开始使用 Amazon AI 服务

人工智能 (AI) 是致力于解决通常与人工智能相关联的认知性问题的计算机科学领域,这些问题包括学习、问题解决和模式识别等。提起人工智能 (通常缩写为“AI”),人们可能会想到机器人或未来的场景。但是,AI 不仅仅局限于科幻小说中的机器人,还迈进了现代非虚构的高级计算机科学领域。这一领域的杰出研究人员 Pedro Domingos 教授将机器学习划分为“五大学派”,即起源于逻辑和哲学的象征主义学派、源于神经系统科学的联结主义学派、与进化生物学相关的进化论学派、结合统计学和概率学的贝叶斯定理学派以及起源于心理学的类比推理学派。最近,由于统计计算效率的进步,贝叶斯定理学派在名为“机器学习”的领域取得了多个方面的进展。同样,由于网络计算的进步,联结主义学派在名为“深度学习”的一个子领域也取得了进展。机器学习 (ML) 和深度学习 (DL) 都属于源自人工智能学科的计算机科学领域。

从广义上来说,这些技术分为“有监督”和“无监督”学习技术,其中“有监督”使用包含预期输出的培训数据,而“无监督”使用不包含预期输出的培训数据。

数据越多,AI 就会“更加智能”,并以更快的速度学习;而且,企业每天都会生成数据,为运行机器学习和深度学习解决方案提供“燃料”,其中包括从 Amazon Redshift 等数据仓库收集和提取的数据、使用 Mechanical Turk 通过“人群”的强大力量收集的正确标注数据以及通过 Kinesis Streams 动态挖掘的数据。此外,随着 IoT 的出现和传感技术的应用,需要分析的数据量呈指数级增长,包括从之前几乎没有接触过的来源和位置以及对象和事件接收的数据。


“机器学习”这一名称通常应用于一些用于模式识别和学习的贝叶斯技术。从核心上讲,机器学习是各种算法的集合,这些算法可根据记录的数据进行学习和预测、在不确定情境下优化给定效用函数、从数据中提取隐藏结构并用简洁的描述对数据进行分类。在显式编程过于僵化或不切实际的情况下,通常会部署机器学习。与软件开发人员为尝试根据给定输入生成特定程序代码输出而开发的常规计算机代码不同,机器学习使用数据生成统计代码 (ML 模型),它将根据从先前的输入 (在使用监督技术的情况下还包括输出) 示例中识别出的模式输出“正确结果”。ML 模型的准确性主要取决于历史数据的质量和数量。

有了合适的数据,ML 模型就可以使用数十亿的示例来分析高维度问题,从而找到能够根据给定输入预测结果的最佳函数。ML 模型通常会在预测及其整体性能方面提供统计置信度。在您决定是使用 ML 模型还是任何个人预测时,此类评估得分非常重要。

Amazon.com 正在基于机器学习的系统上构建大量业务。如果没有 ML,Amazon.com 将无法拓展业务、改善客户体验和选择,也不能优化其物流速度和质量。Amazon.com 启动了 AWS,以便其他业务部门使用相同 IT 基础设施并享受其敏捷性和成本优势。现在,Amazon.com 继续将 ML 技术推广到每项业务。

Amazon.com 开发团队的结构和 ML 的核心任务 (即解决务实的疑难业务问题),推动着 Amazon.com 和 AWS 去开发易于使用且功能强大的 ML 工具和服务。与其他 IT 服务类似,这些工具会先在 Amazon.com 的关键任务型环境中进行测试,然后才会作为 AWS 服务发布,以供每个业务部门使用。

机器学习通常用于根据历史数据预测未来结果。例如,组织可使用机器学习来根据特定人口统计信息预测未来财政季度的产品销量,或预测哪类客户最有可能对您的品牌感到不满意,哪类客户对您的品牌最为忠诚。此类预测有助于您更好地制定业务决策,提供更加人性化的用户体验,还可能会降低客户保持成本。ML 可以根据过去的趋势和交易来预测未来结果,对侧重于报告过去业务数据的商业智能 (BI) 进行补充。

通过以下几个步骤,可成功在企业中实施 ML。首先,找出恰当的问题,即找出确定之后企业可从中获益的预测。接下来,必须根据历史业务指标 (交易、销量、流失等) 收集数据。对数据进行整合,然后根据数据构建 ML 模型。运行 ML 模型,并将模型的预测输出应用到企业系统,从而制定更加明智的决策。

