借助 AWS,我们能够更直接地接触我们的患者,并能为其提供一种可靠、高效的体验。
Christine M. Swearingen 计划、营销和社区关系执行副总裁

MedStar Health 成立于 1998 年,是马里兰州和华盛顿地区最大的非营利医疗保健提供商。该体系在当地乃至全国都以卓越的医疗保健服务而著称。它包括 10 家医院和 250 多家门诊网站。它还是 MedStar Health Research Institute 和 MedStar Institute for Innovation 的总部。MedStar 的 30000 名员工和 6000 位附属医生面向整个地区提供初级护理、紧急救护和家庭保健服务。2014 年,MedStar 接待了超过 200000 住院患者和 4000000 门诊患者。

为支持这种患者优先的治疗理念,MedStar Health 希望利用数字技术以更高的效率为客户交付医疗保健服务。首先,该组织决定将不同的网站合并为一个患者互动门户,以便患者能够轻松跨整个系统搜索医生、医疗服务和位置,以及进行网络预约。其长期的计划是提供一系列完善的移动、社交和基于 Web 的服务,实现患者体验的改革。

MedStar 一开始就决定在托管环境中构建自己的门户;但结果令人失望。网站运行缓慢且经常崩溃,导致预约量不断下降、令客户心生不满。MedStar 每月需要花费数千美元来维护网站。“我们构建的不是消费者友好型网站,这损害了我们的业务和声誉。”MedStar Health 的计划、营销和社区关系执行副总裁 Christine M. Swearingen 说道,“大约 6 个月之后,我们做出了艰难的决定:弃用门户,重新开始。”

2014 年,MedStar Health 征募 IT 咨询公司 Impact Makers 为其重新构建 Web 门户。其目标是将 MedStar 的 102 个网站合并为一个外观普通的可搜索网站。考虑到可扩展性问题,MedStar 决定在云中实施新门户。在考虑多种 云服务 供应商之后,Impact Makers 选择了 Amazon Web Services (AWS),原因是 AWS 拥有自动扩展功能、能够节约成本并具有全面的解决方案。“如果选择其他供应商,我们可能需要将来自不同提供商的多种技术拼凑在一个云平台中。”MedStar 的首席数字关 Michael Ruiz 说道,“AWS 会提供一套完整的工具,可让我们一举多得,使得集成更加顺利。”

Impact Makers 使用各种 AWS 产品构建了网站。该门户发布在 AWS 云的逻辑隔离部分 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中。Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 提供持久稳固的块级存储容量,供 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例使用;与此同时,Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 提供完全冗余的基础设施,用于存储和检索数据。Amazon CloudSearch 是支持用户搜索内容和医生的搜索工具,Amazon CloudWatch 可以收集和跟踪门户指标,Amazon ElastiCache 可以在 AWS 云中扩展分发的内存缓存环境。“在 AWS 云中运行我们的网站是一种很棒的体验。”Ruiz 说道,“我们能够在预期时间内实现目标。如果使用我们自己的数据中心或托管的环境,则不能取得这样的结果。”

MedStar 订阅了商业级 AWS 支持,依赖 AWS 验证其架构配置并提供性能优化与安全性指导。“AWS 支持验证了我们的部署,增强了我们成功的信心。”Ruiz 说道。

凭借在 AWS 云中托管的新网站,MedStar 现在可凭借其单一门户为患者提供高效的方式来搜索医生、服务和位置以及进行医疗预约。MedStar 每月用于运营和维护网站的成本降低了 40% 以上。与此同时,每月的停机时间从 120 分钟缩减至 5 分钟以下,页面下载时间从平均 1500 毫秒降至平均 120 毫秒。如此一来,患者花费在网站上时间增加,放弃搜索的人越来越少。“在 AWS 上运行网站大幅提升了用户体验。”Swearingen 说道,“我们网站的跳出率一路直降,我们用在页面上的时间大幅增加,并且最近的数字显示我们的页面浏览次数不断增长。”

MedStar 相信改进的数字体验会让现有患者和客户更加满意,并最终将吸引更多新客户。长期来看,AWS 为 MedStar 提供了一个使其将自己定位成数字医疗保健领导者而进行发展的平台。“借助 AWS,我们能够更直接地接触我们的患者,并能为其提供一种可靠、高效的体验。”Swearingen 说道,“现在我们拥有了创建移动、社交和 Web 服务的基础,从而能实现医疗保健体验方方面面的大幅提升。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何能帮助您的提供商和承保人满足需求,请访问我们的提供商和承保人页面

