Zalando_logo_smaller

AWS 助力线上时尚平台 Zalando 近乎实时地跟踪业务绩效

2020 年

在迁移 SAP 至 AWS 以后,Zalando 近乎实时地对绩效进行跟踪,使获取业务洞察的成本降低 30% 之多。Zalando 是一家总部设在德国柏林的欧洲线上时尚零售商。该公司整合 SAP 和 AWS Glue、Amazon Redshift、Amazon Athena,以及 Amazon S3 数据湖,并将它们用于交易和分析数据报告,对业务绩效进行跟踪。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

“通过将 SAP 与 AWS 技术相集成,我们提高了 SAP 系统的价值,因为我们可以近乎实时地掌控业务。”

Yuriy Volosenko
Zalando 企业应用及架构总监

大型电商时尚商店

Zalando 是一个欧洲线上时尚平台,其总部位于德国柏林。Zalando 网站每个月都能吸引到大约 3.5 亿次访问并且有 3100 万活跃客户,提供来自 2500 个品牌的超过 500000 款产品。

这家公司共有 14000 名员工,他们在 2016 年开始将其 SAP 系统从本地基础设施迁移到 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。Zalando 的企业应用及架构总监 Yuriy Volosenko 说道:“通过迁移到 AWS,我们加快了服务开发速度,因为我们可以在几分钟内启动测试环境,过去可能要花几个星期甚至数月时间。AWS 还提供随用随付定价模型和多种实例类型,可优化我们的成本和性能。”

管理时间缩短 30% 以上并提高敏捷性

通过将 SAP 迁移到 AWS,Zalando 的 IT 管理时间缩短了 30% 以上。借助多项服务中(包括 PB 级数据仓库 Amazon Redshift)的托管式功能,该公司节省了大量时间。

这些功能使 Zalando 无需再手动执行修补与控制备份,因此它不必将资源用在监控其云环境的整体运行状况之上。其他 AWS 工具也能帮助 Zalando 进一步缩短管理时间。

这其中包括会自动调整容量以维持稳定性能的 AWS Auto Scaling,以及可允许公司使用编程语言或简单的文本文件为应用程序进行建模与预置资源的 AWS CloudFormation

除缩短管理时间以外,AWS 还能提高 Zalando 的敏捷性。“我们可以在数个小时内为质量保证流程预置沙盒环境并测试应用程序”,Volosenko 表示,“而在本地环境中,这个过程可能需要花费几个星期时间。对于 SAP S/4HANA 等项目,我们需要预置数十个沙盒环境,每个环境都有超过 2 TB 随机访问内存。运用 AWS 的可扩展性,这不再是问题。”

从 AWS 上的 SAP 托管到混合数据架构

截止到今天,Zalando 已将其 SAP 系统集成到 36 项 AWS 技术,并构建了一个混合数据架构。该架构为 Zalando 提供运行更大型 SAP S/4HANA 数据库的更经济高效的替代方式,可通过优化 AWS 服务(如 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)和 Amazon Elastic Block Store(Amazon EBS))的使用来降低成本。

它将 SAP S/4HANA 和 Amazon Redshift、交互式查询服务 Amazon Athena 以及 Amazon Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)数据湖整合在一起。它还具有 AWS Glue,这是一项完全托管的提取、转换和加载(ETL)服务,让客户能够更轻松加载数据进行分析。

AWS Glue 会从 Zalando 上下的多个来源提取数据。而 AWS Lambda,则允许客户运行代码而不用对服务器进行预置,并且准备要存储在其中一个架构数据层的数据。如果实时处理需要这些数据,这个数据层可以是 SAP S/4HANA。

若这些数据需要被用于每周或每月报告,则该数据层可以是 Amazon Redshift、Amazon Athena 或 Amazon S3 数据湖。

使洞察成本降低 30%

由于采用混合解决方案,Zalando 将其 SAP 数据架构的拥有成本降低了 30%。

该公司将节省下来的资金投资到解决方案开发,以便优化其客户服务和效率。

Volosenko 表示:“我们为员工构建了聊天机器人,帮助解答有关公司程序的问题,并且引进图像识别技术来加快发票处理。我们还为客户优化了网站流程的工作流,这一点可以从我们的净推荐值的提高得到验证。”

近乎实时地跟踪绩效

通过在其混合数据架构中使用 SAP S/4HANA 层,Zalando 可以根据当前的事件制定决策。

Volosenko 说道:“我们会调整业务策略,并查看它对客户行为或销售绩效的直接影响。通过将 SAP 与 AWS 技术相集成,我们提高了 SAP 系统的价值,因为我们可以近乎实时地掌控业务。”


