Union Medical Healthcare 案例研究

2018 年

Union Medical Healthcare(UMH)总部位于香港,可为各种医学美容、健康检查服务、牙科、手足病、骨科和传统中医等领域提供一站式解决方案。公司于 2016 年 3 月在香港证券交易所上市。截至 2017 年 9 月,UMH 在香港开设了 20 家医疗中心和诊所,澳门 2 家,中国大陆 12 家,另外两家尚在建设中。同期收入增长了 51.4% 而达到 6.173 亿港元(7880 万美元)。

开始 Python 教程
kr_quotemark

在 AWS 上部署 SAP S/4HANA Finance 后,我们生成第一份季度报告的速度比使用主要依赖手动操作的旧式财务报告系统快 50%。”

Michael Ngai
UMH 副首席信息官

挑战

全球对美容治疗的需求日益增加,2016 年全球市场价值为 263 亿美元,且预计到 2025 年,其复合年增长率可达 5.9%。UMH 等公司正在满足这些增长的需求,其中 UMH 在香港以及中国大陆部分地区和澳门均设有诊所。

为加速业务增长,UMH 于 2016 年 3 月在香港证券交易所上市。这为该公司提供了建立或收购新诊所的机会,增加了在中国大陆的分店,并为扩大其在香港的服务提供了资金,以满足当地不断增长的需求和“医疗游客”(前往香港旅游的中国大陆居民)的增加。

由于需要应对数百名机构投资者,UMH 试图加快其财务报告系统的速度,不过这些系统主要依靠手动操作。生成报告(例如其季度数据)可能需要一个多月的时间才能完成。此外,高级管理人员需要更好地了解企业的日常运营。反过来,这将帮助他们更有效地制定业务扩展计划。

UMH 决定推出 SAP S/4HANA Finance 以替换其现有系统。然而,在本地部署这样的解决方案成本太过高昂。UMH 副首席信息官 Michael Ngai 解释说:“本地基础设施会很昂贵。我们估计它的成本约为 400000 港元 [51140 美元]。另外,我们不仅要承担硬件成本,而且还要向 IT 人员支付费用,以确保其可靠性并进行维护。”

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

UMH 研究了在基于云的基础设施上运行 SAP S/4HANA Finance 的可能性。该公司研究了出自 Amazon Web Services(AWS)、Google Cloud Platform(GCP)和中国腾讯云的产品。Ngai 表示:“我们很快确定 GCP 在中国不设有区域,所以我们决定不予使用。不过,AWS 确实在中国设有区域,并且它曾与 SAP 合作,为 SAP S/4HANA 提供 AWS Cloud 认证。”

为了构建适用于 SAP S/4HANA 的 AWS 基础设施,UMH 聘请了 AWS 合作伙伴网络(APN)成员 Xynergy IT Solutions。该合作伙伴使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)实例在 AWS Cloud 上设置基础设施,以运行应用程序和数据库。对于 UMH,Xynergy IT Solutions 推出了两个 Amazon EC2 r4.8xlarge 实例,其中每个实例具有 32 个计算核心和 244GB 的内存。UMH 还利用弹性负载均衡器来分配传入流量,并利用 Amazon Elastic Block Store(Amazon EBS)来存储数据。整个 SAP S/4HANA Finance 解决方案位于 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud(Amazon VPC)中。

优势

UMH 计划在未来几年开设更多诊所,以利用对高质量医疗和保健服务日益增长的需求。它还计划扩大其诊所内的服务空间,并继续增强香港的医学学科的多样性。这些计划的进展包含在 UMH 为投资者准备的财务报告中。Ngai 表示:“如今,我们可以通过在 AWS 上运行的 SAP 环境更快地捕获财务数据。在 AWS 上部署 SAP S/4HANA Finance 后,我们生成第一份季度报告的速度比使用旧式财务报告系统快 50%。这一改进意味着,在高级管理人员提出要求时,我们能有更多的时间来生成临时报告。”

UMH 高管还可以通过基于 Web 的仪表板实时访问财务数据。“借助在 AWS 上运行的 SAP S/4HANA 系统,我们可以看到我们的决策对业务运营的直接影响,”Ngai 说道。

根据 Ngai 所述,自 UMH 推出其 SAP 解决方案以来,AWS Cloud 已被证明是高度可靠的——启动以后从未停机。他还估计,通过在 AWS 上启动 SAP S/4HANA Finance,而不是采购和部署本地基础设施,UMH 至少节省了两到三个月的时间。“我认为在 AWS 上运行 SAP S/4HANA Finance 可以实现大幅节省。我们避免了维护底层 AWS 基础设施和执行数据备份的管理成本。”


