xilinx_Customer-Reference_Logo

Xilinx 利用 AWS 缩短测试时间并提高开发人员生产效率

2017 年

Xilinx 是一家完全可编程 FPGA、SoC、MPSoC 和 3D IC 提供商。Xilinx 支持软件定义和硬件优化型应用程序,在云计算、SDN/NFV、视频/视觉、工业物联网和 5G 无线领域推动行业进步。

Customer-References-industry-Manufacturing-Design.jpg
kr_quotemark

“AWS 负责处理重复的繁重工作,这有助于我们专注于开发创新功能并为我们的客户创造巨大价值。”

Ambs Kesavan
Xilinx 软件工程与开发运营总监

挑战

在软件测试中实现可扩展性和更高容量

Xilinx 的软件开发速度非常快。该公司的开发人员每天都会测试一系列软件应用程序,以便确保其没有错误,可以供开发现场可编程门阵列 (FPGA) 解决方案的客户使用。随着 Xilinx 每一个新软件版本的推出,测试用例和操作系统平台的数量都在增长。

而 Xilinx 软件团队面临着一项挑战:他们使用本地数据中心资源进行回归测试,需求的激增造成了瓶颈。Xilinx 软件工程与开发运营总监 Ambs Kesavan 表示:“对于关键的版本测试,我们的增长速度在可扩展性方面带来了挑战”。因此,软件工程师有时不得不等待可用的资源,然后才能完成测试。

回归测试占用了大量资源,Xilinx 的开发人员没有获得足够的计算容量来支持自己的开发和单元测试。这种情况开始影响开发人员的生产效率。“成本也是一项问题,因为即使在非高峰时间,我们也在为计算和存储基础设施支付费用。”Kesavan 说。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

使用 AWS 高性能计算进行回归测试

Xilinx 通过迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上运行的高性能计算 (HPC) 集群,解决了基础设施的扩展问题。“我们评估了几家云提供商之后选择了 AWS,因为它拥有最好的工具和最成熟的解决方案”,Kesavan 表示。

Xilinx 现在在一个集群上运行自己的软件测试平台,集群中混合采用了计算密集型和内存密集型 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例。Xilinx 使用这一平台向客户和使用 Amazon EC2 F1 实例的 FPGA 开发人员提供解决方案。F1 实例让 FPGA 能够通过编程为应用程序构建自定义硬件加速。

该公司使用 Auto Scaling,根据在任何给定时间需要运行的回归测试的数量以编程方式添加容量。Xilinx 使用 Amazon DynamoDB 作为主数据库,并使用包括 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)、Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 和 Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) 在的多种 AWS 存储产品来支持自己的端到端自动化回归测试解决方案。

该公司在不中断业务的情况下成功迁移到了 AWS。“在 AWS HPC 解决方案团队的有力支持下,我们最初的概念验证在几天内就顺利完成。”Kesavan 说。

优势

缩短周转时间,提高可扩展性和生产效率

使用 AWS 进行回归测试,Xilinx 缩短了周转时间,提高了峰值负载期间试运行的可预测性。该公司现在还可以为相关作业提供按需定制的集群来满足其计算需求和内存需求,消除了队列争用问题。AWS 资源可以按需获取,因此开发人员现在无需等待计算资源,并且测试结果有 100% 的可预测性。Kesavan 说:“在 AWS 上按需运行高容量的回归测试,是降低测试次数可变性的关键。我们现在可以立即使用计算和内存资源,这减少了等待时间,提高了开发人员的生产效率”。

该公司还可以通过横向扩展和纵向扩展来满足计算需求。例如,Auto Scaling 支持以编程方式按需添加计算节点。此外,Xilinx 可以利用不同的 Amazon EC2 实例类型和一些增强的优化功能(例如 Amazon EBS 存储优化型实例)来提高性能。Xilinx 还获得了更大的计算资源灵活性,因为它可以为工作流程选择正确的配置,不会被限定到特定的硬件类型。

使用 AWS,Xilinx 现在可以专注于为客户开发最好的软件。Kesavan 表示:“AWS 负责处理重复的繁重工作,可以帮助我们专注于开发创新功能,并为我们的客户创造巨大价值。”

观看 Xilinx 的优秀工程师 Simon Burke 讲述其 AWS 使用之旅

观看 Xilinx 的优秀工程师 Simon Burke 讲述其 AWS 使用之旅

关于 Xilinx

Xilinx 是一家完全可编程 FPGA、SoC、MPSoC 和 3D IC 提供商。

AWS 的优势

  • 缩短软件测试周转时间
  • 实现 100% 的测试结果可预测性
  • 提高开发人员工作效率

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。 

了解更多 »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。

了解更多 >>

Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB 是一个键/值和文档数据库,可以在任何规模的环境中提供个位数的毫秒级性能。

