问:什么是专用主机?

Amazon EC2 专用主机(以下简称“专用主机”或“主机”)是指 EC2 实例容量完全供您使用的物理服务器。

问:使用专用主机有哪些好处?

借助 Amazon EC2 专用主机,您可以在 Amazon EC2 上使用 Microsoft 和 Oracle 等供应商提供的合格软件许可证,从而既能享受使用自己的许可证带来的灵活性与经济性,又能享受 AWS 带来的简便性与弹性。此外,Amazon EC2 专用主机允许您按主机核心数量而非实例核心数量进行许可,因此更具成本效益。此外,专用主机还可以为您在专用硬件上置放实例方面提供更大的灵活性、可见性和控制力。这可以更轻松地确保您以满足合规性和监管要求的方式来部署实例。

问:AWS 如何让我轻松地将自己的许可证运用到 Amazon EC2 专用主机?

大多数云提供商都为专用主机提供有限的自动化功能,因此管理员必须执行某些长期管理任务,例如主机分配、主机容量利用率和实例置放。如果将 Windows Server 和 SQL Server 许可证运用到 Amazon EC2 专用主机,您可以让 AWS 代您处理所有这些管理任务。随后,您可以使用自己的 Windows 和 SQL Server 许可证在专用主机上启动实例,就像启动任何其他 EC2 实例一样。

问:如何开始为 Amazon EC2 专用主机使用自带许可证 (BYOL)?

为了让您可以轻松地为 EC2 专用主机使用自带许可证,AWS 为管理员提供了在 AWS License Manager 中执行一次性登录设置的选项。其中包括如下步骤:

  • 步骤 1:为要运用到 AWS 的软件许可证(例如 Windows Server 和 SQL Server)定义许可规则。我们建议您咨询自己的许可顾问,以仔细了解条款并在 License Manager 中定义相应的规则。
  • 步骤 2:指定用于管理基础主机的首选项。例如,您可以定义如何在组内分配和释放主机、要使用的许可规则以及允许的实例类型。
  • 步骤 3:(可选)如果您希望组织中的其他 AWS 账户使用主机上的可用容量,则可以在整个组织账户中共享主机管理首选项和许可规则。

配置完毕后,用户可以像使用 AWS 提供的许可证启动实例一样,轻松启动其 BYOL 实例,而 AWS 会负责执行常见的管理任务。

问:当我使用 License Manager 时,AWS 会执行哪些管理任务来管理专用主机?

AWS 根据 AWS License Manager 中指定的首选项,执行各种管理任务来管理专用主机。AWS 会自动分配和释放主机,同时在所有 AWS 账户之间共享主机容量。它将实例置放在主机上,并通过支持多种实例大小来优化主机利用率。此外,在意外故障情况下,AWS 还能执行主机自动恢复来提高弹性。

问:专用主机是否是裸机产品?

不是。专用主机上运行的实例与您通过使用 Nitro 或 Xen Hypervisor 的传统 EC2 实例获得的虚拟化实例相同。

问:主机的生命周期是什么?

您在账户中对主机进行分配之后,该主机便可供访问。在您分配主机之后,实例容量便已准备就绪,可供您使用。然后,您可以使用 RunInstances API 或 AWS 管理控制台,以“主机”的租期启动实例。如果是按需专用主机,当您不再需要使用该主机时,您首先需要停止或终止在该主机上运行的所有实例,然后您可以使用 ReleaseHosts API 或 AWS 管理控制台释放主机。或者,您可以在 AWS License Manager 中提供主机管理首选项,然后 AWS 会代您处理主机分配、实例置放和主机释放。在这种情况下,当您使用 RunInstances API 或 AWS 管理控制台启动实例时,AWS 会分配一个主机。当您终止主机上运行的所有实例时,AWS 会根据您指定的首选项自动释放主机。

您可以购买预留,并在主机已经分配到您的账户后,将预留分配到主机。如果您的主机未包含在预留中,那么您首先需要等预留到期之后才能释放主机。另外,您可以利用 Savings Plan 来灵活地分配和释放主机,而无需将节省下的资源分配给特定主机,也无需根据使用情况利用节省下的资源。

问:主机有哪些购买选项?

