教育权利和隐私法案》(FERPA),这是一项保护学生数据隐私的联邦法律。“监管环境和我们对学生数据隐私的整体关注一起促使我们将系统安全性当做重中之重,”Smolen 说道,“我们有责任根据 FERPA 保护数据,但我们还应该做得比这些要求更好,因为学校相信我们是这一领域的领导者,我们不能辜负他们的信任。” 

为了满足可扩展性和安全性需求,Clever 选择在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云上启动其服务。“通常,云必须满足我们在发展和灵活性方面的需求,AWS 尤其可以为我们提供独一无二的灵活性,以满足教育和学生数据需求,”Smolen 说道,“这就是我们选择 AWS 并继续使用 AWS 的原因。”

Clever 在数百个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行其服务,并将 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 作为其主数据库。该公司使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 实现其 Amazon EC2 实例的持久性块级别存储。

为了确保强大的数据安全性及满足合规性要求,Clever 广泛使用各种 AWS 安全服务。该组织使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 来控制身份访问及对 AWS 服务的访问。该公司还使用 AWS Certificate Manager 来预置、管理和部署套接字层/传输层安全性 (SSL/TLS) 证书,以保护网络通信。

此外,Clever 还利用 Amazon EBS 加密功能来加密其 EBS 卷,并且无需构建和维护其自己的加密解决方案。Clever 使用 AWS CloudTrailAmazon CloudWatch 实现安全洞察和自动化安全监控。此外,Clever 还利用 AWS 来备份和清除数据,从而解决其合规性问题。

Clever 可以借助 AWS 进行扩展,以跟上其快速的发展速度,包括推出后三年内在美国将近一半的 K-12 学校中实施其服务。该组织还可以轻松扩展其平台,以自动满足季节性使用情况。“当学生在秋天返校时,我们可以看到,我们服务上的数据传输达到了巨大的峰值。这是一年中特别关键的时候,所需成本高昂。一年只有 180 个教学日。老师无法承担浪费孩子一小时宝贵学习时间所造成的损失,更不要说一天了,”Smolen 说道,“我们需要提供相应支持,确保充分利用孩子的学习时间。在这方面,没有妥协的余地。”

Clever 利用 AWS 丰富的安全功能来满足其对强大安全性和合规性的需求。通过结合使用 AWS IAM、AWS Certificate Manager、Amazon EBS 加密以及 AWS CloudTrail 和 CloudWatch,Clever 履行了其对客户的承诺,并推进了公司的核心使命:妥善保护客户数据。

此外,由于 Clever 可以利用 AWS 实现可扩展性、安全性和合规性,因此公司无需构建和维护其自己的 IT 环境即可满足这些需求。“设置和运行我们自己的数据中心非常困难并且成本昂贵,”Smolen 说道,“通过使用 AWS,我们可以使用现代化的技术平台,无需构建自己的环境即可管理我们所需的一切。由于不需要构建和持续管理平台即可实现可扩展性、灵活性和安全性,因此我们可以将更多时间投入到为帮助全国学校的应用程序开发新功能上去。我们的目标是继续提高学生数据隐私和安全的标杆,多亏了 AWS 云中安全功能的坚实基础,我们才能成功实现这一目标。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何帮助您管理教育解决方案,请访问我们的 AWS 政府和教育详情页面

There are only 180 instructional days in a year. Teachers can’t afford to give up an hour—let alone a day—of a child’s learning time. We need to support usage 100 percent of the time. There’s no room for compromise.
Alex Smolen Lead Security Engineer

Clever, a fast-growing educational technology startup, provides a software service that enables schools to send updated student information to web- and mobile-learning applications at the click of a button. Based in San Francisco, the company serves 90 of the top 100 K-12 public school districts in the United States. More than 65,000 schools use Clever software to manage roster data and simplify logins, managing sensitive information including student names, contacts, and other details.

Clever has grown significantly since launching in 2012. Today, more than 850,000 teachers and four million students in the United States use Clever to log in to educational applications in the classroom. “We have grown extremely fast,” says Alex Smolen, lead security engineer for Clever. “During back-to-school weeks, Clever adds 1,000 or more schools per week, and we need a technology platform that can help us quickly scale our service to support so many new users each year.”

Clever’s core business is protecting student data. For example, all school-roster data processed by Clever is personally identifiable information (PII) and must be protected. “We’re dealing with very sensitive personal data, including student names and contact information,” says Smolen. “Part of our promise to the schools that use our service is that we will protect and secure that data.”

To fulfill that promise, the organization must help schools stay in compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), a federal law protecting the privacy of student data. “The combination of the regulatory landscape and our overall concern about student-data privacy has led us to prioritizing the security of our systems,” Smolen says. “We have an obligation under FERPA to protect data, but we go beyond those requirements because schools trust us to be the leader in this area.” 

In order to meet its scalability and security needs, Clever chose to launch its service on the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud. “The cloud in general is necessary to support our growth and agility needs, and AWS in particular provides us flexibility unique to education and student-data needs,” Smolen says. “That’s why we chose—and continue to use—AWS.”

Clever runs its service on hundreds of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, with Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) as its primary database. The company uses Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) for persistent block-level storage for its Amazon EC2 instances.

To ensure strong data security and meet compliance requirements, Clever makes extensive use of AWS security services. The organization uses AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to control identity access and access to AWS services. The company also uses AWS Certificate Manager to provision, manage, and deploy Sockets Layer/Transport Layer Security (SSL/TLS) certificates to secure network communications.

In addition, Clever takes advantage of Amazon EBS encryption to encrypt its EBS volumes without having to build and maintain its own encryption solution. Clever uses AWS CloudTrail and Amazon CloudWatch for security insights and automated security monitoring. Clever also addresses its compliance issues by utilizing AWS to back up and purge data.

With AWS, Clever can scale to meet its fast pace of growth, including implementing its services in nearly half of all K-12 schools in the United States in the three years since its launch. The organization can also easily scale its platform to automatically meet seasonal usage. “When students go back to school in the fall, we see a huge spike in data transfers on our service. It’s an especially critical time of year and the cost is high. There are only 180 instructional days in a year. Teachers can’t afford to give up an hour—let alone a day—of a child’s learning time,” says Smolen. “We need to support usage 100 percent of the time. There’s no room for compromise.”

Clever meets its needs for strong security and compliance by utilizing the extensive security capabilities of AWS. Using the combination of AWS IAM, AWS Certificate Manager, Amazon EBS encryption, and AWS CloudTrail and CloudWatch, Clever meets its promise to its customers and advances the company’s core mission: protecting and securing customer data.

Also, because Clever can take advantage of AWS for scalability, security, and compliance, the company didn’t have to build and maintain its own IT environment to support those needs. “Setting up and running our own data centers would have been very difficult and expensive,” says Smolen. “Using AWS, we can have a modern technical platform without having to build our own environment to manage everything we need. Instead of building and constantly managing a platform for scalability, agility, and security, we can focus much more of our time on developing new features for the applications we use to help schools across the country. It’s our objective to continue to raise the bar in student data privacy and security, which we can successfully achieve thanks to the solid foundation of the security capabilities in the AWS Cloud.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you manage your education solution, visit our AWS Government and Education details page