什么是神经网络?

神经网络是一种人工智能方法,用于教计算机以受人脑启发的方式处理数据。这是一种机器学习过程,称为深度学习,它使用类似于人脑的分层结构中的互连节点或神经元。它可以创建自适应系统,计算机使用该系统来从错误中进行学习并不断改进。因此,人工神经网络可以尝试解决复杂的问题,例如更准确地总结文档或人脸识别。

深度学习简介

为什么神经网络非常重要?

神经网络可在有限的人类协助下,帮助计算机制定明智的决策。这是因为它们可以学习非线性和复杂的输入数据与输出数据之间的关系,并为其建模。例如,它们可以执行以下任务。

进行归纳和推理

神经网络无需显式训练即可理解非结构化数据以及进行一般性观察。例如,它们可以识别具有相似含义的两种不同输入语句:

  • 您能否告诉我如何付款?
  • 我如何转账?

神经网络会知道这两个句子的含义相同。或者它能广泛地识别 Baxter Road 是地名,而 Baxter Smith 是人名。

揭示隐藏的关系和模式

神经网络可以更深入地分析原始数据,揭示它们并未就此接受过训练的新见解。例如,考虑分析消费者购物的模式识别神经网络。通过对比大量用户的购物模式,神经网络可以推荐可能吸引特定消费者的新商品。

创建自主性的自学系统

神经网络可以根据用户行为进行学习,并随时间推移进行改进。例如,考虑通过分析您的键入行为自动更正或推荐词汇的神经网络。假设该模型是使用英语训练的,因此可对英语词汇进行拼写检查。但如果您经常键入非英语词汇,如 danke,则神经网络也可以自动学习和更正这些词汇。

学习高度易变数据并为其建模

有些数据集,如银行中的贷款还款账户,可能存在很大变化。神经网络也可以为此类数据建模。例如,它们可以分析金融交易,并标记其中部分交易以进行欺诈侦测。它们还可以处理掌握着解决生物学难题关键的复杂数据,如蛋白质折叠、DNA 分析等。

神经网络用于哪些用途?

神经网络具有很多使用案例,涵盖很多行业,如下所示:

  • 通过医疗影像分类进行医疗诊断
  • 通过社交网络筛选和行为数据分析进行有针对性的营销
  • 通过处理金融工具的历史数据进行金融预测
  • 电力负载和能源需求预测
  • 流程和质量控制
  • 化合物鉴定

我们将在下文提供神经网络的四种重要应用。

计算机视觉

计算机视觉是指计算机从图像和视频中提取信息及见解的能力。借助神经网络,计算机可以区分和识别与人类相似的图像。计算机视觉具有多种应用,如下所示:

  • 自动驾驶汽车中的视觉识别,以使汽车能够识别道路标志和其他道路使用者
  • 内容审核,用于从图像和视频归档中自动删除不安全或不适当的内容
  • 面部识别,用于识别面部和多项属性,如睁开的眼睛、眼镜以及面部毛发
  • 图像标记,用于识别品牌徽标、服装、安全装备和其他图像细节

语音识别

神经网络可以分析人类语音,尽管说话模式、音调、语气、语言和口音不尽相同。虚拟助手(如 Amazon Alexa)和自动转录软件使用语音识别执行诸如以下任务:

  • 帮助呼叫中心座席并对呼叫进行自动分类
  • 将临床对话实时转换为文档
  • 为视频和会议记录添加准确的字幕以实现更广泛的内容覆盖范围

自然语言处理

自然语言处理 (NLP) 是指处理自然、人类创建的文本的能力。神经网络可以帮助计算机从文本数据和文档中收集见解和含义。NLP 具有多种使用案例,包括在以下功能中:

  • 自动虚拟座席和聊天机器人
  • 写入数据的自动组织和分类
  • 长格式文档(如电子邮件和表格)的业务情报分析
  • 用于表示情绪(如社交媒体上的正面和负面评论)的关键短语索引
  • 给定主题的文档摘要和文章生成

推荐引擎

神经网络可以跟踪用户活动,以提供个性化推荐。它们还可以分析所有用户行为,然后发现能够吸引特定用户的新产品或服务。例如,Curalate 是一家总部位于菲律宾的初创公司,它可帮助各个品牌将社交媒体文章转化为销售额。众多品牌使用 Curalate 的智能产品标签 (IPT) 服务,自动收集和管理用户生成的社交内容。IPT 使用神经网络自动查找和推荐与用户的社交媒体活动相关的产品。消费者无需通过社交媒体图像搜寻整个在线目录来查找特定产品。相反,他们可以使用 Curalate 的自动产品标记轻松购买产品。

神经网络的工作原理是什么?