关于 Zalando

Zalando 是一家欧洲线上时尚零售商,他们的网站每个月都能吸引将近 3.5 亿次访问。该公司有超过 3100 万活跃客户。

AWS 的优势

• 洞察成本降低 30%
• 维护时间缩短 30%
• 提高业务敏捷性
• 优化客户服务
• 近乎实时地跟踪绩效


使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon Redshift

Amazon Redshift 是最受欢迎并且速度最快的云数据仓库。Redshift 与您的数据湖集成,速度比任何其他数据仓库最高快 3 倍,成本比任何其他云数据仓库最多低 75%。

了解更多 »

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。这意味着各种规模和行业的客户都可以使用它来存储和保护各种用例(如网站、移动应用程序、备份和还原、存档、企业应用程序、IoT 设备和大数据分析)的任意数量的数据。Amazon S3 提供了易于使用的管理功能,因此您可以组织数据并配置精细调整过的访问控制以满足特定的业务、组织和合规性要求。Amazon S3 可达到 99.999999999%(11 个 9)的持久性,并为全球各地的公司存储数百万个应用程序的数据。

了解更多 »

Amazon Athena

Amazon Athena 是一种交互式查询服务,让您能够轻松使用标准 SQL 分析 Amazon S3 中的数据。Athena 没有服务器,因此您无需管理任何基础设施,且只需为您运行的查询付费。Athena 简单易用。只需指向您存储在 Amazon S3 中的数据,定义架构并使用标准 SQL 开始查询。就可在数秒内获取最多的结果。使用 Athena,无需执行复杂的 ETL 作业来为数据分析做准备。这样一来,具备 SQL 技能的任何人都可以轻松快速地分析大规模数据集。Athena 可与 AWS Glue 数据目录进行开箱即用集成,让您能够跨各种服务创建统一的元数据存储库、抓取数据源以发现架构并使用新的和修改后的表与分区定义填充数据目录,以及维护架构版本控制。

了解更多 »

AWS Glue

AWS Glue 是一项完全托管的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 服务,让客户能够轻松准备和加载数据进行分析。您只需在 AWS 管理控制台中单击几次,即可创建并运行 ETL 作业。您只需将 AWS Glue 指向存储在 AWS 上的数据,AWS Glue 便会发现您的数据,并将关联的元数据(例如表定义和架构)存储到 AWS Glue 数据目录中。存入目录后,您的数据可立即供 ETL 搜索、查询和使用。

了解更多 »


开始使用

不同行业和规模的组织都在使用 AWS 进行转型,以实现其愿景。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

Zalando_logo_smaller

Online Fashion Platform Zalando Tracks Business Performance in Near Real-Time with AWS

2020

Zalando is tracking performance in near real-time after migrating SAP to AWS and reducing the cost of obtaining business insight by 30 percent. Zalando is a European online fashion retailer based in Berlin, Germany. The company combines SAP with AWS Glue, Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena, and an Amazon S3 data lake for transactional and analytical data reports that track business performance.

start a python tutorial
CustomerReferences_QuoteMark

“We have increased the value of our SAP systems by integrating SAP with AWS technologies because we can steer the business in near real-time.”

Yuriy Volosenko
Director for Enterprise Applications and Architectures, Zalando

A Major Ecommerce Fashion Store

Zalando is a European online fashion platform based in Berlin, Germany. The Zalando website attracts around 350 million visits per month and has 31 million active customers, offering more than 500,000 products from 2,500 brands.

The business, which employs 14,000 staff, began migrating its SAP systems from an on- premises infrastructure to Amazon Web Services (AWS) in 2016. Yuriy Volosenko, director for enterprise applications and architectures at Zalando, says, “By moving to AWS, we accelerated service development because we could spin up test environments in minutes instead of weeks and sometimes months. AWS also offered pay-as-you-go pricing and multiple instance types to optimize our costs and performance.”

Cuts Management Time by More Than 30 Percent and Increases Agility

By migrating SAP to AWS, Zalando reduced IT management time by more than 30 percent. The company made time savings thanks to the managed features in many of the services, including Amazon Redshift, a petabyte-scale data warehouse.

These features liberate Zalando from patching and controlling backups manually, so it doesn’t have to focus resources on monitoring the overall health of its cloud environment. Other AWS tools help Zalando reduce management time still further.