关于 Union Medical Healthcare

Union Medical Healthcare(UMH)总部位于香港,可为各种医学美容、健康检查服务、牙科、手足病、骨科和传统中医等领域提供一站式解决方案。


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 >>

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing 在多个目标(如 Amazon EC2 实例、容器、IP 地址和 Lambda 函数)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon EBS

Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 是一种易于使用的高性能数据块存储服务,旨在与 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 一起使用。

了解更多 >>

Amazon VPC

借助 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud(Amazon VPC),您可以在 AWS Cloud 中预置一个逻辑隔离的部分,从而在自己定义的虚拟网络中启动 AWS 资源。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

不同行业和规模的公司都在使用 AWS,将其日常业务运营进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS Cloud 之旅。

After deploying SAP S/4HANA Finance on AWS, we produced our first quarterly reports 50% faster than with our old financial reporting system, which was largely manual.
Michael Ngai Deputy CIO

Based in Hong Kong, Union Medical Healthcare (UMH) offers one-stop solutions in a wide range of medical aesthetics, health-screening services, dentistry, chiropody, orthopedic, and traditional Chinese medicine. The company was listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in March 2016. As of September 2017, UMH operated 20 medical centers and clinics in Hong Kong, 2 in Macau, and 12 in China with two more under construction. Revenue during the same period increased by 51.4 percent to HK$617.3 million (US$78.8 million).

Demand for aesthetic treatments is increasing worldwide, with the global market valued at US$26.3 billion in 2016 and a compound annual growth rate of 5.9 percent forecast through 2025. The rise in demand is being met by companies such as UMH, which has clinics across Hong Kong, as well as in parts of China and Macau.

To accelerate business growth, UMH listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in March 2016. This provided the company the opportunity to build or acquire new clinics, increasing in its locations in China as well as funding expansion of its services in Hong Kong to capture rising local demand and an increase in “medical tourists”—Chinese residents who travel to Hong Kong for treatment.

With hundreds of institutional investors to answer to, UMH sought to speed up its financial reporting systems, which were largely manual. Generating reports, such as its quarterly figures, could take more than a month to finalize. Further, senior executives needed better insight into the daily operations of the business. This, in turn, would help them to strategize their business-expansion program more effectively.

UMH decided to roll out SAP S/4HANA Finance to replace its existing system. However, deploying such a solution on premises was too costly. Michael Ngai, deputy chief information officer at UMH, explains, “An on-premises infrastructure was going to be expensive. We estimated it would cost about HK$400,000 [US$51,140]. And we would not only have the cost of the hardware, but also the expense of paying IT personnel to ensure its reliability and carry out maintenance.”

UMH studied the possibility of running SAP S/4HANA Finance on a cloud-based infrastructure. The company looked at offerings from Amazon Web Services (AWS), the Google Cloud Platform (GCP), and China-based Tencent Cloud. Says Ngai, “We quickly determined that GCP didn’t have locations in China, so we decided not to use it. AWS, however, did have Chinese locations and it had worked with SAP to certify the AWS Cloud for SAP S/4HANA.”

To build its AWS infrastructure for SAP S/4HANA, UMH engaged AWS Partner Network (APN) member Xynergy IT Solutions. The partner set up the infrastructure on the AWS Cloud using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances to run the applications and database. For UMH, Xynergy IT Solutions has launched two Amazon EC2 r4.8xlarge instances, featuring 32 compute cores and 244 gibibytes of memory per instance. UMH also takes advantage of Elastic Load Balancing to distribute incoming traffic and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) to store data. The entire SAP S/4HANA Finance solution sits within an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC).

UMH plans to open more clinics in the coming years to capitalize on the increasing demand for high-quality medical and healthcare services. It also plans to enlarge the servicing spaces within its clinics and continue to diversify the medical disciplines in Hong Kong. The progress of these plans is included in financial reports that UMH prepares for investors. Ngai says, “Nowadays, we can capture financial data much quicker with our SAP environment running on AWS. After deploying SAP S/4HANA Finance on AWS, we produced our first quarterly reports 50 percent faster than with our old financial reporting system. This improvement means that we have more time to produce reports on an ad hoc basis whenever they are requested by senior executives.”

UMH executives also have access to financial data in real time through web-based dashboards. “We can see the immediate impact of our decisions on the business’s operations with our SAP S/4HANA system running on AWS,” says Ngai.

According to Ngai, the AWS Cloud has proven to be highly reliable since UMH launched its SAP solution—with no downtime. He also estimated that UMH saved at least two to three months by launching SAP S/4HANA Finance on AWS rather than procuring and deploying an on-premises infrastructure. “I think the savings from running SAP S/4HANA Finance on AWS are significant. We avoided the management cost of maintaining the underlying AWS infrastructure and performing data backups.”