神经网络架构的灵感源自人脑。人脑细胞称为神经元,构成了一个复杂、高度互联的网络,并能互相发送电信号,以帮助人类处理信息。同样,人工神经网络由人工神经元组成,它们共同合作以解决问题。人工神经元是软件模块,称为节点;人工神经网络是软件程序或算法,在其核心,使用计算系统求解数学计算。

简单神经网络架构

基本神经网络的相互连接的人工神经元分为三层:

输入层

来自外部世界的信息通过输入层进入人工神经网络。输入节点对数据进行处理、分析或分类,然后将其继续传递到下一层。

隐藏层

隐藏层从输入层或其他隐藏层获取其输入。人工神经网络可以具有大量的隐藏层。每个隐藏层都会对来自上一层的输出进行分析和进一步处理,然后将其继续传递到下一层。

输出层

输出层提供人工神经网络对所有数据进行处理的最终结果。它可以包含单个或多个节点。例如,如果我们要解决一个二元(是/否)分类问题,则输出层包含一个输出节点,它将提供 1 或 0 的结果。但是,如果我们要解决一个多类分类问题,则输出层可能会由一个以上输出节点组成。

深度神经网络架构

深度神经网络又名深度学习网络,拥有多个隐藏层,包含数百万个链接在一起的人工神经元。名为权重的数字代表节点之间的连接。如果节点之间相互激励,则该权重为正值,如果节点之间相互压制,则该权重为负值。节点的权重值越高,对其他节点的影响力就越大。
从理论上讲,深度神经网络可将任何输入类型映射到任何输出类型。但与其他机器学习方法相比,它们也需要更多大量的训练。它们需要数百万个训练数据示例,而不像较简单的网络那样,可能只需数百或数千个训练数据示例。

神经网络有哪些类型?

可以按照数据从输入节点到输出节点的流动方式,对人工神经网络进行分类。以下是一些示例:

前馈神经网络

前馈神经网络以从输入节点到输出节点的单向方式处理数据。一层中的每个节点均与下一层中的每个节点连接。前馈网络使用反馈流程随着时间推移改进预测。

反向传播算法

人工神经网络使用校正反馈循环不断学习,以改进其预测分析。简而言之,您可以认为数据通过神经网络中的很多不同路径从输入节点流动到输出节点。只有一条路径是正确的,可将输入节点映射到正确的输出节点。为了找到这条路径,神经网络将使用反馈循环,其工作原理如下:

  1. 每个节点都会猜测该路径中的下一个节点。
  2. 它将检查猜测是否正确。节点将为引发更正确猜测的路径分配更高的权重值,而为引发不正确猜测的节点路径分配更低的权重值。
  3. 对于下一个数据点,节点将使用更高权重的路径进行新的预测,然后重复第 1 步。

卷积神经网络

卷积神经网络中的隐藏层执行特定的数学函数(如汇总或筛选),称为卷积。它们对于图像分类非常有用,因为它们可从图像中提取对图像识别和分类有用的相关特征。这种新形式更易于处理,而不会丢失对做出良好预测至关重要的特征。每个隐藏层提取和处理不同的图像特征,如边缘、颜色和深度。

如何训练神经网络?

神经网络训练是教授神经网络执行任务的过程。神经网络通过首先处理几大组标记或未标记数据来进行学习。通过使用这些示例,它们可以更准确地处理未知输入。

有监督学习

在有监督学习中,数据科学家为人工神经网络提供标记数据集,这些数据集提前提供正确答案。例如,面部识别领域内的某项深度学习网络训练首先处理数十万张人脸图像,使用各种与种族、国家/地区或情绪相关的术语描述每幅图像。
该神经网络将通过这些提前提供正确答案的数据集慢慢构建知识。在该网络完成训练后,即可开始对以前未处理过的新人脸图像进行关于种族或情绪的猜测。

什么是神经网络环境下的深度学习?

