Благодаря AWS мы лучше взаимодействуем с пациентами и предлагаем им надежное и эффективное обслуживание.
Кристин М. Сверинген Исполнительный вице-президент по планированию, маркетингу и общественным отношениям

Компания MedStar Health, основанная в 1998 году, – крупнейший некоммерческий поставщик медицинских услуг в Мэриленде и Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия. Созданная компанией медицинская система признана на региональном и федеральном уровнях. Она включает 10 больниц и более 250 пунктов амбулаторного обслуживания. В компанию также входят исследовательские институты MedStar Health Research Institute и MedStar Institute for Innovation. 30 000 сотрудников компании MedStar и 6000 врачей – партнеров организации оказывают медицинские услуги в диапазоне от срочной и первичной медицинской помощи до медицинского наблюдения в домашних условиях на территории всего региона. В 2014 году компания MedStar предоставила услуги более чем для 200 000 пациентов в стационарах наряду с 4 000 000 консультаций пациентов в амбулаторных условиях.

В поддержку миссии оказания медицинских услуг, ориентированных на пациента, MedStar Health приняла решение разработать технологическое решение, которое помогло бы эффективнее оказывать медицинские услуги клиентам компании. В первую очередь было решено объединить разрозненные веб-сайты в единый портал взаимодействия с пациентами, на котором можно было бы просто найти врачей, медицинские услуги и учреждения внутри системы и записаться на прием онлайн. В долгосрочной перспективе планировалось предлагать полный спектр мобильных, социальных и сетевых услуг, которые выведут взаимодействие с пациентами на новый уровень.

Компания MedStar хотела создать свой портал в среде хостинга, но результаты оставили желать лучшего. Сайт работал медленно и часто не справлялся с нагрузками, что приводило к потерям записей и разочарованию клиентов. При этом поддержка сайта обходилась MedStar в несколько тысяч долларов в месяц. «В результате мы получили веб-сайт, непригодный для взаимодействия с пользователями, который пагубно сказывался на ходе работы и на репутации компании, – рассказывает Кристин М. Сверинджен, исполнительный вице-президент по планированию, маркетингу и отношениям с сообществом, MedStar Health. –  Полгода спустя мы приняли сложное решение – отказаться от старого портала и начать все с начала».

В 2014 году компания MedStar Health обратилась к консультационной ИТ-компании Impact Makers за помощью в разработке нового интернет-портала. Была поставлена следующая задача: объединить 102 веб-сайта MedStar в единый портал с поддержкой поиска, единым внешним видом и атмосферой. MedStar решила развернуть новый портал в облаке, так как такой подход упрощал дальнейшее масштабирование. Рассмотрев несколько поставщиков облачных услуг, Impact Makers остановились на Amazon Web Services (AWS): платформа предлагала автоматизированную масштабируемость, комплексные решения и значительную экономию бюджета. «В случаях с остальными поставщиками нам пришлось бы объединять в одну облачную платформу технологии от нескольких разных разработчиков, – говорит Майкл Руиз, директор по цифровым технологиям MedStar. –  AWS предлагала комплексный набор инструментов, с помощью которого можно было сделать все необходимое в одном месте. Это значительно упростило процесс интеграции».

Impact Makers разработали веб-сайт на базе широкого спектра продуктов AWS. Портал был запущен в Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), логически изолированной области в облаке AWS. Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) обеспечивает тома для долгосрочного хранилища блочного уровня для инстансов Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), а Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) – инфраструктуру для хранения и загрузки данных с обеспечением полной избыточности. Amazon CloudSearch используется в качестве инструмента поиска по врачам и контенту, Amazon CloudWatch собирает и отслеживает метрики портала, Amazon ElastiCache – масштабирует распределенные среды кэша в памяти в облаке AWS. «Мы развернули портал в облаке AWS, и мы очень довольны сервисом, – продолжает Руиз. –  Мы успели выполнить все задачи в заранее установленные сроки. В собственном ЦОД или в хостинговой среде нам бы это не удалось».

MedStar оформила подписку на AWS Support (план «Для бизнеса»), чтобы специалисты AWS помогли компании с проверкой архитектурной конфигурации и дали рекомендации по части безопасности и оптимизации производительности. «AWS Support проверили наше развертывание и укрепили нашу уверенность в будущем успехе», – заключает Руиз.

На новом веб-сайте MedStar, размещенном в облаке AWS, пациенты могут без труда находить врачей, услуги и клиники, а также записываться на прием – и все это на едином портале. Стоимость работы и обслуживания веб-сайта сократилась более чем на 40 % в месяц. Время простоя было снижено с двух часов менее чем до пяти минут в месяц, средняя скорость загрузки страниц – с 1500 мс до 120 мс. В результате пациенты проводят больше времени на веб-сайте, и больше пациентов находят то, что искали. «Перенос веб-сайта на AWS позволил значительно улучшить взаимодействие с пользователями, – говорит Сверинджен. –  Показатели недоставки на сайте упали в разы, время просмотра страниц кардинально увеличилось, и, по последним данным, возрастает количество просмотров страниц».

MedStar считает, что обновленный портал порадует текущих пациентов и клиентов и со временем откроет двери для привлечения новых. В долгосрочной перспективе AWS предлагает MedStar платформу для развития, на которой компания сможет стать лидером на рынке цифровых медицинских услуг. «Благодаря AWS мы еще лучше взаимодействуем с пациентами и предлагаем им надежное и эффективное обслуживание, – считает Сверинджен. –  Теперь у нас есть фундамент для разработки мобильных, социальных и веб-сервисов, которые значительно улучшат каждый аспект взаимодействия с пациентами».

