Amazon EC2 F1 实例

实现在云中更快地开发和部署 FPGA 加速器

Amazon EC2 F1 实例使用 FPGA 实现自定义硬件加速交付。F1 实例易于编程,并且配备了开发、模拟、调试和编译硬件加速代码所需的各种资源,包括 FPGA Developer AMI 并支持在云上进行硬件级开发。使用 F1 实例部署硬件加速在许多应用程序中都非常有用,可解决需要高带宽、增强型联网和超高计算能力的复杂科学、工程和业务问题。F1 理想的目标应用程序具备为数不多的不同操作,而且这些操作占应用程序运行时的很大一部分。此类应用程序的示例包括大数据分析、基因组学、电子设计自动化 (EDA)、图像和视频处理、压缩、安全以及搜索/分析。当需要以较低的总体成本处理大量数据,或者当加速有助于显著缩短计算时间时,客户都使用 F1 实例。

F1 实例提供多样化的开发环境:从底层硬件开发人员到更熟悉 C/C++ 和 openCL 环境(可在我们的 GitHub 上使用)的软件开发人员,都有合适的环境。FPGA 设计完成后,您可以将其注册为 Amazon FPGA Image (AFI),然后将其部署到您的 F1 实例,只需单击几下即可完成部署。您可以多次重复使用您的 AFI,并可以根据需要在多个 F1 实例上使用。使用 FPGA Developer AMI 时,无需支付开发工具软件费用,您可以按需在 F1 实例上对 FPGA 多次进行编程,无需额外付费。

f1

优势

可扩展的高性能计算

与本地系统不同,在 Amazon EC2 F1 实例上运行高性能计算几乎可以实现无限的容量来扩展您的基础设施,并且让您可以按照工作负载需求轻松灵活地更改资源。您可以配置资源以满足应用程序的需求,并在几分钟内启动所需数量的 FPGA 实例,且只需按实际使用量付费。

计算时间最多可缩减 100 倍

与 CPU 相比,Amazon EC2 F1 实例可将速度提升高达 100 倍,适用于各种受计算限制的应用程序。客户可以直接在 AWS Marketplace 中发现、测试和部署自定义加速器,从而轻松加速他们的计算管道。无需了解如何对 FPGA 进行编程,因为如同其他 EC2 实例软件,F1 技术合作伙伴开发的基于 F1 的产品已经过打包。

轻松加速开发

借助基于云的高级工具和流,开发人员可以专注于其增值加速逻辑,从而加速其 FPGA 的开发。开发人员可以通过自定进度在线教程获得实践经验,并可从许多 GitHub 示例中学习。为了简化调试过程,AWS 开发出了虚拟 JTAG 等虚拟硬件调试工具,提供熟悉的开发环境,让多个开发人员可以在不依赖于有限的本地资源的情况下取得进展。

使用案例

基因组学研究

基因组学研究人员必须处理的生物信息数据的数量和复杂性不断增加,而且他们必须处理 PB 级的数据才能快速满足医生及其患者的需求。对于此类有时间要求的使用案例,F1 实例是理想的解决方案,同时也是处理大量数据时的理想选择。FPGA 的计算成本最低可达到 AWS 上最新 CPU 实例的三十分之一。

财务分析

金融服务行业对多种应用程序的加速计算功能需求一直在不断增加,包括风险建模和分析、针对安全性的事务分析、数据分析等。金融服务组织可以使用 F1 实例来提高风险建模和分析的准确性,从而显著改进他们的决策制定流程,并更快获得结果,以便交易者可以根据最新数据做出更好的判断。利用 CPU,银行每天只能进行一次风险建模,而使用 FPGA,他们可以使用实时分析。

实时视频处理

高性能直播级视频应用程序(如视频分析及视频转码和压缩)需要使用实时分析功能。视频压缩是节省 ISP 带宽的一个特定使用案例。实时视频压缩使向客户流式传输直播视频的组织能够节省服务提供商带宽成本。F1 实例是满足这些应用程序要求的理想解决方案,且不会影响视频质量。

高通量图像处理

大型网站可以在数据传输过程中节省执行图像转码的存储空间。例如,处理来自智能手机客户的大量数据。

大数据搜索和分析

许多大数据应用程序对数据分析和搜索的数量、多样性和速度要求不断提高,导致客户正在寻求硬件加速来满足这些要求。对于这些应用程序,客户可以利用 F1 实例的增强性能来满足其大数据分析和搜索要求。

