coca-cola-freestyle-logo-2x

Coca-Cola Freestyle 使用 AWS Lambda 在 100 天内推出非接触式喷泉体验

2020

随着新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情继续重塑世界并改变着消费者行为,可口可乐公司开发了一种新的倾倒方案,以满足消费者的需求。其最新的 Coca-Cola Freestyle 技术创新,可以通过智能手机实现非接触式移动倾倒。

Coca-Cola Freestyle 设备创新中心工程与创新副总裁 Thomas Stubbs 说:“尽管在根据建议的保养和清洁方法相应处理后,所有可口可乐饮料分配器都非常安全,但在当前充满不确定性的时期,可口可乐为消费者提供了一种新的选择 – 一种无需触摸的喷泉体验。看到我们的团队在持续创新(主要是在家中)以满足客户和消费者不断变化的需求,非常令人兴奋。我们的餐饮服务合作伙伴正在尽心竭力地维护安全卫生的用餐环境,我们也在竭尽全力为其客人提供多种选择,让他们继续在喜爱的平台上灌装他们想要的饮料。”

通过 Coca-Cola Freestyle 推动消费品的创新
kr_quotemark

低延迟对用户体验至关重要,这也是我们致力于在 AWS 上提供无服务器解决方案的原因。”

Michael Connor
Coca-Cola Freestyle 设备创新中心首席架构师

全新的非接触式 Coca-Cola Freestyle 解决方案基于可口可乐现有的 Amazon Web Services(AWS)无服务器架构,使消费者能够在短短几秒钟内通过手机选择并倒出饮料,而无需创建账户或下载应用程序。这种移动体验目前正在美国所有的 Coca-Cola Freestyle 分配器中推广。

Stubbs 解释道:“将您的摄像头举到显示屏上将自动扫描二维码,二维码会立即连接到云,并将 Coca-Cola Freestyle 用户界面显示到您的手机上。然后,您可以从完整的品牌和口味菜单中进行选择,只需按下手机上的选项即可倒出饮料。所秉持的理念是安全、顺畅而且有趣。”

Freestyle 团队创建了一个远程工作的无服务器 Web 应用程序,并与 Coca-Cola Freestyle 机器集成以提供非接触式用户体验。在最初提出构想后不到 4 个月,Coca-Cola Freestyle 就部署了流畅、近乎实时的解决方案。

1 周内即在 AWS 无服务器架构上开发出原型

Freestyle 贩卖机于 2009 年问世,相当于一个小型饮料工厂,大小与 ATM 差不多(25 英寸宽、40 英寸深、75 英寸高),可为用户提供多达 8 种不同饮料类别的 200 种品牌选择,而全部操作只需按几个按钮。该机器有 36 个泵,可以按需混合数百种饮料的所有成分。为了快速部署非接触式解决方案,Coca-Cola Freestyle 向 AWS(2013 年,Coca-Cola Freestyle 便开始在其上进行构建)寻求帮助。

对于这个项目而言,创新速度和近乎即时的响应时间均至关重要。“低延迟对用户体验极其重要,这也是我们致力于在 AWS 上提供无服务器解决方案的原因。”Coca-Cola Freestyle 首席架构师 Michael Connor 解释道。即使是 2 秒或 3 秒的延迟也可能导致饮料溢出和产品浪费,这也会引起消费者的不适。

Coca-Cola Freestyle 决定通过创建原型来审查这个想法。由于公司在 AWS 上拥有完全无服务器的架构,而且实时构建的一切都由 AWS 完全托管,因此能够在 1 周而不是几个月内推出原型。该团队在 AWS 上配置所有基础设施,在分配器上安装软件,构建了移动体验,然后在实验室进行测试。“它不仅有效而且速度快,而且不必触摸分配器,这是一种神奇的体验。”Connor 说。然后,公司在客户、利益攸关方和合作伙伴之间共享最简可行产品。

在 150 天内将 Web 应用程序从原型扩展到 10000 台机器

在 2020 年 4 月成功开发原型后,Coca-Cola Freestyle 进行了 AWS Well-Architected 审查,以确定该设计是否能在更大范围内正常且安全地运行。6 月初将原型引入客户测试地点,并在一个月后公开发布了该 Web 应用程序。到 7 月中下旬,也就是概念诞生后的 100 天内,已有 500 台机器在使用新的 Web 应用程序运行;而到 8 月底,则已经有 10000 台机器在运行。到 2020 年底,预计美国所有 52000 台 Freestyle 机器都将投入使用,全球其余 8000 台也将随后投入使用。

