AWS 使我们能够在极短的时间内启动应用程序。我们可以将当前的环境扩展到云中,整合来自不同来源的信息,还可以进行扩展且不会产生巨大的前期费用。
Kevin Aron 首席执行官

Medscheme 这家南非公司是 AfroCentric 集团的附属公司之一,以创建可持续医疗保健体系为使命。40 多年来,这家公司提供了一系列医疗保健风险管理服务,现已覆盖其本国、博茨瓦纳、毛里求斯、纳米比亚、斯威士兰以及津巴布韦的约 350 万人群。其 Health Intelligence Unit 可以生成关于医疗保健提供商和受益者的洞察信息,通过了解居民的临床需求来优化健康风险管理。2014 年,公司凭借关注风险人群的综合保健管理项目获得了 Johns Hopkins Adjusted Clinical Groups System (ACG) Starfield Award。

在许多发达国家,医疗保健成本的增长速度是其他消费品的两倍。为了应对这种现状,Medscheme 希望更改医疗保健交付方式和提供商报销服务的方式。为此,公司需要提出一个新的付款模型。

传统上,医疗保健提供商会向承保人收取一定的费用来交付特定服务,也就是所谓的基于量的模型。这种模型并不理想,因为针对保健的各个组成部分收取费用并不能激励提供商遵循互联医疗保健路径为特定患者交付服务。这可能导致不必要或重复的服务,且对患者的治疗成效缺乏关注。

Medscheme 希望迁移到基于价值的保健模型,以便提供商能够与同类组织合作以提供一整套协调的医疗保健服务,使其在多数情况下都能主动交付,关注疾病的预防而非治疗,并预先确定患者的治疗成效指标。

Medscheme 进行了小规模的试运行,识别出了病情在未来一年内有显著恶化风险的个人。公司给这些人打电话并讨论了他们的医疗保健需求,还请这些特殊患者的医生与其联系。“通过这种方法,我们见证了住院治疗等级的下降、平均住院时间的缩短以及治疗相关成本的降低。”Medscheme 的首席执行官 Kevin Aron 说道,“但这种方法需要通过电话操作,因而只能小规模实施。我们需要一个通过其能联系数千乃至数百万人的系统。”

Medscheme 的战略关注患者护理并提升治疗成效,基于的是与 Johns Hopkins ACG System 共享的人口保健管理原则。

为扩展其模型,Medscheme 希望开发一种能够在提供商和患者之间共享信息的系统。这种系统需要符合行业标准并能够连接尽可能多的现有医疗保健系统,从而确保提供商之间能够共享信息。“我们打算构建一个 Electronic Health Record 生态系统来支持我们的模型。”Aron 说道,“我们需要一个底层基础设施,以便用于快速推进系统的构建。该基础设施还必须能够以增量方式发展并能使用现有框架和标准。考虑到 AWS 产品组合的深度,选择它是很自然的结果。”

Medscheme 设计了一款可供医疗保健提供商通过门户网站访问的应用程序。该应用程序基于 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 参考架构。此三层服务跨 Web 和应用程序层实施了 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,还拥有可自动跨多个 Amazon EC2 实例分发传入应用程序流量的 Elastic Load Balancing。在应用程序层,它使用 Redis 以及 Amazon ElastiCache 实现内存缓存。Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 支持 Medscheme 以安全方式对基础设施部分进行隔离,同时 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 允许它控制用户对 AWS 服务和资源的访问。数据库后端由 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 提供。整个环境被复制到了三个不同的可用区,用于预防潜在的硬件故障并保持较长的正常运行时间。

经过 2014 年和 2015 年的试用阶段之后,Medscheme 打算在 2016 年面向近 350 万居民推出其 Electronic Health Record (EHR) 系统。借助 AWS,Medscheme 便可拥有一个安全、可扩展且具有互操作性的基础设施,使用这一基础设施可实现这一目的。

对于 Aron 来说,令人印象最深刻的成就是他们在短短 5 个月内起动并运行了 EHR 系统。“AWS 使我们能够在极短的时间内启动应用程序。”他说,“我们可以将当前的环境扩展到云中,整合来自不同来源的信息,还可以进行扩展且不会产生巨大的前期费用。”

环境也安全合规,这是医疗保健 IT 环境的重要因素。“我们需要遵循严格的机密性和隐私性规范。”Aron 说道。AWS 拥有 ISO27001、Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) 和 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) 认证,这点很重要。“我们相信环境是安全的,并且如果我们遵循最佳实践,我们就可以确保患者的医疗数据是安全的。”他说。