Using AWS has made it possible for us to engage our patients more directly—and offer them a reliable and efficient experience.
Christine M. Swearingen Executive Vice President, Planning, Marketing, and Community Relations

Founded in 1998, MedStar Health is the largest not-for-profit healthcare provider in Maryland and the Washington, D.C., region. The system, which is recognized both regionally and nationally for medical care excellence, includes 10 hospitals and more than 250 outpatient care sites. It’s also home to the MedStar Health Research Institute and the MedStar Institute for Innovation. MedStar’s 30,000 associates and 6,000 affiliated physicians provide primary care, urgent care, and home healthcare services across the region. In 2014, MedStar had more than 200,000 inpatient stays and 4 million outpatient visits.

To support its patient-first philosophy of care, MedStar Health wanted to leverage digital technology to deliver healthcare services more efficiently to its customers. As a first step, the organization decided to combine its disparate websites into a single patient engagement portal that enables patients to easily search for doctors, medical services, and locations across its entire system—and to request appointments over the web. The long-term plan is to offer a full range of mobile, social, and web-based services that transform the patient experience.

MedStar initially decided to build its portal in a hosted environment; however, the results were disappointing. The website was slow and crashed often, leading to lost appointments and upset customers. And maintaining the website was costing MedStar thousands of dollars every month. “We ended up with a website that wasn’t consumer-friendly, and it was hurting our business and our reputation,” says Christine M. Swearingen, executive vice president of planning, marketing, and community relations for MedStar Health. “After about six months, we made the difficult decision to abandon the portal and start over.”

In 2014, MedStar Health enlisted IT consulting firm Impact Makers to rebuild its web portal. The goal was to combine MedStar’s 102 websites into a single, searchable destination with a common look and feel. MedStar decided to implement its new portal in the cloud because of the scalability offered there. And after considering several cloud-services vendors, Impact Makers chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) because of its auto-scaling capabilities, the cost savings it provided, and the comprehensiveness of the solution. “With other vendors, we would have had to cobble together several technologies from different providers into one cloud platform,” says Michael Ruiz, MedStar’s chief digital officer. “AWS provided a complete set of tools that allowed us to do everything under one umbrella, which made the integration a lot smoother.”

Impact Makers built the website using a wide range of AWS products. The portal is launched in an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC), which is a logically isolated section of the AWS cloud. Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) offers persistent block-level storage volumes for use with Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, while Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) provides a fully redundant infrastructure for storing and retrieving data. Amazon CloudSearch is the search tool that allows users to search for content and doctors, Amazon CloudWatch collects and tracks portal metrics, and Amazon ElastiCache scales distributed in-memory cache environments in the AWS cloud. “Running our website in the cloud on AWS has been a great experience,” Ruiz says. “We’ve been able to accomplish our goals in the time period that we set out to accomplish them. We wouldn’t have been able to do that in our own datacenter or a hosted environment.”

A subscriber to the Business-level tier of AWS Support, MedStar relied on AWS to validate its architectural configuration and to provide guidance on performance optimization and security. “AWS Support validated our deployment and increased our confidence in its success,” says Ruiz.

With its new website hosted in the AWS cloud, MedStar now offers patients an effective way to search for doctors, services, and locations, and make medical appointments—all from within a single portal. The cost of operating and maintaining the website has declined by more than 40 percent per month. At the same time, downtime has been reduced from 120 minutes to less than 5 minutes per month, while page download times have decreased from an average of 1,500 milliseconds to 120 milliseconds. As a result, patients are spending more time on the website, with fewer people abandoning their searches. “Running our website on AWS has dramatically improved the user experience,” says Swearingen. “Our bounce rate on the website has gone way down, our time on the page has gone way up, and our most recent numbers show that the number of page views is increasing.”

MedStar believes the improved digital experience will be more satisfying for current patients and customers and eventually will open pathways to new customers. And over the long term, AWS offers MedStar a platform for growth as it positions itself as a digital healthcare leader. “Using AWS has made it possible for us to engage our patients more directly—and offer them a reliable and efficient experience,” says Swearingen. “And we now have the foundation for creating mobile, social, and web services that dramatically improve every aspect of the healthcare experience.”

To learn more about how AWS can help your providers and insurers needs, visit our Providers and Insurers page.