专用主机有三种不同的购买选项可供选择。第一个选项是按需支付,您可以灵活地增加和减少分配到账户的专用主机数量,并且只需为这些专用主机分配到您账户的时间付费。

第二个选项是按预留支付,您可以购买预留并将其分配给专用主机。与按需支付相比,在整个期限内,该选项的费用较低。与按需支付相比,按预留支付在整个期限内最多可节省 70% 的费用。

第三选项是 Savings Plans,这是一种新型的定价模式,通过承诺稳定的计算使用量(以 USD/小时为单位衡量)来帮助降低费用,但无需承诺使用特定的主机。Savings Plans 与按需方案(例如按预留支付)相比,可以带来显著的节约,并且可以自动降低您的跨 AWS 区域计算使用费,即使使用情况发生了变化。这让您可以灵活地使用最适合自己需求的计算选项,节约资金。单击此处,了解更多有关 Savings Plans 的信息。

问:按需运行的主机如何收费?

您可以按主机在账户中处于活动状态的每小时支付按需费率,而无需考虑在主机上运行的实例数量或 AMI 类型。

问:当我想在主机上启动实例时,是否需要指定租期?

是的。当您想在主机上启动实例时,需要指定“主机”的租期。但是,当您使用 License Manager 指定主机管理首选项时,可以选择指定“主机”的租期。

问:我能否在特定主机上启动实例?

能。您可以使用主机 ID 作为 AWS 管理控制台或 RunInstances API 中的目标,从而在特定主机上启动实例。但是,当您使用 License Manager 管理主机时,AWS 将根据您指定的首选项自动将您的实例置放在主机上。

问:我能否在一个专用主机上混用多个 EC2 实例类型?

答:可以。由 AWS Nitro 系统提供支持的专用主机在单个主机上的同一实例系列中支持多种实例类型。例如,您可以在同一主机上运行 r5.2xlarge 和 r5.4xlarge 实例。有关更多信息,请参阅专用主机定价页面

问:如何才能知道可以在每台主机上运行多少实例?

您可以在每台主机上运行的实例的最大数量会因您选择的实例类型配置而异。您可以在专用主机定价页面或 EC2 专用主机控制台或 DescribeHosts API 中查看可在每台主机上运行的最大实例数量。

问:可在主机上启动哪些 AMI?

仅可在主机上启动 BYOL、Amazon Linux 和 AWS Marketplace AMI。

问:能否在主机上运行 EC2 Classic 网络类型的实例?

不能。在主机上运行的实例只能分配到 Amazon VPC。

问:能否将专用实例的租户从“专用”改为“主机”?

能。停止专用实例后,您可以使用 ModifyInstancePlacement API 或 AWS 管理控制台将租户更改为“主机”。

问:如果我将专用 VPC 中的专用实例迁移到“主机”租户,是否需要创建新的 VPC?

不需要。在主机上运行的专用实例和实例均可分配到专用 VPC。

问:对于我可以分配到账户的主机数量是否存在限制?

是。有关更多信息,请访问有关 AWS 服务限制的文档。

无论您有没有根据 EBITDA 表现来进行衡量,您都需要先了解产品的定义,然后再确定是将专用主机的费用归于运营费用 (OPEX) 还是资本支出 (CAPEX)。如果您需要得出购买专用主机预留的费用是属于运营费用还是资本支出的结论,以下常见问题将对您有所帮助。

问:我应该将购买专用主机预留的费用视为资本支出还是运营费用?

AWS 不提供会计咨询服务,建议您让您的会计来回答这一问题。此外,建议您的会计先查看 EC2 专用主机和专用主机预留的定义,然后再判断是运营费用还是资本支出。

问:我可以唯一标识专用主机吗?

可以。在将主机分配到账户时,您可以使用主机 ID 标识每台专用主机。

问:主机 ID 是否类似于物理服务器的资产 ID?

是。主机 ID 类似于物理服务器的资产 ID,因为可通过使用主机 ID 来使用和标识专用主机。在将专用主机分配到您的账户时,主机 ID 和物理服务器之间存在一对一关系。

问:能否释放专用主机?

能,但只有在专用主机被视为按需专用主机时才行。释放专用主机之后,按需计费将会终止,您将无法重新使用之前分配的专用主机(或主机 ID)。

问:AWS 是否将对不同的物理服务器重新使用同一个主机 ID?

