GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

为企业注入创新:

Deutsche Bahn AG 首席信息官兼 DB Systel 首席执行官 Christa Koenen 的访谈


2018 年,Christa Koenen 在担任公司内部 IT 业务部门 DB Systel 的首席执行官的同时还接管了 Deutsche Bahn 首席信息官一职,当时,公司还不清楚为什么需要做出改变。但最初的问题是,公司是否需要运行自己的数据中心,后来这个问题演变成大规模云迁移计划和重组公司的文化和流程。AWS 企业战略分析师 Miriam McLemore 和 Koenen 一起聊了聊这个行程。

更喜欢收听播客吗? 可以在 SpotifyApple Podcasts 上收听这期节目。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

新的开始

Miriam McLemore:这次转型如何开始?

Christa Koenen:当我开始在 DB Systel 工作时,IT 并不是 Deutsche Bahn 的主要重点。公司一直运营的很好,而且很稳定。后来,我开始更多地关注数字化。所以在 Systel 内部,我们很快意识到,我们仅像 IT 服务提供商那样运营已经不足以满足需求了。于是,我们开始向数字集成商和创新者转型。这是一次彻底的转型——无论是从技术上还是文化上。我们采用敏捷方法来完成一切。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

自上而下和自下而上的驱动变化

Miriam McLemore:您是如何让员工接受这种改变的?

Christa Koenen:沟通、沟通,还是沟通。每个人都这么说,尤其是在一个不确定的时期,但我们必须站在员工面前说,“我们不知道我们完成转型后公司会变成什么样子,但如果你想成为变革的一部分,你就会拥有一个角色,欢迎你来与我们合作。” 更重要的是,对于什么有效、什么无效,我们要坦诚交待。在过去,说这个行不通是不可接受的,那我们就后退几步,试试不同的方向。


quote-marks

能够影响文化和公司发展的方式,以及实施哪些技术,可以在员工中创造一种主人翁意识。”


我们精心挑选了一个团队,明确了我们认为需要改变的 8 个领域,并安排了两个人负责监督转型。例如,我们让一个销售部门的人和另一个运营部门的人来讨论公司的“文化和领导力”应该是什么样的。在此基础上,他们制定了内部目标或面向客户的目标,以跟踪每个季度的情况。然后,他们找到了对这个主题感兴趣的人来帮助改变公司。

将此作为“我们的转型”相对于管理团队转型进行处理很重要。能够影响文化和公司发展的方式,以及实施哪些技术,可以在员工中创造一种主人翁意识。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

利用敏捷性克服中断

Miriam McLemore:您从这次转型中看到了什么优势?

Christa Koenen:我们所做的一切——从改变我们的组织方式到增加云采用——对于快速适应我们正在经历的难以置信的颠覆至关重要。例如,在新冠病毒大流行之初,我们就能够在几周内将我们的 VPN 基础设施从 12,000 个并发用户扩展到 60,000 个并发用户,并在一两天内让所有人都能在家办公。工作效率至少和以前一样高;有些时候,我们不得不要求人们晚上不要工作了。

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

让创新绽放

Miriam McLemore:您的转型有助于刺激创新吗?

Christa Koenen:绝对有。在此之前,公司被组织成一个个孤岛,并以一种典型的泰勒式方式运转。因此,需要作出很大的努力才能把拥有不同知识类型的人聚集在一起进行创新。而现在,举个例子来说,我们有了 Sky Deck ,我们可以通过它与客户合作,从一个新的角度看待业务挑战。他们可以一起来理解问题是什么,而不是仅仅用技术来解决问题。有时候,解决方案其实是一种低技术方法。

我们将在年底移交数据中心,这比预期提前了一年。我们同时经历了多个变化。我们没有改变我们的工作方式,因为以一种自组织的方式工作很酷,使用敏捷工具很时尚。我们这么做是因为我们需要以这种方式结合使用基于云的技术,这样我们才能更快地适应。在数十年专注于管理我们的数据中心之后,我们进入了一个可以专注于创新的新时代。

