数据致胜,收益万千

投资团队,实现组织转型

与 Workday 首席信息官 (CIO) Sheri Rhodes 的对话

Workday 是适用于财务和人力资源的企业云应用程序的领先提供商。他们为全球超过 8000 家组织管理着一系列财务、规划、人力资源和采购应用程序,涵盖了财富 500 强中 45% 以上的公司。Workday 首席信息官 Sheri Rhodes 在和 AWS 企业战略分析师 Miriam McLemore 的对话中分享了她在领导组织变革、制定转型战略和协作交付成果方面的经验和洞察。

“

我们希望员工们喜欢我们的产品。每一名员工都是产品未来的一部分,因为我们每天都会使用这些产品。试用我们的产品,构建这些产品,以支持、迁移并根据我们的反馈进行调整。”

Amazon 的领导力原则

构建您希望每天使用的平台

Miriam McLemore:您的一个首要任务是亲自成为您的解决方案的一个客户。您能否和我们谈一谈 Workday 的内部部署情况?

Sheri Rhodes:我们在内部将这只团队称为 WoW,表示 Workday on Workday。在整个应用程序套件中,我们使用并管理我们在内部部署的产品(人力资源、财务、规划、采购)。当我们开始使用我们的产品时,我们只有 200 名员工,而我们现在的员工数量已经超过了 12500 人。这些工具和应用程序随着我们规模的增大而不断扩展。我们不必重新实施解决方案,因为和我们的客户一样,我们也是每一次升级的一部分。随着我们的组织不断发展壮大,这些工具和平台一直在不断更新。


“

我们围绕产品而不是项目来开展工作,因此可以灵活地适应业务的动态变化。”


Miriam McLemore:您拥有的解决方案应当可以轻松升级并提供必要的现代化功能,以使人力资源能够领导大型组织,这无疑是至关重要的。从内部来看,对于 Workday,此实施的哪个方面产生的影响最为深远?

Sheri Rhodes:我们知道,在安全性、可靠性和恢复能力以适应我们的业务方面,各个公司对科技公司提出了非常高的标准。我们的 WoW 团队会试用我们正在实施的产品,并更新这些产品以便对平台进行无缝改进,这样,每一名员工就能够成为产品未来的一部分 – 而不仅仅是负责构建和支持这些产品的人员。我们希望我们的员工喜欢使用我们的 Workday 产品,并帮助他们直观地参与 – 让他们受益,最终也会让我们的客户受益。

Amazon 的领导力原则

敏捷性思维投资于团队而不是项目

Miriam McLemore:在 COVID 爆发之前,您实施了一个产品运维模型。将用于项目的资金调拨给产品使用。您能否介绍一下这一变革产生的影响?

Sheri Rhodes:在实施这一变革之前,我的团队一直使用瀑布模式运转,这限制了我们进行创新和跟上企业发展步伐的能力。我鼓励全公司的各个团队采用敏捷性思维。我们从投资于项目转变为投资于团队。这不仅是一个信息技术方面的变革,也是一个全面的文化转变。AWS 是一个绝佳的合作伙伴,他们会分享最佳实践甚至职位要求,从而确保我们拥有成功所需的正确模型。在 AWS 的帮助下,我们公司得以跟上变革的步伐。

Sheri 的组织

变革图

  1. 支持适合目的的架构
  2. 建立值得信赖的数据基础
  3. 提供有吸引力的直观体验
  4. 扩展技术
  5. 成为您自己的第一个客户
Amazon 的领导力原则

如何预测变化并抓住机遇

Miriam McLemore:您还与很多高级管理人员打交道。您以前曾经说过高级管理人员需要增加协作。这为何如此重要?

