一般性问题

问:什么是 Amazon Elastic Container Service for Kubernetes (Amazon EKS)?

答:Amazon EKS 是一项托管服务,借助该服务,您可以轻松在 AWS 上运行 Kubernetes,而无需安装和操作您自己的 Kubernetes 控制平面。

问:什么是 Kubernetes?

答:Kubernetes 是一款开源软件,您可以利用它大规模地部署和管理容器化应用程序。Kubernetes 会将容器分成各个逻辑分组以便进行管理和查找,然后在 EC2 实例群集上启动它们。使用 Kubernetes,您可以使用同一工具集在本地和云中运行容器化应用程序,包括微服务、批处理工作线程和平台即服务 (PaaS)。

问:为何应该使用 Amazon EKS?

答:Amazon EKS 可跨多个 AWS 可用区预配置和扩展 Kubernetes 控制平面(包括 API 服务器和后端持久层),从而获得高可用性和容错能力。Amazon EKS 可自动检测和替换运行状况不佳的控制平面节点并修补控制平面。Amazon EKS 可与许多 AWS 产品集成,为应用程序提供可扩展性和安全性。这些产品包括用于分配负载的 Elastic Load Balancing、用于身份验证的 IAM、用于隔离的 Amazon VPC、用于访问私有网络的 AWS PrivateLink 和用于日志记录的 AWS CloudTrail。

问:Amazon EKS 的工作原理是什么?

答:Amazon EKS 可为您预配置(启动)和管理 Kubernetes 控制平面。总体来说,Kubernetes 由两大组件构成 – 运行容器的工作线程节点群集和管理容器在群集上的启动时间和位置并监控容器状态的控制平面。

如果不使用 Amazon EKS,您需要自行运行 Kubernetes 控制平面和工作线程节点群集。借助 Amazon EKS,您可以使用提供的 Amazon 系统映像 (AMI) 和 AWS CloudFormation 脚本预置工作线程节点群集,而 AWS 负责在高度可用且安全的配置中预置、扩展和管理 Kubernetes 控制平面。这消除了运行 Kubernetes 的沉重操作负担,让您能够专注于应用程序构建而非 AWS 基础设施管理。

集成

问:Amazon EKS 是否可与我现有的 Kubernetes 应用程序和工具搭配使用?

答:Amazon EKS 运行最新版本的开源 Kubernetes 软件,因此您可以使用 Kubernetes 社区中的所有现有插件和工具。无论是在本地数据中心还是在公有云中,在 Amazon EKS 上运行的应用程序都与在任何标准 Kubernetes 环境中运行的应用程序完全兼容。这意味着您可以将任何标准 Kubernetes 应用程序轻松迁移到 Amazon EKS,而无需修改任何代码。

问:Amazon EKS 是否可与 AWS Fargate 搭配使用?

答:不可以。Amazon EKS 和 AWS Fargate 之间目前不存在原生 AWS 集成。

Kubernetes 版本和更新

问:Amazon EKS 支持哪些 Kubernetes 版本?

答:Amazon EKS 支持 Kubernetes 版本 1.10.11 和 1.11.5,并且今后将继续支持更多 Kubernetes 版本。

问:是否可以将 Kubernetes 集群更新为新版本?

答:可以。Amazon EKS 为 Kubernetes 和 Amazon EKS 平台版本执行托管的就地集群升级。这简化了集群操作,使您可以利用最新的 Kubernetes 功能以及 Amazon EKS 配置和安全补丁的更新。

 

存在可应用于 Amazon EKS 集群的两种更新,即 Kubernetes 版本更新和 Amazon EKS 平台版本更新。随着新的 Kubernetes 版本的发布和验证(供 Amazon EKS 使用),我们将在任何给定时间支持三个稳定的 Kubernetes 版本作为更新过程的一部分。

问:什么是 EKS 平台版本?

答:Amazon EKS 平台版本包含 Kubernetes 补丁和 API 服务器配置的更改。平台版本与 Kubernetes 次要版本分离但有关联。当为 Amazon EKS 提供新的 Kubernetes 版本时,其初始控制平面配置将作为“eks.1”平台版本发布。当启用 Kubernetes 补丁需要时,或者当我们实施可能影响集群行为的 Amazon EKS API 服务器配置更改时,我们发布新平台版本。使用此版本控制方案,可以单独更新不同 Kubernetes 版本的配置;例如,如果我们需要发布的 Kubernetes 版本 1.10 补丁与 Kubernetes 版本 1.11 不兼容。

问:为什么我要手动控制 Kubernetes 版本更新?

答:新版本的 Kubernetes 会对 Kubernetes API 进行重大更改,因此会导致应用程序行为发生变化。通过手动控制集群上的 Kubernetes 版本,您可以在升级生产集群之前针对新版本的 Kubernetes 测试应用程序。Amazon EKS 使您能够选择何时向 EKS 集群引入更改。

问:如何更新我的工作线程节点?

答:AWS 发布包含必要的工作线程节点二进制文件(Docker 和 Kubelet)的 EKS Amazon 系统映像 (AMI)。此 AMI 会定期更新,并构建这些组件的最新版本。AWS 还发布记录我们的构建步骤的 Packer 脚本,以允许您识别每个 AMI 版本中包含的二进制文件。您可以使用现有的 Auto Scaling 功能将工作线程实例更新为最新版本的 EKS AMI。您还可以使用我们的 Packer 脚本构建自定义 AMI 的新版本。

定价和可用性

问:使用 Amazon EKS 需要支付多少费用?