Подробнее о том, как AWS помогает поставщикам медицинских услуг и страховым компаниям, см. на странице о поставщиках и страховых компаниях.

medstar-health_Customer-Reference_Logo

MedStar Health Case Study

2015

Founded in 1998, MedStar Health is the largest not-for-profit healthcare provider in Maryland and the Washington, D.C., region. The system, which is recognized both regionally and nationally for medical care excellence, includes 10 hospitals and more than 250 outpatient care sites. It’s also home to the MedStar Health Research Institute and the MedStar Institute for Innovation. MedStar’s 30,000 associates and 6,000 affiliated physicians provide primary care, urgent care, and home healthcare services across the region. In 2014, MedStar had more than 200,000 inpatient stays and 4 million outpatient visits.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

Using AWS has made it possible for us to engage our patients more directly—and offer them a reliable and efficient experience.”

Christine M. Swearingen
Executive Vice President, Planning, Marketing, and Community Relations, MedStar Health 

The Challenge

To support its patient-first philosophy of care, MedStar Health wanted to leverage digital technology to deliver healthcare services more efficiently to its customers. As a first step, the organization decided to combine its disparate websites into a single patient engagement portal that enables patients to easily search for doctors, medical services, and locations across its entire system—and to request appointments over the web. The long-term plan is to offer a full range of mobile, social, and web-based services that transform the patient experience.

MedStar initially decided to build its portal in a hosted environment; however, the results were disappointing. The website was slow and crashed often, leading to lost appointments and upset customers. And maintaining the website was costing MedStar thousands of dollars every month. “We ended up with a website that wasn’t consumer-friendly, and it was hurting our business and our reputation,” says Christine M. Swearingen, executive vice president of planning, marketing, and community relations for MedStar Health. “After about six months, we made the difficult decision to abandon the portal and start over.”

Why Amazon Web Services

In 2014, MedStar Health enlisted IT consulting firm Impact Makers to rebuild its web portal. The goal was to combine MedStar’s 102 websites into a single, searchable destination with a common look and feel. MedStar decided to implement its new portal in the cloud because of the scalability offered there. And after considering several cloud-services vendors, Impact Makers chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) because of its auto-scaling capabilities, the cost savings it provided, and the comprehensiveness of the solution. “With other vendors, we would have had to cobble together several technologies from different providers into one cloud platform,” says Michael Ruiz, MedStar’s chief digital officer. “AWS provided a complete set of tools that allowed us to do everything under one umbrella, which made the integration a lot smoother.”

Impact Makers built the website using a wide range of AWS products. The portal is launched in an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), which is a logically isolated section of the AWS cloud. Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) offers persistent block-level storage volumes for use with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, while Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) provides a fully redundant infrastructure for storing and retrieving data. Amazon CloudSearch is the search tool that allows users to search for content and doctors, Amazon CloudWatch collects and tracks portal metrics, and Amazon ElastiCache scales distributed in-memory cache environments in the AWS cloud. “Running our website in the cloud on AWS has been a great experience,” Ruiz says. “We’ve been able to accomplish our goals in the time period that we set out to accomplish them. We wouldn’t have been able to do that in our own datacenter or a hosted environment.”

A subscriber to the Business-level tier of AWS Support, MedStar relied on AWS to validate its architectural configuration and to provide guidance on performance optimization and security. “AWS Support validated our deployment and increased our confidence in its success,” says Ruiz.

The Benefits

With its new website hosted in the AWS cloud, MedStar now offers patients an effective way to search for doctors, services, and locations, and make medical appointments—all from within a single portal. The cost of operating and maintaining the website has declined by more than 40 percent per month. At the same time, downtime has been reduced from 120 minutes to less than 5 minutes per month, while page download times have decreased from an average of 1,500 milliseconds to 120 milliseconds. As a result, patients are spending more time on the website, with fewer people abandoning their searches. “Running our website on AWS has dramatically improved the user experience,” says Swearingen. “Our bounce rate on the website has gone way down, our time on the page has gone way up, and our most recent numbers show that the number of page views is increasing.”

MedStar believes the improved digital experience will be more satisfying for current patients and customers and eventually will open pathways to new customers. And over the long term, AWS offers MedStar a platform for growth as it positions itself as a digital healthcare leader. “Using AWS has made it possible for us to engage our patients more directly—and offer them a reliable and efficient experience,” says Swearingen. “And we now have the foundation for creating mobile, social, and web services that dramatically improve every aspect of the healthcare experience.”


About MedStar Health

Founded in 1998, MedStar Health is the largest not-for-profit healthcare provider in Maryland and the Washington, D.C., region. 


AWS Services Used

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. It is designed to make web-scale cloud computing easier for developers.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudSearch

Amazon CloudSearch is a managed service in the AWS Cloud that makes it simple and cost-effective to set up, manage, and scale a search solution for your website or application.

Learn more »

Amazon VPC

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) lets you provision a logically isolated section of the AWS Cloud where you can launch AWS resources in a virtual network that you define.

Learn more »

Amazon CloudWatch

Amazon CloudWatch is a monitoring and observability service built for DevOps engineers, developers, site reliability engineers (SREs), and IT managers.

Learn more »

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) is an easy to use, high performance block storage service designed for use with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) for both throughput and transaction intensive workloads at any scale.

Learn more »

Amazon ElastiCache

Amazon ElastiCache offers fully managed Redis and Memcached. Seamlessly deploy, run, and scale popular open source compatible in-memory data stores.

Learn more »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance.

Learn more »

AWS Support

WS Support brings Amazon’s tradition of customer-obsession to the B2B technology world.

Learn more »


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.