为了提供近乎即时的用户体验,Freestyle 团队在提供无服务器计算的 AWS LambdaAmazon API Gateway 上构建了一个后端,这是一项完全托管式服务,可让开发人员轻松创建、维护和保护任何规模的 API。例如,对于每笔交易,Web 应用程序都必须迅速对每台机器上的成分进行全面盘点。“当您连接时,您必须立即知晓该分配器上可用的饮料。”Coca-Cola Freestyle 创新总监 Daisy Teoh 说,他解释说空盒意味着用户可能无法制作他们想要的饮料。Amazon API Gateway 中的 WebSocket API 在 Freestyle 机器和用户手机之间提供无服务器的双向实时连接,延迟为毫秒而不是秒。如果没有该 AWS 功能,客户将不得不在分配器处等待库存更新;倾倒速度会很慢,并且会成线状。

Web 应用程序必须为全国各地的客户提供同样快的服务。“我们不知道当用户按下倒出按钮时会是什么样的体验,因为信号必须在全国范围内传播,并通过我们的基础设施和安全堆栈向下传播。”Teoh 说。安全堆栈包括 AWS WAF,这是一种防火墙,可保护 Web 应用程序和 API 免受可能影响可用性、危害安全性或消耗过多资源的常见 Web 攻击。“信号必须到达分配器,然后分配器会混合成分并倒出饮料。” 为了实现更快的速度,Coca-Cola Freestyle 团队在 Amazon CloudFront 上托管了小型、轻量级的移动体验。这是一项快速的内容分发网络服务,能以低延迟和高传输速度安全地向全球客户分发数据、视频、应用程序和 API。这样,无论人们身在何处,都可以快速连接到服务器。“当有人走上前扫描二维码时,用户界面会在 800 毫秒内弹出并连接到分配器,后者会在另外 100 或 200 毫秒内响应倾倒请求。”Teoh 说。也就是说,客户可以在不到一秒钟的时间内完成二维码扫描和饮料倾倒。

Amazon CloudFront 内容分发网络默认提供多层缓存和区域性边缘缓存,可在对象尚未缓存在边缘时缩短延迟并降低公司来源服务器上的负载。谈到在欧洲扩展 Coca-Cola Freestyle Web 应用程序时,Teoh 说,“我们曾预计欧洲的非接触式消费者会经历很长的延迟时间,因为我们在美国托管的数据中心很远。但初步测试表明,尽管连接距离很远,返回美国的高速光纤连接和 Amazon CloudFront 边缘缓存的组合仍能提供良好用户体验。” Web 应用程序将在 2020 年底前在欧洲推出,Coca-Cola Freestyle 团队将密切监控各个国家/地区的连接速度以及对区域托管的需求。

在 AWS 无服务器架构上提供安全的客户体验

Coca-Cola Freestyle 计划探索使用 Web 应用程序进一步与客户互动,例如以用户的母语提供内容或构建无障碍功能;或分层添加其他选项,例如每喝一杯饮料的捐赠。

总体而言,该 Web 应用程序的目标远高于在新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情期间提供功能性解决方案。“该 Web 应用程序与 Coca-Cola Freestyle 作为一个品牌的目标是一致的:让人们能够以一种有趣的方式获得自己选择的饮料。”Teoh 说。Coca-Cola Freestyle 依托 AWS,将前所未有的挑战转化为灵感,实现了更好的用户体验。

有关 Coca-Cola Freestyle 如何推出和营销这种新型非接触式倾倒解决方案的更多信息,请单击此处阅读


关于 Coca-Cola Freestyle

2009 年,Coca-Cola Freestyle 在一个有趣的互动平台上提供了一系列无与伦比的选择,包含超过 200 个品牌选项,其中 100 个甚至在其他任何地方都找不到,从而彻底改变了饮料喷泉体验。

AWS 的优势

  • 在 1 周内推出移动倾倒应用程序原型
  • 在 150 天内扩展到 10000 台机器
  • 未从消费者处收集数据
  • 使移动设备能够在几毫秒内连接到分配器 
  • 使用分配器数据和人工智能预测何时需要更换成分
  • 使用分配器数据帮助客户确定受欢迎的饮料和趋势
  • 使用分配器数据快速识别和解决操作问题


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon API Gateway

Amazon API Gateway 是一种完全托管式服务,可以帮助开发人员轻松创建、发布、维护、监控和保护任意规模的 API。API 充当应用程序的“前门”,可从您的后端服务访问数据、业务逻辑或功能。