否。AWS 不会交换主机 ID 下的物理服务器。如果您获得了新的物理服务器,您还将获得新的主机 ID。

问:经过一段时间后,我能否重新使用同一专用主机?

能。只要您的专用主机未被释放,您就可以在一段时间后重新使用同一专用主机。

问:专用主机如何收费?

您可以按小时为整个专用主机付费,无需考虑专用主机上运行了多少实例。如果在使用过程中产生了额外费用(比如联网或软件费用),它们将分别显示在账单上的不同行项目中。

问:当我使用 AWS License Manager 时,专用主机的计费是否会有变化?

不,您的费用不会有任何变化。AWS 只会在您的 AWS 账户中分配一个专用主​​机。

问:按预留支付有哪些付款期限?

您可以购买 1 年期或 3 年期的预留。如果您对 3 年以上的期限感兴趣,请与您的客户经理联系。

问:预留实例有哪些付款选项?

您可以选择“预付全费”预留,以一次性预付所有的专用主机预留费用。与“预付部分费用”和“无费用预付”选项相比,“预付全费”预留提供的总价最为理想。如果选择“预付部分费用”付款选项,您可以预先支付大约一半的预留费用,然后在期限内按小时摊销剩余费用(即按小时收费)。与“无费用预付”付款选项相比,“预付部分费用”付款选项提供的价格更为理想。如果选择“无费用预付”付款选项,您无需预付任何费用,而是需要在期限内按小时摊销所有预留费用(即按小时收费)。

问:能否为专用主机获取预留?

能。将专用主机分配到您的账户之后,您可以为其购买 1 年或 3 年的预留。购买预留并将其分配给专用主机之后,即表示您承诺为专用主机购买与预留期限同等的最短期限的预留。

问:能否在未向专用主机分配预留的情况下付款购买预留?

不能。您需要将预留分配给已分配到您账户的专用主机。

问:预留到期之后,我是否可以远程控制专用主机的使用?

可以。当您的预留到期后,您的专用主机仍是分配到您的账户,因此您可以继续使用该专用主机。预留到期后,除非您决定释放主机,否则系统将按需计费。或者,您可以根据需要为同一专用主机购买其他预留。

Amazon EC2 专用主机

立即注册

Q: What is a Dedicated Host?

An Amazon EC2 Dedicated Host ("Dedicated Host" or "host") is a physical server with EC2 instance capacity fully dedicated for your use.

Q: What are the benefits of using Dedicated Hosts?

Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts allow you to use your eligible software licenses from vendors such as Microsoft and Oracle on Amazon EC2, so that you get the flexibility and cost effectiveness of using your own licenses, but with the resiliency, simplicity and elasticity of AWS. Moreover, Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts allow you to license by host cores instead of instance cores, which is more cost effective. Dedicated Hosts also give you more flexibility, visibility, and control over the placement of instances on dedicated hardware. This makes it easier to ensure you deploy your instances in a way that meets your compliance and regulatory requirements.

Q: How does AWS make it easy to bring my own licenses to Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts?

Most cloud providers offer limited automation for Dedicated Hosts, so administrators have to perform ongoing management tasks such as host allocation, host capacity utilization, and instance placement. When you bring your Windows Server and SQL Server licenses to Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts, you can let AWS take care of all these administrative tasks on your behalf. You can then launch instances on Dedicated Hosts with your own Windows and SQL Server licenses just like you would launch any other EC2 instance.

Q How do I get started with bringing my own licenses (BYOL) to Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts?

To easily bring your own licenses to EC2 Dedicated Hosts, AWS gives administrators the option to perform a one-time onboarding set up in AWS License Manager. This includes the following steps:

  • Step 1: Define licensing rules for software licenses, such as Windows Server and SQL Server, that you want bring to AWS. We recommend that you consult with your own licensing advisors to carefully understand the terms and define rules in License Manager.
  • Step 2: Specify your preferences for managing the underlying hosts. For example, you can define how to allocate and release hosts within the group, which licensing rules to use, and what instance types are allowed.
  • Step 3: (optional) If you want other AWS accounts in your organization to use the available capacity on the hosts, then you can share the host management preferences and licensing rules across your organizational accounts.

