MacmillanLearning_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

Macmillan Learning 案例研究

2016 年

Macmillan Learning 是一家教育解决方案公司,致力于提供内容、工具和服务,以促进教学。该公司通过与全球顶尖的研究人员、教育工作者、管理人员和开发人员合作,促进教学机会,激发学生参与并改善成果。该公司为教育工作者提供量身定制的解决方案,旨在激发学生的求知欲并衡量进步情况。Macmillan Learning 的旗舰数字课件 LaunchPad 是一款教育工作者可以使用和定制的应用程序,以实现特定课程目标,从而促进学生学习。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

利用 AWS,我们的 Launchpad 实现了按需容量。我们可以轻松扩展应用程序,以支持我们在每学年共同见证的指数级用户增长。

Dawit Lessanu
Macmillan Learning 架构与工程部副总裁

挑战

Launchpad 是该公司发展最快的数字化教学应用程序之一。对于 2016-2017 学年,Macmillan 预计 Launchpad 用户数量是上一学年的三倍。“对应用程序的需求每年都在增长,”Macmillan Learning 的架构与工程部副总裁 Dawit Lessanu 表示。

然而,适应这种快速增长变得具有挑战性,因为 Launchpad 托管在一个并置的数据中心设施中。Lessanu 说道:“传统的数据中心模型不再适合我们。为了快速提供支持增长所需的容量,我们需要更高的可扩展性和敏捷性。”

Macmillan Learning 还需要灵活性来解决周期性应用程序流量问题。Macmillan Learning 通信副总裁 Kate Geraghty 表示:“学年期间会有高峰期,此时访问应用程序的学生数量会增多,但为了满足这一需求,我们必须在数据中心全天候提供全容量。我们希望能够在放假期间快速扩展应用程序。”

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

为了满足对可扩展性、敏捷性和灵活性的需求,Macmillan Learning 决定将 Launchpad 迁移到云端。该公司考量了多家不同的云技术提供商,最终选择全面使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。“我们发现 AWS 在创新和可扩展性方面非常适合我们公司,”Lessanu 说。AWS 与 Macmillan Learning 合作确定了一个合作伙伴,以协助迁移到云端。“我们需要有人来帮助我们的内部团队规划和执行迁移战略,”Lessanu 表示。AWS 向我们推荐了 AWS 高级咨询合作伙伴 Relus。“我们面临的一项挑战是,我们必须在很短的时间内将高度复杂的应用平台从数据中心迁移到 AWS 云,”他说道,“这需要对 AWS 有深入的技术理解,而 Relus 满足这个要求。”

Relus 帮助 Macmillan Learning 将 Launchpad 迁移到 AWS,在 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 存储卷前面运行 90 个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,混合使用 Linux 和 Windows 服务器。Launchpad 还使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储静态内容,并使用 Amazon CloudFront 作为其全球内容分发网络 (CDN)。Macmillan Learning 还依赖 AWS Direct Connect 实现从公司数据中心到 AWS 的专用千兆网络连接。“我们仍然拥有一些本地遗留应用程序和身份验证服务器,因此 Direct Connect 有助于降低云与数据中心之间的风险,”Lessanu 表示。此外,Macmillan 使用 Auto Scaling 根据条件自动扩展或缩减其 Amazon EC2 容量。

通过与 Relus 合作,Macmillan Learning 能够在几个月内将 Launchpad 完全迁移到云端。“当我们将应用程序的虚拟实例从数据中心迁移到 AWS 时,Relus 利用自己的专有工具加快了迁移过程,并帮助我们顺利过渡,”Lessanu 说道。

优势

通过将 Launchpad 迁移到 AWS 云,Macmillan Learning 可以更快地满足 Launchpad 的用户数量增长需求。Lessanu 表示:“利用 AWS,我们的 Launchpad 实现了按需容量。我们可以轻松扩展应用程序,以支持我们在每学年共同见证的指数级用户增长。我们现在可以在几分钟内预置新实例,而这在过去需要几个小时。”

Macmillan Learning 还可以根据一年中的时间实现弹性扩展。“我们可以使用 AWS 合理调整 Launchpad 架构的大小,这使我们能够灵活地支持学年的高峰使用量,并在夏季或学生休假期间缩减容量,”Lessanu说道,“我们不再需要一直提供全部容量。这将为我们节省大笔资金。”

该公司正在利用云的敏捷性,加快 Launchpad 功能和其他服务的上市速度。“我们从 AWS 中获得的敏捷性和灵活性可以帮助我们更快地为教师和学生提供创新服务,”Geraghty 说道,“我们的客户希望我们快速迁移并继续推动 Launchpad 向前发展。如果我们做不到这一点,就无法满足他们的需求。使用 AWS,我们可以更快地迁移并提高响应速度,在我们不断发展的过程中,这一点至关重要。”

此外,Macmillan Learning 预计能够促进 Launchpad 进一步实现国际拓展。Lessanu 表示:“我们能够更好地满足未来的全球学习需求,因为 AWS 为我们提供了所需的全球影响力,”并且我们的业务发展拥有很好的基础。” Macmillan Learning 计划在扩展时利用其他 AWS 服务。“我们明确计划将越来越多的 AWS 生态系统用于分析和其他业务需求,”Lessanu 说道,“此外,我们还将利用 AWS 的创新更好地满足客户的需求。”


关于 Macmillan Learning

Macmillan Learning 是一家教育解决方案公司,致力于提供内容、工具和服务,以促进教学。 


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可应需调整的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解详情 »