在您的组织实施 ML

在您的组织实施机器学习

找出与预期模式或数据集中其他项目不相符的项目、事件或观察结果。

构建预测模型,帮助识别潜在的欺诈性零售交易,或帮助检测出欺诈性或不当项目审查结果。

找出极有可能会流失的客户,让您积极地为他们提供优惠或更广泛的客户服务,以便留住这些客户。 

使用预测分析模型,根据客户先前的行为来推荐项目或优化网站流量,从而提供更加个性化的客户体验。 


深度学习是机器学习的一个分支,包含各种分层算法,目的在于更好地了解数据。与较为基础的回归算法不同,这些算法不再局限于创建一组可解释的关系。相反,深度学习依靠这些非线性算法层来创建能够根据一系列因素进行交互的分布式表示。对于大型培训数据集,深度学习算法开始能够识别元素之间的关系。这些关系可能存在于形状、颜色、文字等元素之间。由此,人们便可以使用该系统创建预测了。在机器学习和人工智能中,深度学习之所以具有强大的功能,是因为该系统能够识别的关系超出了人类可在软件中实际进行编码的关系,且还能识别出人类甚至无法意识到的关系。经过充分的培训后,算法网络便可以开始预测或解释非常复杂的数据。

卷积神经网络在执行许多视觉任务方面 (包括对象分类) 超越了人类。对于数以百万计的标记图片,算法系统可以开始识别图像的主题了。在深度学习的推动下,许多照片存储服务现已具备面部识别功能。该功能对 Amazon RekognitionAmazon Prime PhotosAmazon Firefly Service 而言非常重要。

Amazon Alexa 和其他虚拟助手的作用在于识别请求并返回响应。虽然人类在很小的时候就可以理解声音,但直到最近,计算机才能够倾听并回应人类。由于人类的口音和言语模式多种多样,导致倾听和回应人类成为一项难以利用较为传统的数学或计算机科学来完成的机器任务。借助深度学习,算法系统可以更轻松地确定语音内容及意图。 

自然语言处理科学试图教授系统理解人类的语言、语气和语境。在此情况下,算法开始需要辨认一些更加难以理解的概念,如情感或讽刺。这是一个不断发展的领域,许多公司都尝试通过语音或文本机器人 (如 Amazon Lex 所使用的语音和文本聊天机器人) 来实现客户服务自动化。

在线购物网站经常推送个性化内容推荐,其中涉及您想购买的商品、想观看的电影或感兴趣的新闻。过去,这些系统都由在商品之间建立关联的相关人员来提供支持。但是,随着大数据和深度学习的出现,就不再需要人类提供支持了,因为当前算法可以查看您过去购买或访问的商品并将该信息与他人的信息进行比较,从而找出您感兴趣的商品。

>> 了解开源深度学习框架 MXnet 以及如何开始使用 MXnet。

 

开始使用 Amazon AI 服务

Get started with Amazon AI Services

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the field of computer science dedicated to solving cognitive problems commonly associated with human intelligence, such as learning, problem solving, and pattern recognition. Artificial Intelligence, often abbreviated as "AI", may connote robotics or futuristic scenes, AI goes well beyond the automatons of science fiction, into the non-fiction of modern day advanced computer science. Professor Pedro Domingos, a prominent researcher in this field, describes “five tribes” of machine learning, comprised of symbolists, with origins in logic and philosophy; connectionists, stemming from neuroscience; evolutionaries, relating to evolutionary biology; Bayesians, engaged with statistics and probability; and analogizers with origins in psychology. Recently, advances in the efficiency of statistical computation have led to Bayesians being successful at furthering the field in a number of areas, under the name “machine learning”. Similarly, advances in network computation have led to connectionists furthering a subfield under the name “deep learning”. Machine learning (ML) and deep learning (DL) are both computer science fields derived from the discipline of Artificial Intelligence.

Broadly, these techniques are separated into “supervised” and “unsupervised” learning techniques, where “supervised” uses training data that includes the desired output, and “unsupervised” uses training data without the desired output.

AI becomes “smarter” and learns faster with more data, and every day, businesses are generating this fuel for running machine learning and deep learning solutions, whether collected and extracted from a data warehouse like Amazon Redshift, ground-truthed through the power of “the crowd” with Mechanical Turk, or dynamically mined through Kinesis Streams. Further, with the advent of IoT, sensor technology exponentially adds to the amount of data to be analyzed -- data from sources and places and objects and events that have previously been nearly untouched.


Machine Learning is the name commonly applied to a number of Bayesian techniques used for pattern recognition and learning. At its core, machine learning is a collection of algorithms that can learn from and make predictions based on recorded data, optimize a given utility function under uncertainty, extract hidden structures from data and classify data into concise descriptions. Machine Learning is often deployed where explicit programing is too rigid or is impractical. Unlike regular computer code that is developed by software developers to try to generate a program code-specific output based on given input, machine learning uses data to generate statistical code (an ML model), that will output the “right result” based on a pattern recognized from previous examples of input (and output, in the case of supervised techniques). The accuracy of an ML model is based mainly on the quality and quantity of the historical data.