网络和安全性

AWS FPGA 具备使用虚拟以太网功能以线路速率高效计算网络数据包的能力。借助此功能,云 FPGA 可用于深度数据包检测或高性能负载均衡器等安全应用,以及需要实时进行自定义数据包处理的任何其他网络应用。

功能

现场可编程门阵列 (FPGA)

FPGA 是可以重新编程的硬件设备,可以实现任何逻辑功能。这让 FPGA 类似于定制芯片(又称为专用集成电路,即 ASIC),让开发人员能够创建自定义处理器/加速器,提供专为加速特定工作负载而量身定制的优化计算。与 CPU 和 GPU 等固定功能计算的解决方案相比,FPGA 可在特定情况下实现显著的加速。

硬件开发工具包

开发人员可以通过创建 AWS 账户并下载 AWS FPGA 硬件开发工具包 (HDK) 开始使用 F1 实例。该工具包可在 GitHub 上使用,且包含 F1、内部 FPGA 接口和用于生成 Amazon FPGA Image (AFI) 的编译器脚本的所有文档。AWS FPGA 支持多种开发环境,硬件开发人员和软件开发人员都可以使用。HDK 提供完全自定义的硬件开发,并且软件定义环境允许使用 C/C++/OpenCL 代码开发加速,无需具备任何硬件知识。这样可以针对 EC2 F1 实例快速进行 FPGA 开发。

FPGA Developer AMI

FPGA Developer AMI 附带免费的 Xilinx Vivado 和一个预先打包的工具开发环境,其中包含用于模拟 FPGA 设计、构建和注册 AFI 的脚本和工具。FPGA Developer AMI 还包含用于调试和编译代码的工具。您可以在 Amazon EC2 实例上部署 FPGA Developer AMI,并快速预配置您所需的资源,以便编写和测试您的 FPGA 设计。

产品详细信息

​名称 FPGA
vCPU 实例内存 (GiB) SSD 存储 (GB) 增强型联网 EBS 优化 按需价格/小时* 一年期预留实例的有效小时* 三年期预留实例的有效小时*
f1.2xlarge 1
8 122 470
1.65 USD 1.06 USD 0.76 USD
f1.4xlarge 2 16 244
940
3.30 USD 2.12 USD 1.52 USD
f1.16xlarge 8
64 976
4 x 940
13.20 USD 8.50 USD 6.10 USD

* 所示价格适用于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)AWS 区域的 Linux/Unix,价格已四舍五入至最接近的美分。一年期和三年期预留实例的价格适用于“预付部分费用”的付款方式。如需完整的定价详情,请参阅 Amazon EC2 定价页面。 

博客文章

Jeff-Barr_Bio-Pic

EC2 F1 Instances with FPGAs – Now Generally Available

“这种高度并行的模型非常适合构建定制加速器来处理计算密集型问题。经过适当的编程,FPGA 有可能将许多类型的基因组学、地震分析、财务风险分析、大数据搜索以及加密算法和应用的速度提升 30 倍。”

Jeff Barr

2017 年 4 月 19 日

aaronfriedman

How DNAnexus and Edico Genome are Powering Precision Medicine on Amazon Web Services (AWS)

“Edico Genome 现在部署在我们基于 FPGA 的 Amazon EC2 F1 实例上。在 f1.2xlarge 实例类型上约 70 分钟就能处理整个基因组序列,在 f1.16xlarge 实例类型上则需要约 30 分钟。这样的速度可比目前最先进的算法快 10 倍以上。”

Aaron Friedman 和 Ujjwal Ratan

2017 年 9 月 27 日

miachampion

Bringing Datacenter-Scale Hardware-Software Co-design to the Cloud with FireSim and Amazon EC2 F1 Instances

“FireSim 降低了入门门槛,让每个人都能更轻松地利用 FPGA 加速的计算环境的强大功能。”

Mia Champion

2017 年 10 月 25 日

aaronfriedman

大规模加速精准医学

“Edico Genome 与费城儿童医院 (CHOP) 合作,演示了名为 DRAGEN 的 FPGA 加速式基因组管道软件...这创造了 1000 个完整人类基因组分析速度最快的吉尼斯世界纪录,他们当时使用的是单个 AWS 区域中的 1000 个 EC2 f1.2xlarge 实例。”

Aaron Friedman 和 Angel Pizarro

2017 年 11 月 16 日

开始使用 AWS

icon1

注册 AWS 账户

立即享受 AWS 免费套餐
icon2

通过 10 分钟教程来进行学习

通过 简单教程进行探讨和学习。
icon3

开始使用 AWS 进行构建

按照可帮助您启动 AWS 项目的分步指南开始构建。

免费试用 Amazon EC2! 