Christa 成功企业转型的 5 个关键点

  1. 让组织参与制定方向
  2. 在重大变革期间充分交流并作为拥抱变革的榜样
  3. 迁移到一个自组织团队的网络
  4. 给员工时间、工具和空间来解决问题
  5. 鼓励承担风险;允许尝试和学习

quote-marks

我们没有改变我们的工作方式,因为以一种自组织的方式工作很酷,使用敏捷工具很时尚。我们这么做是因为我们确信,我们需要以这种方式工作才能有效地利用新的基于云的技术,从而使我们能够更快地适应。”


关于我们的客户

Deutsche Bahn AG 首席信息官兼 DB Systel 首席执行官 Christa Koenen

Christa Koenen
Deutsche Bahn AG 首席信息官兼 DB Systel 首席执行官

在美因茨和弗莱堡完成经济学专业学习后,Christa Koenen 曾在多家公司工作,包括担任战略顾问,她还在巴塞罗那 IESE 商学院获得 MBA 学位。Christa 于 2004 年加入 Deutsche Bahn,最初负责集团层面的战略发展,后来担任控制部门主管和服务业务部门的业务发展主管。2011 年,她担任 DB Kommunikationstechnik 的首席财务官,2014 年 5 月,她加入 DB Systel,担任常务董事和首席财务官。自 2015 年以来,Christa 一直担任 DB Systel 的首席执行官,并于 2018 年担任 DB Group 的首席信息官。

Miriam McLemore,Amazon Web Services 企业战略分析师

Miriam McLemore
Amazon Web Services 企业战略分析师

在加入 Amazon 之前,Miriam 曾担任过企业和消费者技术部门的首席信息官和可口可乐公司全球信息技术部门的负责人。担任此职务时,她在所有技术问题上为企业上下提供全球领导力,以支持全球营销、消费者/商业领导、产品研发、人力资源、法律、可持续发展、公共事务和战略安全。

了解有关 Miriam 的更多信息 »


相关案例

敏捷性大师 Andrea Lachnik 和产品负责人兼云专家 Rene Schneider 与 AWS 数字创新领导者 Thomas Blood 一起分享他们在 Deutsche Bahn Systel 领导业务和技术转型的经验。

领导者访谈
第 1 部分 - 通过沟通推动变革:
Andrea 和 Rene 描述了清晰的愿景、双向沟通和明确的团队目标是如何帮助团队交付预期结果的
领导者访谈
第 2 部分 - 培养创新和学习文化:
Thomas 探讨了实验和学习的文化如何帮助 Deutsche Bahn Systel 成功实现业务转型

是什么让优秀的领导者变得伟大?

听听其他领导者是如何推动改革的。

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Infusing the Enterprise with Innovation:

A conversation with Christa Koenen, CIO of Deutsche Bahn AG and CEO of DB Systel


When Christa Koenen took over as CIO of Deutsche Bahn in 2018 in addition to her role as CEO of its internal IT business DB Systel, it was unclear to the business why anything might need to change. But what began as a question of whether the company needed to run its own data centers evolved into a plan for a massive cloud migration and retooling of the organization’s culture and processes. AWS Enterprise Strategist Miriam McLemore sat down with Koenen to talk about the journey.

Prefer to listen to the podcast? Access the episode on Spotify or Apple Podcasts.

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

The start of something new

Miriam McLemore: How did this transformation begin?

Christa Koenen: When I started at DB Systel, IT wasn’t a main focus for Deutsche Bahn. The company had always done well and had been stable. Subsequently, it started looking more towards digitization. So inside Systel, we quickly realized that our behaving like an IT service provider wasn’t enough anymore. We began our transformation to digital integrator and innovator. It’s been a complete transformation—technologically and culturally. We’ve adopted agile methods for everything we do.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Driving change top-down and bottom-up

Miriam McLemore: How did you get your people to embrace the change?

Christa Koenen: Communicate, communicate, communicate. Everybody says that, but especially in a time of uncertainty, we have to stand in front of our people and say, “We don’t know what the company is going to look like when we’re done, but if you want to be part of the change, you have a role, and you’re welcome to work with us on this.” Even more importantly, be honest about what works and what doesn’t. In the past, it wasn’t acceptable to say this isn’t working, and let’s take a few steps back to try a different direction.


quote-marks

Being able to influence how the culture and company develop and which technologies are implemented creates a sense of ownership among employees.”