AWS Direct Connect

AWS Direct Connect 是一种云服务解决方案,让您可以轻松建立从本地通往 AWS 的专用网络连接。

了解详情 »

Amazon CloudFront

Amazon CloudFront 是一项快速内容分发网络 (CDN) 服务,可以安全地以低延迟和高传输速度向全球客户分发数据、视频、应用程序和 API,全部都在开发人员友好的环境中完成。

了解更多 »

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 是一种易于使用的高性能区块式存储服务,旨在与 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 一起使用,适用于任何规模的吞吐量和事务密集型工作负载。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Using AWS, we have on-demand capacity for Launchpad. We can easily scale the application to support the exponential user growth we are witnessing each academic year.
Dawit Lessanu Vice President of Architecture and Engineering

Macmillan Learning is an educational solutions company focused on delivering content, tools and services to facilitate instruction and learning. Through partnership with the world's best researchers, educators, administrators, and developers, the company facilitates teaching and learning opportunities that spark student engagement and improve outcomes. The company provides educators with tailored solutions designed to inspire student curiosity and measure progress. Macmillan Learning’s flagship digital courseware, LaunchPad, is an application educators can use and customize to achieve their specific course objectives to facilitate student learning.

Launchpad is one of the company’s fastest growing digital-learning applications. For the 2016-2017 school year, Macmillan expects three times the number of Launchpad users the company saw in the previous academic year. “The demand for the application keeps growing every year,” says Dawit Lessanu, vice president of architecture and engineering at Macmillan Learning.

Accommodating that rapid growth had become challenging, however, because Launchpad was hosted in a collocated data center facility. “The traditional data center model wasn’t working for us anymore,” Lessanu says. “To quickly provision the capacity we needed to support our growth, we required more scalability and agility.”

Macmillan Learning also needed the elasticity to address cyclical application traffic. “We have peak times during the school year when more students access our application, but to meet that need, we had to provision for full capacity 24/7 in the data center,” says Kate Geraghty, vice president of communications for Macmillan Learning. “We wanted the ability to rapidly scale the application down during breaks in the school year.”

To meet its need for scalability, agility, and elasticity, Macmillan Learning made the decision to move Launchpad to the cloud. The company considered different cloud technology providers before choosing to go all in on Amazon Web Services (AWS). “We found that AWS was simply the best fit for our company when it came to innovation and scalability,” says Lessanu. AWS worked with Macmillan Learning to identify a partner to assist in the migration to the cloud. “We needed someone to augment our internal teams in the planning and execution of the migration strategy,” Lessanu says. AWS suggested Relus, an AWS Advanced Consulting Partner. “One of our challenges was the short time frame we had to move a highly complex application platform from a data center to the AWS Cloud,” he says. “That required deep technical understanding of AWS, and Relus offered that.”

Relus helped Macmillan Learning move Launchpad to AWS, running on 90 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances with a mix of Linux and Windows servers, in front of Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) storage volumes. Launchpad also uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store static content, and Amazon CloudFront as its global content delivery network (CDN). Macmillan Learning also relies on AWS Direct Connect for a dedicated Gigabit network connection from the company’s data center to AWS. “We still have some on-premises legacy applications and authentication servers, so Direct Connect helps mitigate any risks between the cloud and the data center,” says Lessanu. Additionally, Macmillan uses Auto Scaling to automatically scale its Amazon EC2 capacity up or down depending on conditions.

Working with Relus, Macmillan Learning was able to fully migrate Launchpad to the cloud within a few months. “Relus accelerated the migration through its own proprietary tools and helped us have a smooth transition when we moved the application’s virtual instances from the data center to AWS,” says Lessanu.

By migrating Launchpad to the AWS Cloud, Macmillan Learning can more quickly meet Launchpad’s growth in users. “Using AWS, we have on-demand capacity for Launchpad. We can easily scale the application to support the exponential user growth we are witnessing each academic year,” says Lessanu. “We can now provision new instances in minutes, as opposed to the hours it used to take.”

Macmillan Learning is also able to scale elastically based on time of year. “We can right-size the Launchpad architecture using AWS, which gives us the elasticity to support peak usage during the school year and scale capacity down during the summer or when students are on holiday breaks,” Lessanu says. “We no longer have to provision for full capacity all the time. That will save us a significant amount of money.”

The company is using the agility of the cloud to go to market faster with new Launchpad features and other services. “The agility and flexibility we get from AWS help us more quickly provide innovative services to teachers and learners,” Geraghty says. “Our customers expect us to move fast and continue moving Launchpad forward. If we can’t do that, we aren’t meeting their needs. Using AWS, we can move faster and be more responsive, which will be critical for us as we keep growing.”

Macmillan Learning also anticipates being able to facilitate further international expansion of Launchpad. “We are better positioned to meet global learning demands in the future, because AWS gives us that global presence we need,” says Lessanu. “We have a great foundation for the growth of our business.” Macmillan Learning intends to take advantage of additional AWS services as it expands. “We definitely have plans to use more and more of the AWS ecosystem for analytics and other business requirements,” Lessanu says. “And we will leverage the innovation of AWS to better meet our customers’ needs.”

  • An Advanced Partner of the AWS Partner Network (APN). Relus helps customers prepare for growth, eliminate uncertainty, train technical teams, and move faster in the cloud-first world. The company’s core competencies are focused on migrations, DevOps, and big data with an emphasis on strategy consulting, architecture and design, cloud migration, culture change, managed services, and IT staffing.
  • For more information about how Relus can help your company build and manage your AWS environment, see Relus’s listing in the AWS Partner Directory.

Learn more about how AWS can help manage your website/web App.