Georgia-Pacific 使用 AWS 优化流程,每年节省数百万美元

GP resize

在北美的 Georgia-Pacific 制造厂每天生产数百个纸和手帕纸母卷。纸张生产是一种微妙而复杂的操作,因为在制造母卷以及在将大量母卷加工成消费者可以使用的卫生纸或纸巾产品时,可能发生撕裂或断裂。如果经常出现撕裂或断裂,则会导致造纸机和加工生产线停机,每年每条生产线损失数百万美元 - 这个数字可能很大,因为该公司拥有 150 多条加工生产线。“我们必须保持较高的机器正常运行时间,而且只有在我们能够很好地了解纸卷断裂的可能原因时才能做到这一点,”该公司的 IT/数字化转型副总裁 Steve Bakalar 说。

但是,获得有价值的洞察力是一项挑战,因为该组织依靠不同的来源收集和分析材料质量、水分含量、温度、机器校准和其他功能的数据。此外,一个由特定站点专家组成的小团队掌握有关每个站点独特机器和流程的知识。“其中很多专家很快就会退休,这意味着他们将无法为我们提供自己所具备的知识,”Bakalar 说。为了满足对新数据洞察和不太复杂的数据收集的需求,Georgia-Pacific 寻求采用运营数据湖的高级分析方法。“我们需要通过端到端流程优化和改善资产运行状况来提高我们满足市场需求的能力,”Bakalar 说。“我们还必须找到一种能够提前 60-90 天预测资产故障的方法,因为我们希望消除可能对运营产生负面影响并导致收入损失的计划外停机。”

“我们正在使用 AWS 数据分析技术精确预测加工生产线的运行速度,以避免发生撕裂。通过减少纸张撕裂,我们为一条生产线增加了数百万美元的利润。”

Georgia-Pacific IT/数字化转型副总裁 Steve Bakalar

  • 关于 Georgia-Pacific
  • AWS 的优势
  • 使用的 AWS 服务
  • 关于 Georgia-Pacific
  • Georgia-Pacific 由 Koch Industries 拥有,是一家位于佐治亚州亚特兰大的美国木浆、纸浆和造纸公司。该组织是世界上最大的纸浆、纸巾和卫生纸,以及粉碎器、包装、木材和石膏建筑产品制造商和分销商之一。

    Georgia-Pacific 借助 AWS 优化生产并实现资产优化
  • AWS 的优势
    • 通过优化流程增加数百万的利润
    • 提前 60-90 天预测设备故障,减少意外停机时间
    • 以可预测的方式运行更多的生产线,更好地优化人力和资本资源
    • 以最快的速度生产最高质量的产品
  • 使用的 AWS 服务

创建基于云的高级分析解决方案

为了实现其目标,Georgia-Pacific 选择创建基于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云的新分析解决方案。“我们已经开始将一些内部系统迁移到 AWS 并关闭了几个数据中心,”Bakalar 说。“我们知道 AWS 可以满足我们的数据分析要求。” 在最初的六个月里,Georgia-Pacific 从数百台大型复杂的制造和加工过程机器中转移了大约 50TB 的生产数据 - 超过 5000 亿条记录。该公司使用 Amazon Kinesis 将实时数据从制造设备传输到基于 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 的中央数据湖,使其能够有效地大规模提取和分析结构化和非结构化数据。

Georgia-Pacific 知道公司可以从结构化和非结构化数据中学习,但缺乏一种经济有效的存储机制来提取、转换、容纳和分析这些数据。 

在通过 Amazon Redshift 以结构化方式向数据分析人员提供数据之前,Georgia-Pacific 使用 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) 对数据进行转换。分析人员使用 Amazon Athena 查询在 Amazon S3 中存储的原始数据,其中包括制浆机制、造纸机、加工生产线、振动趋势、产量和纸张质量等信息。

Georgia-Pacific 还使用 Amazon SageMaker(一种 AWS 机器学习 (ML) 解决方案)来大规模构建、培训和部署 ML 模型。使用基于原始生产数据构建的 ML 模型,Amazon SageMaker 可为机器操作人员提供有关最佳机器速度和其他可调变量的实时反馈,使经验不足的操作人员能够更早地检测到断裂并确保质量。