Once configured, a user can simply launch their BYOL instances just like they would launch instances with AWS-provided licenses, while AWS takes care of common administrative tasks.

Q: What administrative tasks does AWS perform to manage Dedicated Hosts when I use License Manager?

AWS performs various administrative tasks to manage Dedicated Hosts per your preferences specified in AWS License Manager. AWS automatically allocates and releases hosts while sharing host capacity across all your AWS accounts. It places instances on hosts, and optimizes utilization of hosts by supporting multiple instance sizes. Additionally, AWS improves resiliency by performing automatic recovery of hosts in the unexpected case of failures.

Q: Is a Dedicated Host a baremetal offering?

No, the instances that run on a Dedicated Host are the same virtualized instances that you’d get with traditional EC2 instances that use the Nitro or Xen hypervisor.

Q: What is the lifecycle of a host?

A host becomes accessible after you have allocated it within your account. After you allocate a host the instance capacity will be standing by for your use. You can then launch instances with a tenancy of "host" using the RunInstances API or the AWS Management Console. When you no longer need to use a host, if it is an On-Demand Dedicated Host, you first need to stop or terminate all of the instances running on the host, and then you can release the host using the ReleaseHosts API or the AWS Management Console. Alternatively, you can provide your host management preferences in AWS License Manager, and AWS takes care of host allocation, instance placement, and host release on your behalf. In this case, AWS allocates a host when you launch instances using the RunInstances API or the AWS Management Console. When you terminate all your instances running on the host, AWS automatically releases the host based on your specified preferences.

You can purchase a Reservation and assign it to a host after that host has been allocated to your account. If your host is covered by a Reservation, the Reservation first needs to expire before you can release the host. Alternatively, you can leverage Savings Plan to get the flexibility of allocating and releasing hosts without assigning savings to a particular host and taking advantage of savings based on your usage.

Q: What purchasing options do I have for paying for a host?

You can choose from three different purchasing options to pay for Dedicated Hosts. The first is On-Demand, where you have the flexibility to scale up and down the number of Dedicated Hosts allocated to your account and only pay for the hours those Dedicated Hosts were allocated to your account.

The second option is by Reservation, where you can purchase and assign a Reservation to a Dedicated Host and benefit from a lower rate over the term compared to On-Demand. Reservations can save you up to 70% on your On-Demand costs over the term.

The third option is Savings Plans, which is a new flexible pricing model that will help you lower your bill by making a commitment to a consistent amount of compute usage (measured in $/hour) instead of making commitments to specific hosts. Savings Plans offer significant savings over On Demand, just like Reservations, but automatically reduce your bills on compute usage across any AWS region, even as usage changes. This provides you the flexibility to use the compute option that best suits your needs and continue to save money. Click here to learn more about Savings Plans.

Q: How am I billed for a host that is running On-Demand?

You will pay the On-Demand rate for every hour the host is active in your account, regardless of the number of instances, or types of AMIs, that are running on the host.

Q: Do I need to specify a tenancy when I want to launch an instance on a host?

Yes, you need to specify a tenancy of "host" when you want to launch instances onto a host. However, when you are using License Manager to specify your host management preferences, specifying a tenancy of “host” is optional.

Q: Can I launch instances on a specific host?

Yes, you can launch instances on a specific host using the host ID as a target in the AWS Management Console or the RunInstances API. However, when you are using License Manager to manage your hosts, AWS will automatically place your instance on a host based on your specified preferences.

Q: Can I mix multiple EC2 instance types on a single Dedicated Host?

A: Yes. Dedicated Hosts powered by the AWS Nitro System support multiple instance types within the same instance family on a single host. For example, you can run r5.2xlarge and r5.4xlarge instances on the same host. See the Dedicated Host Pricing Page for more detail.

Q: How do I know how many instances I can run on each host?

The maximum number of instances you can run per host varies based on the instance type configuration you select. You can see the maximum number of instances per host on the Dedicated Host Pricing Page or in the EC2 Dedicated Host console or the DescribeHosts API.

Q: What AMIs can be launched onto hosts?

Only BYOL, Amazon Linux, and AWS Marketplace AMIs can be launched onto hosts.

Q: Can I run an instance on a host with the EC2 Classic network type?

No, the instances that run on hosts can only be assigned to an Amazon VPC.

