客户案例 / 制造业

2022 年
Siemens 徽标

Siemens 利用 AWS 加强安全并提高生产率

全球技术公司 Siemens 已迁移到 AWS Security Hub,通过统一的安全控制面板和自动通知提高了生产率,同时加强了团队之间的协作。

中央控制面板

 集中显示安全检测结果,以便更迅速地做出响应

加强了

安保状况

通过自动化操作

提高了工作效率

改善了

 团队之间的协作

新增自动

 安全通知

概览

公司想要加强其安保状况,但它认识到,这就需要一个更稳健的系统,不但能从多个来源收集数据,而且有机会实现自动化。

Siemens 决定通过 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 实现对公司安全基础设施的现代化改造。通过一套 AWS 服务,包括 AWS Security Hub(一种云安保状况管理服务,可执行安全最佳实践检查、汇总警报,并促进自动修复),公司的安全团队将关键数据整合到集中的控制面板,实现自动通知,并改善与其他团队的沟通。

一个男人正在使用机器

机遇 | 将 AWS 服务与现有工具相集成

Siemens 是一家总部设在慕尼黑的技术和工业制造公司,为世界各地的能源、医疗保健和其他行业生产设备和部件。公司拥有 303,000 名员工,良好的安保状况对公司的运营至关重要。Siemens 的数字工业软件 (DISW) 软件即服务 (SaaS) 安全团队管理着 30 个内部小组的 300 多个账户,这对只有约 7 名安全分析师和工程师的团队来说是一项艰巨的任务。这个过程过去是人工操作,需要管理来自公司内部不同团队、不同工具和不同地点的各种数据。

为了加强公司的安保状况,实现重要任务自动化操作,西门子向 AWS 寻求解决方案。该公司决定使用 AWS 的主要原因之一是,AWS 服务使用很方便,而且可将服务与现有工具集成。“我们希望能集中访问我们所有的信息。”Siemens 高级基础设施工程师 Scott Schwartz 说。“我们希望能汇总企业中各个账户的数据,并将服务与我们所有的工具相集成。”

该公司已使用了威胁检测服务 Amazon GuardDuty,持续监控 AWS 账户是否存在恶意活动,并提供详细的安全检测结果,加强可见性和修复措施,从而集中呈现安全检测结果。但安全团队希望在整个企业层面上建立监控。此外,公司希望配置自己的安全标准,便于公司挑选出需要包含在报告中的检测结果类型。2021 年初,Siemens 开始使用 AWS Security Hub,并集成了几个对其工作流至关重要的现有软件工具,如安全信息和事件管理工具 Splunk。“我们可以轻松地建立一个将数据从很多源(包括 AWS Security Hub 和 Amazon GuardDuty)中传送至 Splunk 的集成系统。"Schwartz 说。“能够将 AWS 服务与现有工具相集成使用是一个巨大的胜利。”

kr_quotemark

我们很难从每个源单独提取数据,然后自己完成数据关联性分析。迁移到 AWS Security Hub 和 Amazon GuardDuty 后,我们能集中查看这些数据,这非常理想。”

Scott Schwartz
Siemens 高级基础设施工程师

解决方案 | 在 AWS 上实现统一的安全控制面板

AWS Security Hub 服务范围的广泛性是 Siemens 在云中构建安全基础设施的关键优势。“我们很难从每个源单独提取数据,然后自己完成数据关联性分析。”Schwartz 说。“迁移到 AWS Security Hub 和 Amazon GuardDuty 后,我们能集中查看这些数据,这非常理想。” 在统一的控制面板上,Siemens 可以更迅速地识别漏洞,调查差异,最重要的是能够快速解决问题。通过分析 AWS Security Hub 中与特定问题相关的检测结果数量,就能最简单地评估出安全系统是否成功有效。例如,在一次事件中,Siemens 使用自动漏洞管理服务 Amazon Inspector 持续扫描 AWS 工作负载的软件漏洞和意外的网络暴露,向 AWS Security Hub 发送了近 2500 个安全检测结果。然后,该公司使用 Amazon CloudWatch 向 21 个受影响的账户自动发出实时通知和定期通知。Amazon CloudWatch 提供了数据和可实际实行的见解分析,以监控应用程序,应对全系统的性能变化,并优化资源利用。该团队通过基于 AWS Security Hub 数据的实时 Splunk 控制面板,让人们对这些检测结果的修复变得直观可见。

AWS 服务这种可见性和的自动化功能对 DISW SaaS 安全团队的工作流起到了重大影响。通过将 AWS Security Hub 与 Cloud Custodian(一种用于编写云管理规则脚本的开源工具)集成,Siemens 实现了信息详细的日志和通知功能。它还为 AWS Config 预置了规则,这一服务用于评估、审计和评价 AWS 资源的配置。现在,如果系统检测到意外活动,几乎可以立即通知团队成员。然后,安全团队可以确定问题是恶意活动还是简单的意外行为。“团队成员现在有了更多的知识和经验,这些问题中有 95% 的问题他们自己就可以做出正确判断和决策。”Schwartz 说。更好的数据和更快的决策也改善了与其他内部团体的沟通。