人工智能这一计算机科学领域,研究的是如何使机器具备执行需要人类智能的任务的能力。机器学习是一种人工智能技术,它将提供访问权限,使计算机能够访问非常大的数据集,并教授计算机如何通过这些数据进行学习。机器学习将寻找现有数据中的模式,然后将这些模式应用于新数据,以制定明智的决策。深度学习是机器学习的一个子集,它使用深度学习网络来处理数据。

机器学习与深度学习对比

传统的机器学习方法需要人类为机器学习软件提供输入,才能充分发挥作用。数据科学家人工确定此类软件必须分析的相关特征的集合。这会限制此类软件的能力,使创造和管理过程变得非常繁琐。
另一方面,在深度学习中,数据科学家只向软件提供原始数据。深度学习网络自行推导特征,并且更独立地学习。它可以分析非结构化数据集(如文本文档),确定优先考虑哪些数据属性,并能解决更复杂的问题。
例如,如果您正在训练某一机器学习软件正确识别宠物的图像,需要采取以下步骤:
  • 手动查找和标记数千张宠物图像,如猫、狗、马、仓鼠、鹦鹉等。
  • 告诉机器学习软件需要寻找哪些特征,使其能够使用排除法来识别图像。例如,它可能会计算腿的数量,然后检查眼睛形状、耳朵形状、尾巴、皮毛等。
  • 手动评估和更改标记的数据集,以提高软件的准确性。例如,如果您的训练集包含过多黑猫图片,则软件能够正确识别黑猫,而不能正确识别白猫。
  • 但在深度学习中,神经网络将处理所有图像,并自动判断他们需要首先分析腿的数量和面部形状,然后查看尾巴,最后正确识别图像中的动物。

AWS 上有哪些深度学习服务?

AWS Deep Learning 服务可以利用云计算的强大能力,使您能以较低的成本扩展您的深度学习神经网络,并优化它们的速度。您还可以使用诸如以下 AWS 服务全面管理特定的深度学习应用程序:

  • Amazon Rekognition 可为您的应用程序添加预训练或可自定义的计算机视觉特征。
  • Amazon Transcribe 可以自动识别和准确转录语音。
  • Amazon Lex 可以构建智能聊天机器人,它们能够理解意图、维护对话上下文,并跨多种语言自动执行简单任务。

可以通过 Amazon SageMaker 开始使用 AWS 上的深度学习神经网络,并快捷轻松地构建、训练和大规模部署模型。您还可以使用 AWS Deep Learning AMI 来构建自定义的深度学习环境和工作流。

请立即创建一个免费 AWS 账户以开始使用!

AWS 后续步骤

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
查看其他与产品相关的资源
了解有关深度学习服务的更多信息 
Sign up for a free account
注册免费 AWS 账户

注册免费 AWS 账户,然后开始探索 AWS 免费套餐。

注册 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
开始在控制台中构建

在 AWS 管理控制台中,使用神经网络开始构建。

登录

What is a neural network?

A neural network is a method in artificial intelligence that teaches computers to process data in a way that is inspired by the human brain. It is a type of machine learning process, called deep learning, that uses interconnected nodes or neurons in a layered structure that resembles the human brain. It creates an adaptive system that computers use to learn from their mistakes and improve continuously. Thus, artificial neural networks attempt to solve complicated problems, like summarizing documents or recognizing faces, with greater accuracy.

An Introduction to Deep Learning

Why are neural networks important?

Neural networks can help computers make intelligent decisions with limited human assistance. This is because they can learn and model the relationships between input and output data that are nonlinear and complex. For instance, they can do the following tasks.

Make generalizations and inferences

Neural networks can comprehend unstructured data and make general observations without explicit training. For instance, they can recognize that two different input sentences have a similar meaning:

  • Can you tell me how to make the payment?
  • How do I transfer money?

A neural network would know that both sentences mean the same thing. Or it would be able to broadly recognize that Baxter Road is a place, but Baxter Smith is a person’s name.

Reveal hidden relationships and patterns

Neural networks can analyze raw data more deeply and reveal new insights for which they might not have been trained. For example, consider a pattern recognition neural network that analyses consumer purchases. By comparing the buying patterns of numerous users, the neural network can suggest new items that might interest a specific consumer.

Create autonomous, self-learning systems

Neural networks can learn and improve over time based on user behavior. For example, consider a neural network that automatically corrects or suggests words by analyzing your typing behavior. Let us assume that the model was trained in the English language and can spell-check English words. However, if you frequently type non-English words, like danke, the neural network can automatically learn and correct these words too.

