Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

FreeBSD 10

Colin Percival | 10.4-RELEASE

Linux/Unix, FreeBSD 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

20 AWS reviews
  • 20
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

    kgibran

Using this for Redmine on t2.nano.

  • August 09, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wanted a micro/small instance which can host a low traffic Redmine instance. The Bitnami AMIs on GNU/Linux don't allow you to select t2 instances. So my next obvious choice was FreeBSD which has a recent version of Redmine in its repositories. I am delighted to see the CPU credits getting saved as the OS itself is not utilizing significant CPU. Next, I can jail Redmine on this and upgrade to the next version of Redmine(when it is released) without affecting the users! Pros: Uses UFS, not ZFS - Ideal for low end servers. Is lean, not too many applications installed using pkg. Suggested Improvements: "su -" works without password, instead use sudo/doas.


    Nostalg.io

Performance is incredible

  • July 03, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The performance on this AMI is incredible. My new FreeBSD server, which is half the size of my old Ubuntu server, is incredibly fast and efficient. This OS uses a lot less RAM. Everything was already configured, so I just had to run a few lines, install some packages, and voila--a Minecraft server that barely uses 250MB when in use!!


    David

Great job

  • June 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great job, But ZFS is preferred to instead of UFS. Any plan to enable ZFS filesystem in the future version?


    Chris

How to add IPs

  • June 04, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

1. Add additional private IPs to your instance in EC2 dashboard (optional, one for each Elastic IP)

2. Find out what gateway you're currently using (look at first line under gateway):
> netstat -rn

3. Edit: /etc/rc.conf
> vi /etc/rc.conf

comment-out this line:
ifconfig_DEFAULT="SYNCDHCP"

Add these lines, adjust as necessary (subnet seems to always be /20):
defaultrouter="172.31.48.1"
ifconfig_xn0="inet 172.31.xx.xx/20"
ifconfig_xn0_alias0="inet 172.31.xx.xx/20"

4. Shutdown instance
> shutdown -p now

5. Create new Elastic IP(s) in EC2 dashboard and point them to your private IP(s)

6. Start instance


    animal_lover

works as expected

  • March 20, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

take note to login as ec2-user. Also connecting EBS storage appears to be /dev/x*** or something like that.


    Bway Net

10.2 - Excellent, flawless

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very glad to see these images provided. Super quick to get a host up and running. No surprises, out of box config was great.


    KEG

Great job

  • September 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thanks to your hard work, we can all now enjoy FreeBSD on AWS. FreeBSD with its packet filter simply rocks on Amazon, this was a long time coming. And finally wait is over.


    Simeo Reig

fantastic

  • August 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thanks to Colin Percival we can have a freebsd instance in amazon, it works like a champ as a regular fisical machine


    MJM

Works great for my use!

  • August 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed an extra offsite DNS slave server so this seemed like a great candidate. Was easy to set up and I am setting up another DNS master now.


    Paulo Henrique R Pinheiro

Great option for a BSD host

  • August 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

A quick and easy way to have a server running FreeBSD.

If you want to have a FreeBSD server on the Internet, this is a great option. The deployment is fast, the version is the latest, and the installation of additional packages (via pkg) is very fast.

In a very short time I installed my favorite packages from CPAN and I run a Perl application in HTTPS, with a MongoDB database,. And an easy firewall configuration.

The only thing is that FreeBSD is not as visible in the list of available operating systems. It would be great if Amazon created a category for the BSD systems to let them in evidence.