单击此处免费试用

AWS 免费套餐包括为期一年、每月 750 小时 Linux 和 Windows t2.micro 实例的使用时间。要一直享受免费套餐,您只能使用 EC2 微型实例。 查看 AWS 免费套餐详细信息 >>

准备好开始使用了吗?
注册
还有更多问题?
联系我们

Amazon EC2 F1 Instances

Enable faster FPGA accelerator development and deployment in the cloud

Amazon EC2 F1 instances use FPGAs to enable delivery of custom hardware accelerations. F1 instances are easy to program and come with everything you need to develop, simulate, debug, and compile your hardware acceleration code, including an FPGA Developer AMI and supporting hardware level development on the cloud. Using F1 instances to deploy hardware accelerations can be useful in many applications to solve complex science, engineering, and business problems that require high bandwidth, enhanced networking, and very high compute capabilities. Good target applications for F1 are ones that have a modest number of distinct operations that account for significant portions of application run-time. Examples of such applications include big data analytics, genomics, electronic design automation (EDA), image and video processing, compression, security, and search/analytics. Customers are using F1 instances when in need of processing large amounts of data at lower overall costs, as well as when the acceleration helps significantly reduce compute time.

F1 instances provide diverse development environments: from low-level hardware developers to software developers who are more comfortable with C/C++ and openCL environments (available on our GitHub). Once your FPGA design is complete, you can register it as an Amazon FPGA Image (AFI), and deploy it to your F1 instance in just a few clicks. You can reuse your AFIs as many times as you like, and across as many F1 instances as you like. There is no software charge for the development tools when using the FPGA developer AMI and you can program the FPGAs on your F1 instance as many times as you like with no additional fees.

See how Amazon EC2 F1 instances can help you with your custom acceleration needs

EC2_F1_Thumb
f1

Benefits

SCALABLE HIGH-PERFORMANCE COMPUTING

Unlike on-premises systems, running high-performance computing on Amazon EC2 F1 instances offers virtually unlimited capacity to scale out your infrastructure and the flexibility to change resources easily and as often as your workload demands. You can configure your resources to meet the demands of your application, and launch as many FPGA instances needed, in minutes, and pay for only what you use.

ACCELERATE COMPUTE TIME BY UP TO 100X

Amazon EC2 F1 instances provide up to 100X acceleration compared to CPUs for a diverse set of compute-bound applications. Customers can discover, test and deploy custom accelerators directly from the AWS Marketplace to accelerate their compute pipelines with ease. There is no need to know how to program FPGAs, as F1 based products developed by F1 technology partners are packaged as any other EC2 instance software.

EASE OF ACCELERATION DEVELOPMENT

Developers can accelerate their FPGA development with advanced cloud-based tools and flows that allow them to focus on their value-add acceleration logic. Developers can get hands-on experience with self-paced online tutorials and learn from many GitHub examples. To ease the debugging process, AWS has developed virtual hardware debugging tools like virtual JTAG, providing a familiar development environment allowing for multiple developers to make progress without being dependent on limited on-premises resources.

Use Cases

Genomics Research

The amount and complexity of biological data that must be processed by genomics researchers continues to grow and they must process petabytes of data in order to quickly meet the needs of physicians and their patients. F1 instances are an ideal solution for these time sensitive use cases and also ideal for processing large amounts of data. FPGAs can provide up to 30x better compute cost compared to the latest CPU instances on AWS.

Financial Analytics

The financial services industry has increasing needs for accelerated compute capabilities for a wide range of applications including risk modeling and analysis, transaction analysis for security, data analytics and more. Financial services organizations can use F1 instances to improve the accuracy of risk modeling and analysis which helps dramatically improve their decision making processes and get results faster so that a trader can make better judgment calls based on fresh data. With CPUs, banks can only risk model once a day, while with FPGAs they can use real-time analysis.

Real Time Video Processing

High performance live broadcast-quality video applications, such as video analytics, and video transcoding and compression have real time requirements. Video compression is a specific use-case to save on ISP bandwidth and live video compression allows organizations who stream live video to customers to save on their service provider bandwidth costs. F1 instances are an ideal solution to meet the requirements of these applications without compromising quality.

Large Throughput Image Processing

Large websites can save storage doing image transcoding on the fly. For example,  processing a large volume of data coming from smart phone customers.

Big Data Search and Analytics

The volume, variety, and velocity of data analysis and search requirements in many big data applications have risen to the point where customers are looking for hardware acceleration to keep up. For those applications, customers can leverage the increased performance of F1 instances to meet their big data analytics and search requirements.

