Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3-0 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

114 AWS reviews

    Omar

RDS

  • September 12, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,
the tool is really excellent but I would have liked to have an installation so easy with RDS it would be very well


    BG

It just work NICE!

  • September 06, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

In step "Step 3: Make Changes to Your Website" is just "black screen". Only after "reboot" server from aws console shown. Someone reported it into reviews too. Otherwise everything is OK.
https://aws.amazon.com/getting-started/tutorials/launch-a-wordpress-website

BG
bg@bgstudio.online


    Jared Marin

Amazing!

  • May 05, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Entire process was easy to implement. If want a WordPress site using AWS, this is the route to take. WordPress powered by Bitnami saves a lot of time.


    Taylor M.

LetsEncrypt Didn't Work

  • March 21, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for an easy LAMP install that I could use with LetsEncrypt for certs. I went through the initial install and everything went great, it wasn't super straightforward on how to find my application password but a little googl'ing helped point me in the right direction. I got Wordpress running just fine with no problems but couldn't get LE to do the auto installer... instead I would have to manage certs manually. Decided to build my own LAMP stack where LE works great.


    Pete

Password doesn't work

  • March 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Followed Amazon's instructions on setting this up, twice. Each time the generated password (in system log) failed when trying to login.


    Steve Stanzel

Quick and Easy setup!

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wasn't sure if I was jumping down a rabbit hole but this was really straightforward. A simple way to both explore WordPress as well as LightSail and AWS in general.


    Tim

It worked great on my first try!

  • November 26, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Having installed WordPress before on a different server (non-AWS), I wasn't exactly looking forward to going through all the hassle of setting it up with its dependencies like SQL. I was pleasantly surprised with the Bitnami experience. The rough stuff was already completed. All I had to do was get my user password -- which is well-documented on how to do that -- and then login to my already operational WordPress. I didn't have to mess around with a command line interface for any of this to work.


    Eventro

No problems at all

  • November 22, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We had no issues with passwords etc. and installed easily. Very good AMI. We also installed a mail server on top without any issue. Not sure why some people are having problems with this, as its a pretty good image.

Bitnami products are very solid.


    Simon

easy to use - if you RTFM

  • October 26, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a great way to get your Wordpress up and running quickly.
Follow the instructions to get your initial password, not really too difficult.
If you want to build one or many sites from a single template (website) then I suggest you use Updraft Pro plugin to backup your old site and then restore it on AWS. Don't forget, the restore will change the user information from your old site. So you will get logged out after the migration. I have tried many different ways to do this but my comments above seems to be the safest and easiest way to do this. You will need to chmod on various folders to do new installs but thats easy and it also means your site is more secure. For more security I use Wordfence.
This is not a sales pitch just hopefully some useful information.


    Barcelonino

Password?

  • September 17, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything was OK until I had to find the password.. theorically in the system log, but it wasnt there! Something basic. Ok, I was running this ami for selftrainign purposes, not really a problem, but if someones wants to use it professionally they will claim for a solution.