These include AWS Auto Scaling, which automatically adjusts capacity to maintain steady performance, and AWS CloudFormation, which allows companies to use programming languages or simple text files to model and provision resources for applications.

Besides reducing management time, Zalando has also increased agility with AWS. “We can provision sandbox environments and test applications for quality assurance in hours,” says Volosenko. “With an on-premises environment, it could take weeks. In projects like SAP S/4HANA, we needed to provision tens of sandbox environments with more than two terabytes of random access memory each. It wasn’t an issue because of the scalability of AWS.”

Going Beyond SAP Hosting on AWS to a Hybrid Data Architecture

As of today, Zalando has integrated its SAP systems with 36 AWS technologies and created a hybrid data architecture. The architecture gave Zalando a more cost-effective alternative to running a larger SAP S/4HANA database, which lowered costs by optimising usage of AWS services such as Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS).

It combines SAP S/4HANA with Amazon Redshift, interactive query service Amazon Athena, and an Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) data lake. It also features AWS Glue, a fully managed extract, transform, and load (ETL) service, which makes it easier for customers to load their data for analytics.

AWS Glue extracts data from multiple sources across Zalando. AWS Lambda, which lets customers run code without provisioning servers, prepares the data to be stored in one of the architecture’s data tiers. This could be SAP S/4HANA, if the data is required for real-time processing.

If it is needed for weekly or monthly reporting, it could be Amazon Redshift, Amazon Athena, or the Amazon S3 data lake.

Lowers Cost of Insight by 30 Percent

As a result of its hybrid solution, Zalando has lowered the cost of ownership for its SAP data architecture by 30 percent.

The business has invested the savings in the development of solutions to enhance customer service and efficiency.

Volosenko says, “We’ve built chatbots for employees to answer questions on company procedures and introduced image recognition technology to speed up invoice processing. We’ve also improved the workflows of our website processes for customers as evidenced by the rise in our net promoter score.”

Tracks Performance in Near Real-Time

Using the SAP S/4HANA tier in its hybrid data architecture, Zalando can make decisions based on current events.

Volosenko says, “We adjust business strategies and see the immediate impact on customer behavior or on sales performance. We have increased the value of our SAP systems by integrating SAP with AWS technologies because we can steer the business in near real-time.”


About Zalando

Zalando is a European online fashion retailer, attracting around 350 million visits to its website a month. The company has more than 31 million active customers.

Benefits of AWS

• Reduces cost of insight by 30%
• Cuts maintenance time by 30%
• Increases business agility
• Enhances customer services
• Tracks performance in near real-time


AWS Services Used

Amazon Redshift

Amazon Redshift is the most popular and fastest cloud data warehouse. Redshift is integrated with your data lake, offers up to 3x faster performance than any other data warehouse, and costs up to 75% less than any other cloud data warehouse.

Learn more »

Amazon Simple Storage Service

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is an object storage service that offers industry-leading scalability, data availability, security, and performance. This means customers of all sizes and industries can use it to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics. Amazon S3 provides easy-to-use management features so you can organize your data and configure finely-tuned access controls to meet your specific business, organizational, and compliance requirements. Amazon S3 is designed for 99.999999999% (11 9's) of durability, and stores data for millions of applications for companies all around the world.

Learn more »

Amazon Athena

Amazon Athena is an interactive query service that makes it easy to analyze data in Amazon S3 using standard SQL. Athena is serverless, so there is no infrastructure to manage, and you pay only for the queries that you run. Athena is easy to use. Simply point to your data in Amazon S3, define the schema, and start querying using standard SQL. Most results are delivered within seconds. With Athena, there’s no need for complex ETL jobs to prepare your data for analysis. This makes it easy for anyone with SQL skills to quickly analyze large-scale datasets. Athena is out-of-the-box integrated with AWS Glue Data Catalog, allowing you to create a unified metadata repository across various services, crawl data sources to discover schemas and populate your Catalog with new and modified table and partition definitions, and maintain schema versioning.

Learn more »

AWS Glue

AWS Glue is a fully managed extract, transform, and load (ETL) service that makes it easy for customers to prepare and load their data for analytics. You can create and run an ETL job with a few clicks in the AWS Management Console. You simply point AWS Glue to your data stored on AWS, and AWS Glue discovers your data and stores the associated metadata (e.g. table definition and schema) in the AWS Glue Data Catalog. Once cataloged, your data is immediately searchable, queryable, and available for ETL.

Learn more »


Get Started

Organizations of all sizes across all industries are transforming and delivering on their missions every day using AWS. Contact our experts and start your own AWS Cloud journey today.