Q: Can I change the tenancy of my Dedicated instances from "dedicated" to "host"?

Yes, after you’ve stopped your Dedicated instances, you can change the tenancy to "host" using the ModifyInstancePlacement API or the AWS Management Console.

Q: Do I need to create new VPCs if I migrate Dedicated instances in a Dedicated VPC to "host" tenancy?

No, both Dedicated instances and instances running on hosts can be assigned to a Dedicated VPC.

Q: Is there a limit that governs how many hosts I can allocate to my account?

Yes. For more information, visit documentation on AWS Service Limits.

Whether you are measured on EBITDA performance or not, you may need to understand the definition of a product before you can make an operational expense (OPEX) vs capital expense (CAPEX) classification for Dedicated Host payments. The following FAQ is helpful if you need to reach an OPEX vs CAPEX conclusion on a Dedicated Host reservation.

Q: Should I consider a purchase of a Dedicated Host Reservation as CAPEX or OPEX?

AWS does not provide accounting advice and we recommend that you ask your accountant to answer this question. We also recommend that your accountant review the definition of the EC2 Dedicated Host and a Dedicated Host Reservation before making an operational expense vs. capital expense judgment.

Q: Can I uniquely identify a Dedicated Host?

Yes, you can identify each Dedicated Host while it is allocated to your account using the Host-ID.

Q: Is the Host-ID similar to an asset-ID of a physical server?

Yes, a Host-ID is similar to an asset-ID of a physical server because a Dedicated Host can be used and identified through the use of the Host-ID. There is a one-to-one relationship between a Host-ID and a physical server while the Dedicated Host is allocated to your account.

Q: Can I release a Dedicated Host?

Yes, but only if the Dedicated Host is considered an On-Demand Dedicated Host. When a Dedicated Host is released, On-Demand billing will terminate and you will not be able to reuse the previously allocated Dedicated Host (or Host-ID).

Q: Will AWS reuse the same Host-ID for different physical servers?

No, AWS will not swap physical servers from under the Host-ID. If you get a new physical server, you will also get a new Host-ID.

Q: Can I reuse the same Dedicated Host over time?

Yes, as long as your Dedicated Host hasn’t been released, you can also reuse the same Dedicated Host over time.

Q: How am I billed for a Dedicated Host?

You pay for the entire Dedicated Host by the hour, regardless of how many instances are running on the Dedicated Host. If there are additional charges as a result of use, such as networking or software charges, they will be separated in different line items on the bill.

Q: Is there a change in billing for Dedicated Hosts when I use AWS License Manager?

No, there is no change in your billing. AWS simply allocates a Dedicated Host in your AWS account.

Q: What are the payment terms for a Reservation?

You pay for a Reservation for a 1 or 3 year term. Contact your account manager if you are interested in a term that is greater than 3 years.

Q: What are the payment options for a Reservation?

You can choose an All Upfront Reservation, where you roll all of the cost of your Dedicated Host reservation into one upfront payment. The All Upfront Reservation provides the best overall price compared to the Partial Upfront and No Upfront offerings. With the Partial Upfront payment option, you pay for roughly half of the cost of the Reservation upfront and the remaining cost is amortized (and charged hourly) across each hour in the term. The Partial Upfront payment option provides a better price than the No Upfront payment option. With the No Upfront payment option you pay nothing upfront and the entire cost of the Reservation is amortized (and charged hourly) across each hour in the term.

Q: Can I obtain a Reservation for a Dedicated Host?

Yes, after you’ve allocated a Dedicated Host to your account, you can pay for a 1 or 3 year Reservation for it. When you purchase a Reservation and assign it to the Dedicated Host, you are committing to pay for that Dedicated Host for a minimum period of time equal to the term of the Reservation.

Q: Can I pay for a Reservation without having it assigned to a Dedicated Host?

No, Reservations need to be assigned to Dedicated Hosts that have been allocated to your account.

Q: Do I maintain remote control over the use of a Dedicated Host when the Reservation expires?

Yes, when your Reservation expires, your Dedicated Host will remain allocated to your account and you can continue to use the Dedicated Host. When the Reservation expires you will be billed On-Demand unless you decide to release it. You can optionally pay for another reservation for the same Dedicated Host if you wish.

Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts

Sign Up Now