CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 7 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile, suiteable for use in HVM instance types only. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. Please note that this is the default CentOS-7 image that we recommend everyone uses. It contains packages that are updated at points in time to include critical security updates. See more

Customer Reviews

55
Create Your Own Review

Doesn't work with user-data script!

  • By Jason Floyd
  • on 05/08/2018

These official CentOS images do not work with user-data scripts! just a simple script like below will fail:

#!/bin/bash
echo "asdf" > /tmp/foo.txt

Works extremely well

  • By Leif
  • on 05/04/2018

I can't really ask for anything else, this is an extremely basic CentOS with nothing superfluous added onto it so it gets my five stars.

Improving!

  • By Irving
  • on 04/18/2018

Glad to see the CentOS team publishing images more frequently as well as adopting better practices for cloud images!

One annoyance still remains that prevents me from recommending these images: the fact that the root EBS volume is not set to "delete on terminate" which is pretty standard for all other AMIs. Without this, my users leave tons of unused EBS volumes laying around which drives up my AWS bill

Excellent!

  • By Hunter F
  • on 02/26/2018

I'm using this to run Plesk Onyx on one of the new m5 EC2 instances (since the instance store with Plesk pre-installed only provides support for m4 or earlier). Everything is blazingly fast, even after weeks of uptime, and with reserved instance pricing I really feel like I'm getting a great value.

I would highly recommend this image for hosting any web application and for those seeking a highly stable, high performing, yet lightweight OS, capable of handling most anything a typical user would need.

Very useful

  • By rio197
  • on 01/24/2018

Good OS overall. Specifically for this product, clicking on the Wiki URL gave me a "page not found" message. But I'm not a first-time CentOS user, so it didn't bother me.

No new image is available to mitigate Meltdown and Spectre

  • By Roi
  • on 01/15/2018

Looking at the images available, I see no new image is available to mitigate Meltdown and Spectre. This is basic. This is a crucial update and customer are supposed to upgrade on their own

Instance limitations makes this image close to useless

  • By Max Stepanov
  • on 11/26/2017

This image is locked to just a number instance types. If you plan to change instance type in the future DO NOT USE THIS IMAGE!
AWS Support can't do nothing about it!

Bug report

  • By dennis
  • on 05/18/2017

Will the new version of centos7, Did you fix the bug "modify the system time then the system crash" ? Hope to be answered

Create a swap file!

  • By Searvo
  • on 05/13/2017

Please be aware this instance is pretty much useless with less than 1GB of ram unless you create a swap file. This process is really simple and all you need is a 2GB swap partition to get anything done. Currently running nano for all my purposes.

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram

  • By bdavis
  • on 04/20/2017

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram, tracked this down to the crashkernel=auto setting. Changing to pre-determined value seemed to allow kdump to start successfully.