了解详情 »

AWS Lambda

通过 AWS Lambda,无需预置或管理服务器即可运行代码。您只需按使用的计算时间付费。

了解详情 »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront 是一项快速内容分发网络(CDN)服务,可以安全地以低延迟和高传输速度向全球受众分发数据、视频、应用程序和 API,全部都在开发人员友好的环境中完成。

了解详情 »

AWS WAF

AWS WAF 是一种 Web 应用程序防火墙,可帮助保护您的 Web 应用程序或 API 免遭常见 Web 漏洞的攻击,这些漏洞可能会影响可用性、损害安全性或消耗过多的资源。

了解详情 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

coca_cola_freestyle_Customer-Reference_logo@2x

Coca-Cola Freestyle Launches Touchless Fountain Experience in 100 Days Using AWS Lambda

2020

As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to reshape the world and shift consumer behavior, the Coca-Cola Company has developed a new pouring option to meet consumer needs with its latest Coca-Cola Freestyle technology innovation—contactless mobile pouring by smartphone.

“All Coca-Cola beverage dispensers are safe with recommended care and cleaning,” says Thomas Stubbs, vice president of engineering and innovation at the Coca-Cola Freestyle Equipment Innovation Center. “But in these uncertain times, Coca-Cola is providing consumers a new option—a touchless fountain experience. It has been exciting to see our team continue to innovate—mostly from home—to meet the evolving needs of customers and consumers. Our food service partners are doing everything they can to maintain safe and hygienic dining environments, and we’re doing all we can to provide options for their guests to continue to pour the beverages they want on a platform they love.”

Driving Innovation in Consumer Packaged Goods with Coca-Cola Freestyle
kr_quotemark

Low latency is essential to the user experience, which is why we’re committed to a serverless solution on AWS.”

Michael Connor
Chief Architect, Coca-Cola Freestyle Equipment Innovation Center

Built on Coca-Cola’s existing Amazon Web Services (AWS) serverless architecture, the new contactless Coca-Cola Freestyle solution enables consumers to choose and pour drinks from their phones in just a few seconds, without having to create an account or download an app. The mobile experience is currently rolling out to all Coca-Cola Freestyle dispensers across the United States.

“Holding your camera up to the display will autoscan a QR code, which immediately connects to the cloud and brings the Coca-Cola Freestyle user interface to your phone,” explains Stubbs. “You then select from the full menu of brands and flavors—and pour by simply pressing the option on your phone. The idea is to be safe, seamless, and fun.”

The Freestyle team created a serverless web app—while working remotely, no less—that integrates with the Coca-Cola Freestyle machines to deliver a touchless user experience. Coca-Cola Freestyle deployed the frictionless, near-real-time solution less than 4 months after the initial idea.

Developing a Prototype in 1 Week on AWS Serverless Architecture

Introduced in 2009, the Freestyle machine is a small beverage factory about the size of an ATM (25 in. wide, 40 in. deep, and 75 in. tall) that delivers users 200 brand choices from up to 8 different beverage categories—all at the touch of a few buttons. The machine’s 36 pumps have all the ingredients to mix hundreds of beverages on demand. To quickly deploy a touchless solution, Coca-Cola Freestyle turned to AWS, on which Coca-Cola Freestyle started building in 2013.

For this project, speed of innovation was critical, as was a near-instantaneous response time. “Low latency is essential to the user experience, which is why we’re committed to a serverless solution on AWS,” explains Michael Connor, chief architect for Coca-Cola Freestyle. Even a 2- or 3-second delay could cause drinks to overflow and waste product, which also causes consumer irritation.

Coca-Cola Freestyle decided to vet the idea by creating a prototype. Because the company has an entirely serverless architecture on AWS—and everything it was building in real time was fully managed by AWS—it was able to launch a prototype in 1 week instead of months. The team brought all the infrastructure up on AWS, got the software on the dispenser, built out the mobile experience, and went into the lab to test it. “Not only did it work—and fast—but it was a magical experience to not have to touch the dispenser,” says Connor. The company then shared the minimum viable product among customers, stakeholders, and partners.

Scaling the Web App from Prototype to 10,000 Machines in 150 Days

After developing the successful prototype in April 2020, Coca-Cola Freestyle went through an AWS Well-Architected Review to determine whether the design would function well and securely at a greater scale. It introduced the prototype to customer testing locations by early June and publicly launched the web app a month later. By mid- to late July—within 100 days of conception—500 machines were running using the new web application, and 10,000 were running by the end of August. By the end of 2020, all 52,000 Freestyle machines in the United States are expected to be operational, with the remaining 8,000 worldwide to follow.