Networking and Security

AWS FPGAs include the ability to efficiently compute networking packets at line rate using the virtual ethernet feature. With this capability, cloud FPGAs can be used for security applications like deep packet inspection or high-performance load-balancers and any other networking application that requires real-time custom packet processing.

Features

Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA)

FPGAs are reprogrammable hardware devices that can implement any logic function. This makes FPGAs similar to custom silicon (aka Application-Specific Integrated Circuits, or ASICs), allowing developers to create custom processors/accelerators that provide optimized compute tailored to accelerate a specific workload. This enables in specific cases a significant acceleration compared to fixed-function compute solutions like CPUs and GPUs.

Development Kit

Developers can get started on F1 instances by creating an AWS account and downloading the AWS FPGA Development Kit. The kit is avaliable on GitHub and includes all documentation on F1, internal FPGA interfaces, and compiler scripts for generating Amazon FPGA Images (AFIs). AWS FPGAs support multiple development environments to serve both hardware and software developers. The HDK provides fully custom hardware development, and the software-defined environment allows developing accelerations using C/C++/OpenCL code with no hardware knowledge needed. This allows for fast FPGA development for the EC2 F1 instances.

FPGA Developer AMI

The FPGA Developer AMI includes Xilinx Vivado at no additional software charge as well as a prepackaged tool development environment with scripts and tools for simulating your FPGA design and building and registering your AFI. The FPGA Developer AMI also includes tools for debugging and compiling your code. You can deploy the FPGA Developer AMI on an Amazon EC2 instance and quickly provision the resources you need to write and test your FPGA design.

Product Details

Name FPGAs
vCPUs Instance Memory (GiB) SSD Storage (GB) Enhanced Networking EBS Optimized On-Demand Price/hr* 1-yr Reserved Instance Effective Hourly* 3-yr Reserved Instance Effective Hourly*
f1.2xlarge 1
8 122 470
Yes Yes $1.65 $1.06 $0.76
f1.4xlarge 2 16 244
940
Yes Yes $3.30 $2.12 $1.52
f1.16xlarge 8
64 976
4 x 940
Yes Yes $13.20 $8.50 $6.10

*Prices shown are for Linux/Unix in the US East (Northern Virginia) AWS Region and rounded to the nearest cent. Prices for 1-year and 3-year reserved instances are for "Partial Upfront" payment options. For full pricing details, see the Amazon EC2 pricing page.  

Blog posts & articles

Jeff-Barr_Bio-Pic

EC2 F1 Instances with FPGAs – Now Generally Available

"This highly parallelized model is ideal for building custom accelerators to process compute-intensive problems. Properly programmed, an FPGA has the potential to provide a 30x speedup to many types of genomics, seismic analysis, financial risk analysis, big data search, and encryption algorithms and applications."

Jeff Barr

04/19/17

aaronfriedman

How DNAnexus and Edico Genome are Powering Precision Medicine on Amazon Web Services (AWS)

"Today, Edico Genome is deployed on our FPGA-based Amazon EC2 F1 instances and can process a whole genome sequence in about 70 minutes on an f1.2xlarge instance type and about 30 minutes on an f1.16xlarge instance type. These speeds can be over 10 times faster than current state-of-the-art algorithms."

Aaron Friedman and Ujjwal Ratan

09/27/17

miachampion

Bringing Datacenter-Scale Hardware-Software Co-design to the Cloud with FireSim and Amazon EC2 F1 Instances

"FireSim lowers that entry bar and makes it easier for everyone to leverage the power of an FPGA-accelerated compute environment."

Mia Champion

10/25/17

aaronfriedman

Accelerating Precision Medicine at Scale

"Edico Genome partnered with the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) to demonstrate their FPGA-accelerated genomic pipeline software, called DRAGEN...This set a Guinness World Record for the fastest analysis of 1000 whole human genomes, and they did this using 1000 EC2 f1.2xlarge instances in a single AWS region."

Aaron Friedman and Angel Pizarro

11/16/17

Get started with AWS

Step 1 - Sign up for an AWS account

Sign up for an AWS account

Instantly get access to the AWS Free Tier.
icon2

Learn with 10-minute Tutorials

Explore and learn with simple tutorials.
icon3

Start building with AWS

Begin building with step-by-step guides to help you launch your AWS project.

Try Amazon EC2  for Free! 

Click here to try for free

AWS Free Tier includes 750 hours of Linux and Windows t2.micro instances each month for one year. To stay within the Free Tier, use only EC2 Micro instances. View AWS Free Tier details >>

Ready to get started?
Sign up
Have more questions?
Contact us