With the right data, an ML model can analyze high dimensional problems with billions of examples, to find the optimal function that can predict an outcome with a given input. ML models can usually provide statistical confidence on predictions, as well as on its overall performance. Such evaluation scores are important in the decision if you are to use an ML model or any individual prediction.

Amazon.com is building a lot of its business on machine Learning-based systems. Without ML, Amazon.com couldn’t grow its business, improve its customer experience and selection, and optimize its logistic speed and quality. Amazon.com started AWS to allow other business to enjoy the same IT infrastructure, with agility and cost benefits, and now continues to democratize ML technologies to the hands of every business.

The structure of Amazon.com development teams, and the focus on ML to solve hard pragmatic business problems, drives Amazon.com and AWS to develop simple-to-use and powerful ML tools and services. These tools are first tested in the scale and mission critical environment of Amazon.com, before they are exposed as AWS services for every business to use, similar to other IT services.

Machine learning is often used to predict future outcomes based on historical data. For example, organizations use machine learning to predict how many of their products will be sold in future fiscal quarters based on a particular demographic; or estimate which customer profile has the highest probability to become dissatisfied or the most loyal to your brand. Such predictions allow better business decisions, more personal user experience, and the potential to reduce customer retention costs. Complementary to business Intelligence (BI), which focuses on reporting past business data, ML predicts future outcomes based on past trends and transactions.

There are several steps that comprise a successful implementation of ML in a business. First, identifying the right problem -- identifying the prediction that would benefit the business if ascertained. Next, the data must be collected, based on historical business metrics (transactions, sales, attrition, etc.). Once the data is aggregated, an ML model can be built based on that data. The ML model is run and the prediction output of the model is applied back to the business system to make more informed decisions.

Implementing ML in your Organization

Implementing Machine Learning in your Organization 

Identify items, events or observations which do not conform to an expected pattern or other items in a dataset.

Build predictive models that help identify potentially fraudulent retail transactions, or detect fraudulent or inappropriate item reviews.

Find customers who are at high risk of attrition, enabling you to proactively engage them with promotions or customer service outreach. 

Provide a more personalized customer experience by using predictive analytics models to recommend items or optimize website flow based on prior customer actions. 


Deep Learning is a branch of machine learning that involves layering algorithms in an effort to gain greater understanding of the data.  The algorithms are no longer limited to create an explainable set of relationships as would a more basic regression.  Instead, deep learning relies on these layers of non-linear algorithms to create distributed representations that interact based on a series of factors.  Given large sets of training data, deep learning algorithms begin to be able to identify the relationships between elements.  These relationships may be between shapes, colors, words, and more.  From this, the system can then be used to create predictions.  Within machine learning and artificial intelligence, the power of deep learning stems from the system being able to identify more relationships than humans could practically code in software, or relationships that humans may not even be able to perceive.  After sufficient training, this allows the network of algorithms to begin to make predictions or interpretations of very complex data.

Convolutional Neural Networks out-perform humans on many vision tasks including object classification.  Given millions of labeled pictures, the system of algorithms is able to begin identifying the subject of the image.  Many photo-storage services  include facial recognition, driven by Deep Learning.  This is central to Amazon Rekognition, Amazon Prime Photos, and Amazon’s Firefly Service.

Amazon Alexa and other virtual assistants are designed to recognize a request and return a response.  While understanding voice is something that humans can do at a very young age, it is only recently that computers have been able to listen and respond to humans.  Varying accents and speech patterns in humans make this a difficult machine task to complete utilizing more traditional math or computer science.  With Deep Learning, the system of algorithms can more easily determine what was uttered and the intent. 

Natural Language Processing seeks to teach the system to understand human language, tone, and context.  This begins to allow the algorithm to discern more difficult concepts such as emotion or sarcasm.  This is a growing field as companies seek to automate customer service with voice or text bots, as used by Amazon Lex.

Online shopping often involves personalized content recommendations related to items you might like to purchase, movies you might want to watch, or news you might be interested in reading.  Historically, these systems were powered by humans creating associations between items. However, with the advent of Big Data and Deep Learning, humans are no longer necessary since algorithms can now identify the items that might interest you by examining your past purchases or product visits, and comparing that information to that of others.

>> Learn about MXnet, the open source deep learning framework, and how you can get started.

 

Get started with Amazon AI Services