To deliver a nearly instantaneous user experience, the Freestyle team built a backend on AWS Lambda, which provides serverless compute, and Amazon API Gateway, a fully managed service that makes it easy for developers to create, maintain, and secure APIs at any scale. For example, with each transaction, the web app must speedily take a full inventory of the ingredients on each machine. “When you connect, you must immediately know the beverages available on that dispenser,” says Daisy Teoh, director of innovation for Coca-Cola Freestyle, explaining that an empty cartridge means that users might not be able to make the drinks they want. WebSocket APIs in Amazon API Gateway provide a serverless, bidirectional, real-time connection between the Freestyle machines and users’ phones, with a latency of milliseconds rather than seconds. Without that AWS feature, customers would have to wait for inventory updates at the dispenser; the pour would be slow; and lines would form.

The web app had to be equally fast for customers from coast to coast. “We had no idea what the experience would be like when users pressed the pour button, given that the signal has to travel across the country and down through our infrastructure and security stack,” says Teoh. The security stack includes AWS WAF, a firewall that protects web applications and APIs against common web exploits that may affect availability, compromise security, or consume excessive resources. “The signal has to reach the dispenser, which would then mix and pour the drink.” To enable fast speeds, the Coca-Cola Freestyle team hosted the small, lightweight mobile experience on Amazon CloudFront, a fast content-delivery network service that securely delivers data, videos, applications, and APIs to customers globally, with low latency and high transfer speeds. This lets people—wherever they are—quickly connect to the servers. “Now when someone walks up and scans the QR code, the user interface pops up within 800 milliseconds and connects to the dispenser, which responds to pour requests in another 100 or 200 milliseconds,” says Teoh. In other words, a customer can go from scanning a QR code to pouring a drink in less than a second.

The Amazon CloudFront content delivery network offers a multitier cache by default, with regional edge caches that improve latency and lower the load on a company’s origin servers when the object is not already cached at the edge. When it came to expanding the Coca-Cola Freestyle web app across Europe, Teoh says, “we had expected European touchless consumers to experience long lag times due to the distance back to our data center hosted in the United States. But initial testing shows that the combination of the high-speed fiber connection back to the United States and the Amazon CloudFront edge caching provides a good user experience, despite the distance of the connection.” As the web app launches in Europe through the end of 2020, the Coca-Cola Freestyle team will closely monitor the connection speed across each country and the need for regional hosting.

Delivering a Safe Customer Experience on AWS Serverless Architecture

Coca-Cola Freestyle plans to explore using the web app to pursue further engagement with customers—like serving content in the user’s native language or building in accessibility features—or to layer on other options, such as donations for each pour of a drink.

Overall, the web app served a much higher purpose than simply providing a functional solution during the COVID-19 pandemic. “The web app is consistent with what Coca-Cola Freestyle is trying to do as a brand: creating the ability for someone to get a beverage of choice in a fun way,” says Teoh. On AWS, Coca-Cola Freestyle turned an unprecedented challenge into inspiration for an even better user experience.


About Coca-Cola Freestyle

Coca-Cola Freestyle reinvented the beverage fountain experience in 2009 by offering an unparalleled array of choices—more than 200 brand options, including 100 varieties that can’t be found anywhere else—on a fun, interactive platform.

Benefits of AWS

  • Launched mobile pour app prototype in 1 week
  • Scaled to 10,000 machines in 150 days
  • Collected no data from consumers
  • Enables mobile devices to connect to dispenser in milliseconds 
  • Predicts when ingredients need replacing, using dispenser data and artificial intelligence
  • Helps customers identify popular beverages and trends, using dispenser data
  • Uses dispenser data to identify and resolve operational issues quickly


AWS Services Used

Amazon API Gateway

Amazon API Gateway is a fully managed service that makes it easy for developers to create, publish, maintain, monitor, and secure APIs at any scale. APIs act as the "front door" for applications to access data, business logic, or functionality from your backend services.

Learn more »

AWS Lambda

AWS Lambda lets you run code without provisioning or managing servers. You pay only for the compute time you consume.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront is a fast content delivery network (CDN) service that securely delivers data, videos, applications and APIs to a global audience with low-latency high-speed transfer and a developer-friendly environment.

Learn more »

AWS WAF

AWS WAF is a web application firewall that helps protect your web applications or APIs against common web exploits that may affect availability, compromise security, or consume excessive resources.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.