通过优化关键流程增加数百万的利润

Georgia-Pacific 使用基于 AWS 的高级分析解决方案优化了许多工厂中的关键制造流程。例如,对于一条加工生产线,该公司消除了加工过程中 40% 的母卷撕裂。“我们正在使用 AWS 数据分析技术来根据母纸卷的质量精确预测加工生产线的运行速度,以避免发生撕裂,”Bakalar 说。“通过减少纸张撕裂,我们为一条生产线增加了数百万美元的利润。有 150 条生产线可以从这些优化流程中受益,因此这对我们来说是一个价值数百万美元的机会。”

在 Georgia-Pacific 的一家定向刨花板 (OSB) 工厂,该组织已经将与切削过程相关的废料减少了 30%,并且每年增加了数百万美元的利润。

此外,在一家大型造纸厂,Georgia-Pacific 优化了用于制造纸浆的可回收利用的化学品回收工艺。“我们已经能够减少化学品消耗,这有助于我们降低资源消耗,同时提高整体产量,”Bakalar 说。

这些成功正在通过类似设施的网络迅速扩展。

对于选定的资产,Georgia-Pacific 现在可以提前 60-90 天预测设备故障,因此可以减少意外停机时间。“我们在所有设施中都可以获得更好的、最新的机械性能数据,”Bakalar 说。“这意味着我们可以计划设备停机时间,从而提高资产利用率和造纸厂安全性,并帮助我们避免计划外生产停工造成的收入损失。”

充分利用工厂资源

除了为运营带来的好处之外,Georgia-Pacific 还减少了对少数专家的依赖,便于获得有关设备和制造工艺的知识。因此,该公司成立了协作和支持中心,通过集中支持扩充特定于站点的主题专家,促进技术赋能的决策。 

“AWS 使我们能够以集中的方式获得、存储、丰富和交付数据,这是我们以前无法做到的,”Bakalar 说。“通过这种新模式,我们相信我们可以使用更可预测的方式运行更多的生产线。因此,我们可以在整个组织中更有效地利用我们的人才库。使用 AWS,我们可以确保以最快的速度运行最高质量的产品,从而更好地满足客户需求。”


了解更多

详细了解大数据

Georgia-Pacific Optimizes Processes, Saves Millions of Dollars Yearly Using AWS

GP resize

Hundreds of paper and tissue parent rolls are produced every day at Georgia-Pacific manufacturing facilities across North America. Paper production is a delicate and complex operation, during which tears or breaks can happen while manufacturing the parent rolls, and when converting the massive parent rolls into consumer-ready bath or tissue products. If tears or breaks occur frequently, it leads to paper machine and converting-line downtime that can cost Georgia-Pacific millions of dollars per year per line—a number that could be significant given that the company has more than 150 converting lines. “It’s essential that we maintain high machine uptime, and we can only do that if we have good insight into why rolls are likely to break,” says Steve Bakalar, the company’s vice president of IT/digital transformation.

Getting valuable insight, though, was a challenge because the organization relied on disparate sources to collect and analyze data on material quality, moisture content, temperature, machine calibration, and other features. In addition, a small team of site-specific experts hold the knowledge about each site’s unique machinery and processes. “Many of these experts are retiring soon—and taking their knowledge with them,” Bakalar says. To address its need for new data insights and less complex data collection, Georgia-Pacific sought to move to an advanced analytics approach enabled by an operations data lake. “We needed to improve our ability to serve our markets through end-to-end process optimization and improved asset health,” says Bakalar. “We also had to find a way to predict asset failure 60-90 days ahead of time, because we wanted to eliminate unplanned downtime that could negatively impact operations and lead to lost revenue.”

“We are using AWS data-analysis technologies to predict … precisely how fast converting lines should run to avoid tearing. By reducing paper tears, we have increased profits by millions of dollars for one production line.”