了解更多 >>

AWS Auto Scaling

AWS Auto Scaling 可以监控您的应用程序并自动调整容量,从而以尽可能低的成本来保持稳定、可预测的性能。

了解更多 >>


开始使用

各行各业、各个规模的公司都在使用 AWS 转型其日常业务运营。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

xilinx_Customer-Reference_Logo

Xilinx Speeds Testing Time, Increases Developer Productivity Using AWS

2017

Xilinx is a provider of All Programmable FPGAs, SoCs, MPSoCs, and 3D ICs. Xilinx enables applications that are both software-defined and hardware-optimized—powering industry advancements in cloud computing, SDN/NFV, video/vision, industrial IoT, and 5G wireless.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

AWS takes care of undifferentiated heavy lifting, and that helps us focus on developing innovative features and delivering great value to our customers."

Ambs Kesavan
Software Engineering and DevOps Director, Xilinx

The Challenge

Seeking Scalability and More Capacity for Software Testing

Software development is on a fast track at Xilinx. Every day, the company’s developers test a range of software applications to ensure they are bug-free and ready for customers developing field-programmable gate array (FPGA) solutions. And with each new Xilinx software release, the number of test cases and operating-system platforms grows.

But the Xilinx software team had a challenge: it was using on-premises data-center resources for regression testing, which was creating bottlenecks due to spikes in demand. “Our growth rate created scalability challenges during critical release-testing cycles,” says Ambs Kesavan, software engineering and DevOps director at Xilinx. As a result, software engineers sometimes had to wait for available resources before they could complete test cycles.

With regression tests taking up significant resources, Xilinx developers weren’t getting enough compute capacity to support their development and unit testing. This situation was starting to affect developer productivity. “Cost was an issue as well because we were paying for the compute and storage infrastructure even during non-peak times,” says Kesavan.

Why Amazon Web Services

Regression Testing Using AWS High-Performance Computing

Xilinx addressed its infrastructure-scaling problem by migrating to a high-performance computing (HPC) cluster running on Amazon Web Services (AWS). “We evaluated several cloud providers and chose AWS because it had the best tools and most mature solution,” says Kesavan.

Xilinx now runs its software-testing platform on a cluster with a mix of compute-intensive and memory-intensive Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Xilinx uses the platform to deliver solutions to customers, including FPGA developers working on Amazon EC2 F1 instances. The F1 instances feature FPGAs that can be programmed to build custom hardware accelerations for applications.

The company uses Auto Scaling to programmatically add capacity based on the number of regression tests it needs to run at any given time. Xilinx uses Amazon DynamoDB as its primary database and various AWS storage offerings—including Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS), and Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS)—to support the company’s end-to-end automated regression-testing solution.

The company successfully migrated to AWS with no disruption to the business. “Our initial proof of concept was completed in just a few days with great support from the AWS HPC solutions team,” says Kesavan.

The Benefits

Improving Turnaround Time, Scalability, Productivity

By using AWS for regression testing, Xilinx improved turnaround time and predictability of test runs during peak load cycles. The company also eliminated the challenge of queue contention now that related jobs can be provided with on-demand clusters customized for their compute and memory needs. Developers now have zero wait time for compute resources, and the organization has 100 percent predictability for test results because AWS resources are available on demand. “Running on-demand, higher-capacity regression testing on AWS was key to lowering the variability of test run times,” Kesavan says. “We can now get instant access to compute and memory resources, which reduces waiting time and improves developer productivity.”

The company can also scale horizontally and vertically to meet compute demands. For example, Auto Scaling provides options to add on-demand compute nodes programmatically. In addition, Xilinx can take advantage of different Amazon EC2 instance types and several enhanced optimization capabilities—such as Amazon EBS storage-optimized instances—to improve performance. Xilinx also has more compute-resource flexibility, because it can choose the right configuration for a workflow without being locked into a specific hardware type.

By using AWS, Xilinx can now concentrate solely on creating the best possible software for its customers. Kesavan says, “AWS takes care of undifferentiated heavy lifting, and that helps us focus on developing innovative features and delivering great value to our customers."


About Xilinx

Xilinx is a provider of All Programmable FPGAs, SoCs, MPSoCs, and 3D ICs.

Benefits of AWS

  • Reduced software-test turnaround times
  • 100% test-result predictability
  • Increased developer productivity

AWS Services Used

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. 

Learn more »

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud.

Learn more >>

Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB is a key-value and document database that delivers single-digit millisecond performance at any scale.

Learn more >>

AWS Auto Scaling

AWS Auto Scaling monitors your applications and automatically adjusts capacity to maintain steady, predictable performance at the lowest possible cost.

Learn more >>


Get Started

Companies of all sizes across all industries are transforming their businesses every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.