目标是提供商现在可以使用 EHR 并按照 Medscheme 铺就的医疗保健路径实现更好的目标以及更协调的保健服务。

要详细了解 AWS 如何能帮助运行您的 Web 应用程序,请访问我们的 Web 和移动应用程序详情页面

AWS enabled us to launch our application in a very short space of time. We could extend our current environment into the cloud and integrate information from different sources, plus we can scale without incurring huge upfront costs.
Kevin Aron CEO

South African firm Medscheme, a member of the AfroCentric Group of companies, has a mission to create a world of sustainable healthcare. For more than 40 years it has provided a range of healthcare risk management services and now reaches around three and half million people in its native country, as well as in Botswana, Mauritius, Namibia, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe. Its Health Intelligence Unit generates insight about providers and beneficiaries of care to support better management of the health risks of population by understanding their clinical needs. In 2014, it received the Johns Hopkins Adjusted Clinical Groups System (ACG) Starfield Award for its work on a comprehensive care management program focused on at-risk individuals.

In many developed countries, the cost of healthcare is growing at twice the rate of the cost of other consumer goods. Medscheme wanted to address this by changing both healthcare delivery and the way in which providers are reimbursed for services. As a result, it needed to come up with a new payment model.

Traditionally, healthcare providers are paid a fee by an insurer for delivering a certain service—a so-called volume-based model. This isn’t ideal because being paid for individual components of care doesn’t incentivize providers to deliver their services as part of a connected healthcare pathway for a given patient. This can lead to unnecessary or duplicated services and a lack of focus on patient outcomes.

Medscheme wanted to move to a model of value-based care, where providers work with their peers to offer a bundle of coordinated healthcare services, delivered proactively in many cases, with a focus on preventing rather than curing illness and with predefined outcome measures for a patient.

Medscheme ran a small-scale trial, where it identified individuals who were at risk of a significant deterioration in health within the next year. It called them to discuss their individual healthcare needs, and asked their doctors to get in touch with these particular patients. “With this approach, we saw reduced levels of hospitalization, shorter average length of hospital stays, and lower costs associated with treatment,” says Kevin Aron, CEO of Medscheme, “but it could only work on a small scale because we were doing it over the phone. We needed a system through which we could reach thousands, or millions, of people.”

Medscheme’s strategy of focusing patient care and improving outcomes is based on population health management principles shared with the Johns Hopkins ACG System.

To scale up its model, Medscheme wanted to develop a system capable of sharing information between providers and patients. It had to comply with industry standards and interface with as many existing healthcare systems as possible to ensure information could be shared among providers. “We got to the point of building an Electronic Health Record ecosystem to support our model,” says Aron, “and needed an underlying infrastructure that we could use to roll it out quickly. The infrastructure also had to be able to grow incrementally and use existing frameworks and standards. AWS was a natural choice due to the depth of its portfolio.”

Medscheme designed an application that healthcare providers can access via a web portal. It’s based on an Amazon Web Services (AWS) reference architecture. The three-tiered service has Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances across a web and application layer, with Elastic Load Balancing automatically distributing incoming application traffic across multiple Amazon EC2 instances. In the application layer, it uses Redis with Amazon ElastiCache for in-memory caching. Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) lets Medscheme isolate parts of its infrastructure in a secure manner, while AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) allows controlled access to AWS services and resources for its users. The database backend is provided by Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS). The whole environment is replicated across three different Availability Zones to protect against potential hardware failures and keep uptime high.

After a pilot phase in 2014 and 2015, Medscheme is looking to roll out its Electronic Health Record (EHR) system to the entire population of over three and a half million patients in 2016. By using AWS, it has a secure, scalable, and interoperable infrastructure with which to do this.

For Aron, the most impressive achievement is getting its EHR system up and running in just five months. “AWS enabled us to launch our application in a very short time,” he says. “We could extend our current environment into the cloud and integrate information from different sources, plus we could scale without incurring huge upfront costs.”

The environment is also secure and compliant—a vital factor in the world of healthcare IT. “We work with strict regulations regarding confidentiality and privacy,” says Aron. The fact that AWS has ISO27001, Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS), and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) certification is vital. “We’re confident that the environment is secure and if we follow best practices we can be sure our patients’ medical data is safe,” he says.

The goal is that providers can now use the EHR and follow healthcare pathways laid out by Medscheme to deliver better outcomes and more coordinated care.

To learn more about how AWS can help run your web applications, visit our web and mobile apps details page.