Learn and model highly volatile data

Some datasets, such as loan repayment amounts in a bank, can have large variations. Neural networks can model such data as well. For example, they can analyze financial transactions and flag some of them for fraud detection. They can also process complex data that holds the key to difficult biological problems like protein folding, DNA analysis, and more.

What are neural networks used for?

Neural networks have several use cases across many industries, such as the following:

  • Medical diagnosis by medical image classification
  • Targeted marketing by social network filtering and behavioral data analysis
  • Financial predictions by processing historical data of financial instruments
  • Electrical load and energy demand forecasting
  • Process and quality control
  • Chemical compound identification

We give four of the important applications of neural networks below.

Computer vision

Computer vision is the ability of computers to extract information and insights from images and videos. With neural networks, computers can distinguish and recognize images similar to humans. Computer vision has several applications, such as the following:

  • Visual recognition in self-driving cars so they can recognize road signs and other road users
  • Content moderation to automatically remove unsafe or inappropriate content from image and video archives
  • Facial recognition to identify faces and recognize attributes like open eyes, glasses, and facial hair
  • Image labeling to identify brand logos, clothing, safety gear, and other image details

Speech recognition

Neural networks can analyze human speech despite varying speech patterns, pitch, tone, language, and accent. Virtual assistants like Amazon Alexa and automatic transcription software use speech recognition to do tasks like these:

  • Assist call center agents and automatically classify calls
  • Convert clinical conversations into documentation in real time
  • Accurately subtitle videos and meeting recordings for wider content reach

Natural language processing

Natural language processing (NLP) is the ability to process natural, human-created text. Neural networks help computers gather insights and meaning from text data and documents. NLP has several use cases, including in these functions:

  • Automated virtual agents and chatbots
  • Automatic organization and classification of written data
  • Business intelligence analysis of long-form documents like emails and forms
  • Indexing of key phrases that indicate sentiment, like positive and negative comments on social media
  • Document summarization and article generation for a given topic

Recommendation engines

Neural networks can track user activity to develop personalized recommendations. They can also analyze all user behavior and discover new products or services that interest a specific user. For example, Curalate, a Philadelphia-based startup, helps brands convert social media posts into sales. Brands use Curalate’s intelligent product tagging (IPT) service to automate the collection and curation of user-generated social content. IPT uses neural networks to automatically find and recommend products relevant to the user’s social media activity. Consumers don't have to hunt through online catalogs to find a specific product from a social media image. Instead, they can use Curalate’s auto product tagging to purchase the product with ease.

How do neural networks work?

The human brain is the inspiration behind neural network architecture. Human brain cells, called neurons, form a complex, highly interconnected network and send electrical signals to each other to help humans process information. Similarly, an artificial neural network is made of artificial neurons that work together to solve a problem. Artificial neurons are software modules, called nodes, and artificial neural networks are software programs or algorithms that, at their core, use computing systems to solve mathematical calculations.

Simple neural network architecture

A basic neural network has interconnected artificial neurons in three layers:

Input Layer

Information from the outside world enters the artificial neural network from the input layer. Input nodes process the data, analyze or categorize it, and pass it on to the next layer.

Hidden Layer

Hidden layers take their input from the input layer or other hidden layers. Artificial neural networks can have a large number of hidden layers. Each hidden layer analyzes the output from the previous layer, processes it further, and passes it on to the next layer.

Output Layer

The output layer gives the final result of all the data processing by the artificial neural network. It can have single or multiple nodes. For instance, if we have a binary (yes/no) classification problem, the output layer will have one output node, which will give the result as 1 or 0. However, if we have a multi-class classification problem, the output layer might consist of more than one output node.

Deep neural network architecture

Deep neural networks, or deep learning networks, have several hidden layers with millions of artificial neurons linked together. A number, called weight, represents the connections between one node and another. The weight is a positive number if one node excites another, or negative if one node suppresses the other. Nodes with higher weight values have more influence on the other nodes.
Theoretically, deep neural networks can map any input type to any output type. However, they also need much more training as compared to other machine learning methods. They need millions of examples of training data rather than perhaps the hundreds or thousands that a simpler network might need.

What are the types of neural networks?

Artificial neural networks can be categorized by how the data flows from the input node to the output node. Below are some examples:

Feedforward neural networks

Feedforward neural networks process data in one direction, from the input node to the output node. Every node in one layer is connected to every node in the next layer. A feedforward network uses a feedback process to improve predictions over time.