Sheri Rhodes:沟通意味着一切! 这是我们企业的立足之本。作为一家公司,我们要以这样的方式为未来的机遇或变化做好准备。无论是内部还是外部的协作都显著增多,这让我们每一个人都受益匪浅。我会尝试向我们的管理人员复述我从其他 CIO 那里听到的消息,以讨论他们发现的各种趋势以及其他人在整个环境中采用的各种方法。

“

确保你的组织始终大力提倡同情心和工作中的趣味性。努力打造强而有力、注重才干并对新想法保持开放态度的多元化文化。培养这一文化氛围对于您的企业或组织的成功至关重要。”

分享这个故事


您已经具备了成功所需的人员
电子书 | 阅读需时 5 分钟
您已经具备了成功所需的人员
利用机构知识和现有的文化实践
阅读更多 
通过投资云技能保持竞争力
电子书 | 阅读需时 5 分钟
通过投资云技能保持竞争力
云技能可能是您最重要的投资
阅读更多 
人才转型的 10 步行动计划
信息图 | 阅读需时 2 分钟
人才转型的 10 步行动计划
如何规划、发展和优化您的 IT 财务管理实践
阅读更多 

嘉宾简介

Workday CIO Sheri Rhodes

Sheri Rhodes
Workday 首席信息官 (CIO)

Sheri Rhodes 是 Workday 的首席信息官 (CIO)。她致力于监管该公司的全球信息技术组织,并负责在内部部署 Workday 产品。 在加入 Workday 之前,Sheri 在 Western Union 担任执行副总裁兼首席技术官,并负责产品工程、安全性和公司技术工作。在加入 Western Union 之前,她曾担任 Electronics for Imaging 的 CIO,并在 Symantec、Visa 和 Washington Mutual 担任多个领导职位。 Sheri 从圣地亚哥州立大学取得了工商管理学硕士学位和商务学士学位。

 

Miriam McLemore
Amazon Web Services 企业战略分析师

在加入 Amazon 之前,Miriam 曾担任过企业和消费者技术部门的首席信息官和可口可乐公司全球信息技术部门的负责人。担任此职务时,她在所有技术问题上为企业上下提供全球领导力,以支持全球营销、消费者/商业领导、产品研发、人力资源、法律、可持续发展、公共事务和战略安全。

阅读 Miriam 提供的更多内容 

联系我们

新闻通讯
Executive Insights 新闻通讯
从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱
订阅新闻通讯 
博客
企业战略博客
向亲自领导云支持转型的高管级领导者学习
阅读博客 
社交媒体
AWS Executive Connection
通过文化、人才和领导力实现创新和转型的观点
在 LinkedIn 上关注我们

Betting On Customer Data to Win Big

Investing in Teams Transforms an Organization

A conversation with Sheri Rhodes, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Workday

Workday is a leading provider of enterprise cloud applications for finance and human resources. They administer a suite of finance, planning, HR, and sourcing applications for the over 8,000 organizations around the world, including to more than 45 percent of the Fortune 500. Sheri Rhodes, CIO at Workday, spoke with AWS Enterprise Strategist Miriam McLemore to share her experience and insights in leading organizational change, developing strategies for transformation, and collaborating to deliver results.

Listen to the inteview on the AWS Conversations with Leaders podcast

Quote

We want our employees to love our products. Every employee is part of the product’s future because we use those products every day. Road testing our products, and building them to support, shift and adapt to our feedback.”

Amazon’s Leadership Principles

Build a platform you would use everyday

Miriam McLemore: One of your priorities is being your own customer of your solutions. Can you tell us about the internal deployment of Workday?

Sheri Rhodes: Internally we call this team, WoW, Workday on Workday. We use and manage the internal deployment of our products (HR, Finance, Planning, Sourcing) across the application suite. We started using our products when we had just 200 employees and now we’re at 12,500 plus. The tools and applications have scaled with us. We haven’t had to re-implement the solutions because, just like our customers, we’re part of the upgrades each and every time. The tools and platforms have kept current as we’ve grown as an organization.


Quote

We organize around products, not projects, so that we can move with agility in our dynamic business.”


Miriam McLemore: Having a solution that upgrades easily and has the modern capabilities you need for HR to lead a large organization is absolutely critical. Internally for Workday, what was the most impactful piece of that implementation?

