澄清境外合法使用数据 (CLOUD) 法案

概览

2018 年 3 月 23 日,美国国会通过了《澄清境外合法使用数据法案》(CLOUD Act),它用于更新美国执法机构请求访问存储在通信服务器和云服务提供商服务器上的数据的法律框架。CLOUD Act 澄清了以前的法律,为美国执法机构请求访问存储在美国和境外的数据提供了一个有限的机制。重要的是,CLOUD Act 还为云内容制定了额外的保护措施,包括一个新选项,美国与其他国家/地区签订管理执法请求的行政协议。

  • CLOUD Act 有什么“新内容”?

    CLOUD Act 是对美国法律的更新,它澄清了美国执法机构请求的地理范围,并为服务提供商提供了新方法来质疑与其他国家/地区的法律或国家利益相冲突的请求。我们需要采取行动保护客户时,我们将继续这样做。我们有质疑政府请求客户信息的历史,我们认为这些请求过于宽泛或不合适。

  • CLOUD Act 是否改变了执法机构请求访问客户内容的方式?

    不。作为刑事调查的一部分,CLOUD Act 不会改变执法机构请求数据的流程或要求。CLOUD Act 并未赋予美国执法机构不受限制的数据访问权限。美国执法机构只能在两种情况下向服务提供商寻求内容:(1) 征得客户同意,或 (2) 根据美国刑事诉讼程序,由美国法院签发搜查令。为了签发搜查令,必须确信美国法院有可能的理由相信犯罪已经发生,并且根据搜查令所寻求的证据与这项犯罪直接相关。CLOUD Act 还为云内容制定了额外的保护措施,承认云服务提供商有权质疑与其他国家/地区法律或国家利益冲突的请求。

  • CLOUD Act 对 AWS 有何影响?

    CLOUD Act 不会影响 AWS 服务,或者说不会影响我们运营业务的方式。历史上,我们收到的美国执法请求很少,我们收到的请求数量是透明的。我们始终对客户隐私和安全保持警惕,并承诺在使用我们的产品和服务时,为客户提供行业领先的隐私和安全保护。当我们收到执法机构对内容的请求时,我们会仔细检查该请求,验证其准确性,并验证其是否符合适用的法律。我们需要采取行动保护客户时,我们将继续这样做。我们有质疑政府请求客户信息的历史,我们认为这些请求过于宽泛或不合适。如果要求我们披露客户内容,我们将继续在披露前通知客户,为他们提供寻求保护避免披露的机会,除非法律禁止。

  • CLOUD 法案如何影响客户/合作伙伴使用 AWS 的方式?

    CLOUD Act 不影响客户/合作伙伴使用 AWS 的方式。

  • 客户是否应该采取其他步骤来保护他们的数据?

    我们认为客户应该保持对自己数据的控制,并且我们提供许多高级加密和密钥管理服务,客户可以使用这些服务来保护他们的内容。在使用 AWS 服务时,客户还可以从众多受支持的第三方加密解决方案中进行选择。没有适用的解密密钥,加密内容是不可用的。

  • CLOUD Act 是否仅适用于云服务提供商?

    不。CLOUD Act 适用于在美国运营的所有电子通信服务或远程计算服务提供商(如电子邮件和云服务提供商),无论这些提供商是在美国还是其他国家/地区成立。

  • CLOUD Act 是否优先于其他国家/地区的当地法律?

    不。CLOUD Act 不会改变其他国家/地区的当地法律。实际上,CLOUD Act 承认服务提供商有权质疑与其他国家/地区法律或国家利益冲突的请求。

Clarifying Lawful Overseas Use of Data (CLOUD) Act

Overview

On March 23, 2018, United States Congress passed the Clarifying Lawful Overseas Use of Data Act (CLOUD Act), updating the legal framework for United States law enforcement requests for data stored on the servers of communication and cloud service providers. Clarifying prior law, the CLOUD Act provides a limited mechanism for United States law enforcement to request data stored in the United States and overseas. Importantly, the CLOUD Act also creates additional safeguards for cloud content, including under a new option for the United States to enter into executive agreements with other countries governing law enforcement requests.

  • What is "new" about the CLOUD Act?

    The CLOUD Act it is an update to United States law that clarifies the geographic scope for United States law enforcement requests and provides new means for services providers to challenge requests that conflict with another country's laws or national interests. Where we need to act to protect customers, we'll continue to do so. We have a history of challenging government requests for customer information that we believe are overbroad or otherwise inappropriate.

  • Does the CLOUD Act change how law enforcement can request customer content?

    No. The CLOUD Act does not change the process or requirements for law enforcement requests for data as part of a criminal investigation. The CLOUD Act does not give United States law enforcement unlimited or unfettered access to data. United States Law enforcement may seek content from service providers in only two circumstances: (1) with the customer’s consent or (2) with a warrant issued by a United States court in accordance with United States criminal procedures. For a warrant to be issued, a United States court must be convinced that there is probable cause to believe a crime has occurred and that evidence sought under the warrant is directly related to that crime. The CLOUD Act also creates additional safeguards for cloud content, recognizing the right of cloud service providers to challenge requests that conflict with another country’s laws or national interests.

  • How does the CLOUD Act impact AWS?

    The CLOUD Act does not impact AWS services or how we operate our business. Historically, we have received very few United States law enforcement requests, and we are transparent about the number of requests that we receive. We are always vigilant about customer privacy and security, and we are committed to providing our customers with industry-leading privacy and security protections when using our products and services. When we receive a request for content from law enforcement, we carefully examine it to authenticate accuracy and to verify that it complies with applicable law. Where we need to act to protect customers, we’ll continue to do so. We have a history of challenging government requests for customer information that we believe are overbroad or otherwise inappropriate. If we are required to disclose customer content, we will continue to notify customers before disclosure to provide them the opportunity to seek protection from disclosure, unless prohibited by law.

  • How does the CLOUD Act impact how customers/partners can use AWS?

    The CLOUD Act does not impact how customers/partners can use AWS services.

  • Are there additional steps that customers should take to protect their data?

    We believe customers should maintain control of their own data, and we provide a number of advanced encryption and key management services that customers can use to protect their content. Customers can also choose from a number of supported third-party encryption solutions when using AWS services. Encrypted content is useless without the applicable decryption keys.

  • Is the CLOUD Act only applicable to cloud service providers?

    No. The CLOUD Act applies to all electronic communication service or remote computing service providers that operate in the U.S. (such as email and cloud service providers), whether those providers are established in the United States or another country.

  • Does the CLOUD Act take precedence over another country’s local law?

    No. The CLOUD Act does not change another country's local laws. In fact, the CLOUD Act recognizes the right for service providers to challenge requests that conflict with another country's laws or national interests.