安全团队监控着整个公司的活动,因此另一个值得关注的问题是每个团队的支出。以前,各团队管理着各自的支出,但现在安全团队可以使用 AWS 监督所有支出情况。“我们在多个地方设置了警报和报告,以覆盖尽可能多的基础设施。”Schwartz 说。此外,安全团队还负责使用 AWS Organizations 为所有与 SaaS 产品(如 Xcelerator)一起即将上市的账户进行预置,AWS Organizations 可以在企业增长和扩展 AWS 资源时集中管理和治理其环境。因此,Siemens 可以使用已有功能以标准化的方式创建新账户。此外,能够使用 AWS 无缝构建安全功能并排除故障,增强了安全团队与其他团队的合作。“过去我们在其他团队的安全工作中存在摩擦,现在则是合作。”Schwartz 说。

成果 | 计划增强云中的安全

Siemens DISW SaaS 安全团队已经大大改善了其 AWS Security Hub 的分数,这是一个重要的指标,代表了系统无问题运行的百分比程度。现在,它希望帮助开发和运营团队实现同样的目标,让他们有同样的机会获得 AWS Security Hub 检测结果,并提供支持来解决这些问题。“通过使用 AWS,我们认为可以为其他团队提供相同程度的安全。”Schwartz 说。

同时,Siemens 计划即将开展大量工作,进一步加强安全,让安全在整个公司变得更加重要。“AWS 上有很多服务和功能,您可以不断地学习和改进。”Schwartz 说。“作为客户,能够获得这种广泛的服务是非常好的。”

CSO 架构和流程云监管人

Splunk 对本地 AWS 日志源的摄取

关于 Siemens

总部设在慕尼黑的 Siemens 是一家全球技术和工业制造公司,为能源、医疗保健和其他行业生产零部件。公司拥有 303000 名员工,也是一家著名的医疗诊断设备制造商。

使用的 AWS 服务

AWS Security Hub

AWS Security Hub 是一项云安保状况管理服务,可执行安全最佳实践检查,整合警告并支持自动修复。

了解更多 »

Amazon GuardDuty

Amazon GuardDuty 是一项威胁检测服务,它持续监控您的 AWS 账户和工作负载的恶意活动,并提供详细的安全检测结果以实现可见性和修复。

了解更多 »

AWS Config

AWS Config 服务可帮助您评估、审计和评价您的 AWS 资源配置。 

了解更多 »

AWS Organizations

AWS Organizations 可帮助您在增长和扩展 AWS 资源时集中管理和治理您的环境。

了解更多 »

探索 Siemens 利用 AWS 开启的创新之旅

更多 Siemens 案例

1

未找到任何项目 

开始使用

不同行业和规模的企业都在使用 AWS 对其业务进行转型,以实现自身愿景。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 之旅。

Customer Stories / Manufacturing

2022
Siemens Logo

Siemens Strengthens Security and Enhances Productivity Using AWS

Global technology company Siemens migrated to AWS Security Hub, improving productivity with a unified security dashboard and automatic notifications while enhancing collaboration between teams.

Centralized dashboard

 of security findings for more rapid responses

Strengthened

security posture

Automation

resulting in enhanced productivity

Improved collaboration

 between teams

Added automatic

 security notifications

Overview

When the company looked to strengthen its security posture, however, it realized it would need a more robust system, one that would gather data from multiple sources and provide opportunities for automation.

Siemens decided to modernize its security infrastructure on Amazon Web Services (AWS). Using a suite of AWS services, including AWS Security Hub—a cloud security posture management service that performs security best practice checks, aggregates alerts, and facilitates automated remediation—the company’s security team consolidated critical data on a centralized dashboard, automated notifications, and improved communication with the other teams it manages.

man working with machines

Opportunity | Integrating AWS Services with Existing Tools

Siemens, a technology and industrial manufacturing company based in Munich, produces equipment and components for energy, healthcare, and other industries around the world. With 303,000 employees, a strong security posture is critical to the company’s operations. The Digital Industries Software (DISW) software-as-a-service (SaaS) security team at Siemens manages over 300 accounts across 30 internal groups—a large task for its team of around seven security analysts and engineers. The process, which used to be manual, involved managing data coming from different teams, tools, and locations within the company.

To strengthen its security posture and automate important tasks, Siemens turned to AWS. One of the primary drivers of the company’s decision to use AWS was the ease with which it could adopt AWS services and integrate them into its existing tools. “We wanted to have centralized access to all of our information,” says Scott Schwartz, senior infrastructure engineer at Siemens. “We wanted to aggregate it from accounts across the organization and integrate it with all of our tools.”