Backpropagation algorithm

Artificial neural networks learn continuously by using corrective feedback loops to improve their predictive analytics. In simple terms, you can think of the data flowing from the input node to the output node through many different paths in the neural network. Only one path is the correct one that maps the input node to the correct output node. To find this path, the neural network uses a feedback loop, which works as follows:

  1. Each node makes a guess about the next node in the path.
  2. It checks if the guess was correct. Nodes assign higher weight values to paths that lead to more correct guesses and lower weight values to node paths that lead to incorrect guesses.
  3. For the next data point, the nodes make a new prediction using the higher weight paths and then repeat Step 1.

Convolutional neural networks

The hidden layers in convolutional neural networks perform specific mathematical functions, like summarizing or filtering, called convolutions. They are very useful for image classification because they can extract relevant features from images that are useful for image recognition and classification. The new form is easier to process without losing features that are critical for making a good prediction. Each hidden layer extracts and processes different image features, like edges, color, and depth.

How to train neural networks?

Neural network training is the process of teaching a neural network to perform a task. Neural networks learn by initially processing several large sets of labeled or unlabeled data. By using these examples, they can then process unknown inputs more accurately.

Supervised learning

In supervised learning, data scientists give artificial neural networks labeled datasets that provide the right answer in advance. For example, a deep learning network training in facial recognition initially processes hundreds of thousands of images of human faces, with various terms related to ethnic origin, country, or emotion describing each image.
The neural network slowly builds knowledge from these datasets, which provide the right answer in advance. After the network has been trained, it starts making guesses about the ethnic origin or emotion of a new image of a human face that it has never processed before.

What is deep learning in the context of neural networks?

Artificial intelligence is the field of computer science that researches methods of giving machines the ability to perform tasks that require human intelligence. Machine learning is an artificial intelligence technique that gives computers access to very large datasets and teaches them to learn from this data. Machine learning software finds patterns in existing data and applies those patterns to new data to make intelligent decisions. Deep learning is a subset of machine learning that uses deep learning networks to process data.

Machine learning vs. deep learning

Traditional machine learning methods require human input for the machine learning software to work sufficiently well. A data scientist manually determines the set of relevant features that the software must analyze. This limits the software’s ability, which makes it tedious to create and manage.
On the other hand, in deep learning, the data scientist gives only raw data to the software. The deep learning network derives the features by itself and learns more independently. It can analyze unstructured datasets like text documents, identify which data attributes to prioritize, and solve more complex problems.
For example, if you were training a machine learning software to identify an image of a pet correctly, you would need to take these steps:
  • Find and label thousands of pet images, like cats, dogs, horses, hamsters, parrots, and so on, manually.
  • Tell the machine learning software what features to look for so it can identify the image using elimination. For instance, it might count the number of legs, then check for eye shape, ear shape, tail, fur, and so on.
  • Manually assess and change the labeled datasets to improve the software’s accuracy. For example, if your training set has too many pictures of black cats, the software will correctly identify a black cat but not a white one.
  • In deep learning, however, the neural networks would process all the images and automatically determine that they need to analyze the number of legs and the face shape first, then look at the tails last to correctly identify the animal in the image.

What are deep learning services on AWS?

AWS Deep Learning services harness the power of cloud computing so that you can scale your deep learning neural networks at a lower cost and optimize them for speed. You can also use AWS services like these to fully manage specific deep learning applications:

  • Amazon Rekognition to add pre-trained or customizable computer vision features to your application.
  • Amazon Transcribe to automatically recognize and transcribe speech accurately.
  • Amazon Lex to build intelligent chatbots that understand intent, maintain conversational context, and automate simple tasks across many languages.

Get started with deep learning neural networks on AWS with Amazon SageMaker and quickly and easily build, train, and deploy models at scale. You can also use the AWS Deep Learning AMIs to build custom environments and workflows for deep learning.

Create a free AWS account to get started today!

AWS next steps

Standard Product Icons (Features) Squid Ink
Check out additional product-related resources
Learn more about deep learning services 
Sign up for a free account
Sign up for a free AWS account

Sign up for a free AWS acount and get started exploring the AWS Free Tier.

Sign up 
Standard Product Icons (Start Building) Squid Ink
Start building in the console

Get started building with neural networks in the AWS management console.

Sign in