With a select team of people, we defined the eight areas we thought we needed to change and put two people in charge of overseeing the transformation. For example, we had one person from sales and another from operations addressing what “culture and leadership” might look like for the company. From that, they created either internal or customer-facing goals to track each quarter. Then they found people who were enthusiastic about the topic to help change the company.

Approaching this as “our transformation” versus the management team’s transformation was important. Being able to influence how the culture and company develop and what technologies are being implemented creates a sense of ownership among employees.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Overcoming disruption with agility

Miriam McLemore: What advantages have you seen from this transformation?

Christa Koenen: Everything we set in motion—from changing the way we organize to increased cloud adoption—has been critical to adapting quickly to this incredible disruption that we are going through. For example, at the beginning of the corona pandemic, we were able to scale our VPN infrastructure from 12,000 to 60,000 concurrent users within a couple of weeks and have everyone work from a home office within a day or two. Productivity is at least as high as before; in some cases, we’ve had to ask people to stop working in the evenings.

 

GRAPHIC_Orange-rule_01

Letting innovation bloom

Miriam McLemore: Has your transformation helped spur innovation?

Christa Koenen: Absolutely. Previously, the company was organized into silos and functioned in a classical, tayloristic way. So it was quite an effort to bring together people with different types of knowledge to innovate. Now we have, for example, our Sky Deck, where we work with our customers to look at business challenges from a new perspective. Rather than just throwing technology at a problem, they can come together to understand what the issue is. Sometimes, the solution is a lower-tech approach.

We will hand over our data centers at the end of the year—a year earlier than anticipated. We’ve been going through several changes in parallel. We’re not changing the way we work because it’s cool to work in a self-organized way or it’s hip to use agile tools. We’re doing it because we need to work in this way with cloud-based technologies so we can adapt more quickly. After decades of focusing on managing our data centers, we’ve entered a new era in which we can focus on innovation instead.

Christa’s 5 Keys to Successful Enterprise Transformation

  1. Involve the organization in setting the direction
  2. Overcommunicate during times of great change and act as a role model for embracing change
  3. Migrate to a network of self-organizing teams
  4. Give employees time, tools and space to solve problems
  5. Encourage risk-taking; allow trying and learning

quote-marks

We’re not changing the way we work because it’s cool to work in a self-organized way or it’s hip to use agile tools. We’re doing it because we’re convinced that we need to work in this way to be effective with new cloud-based technologies so we can adapt faster."


About our guests

Christa Koenen, CIO of Deutsche Bahn AG and CEO of DB Systel

Christa Koenen
CIO, Deutsche Bahn AG and CEO, DB Systel

After completing her studies in Economics in Mainz and Freiburg, Christa Koenen worked in various companies, including as a strategy consultant, and earned her MBA at IESE in Barcelona. Christa joined Deutsche Bahn in 2004, initially in Strategic Development at the group level, and later as Head of Controlling and Head of Business Development in the Services business unit. In 2011, she took over as CFO of DB Kommunikationstechnik and in May 2014, joined DB Systel as Managing Director and CFO. Since 2015, Christa has been CEO of DB Systel, and in 2018, additionally took on the role of CIO of DB Group.

Miriam McLemore, Enterprise Strategist, Amazon Web Services

Miriam McLemore
Enterprise Strategist, Amazon Web Services

Before joining Amazon, Miriam was the Chief Information Officer, Corporate and Consumer Technologies and a leader in the Global Information Technology Division of The Coca-Cola Company. In this role, she provided global leadership across the enterprise on all technology matters in support of global marketing, consumer/commercial leadership, product R&D, human resources, legal, sustainability, public affairs; and strategic security.

Learn more about Miriam »


Related stories

Andrea Lachnik, Agility Master, and Rene Schneider, Product Owner and Cloud Expert, sat down with AWS Digital Innovation Leader, Thomas Blood, to share their experience leading business and technology transformation at Deutsche Bahn Systel.

CONVERSATIONS WITH LEADERS
Part 1 - Driving change through communication:
Andrea and Rene describe how clarity of vision, two way communication, and clear team goals helped the team deliver desired outcomes
CONVERSATIONS WITH LEADERS
Part 2 - Cultivating a culture of innovation and learning:
Thomas explores how a culture of experimentation and learning contributed to the success of Deutsche Bahn Systel’s business transformation

What makes good leaders great?

Hear from other leaders on how they approach driving change.