Sheri Rhodes: We know that companies have a high standard for tech companies around security, reliability, and resilience in terms of adapting to our business. Our WoW team road tests the products we are implementing and updating for seamless platform improvements, allowing every employee to be a part of the product’s future—not just those who build and support our products. We want our employees to love using our Workday products and help them engage intuitively— benefiting them and ultimately our customers.

Amazon’s Leadership Principles

An agile mindset invests in teams not projects

Miriam McLemore: Before COVID, you implemented a product operating model. Shifting funds from projects to products. Can you explain the impacts of this change?

Sheri Rhodes: Before this change, my team was operating in a waterfall mode, limiting our ability to innovate and keep pace with the business. I encouraged an agile mindset across teams companywide. We shifted from funding projects to funding teams. It wasn’t just about an IT change; it was a complete culture change. And AWS was a great partner by sharing best practices and even job profiles, making sure we had the right model to be successful. Our company was able to keep pace with the changes thanks to AWS.

Sheri’s Map for

Organizational Change

  1. Enable a fit-for-purpose architecture
  2. Establish a trusted data foundation
  3. Deliver engaging and intuitive experiences
  4. Scale the technology
  5. Be your own first customer 
Amazon’s Leadership Principles

How to anticipate change and capitalize on opportunities

Miriam McLemore: You work with a number of C-suite leaders as well. You have previously spoken about the increased need for collaboration at the C-level. Why is this so important?

Sheri Rhodes: Communication is everything! It’s the cornerstone of our operations. It's how we engage as a company to prepare for the next opportunity or change. Collaboration internally and externally has increased dramatically, and we’ve all benefited. I try to bring back what I hear from my CIO peers to our executives to talk about what kinds of trends they are seeing, and the diversity of approaches others are taking across environments.

Quote

Keep empathy and fun at the forefront of your organization. Work to build a strong, talented, diverse culture open to new ideas. Fostering that culture is hugely important to the success of your business or organization.”

Share this story


You Already Have the People You Need to Succeed
ebook | 5 min read
You Already Have the People You Need to Succeed
Tap into institutional knowledge and existing cultural practices
Read more 
Staying Competitive by Investing in Cloud Skills
ebook | 5 min read
Staying Competitive by Investing in Cloud Skills
Cloud skills may be the most important investment you make
Read more 
A 10 Step Action Plan for Talent Transformation
Infographic | 2 min read
A 10 Step Action Plan for Talent Transformation
How to plan, evolve, and optimize your IT Finance Management practices
Read more 

About our guests

Sheri Rhodes, CIO, Workday

Sheri Rhodes 
Chief Information Officer (CIO), Workday

Sheri Rhodes is the Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Workday. She oversees the company’s global information technology organization, responsible for the internal deployment of Workday products. Prior to joining Workday, Sheri served as executive vice president and chief technology officer at Western Union, where she was responsible for product engineering, security, and corporate technology. Preceding Western Union, she was CIO at Electronics for Imaging and held various leadership roles at Symantec, Visa, and Washington Mutual. Sheri holds a Master of Business Administration degree and a bachelor’s degree in business from San Diego State University.

 

Miriam McLemore
Enterprise Strategist, Amazon Web Services

Before joining Amazon, Miriam was the Chief Information Officer, Corporate and Consumer Technologies and a leader in the Global Information Technology Division of The Coca-Cola Company. In this role, she provided global leadership across the enterprise on all technology matters in support of global marketing, consumer/commercial leadership, product R&D, human resources, legal, sustainability, public affairs; and strategic security.

Read more from Miriam 

Connect with us

Newsletter
Executive Insights Newsletter
Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS delivered to your inbox
Subscribe to the newsletter 
Blog
Enterprise Strategy Blog
Learn from executive leaders who have personally led cloud-powered transformation
Read the blog 
Social
AWS Executive Connection
Perspectives on enabling innovation and transformation through culture, talent, and leadership
Follow us on LinkedIn