The company was already using Amazon GuardDuty—a threat detection service that continuously monitors AWS accounts for malicious activity and delivers detailed security findings for visibility and remediation—to aggregate some security findings. But the security team wanted to build out its monitoring at an organization level. In addition, it wanted to configure its own security standards, making it possible to choose which types of findings become part of its reports. In early 2021, Siemens began using AWS Security Hub and was able to integrate several existing software tools that were key to its workflows, such as Splunk, a security information and event management tool. “It was simple to build an integration that pulls data from numerous sources, including AWS Security Hub and Amazon GuardDuty, into Splunk,” says Schwartz. “Being able to use AWS services with existing tools was a big win.”

kr_quotemark

Pulling data individually from each source and doing our own correlations was difficult. Migrating to AWS Security Hub and Amazon GuardDuty gave us a central view into that data, which was very desirable."

Scott Schwartz
Senior Infrastructure Engineer, Siemens

Solution | Achieving a Consolidated Security Dashboard on AWS

The breadth of coverage that AWS Security Hub provides was a key benefit as Siemens built out its security infrastructure in the cloud. “Pulling data individually from each source and doing our own correlations was difficult,” says Schwartz. “Migrating to AWS Security Hub and Amazon GuardDuty gave us a central view into that data, which was very desirable.” On a unified dashboard, Siemens can more quickly identify vulnerabilities, investigate discrepancies, and, most importantly, resolve issues. One of the simplest ways to measure the success of its security is by analyzing the number of findings in AWS Security Hub related to a particular issue. For example, during one incident, Siemens used Amazon Inspector, an automated vulnerability management service that continually scans AWS workloads for software vulnerabilities and unintended network exposure, to send nearly 2,500 security findings to AWS Security Hub. Then, the company was able to automate both real-time and periodic notifications to the 21 affected accounts using Amazon CloudWatch, which provides data and actionable insights to monitor applications, respond to system-wide performance changes, and optimize resource utilization. The team visualized the remediation of these findings with ease through a real-time Splunk dashboard based on the data from AWS Security Hub.

This visibility and the automation capabilities of AWS services have been transformative to the DISW SaaS security team’s workflows. By integrating AWS Security Hub with Cloud Custodian, an open-source tool for scripting cloud management rules, Siemens achieved detailed logging and notification capabilities. It also provisioned rules for AWS Config, a service for assessing, auditing, and evaluating the configurations of AWS resources. Now, the system can notify team members almost instantaneously if it detects unexpected activity. The security team can then determine whether an issue is malicious activity or simply unexpected behavior. “The team members have more knowledge and experience now, and they can make 95 percent of these determinations themselves,” says Schwartz. Better data and faster decisions have also led to improved communication with other internal groups.

As the security team monitors activity across the company, another concern is each team’s spending. Previously, teams managed their own spending, but now the security team can oversee everything using AWS. “We have alerts and reporting set up in multiple places to cover as many bases as possible,” says Schwartz. In addition, the security team is responsible for provisioning all accounts going to market with a SaaS product, such as Xcelerator, using AWS Organizations, which lets organizations centrally manage and govern their environments as they grow and scale their AWS resources. As a result, Siemens can create new accounts in a standardized way with features already in place. Further, being able to seamlessly build and troubleshoot security features using AWS has enhanced the security team’s work with other teams. “Where there used to be friction when we worked on other teams’ security, there’s now collaboration,” says Schwartz.

Outcome | Planning for Secure Growth in the Cloud

The Siemens DISW SaaS security team has greatly improved its AWS Security Hub score, an important metric that represents the percentage of systems running without issue. Now, it wants to help the development and operational teams do the same by giving them the same access to AWS Security Hub findings and providing support to resolve them. “By using AWS, we can provide the same degree of security to other teams by default,” says Schwartz.

Meanwhile, Siemens has plans for a significant amount of upcoming work, which will make strong security even more important across the company. “There are so many services and features on AWS that you can continually learn and improve,” says Schwartz. “It’s great as a customer to have access to that breadth of services.”

CSO Cloud Custodian Architecture and Process Flow

Splunk Ingestion of Native AWS Log Sources

About Siemens

Based in Munich, Siemens is a global technology and industrial manufacturing company that produces components for energy, healthcare, and other industries. With 303,000 employees, it is also a prominent maker of medical diagnostics equipment.

AWS Services Used

AWS Security Hub

AWS Security Hub is a cloud security posture management service that performs security best practice checks, aggregates alerts, and enables automated remediation.

Learn more »

Amazon GuardDuty

Amazon GuardDuty is a threat detection service that continuously monitors your AWS accounts and workloads for malicious activity and delivers detailed security findings for visibility and remediation.

Learn more »

AWS Config

AWS Config is a service that enables you to assess, audit, and evaluate the configurations of your AWS resources. 

Learn more »

AWS Organizations

AWS Organizations helps you centrally manage and govern your environment as you grow and scale your AWS resources.

Learn more »

Explore Siemens's journey of innovation using AWS

More Siemens Stories

1

no items found 

Get Started

Organizations of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses and delivering on their missions every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS journey today.