Steve Bakalar, Vice President of IT/Digital Transformation, Georgia-Pacific

  • About Georgia-Pacific
  • Benefits of AWS
  • AWS Services Used
  • About Georgia-Pacific
  • Georgia-Pacific, owned by Koch Industries, is an American wood products, pulp, and paper company based in Atlanta, Georgia. The organization is one of the world’s largest manufacturers and distributors of pulp, towel and tissue paper and dispensers, packaging, and wood and gypsum building products.

    Optimizing Production and Asset Optimization at Georgia-Pacific with AWS
  • Benefits of AWS
    • Increases profits by millions by optimizing processes
    • Predicts equipment failure 60-90 days in advance, reducing unplanned downtime
    • Runs more production lines in a predictable manner, better optimizing human and capital resources
    • Produces highest-quality products at fastest possible rates
  • AWS Services Used

Creating a Cloud-Based Advanced Analytics Solution

To accomplish its goals, Georgia-Pacific chose to create a new analytics solution based in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Cloud. “We were already in the process of migrating some internal systems to AWS and closing several data centers,” says Bakalar. “We knew AWS could support our data-analytics requirements.” In the first six months, Georgia-Pacific transferred about 50 TB of production data—more than 500 billion records—from hundreds of large, complex manufacturing and converting-process machines. The company uses Amazon Kinesis to stream real-time data from manufacturing equipment to a central data lake based on Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), allowing it to efficiently ingest and analyze structured and unstructured data at scale.

Georgia-Pacific knew it could learn from its structured and unstructured data, but the company lacked a cost-effective storage mechanism to ingest, transform, house, and analyze this data.  

Georgia-Pacific uses Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) to transform the data before delivering it in a structured fashion to data analysts through Amazon Redshift. The analysts use Amazon Athena on top of Amazon S3 to query the raw data, which includes information on pulping mechanisms, paper machines, converting lines, vibration trends, throughput, and paper quality.

Georgia-Pacific also uses Amazon SageMaker, an AWS machine-learning (ML) solution, to build, train, and deploy ML models at scale. Using ML models built with raw production data, Amazon SageMaker provides real-time feedback to machine operators regarding optimum machine speeds and other adjustable variables, enabling less experienced operators to detect breaks earlier and maintain quality.

Increasing Profits by Millions by Optimizing Critical Processes

Using its AWS-based advanced analytics solution, Georgia-Pacific optimized key manufacturing processes in many of its facilities. For example, for one converting line, the company eliminated 40 percent of parent-roll tears during the converting process. “We are using AWS data-analysis technologies to predict—based on the quality of a parent paper roll—precisely how fast converting lines should run to avoid tearing,” says Bakalar. “By reducing paper tears, we have increased profits by millions of dollars for one production line. There are 150 lines that could benefit from these optimized processes, so this is a multimillion-dollar opportunity for us.”

At one of Georgia-Pacific’s Oriented Strand Board (OSB) facilities, the organization has seen a 30 percent reduction in waste associated with the chipping process and millions of dollars in increased annual profits.

In addition, at a large paper mill, Georgia-Pacific has optimized a recyclable chemical-recovery process used in making pulp. “We have been able to reduce chemical consumption, and that helps us consume fewer resources while improving overall production yields,” says Bakalar.

These successes are being rapidly scaled across a network of similar facilities.

For selected assets, Georgia-Pacific can now predict equipment failure 60-90 days in advance, so it can reduce unplanned downtime. “We have better, up-to-date data about the performance of machinery throughout all our facilities,” says Bakalar. “This means we can plan equipment downtime, which improves asset utilization and paper mill safety and helps us avoid lost revenue from unscheduled production stoppages.”

Maximizing Plant Resources

In addition to the benefits to its operations, Georgia-Pacific is reducing its reliance on a small number of experts for knowledge about equipment and manufacturing processes. Instead, the company formed a Collaboration and Support Center, augmenting site-specific subject-matter experts with centralized support that promotes technology-enabled decision making. 

“AWS enables us to source, store, enrich, and deliver data in a centralized way, which we couldn’t do previously,” says Bakalar. “Using this new model, we believe we can run more production lines in a more predictable manner. As a result, we can leverage our talent pool much more efficiently across our entire organization. Using AWS, we can ensure the highest quality product running at the fastest possible rate, so we can best serve our customers.”


Learn More

Learn more about big data.