答:您每小时需要为您创建的每个 Amazon EKS 集群和您创建的用于运行 Kubernetes 工作线程节点的 AWS 资源支付 0.20 USD。您只需按您的实际用量付费;既没有最低费用,也无需预付费。

问:Amazon EKS 在哪些区域可用?

答:请访问 AWS 全球基础设施区域表,了解有关 Amazon EKS 的区域可用性的最新信息。

了解使用 Amazon EKS 的客户

访问客户页面
准备好开始构建了吗?
开始使用 Amazon EKS
还有更多问题?
联系我们

General

Q: What is Amazon Elastic Container Service for Kubernetes (Amazon EKS)?

A: Amazon EKS is a managed service that makes it easy for you to run Kubernetes on AWS without needing to install and operate your own Kubernetes control plane.

Q: What is Kubernetes?

A: Kubernetes is open source software that allows you to deploy and manage containerized applications at scale. Kubernetes groups containers into logical groupings for management and discoverability, then launches them onto clusters of EC2 instances. Using Kubernetes you can run containerized applications including microservices, batch processing workers, and platforms as a service (PaaS) using the same toolset on premises and in the cloud.

Q: Why should I use Amazon EKS?

A: Amazon EKS provisions and scales the Kubernetes control plane, including the API servers and backend persistence layer, across multiple AWS availability zones for high availability and fault tolerance. Amazon EKS automatically detects and replaces unhealthy control plane nodes and provides patching for the control plane. Amazon EKS is integrated with many AWS services to provide scalability and security for your applications. These services include Elastic Load Balancing for load distribution, IAM for authentication, Amazon VPC for isolation, AWS PrivateLink for private network access, and AWS CloudTrail for logging.

Q: How does Amazon EKS work?

A: Amazon EKS works by provisioning (starting) and managing the Kubernetes control plane for you. At a high level, Kubernetes consists of two major components - a cluster of 'worker nodes' that run your containers and the control plane that manages when and where containers are started on your cluster and monitors their status.

Without Amazon EKS, you have to run both the Kubernetes control plane and the cluster of worker nodes yourself. With Amazon EKS, you provision your cluster of worker nodes using the provided Amazon Machine Image (AMI) and AWS CloudFormation script and AWS handles provisioning, scaling, and managing the Kubernetes control plane in a highly available and secure configuration. This removes a significant operational burden for running Kubernetes and allows you to focus on building your application instead of managing AWS infrastructure.

Integrations

Q: Does Amazon EKS work with my existing Kubernetes applications and tools?

A: Amazon EKS runs the latest version of the open-source Kubernetes software, so you can use all the existing plugins and tooling from the Kubernetes community. Applications running on Amazon EKS are fully compatible with applications running on any standard Kubernetes environment, whether running in on-premises datacenters or public clouds. This means that you can easily migrate any standard Kubernetes application to Amazon EKS without any code modifications.

Q: Does Amazon EKS work with AWS Fargate?

A: No. There is currently no native AWS integration between Amazon EKS and AWS Fargate.

Kubernetes versions and updates

Q: Which Kubernetes versions does Amazon EKS support?

A: Amazon EKS supports Kubernetes version 1.10.11 and 1.11.5 and will continue to add support for additional Kubernetes versions in the future.

Q: Can I update my Kubernetes cluster to a new version?

A: Yes. Amazon EKS performs managed, in-place cluster upgrades for both Kubernetes and Amazon EKS platform versions. This simplifies cluster operations and lets you take advantage of the latest Kubernetes features, as well as the updates to Amazon EKS configuration and security patches.

 

There are two types of updates that you can apply to your Amazon EKS cluster, Kubernetes version updates and Amazon EKS platform version updates. As new Kubernetes versions are released and validated for use with Amazon EKS, we will support three stable Kubernetes versions as part of the update process at any given time.

Q: What is an EKS platform version?

A: The Amazon EKS platform version contains Kubernetes patches and changes to the API server configuration. Platform versions are seperate from but associated with Kubernetes minor versions. When a new Kubernetes version is made available for Amazon EKS, its initial control plane configuration is released as the “eks.1” platform version. We release new platform versions as needed to enable Kubernetes patches or when we implement Amazon EKS API server configuration changes that could impact cluster behavior. Using this versioning scheme, makes it possible to independently update the configuration of different Kubernetes versions; for example, if we need to release a patch for Kubernetes version 1.10 that is incompatible with Kubernetes version 1.11.

Q: Why would I want manual control over Kubernetes version updates?

A: New versions of Kubernetes introduce significant change to the Kubernetes API, and as a result, can result in changed application behavior. Manual control over the version of Kubernetes on your cluster allows you to test applications against new versions of Kubernetes before upgrading production clusters. Amazon EKS provides you the ability to choose when you introduce changes to your EKS cluster.

Q: How do I update my worker nodes?

A: AWS publishes EKS Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) that include the necessary worker node binaries (Docker and Kubelet). This AMI is updated regularly and builds in the most up to date version of these components. AWS also publishes Packer scripts that document our build steps, allowing you to identify the binaries included in each version of the AMI. You can use existing Auto Scaling functionality to update worker instances to the latest version of the EKS AMI. You can also use our Packer scripts to build a new version of a custom AMI.

Pricing and availability

Q: How much does Amazon EKS cost?

A: You pay $0.20 per hour for each Amazon EKS cluster that you create and for the AWS resources you create to run your Kubernetes worker nodes. You only pay for what you use, as you use it; there are no minimum fees and no upfront commitments.

Q: Where is Amazon EKS available?

A: Please visit the AWS global infrastructure region table for the most up-to-date information on Amazon EKS regional availability.

Learn about the tools that work with Amazon EKS

Visit the partners page
Ready to build?
Get started with Amazon EKS
Have more questions?
Contact us