Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

CentOS.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

68 AWS reviews

External reviews

252 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ashwin G.

An operating system designed for stability and reliability

  • July 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the organisations still heavily rely on CentOS to host business critical applications. CentOS has been a time trusted operating system from RedHat until they decided that the operating system will be a rolling release.
What do you dislike?
The major expectation from an operating system for running production workloads is that the underlying kernel and platform must be highly secure, stable, and scalable. However, with the recent developments, users are pushed to look for better alternatives for better security rollout cadence and long term support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host our mission critical customer facing portals and operations scheduling applications on CentOS. Most of the times, we have encountered zero downtimes when applying patches, upgrades and updating native libraries. We have derives numerous benefits over the years.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For organisations still considering CentOS, I would recommend using CentOS 7, where you get community support for the next 5 years at the most. You get ample time to explore other alternatives in this timeframe.


    David W.

CentOS - the enterprise Linux for everybody

  • July 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a community-based enterprise version of Linux, which is essentially Red Hat Enterprise Linux but without Red Hat's proprietary items. It's functionally compatible with RHEL. It gives you enterprise Linux with no cost.
What do you dislike?
CentOS always lagged behind RHEL because, of course, it needed RHEL to be released first.

However, it's been discontinued by IBM since Dec 2020, so you are now better served by following RockyLinux or AlmaLinux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS provides you the security and quality of Red Hat's enterprise-grade Linux. This includes the additional security, hardening, and functionality that the most demanding customers require, but yet with the pricetag of any other free Linux.


    Sun K.

Works well - but CentOS Stream is Replacing CentOS

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really liked how easy CentOS was to install and use. It has a built in graphical interface, it is almost as easy to use as Windows. It is easy to install other packages, it is very compatible (it runs RedHat packages). You can open up terminal windows, work directly from command line, and it keeps track of updates that you can apply whenever you would like.
What do you dislike?
CentOS is a great package but it has been discontinued as of version 8 and will be replaced with CentOS Stream. This means that rather than having a stable build, the operating system will be updated on a regular basis. This is good in some ways - you will have the latest updates and security patches, but bad in other ways - if you have customized your setup new releases could be incompatible, and could also remove or impact your customizations. Also, if you deploy more than one system at a time, it is quite likely that they will end up running different versions of CentOS - and not on a time schedule that you control, but randomly, which could cause all sorts of havoc in heavily customized systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it to run accounting systems, web servers. Benefits: Stable operating system, very high reliability, very few issues. Low cost, enterprise grade operating system, it's a win win all around.


    Phil Ayres

Does not work

  • July 08, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I tried this several times and was hit by a bug that prevents cloud-init from completing, especially after a reboot. This appears to be a Redhat bug: Bugzilla 1897616 that has been sitting around for ages.

In the end I tried the identically named AMI released by AWS (rather than CentOS) at https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/prodview-foff247vr2zfw (if the link doesn't work, search the marketplace with "CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM" and pick the Amazon Web Services item)

2 people found this helpful

    Computer Software

Flexibility,Security,Usability

  • July 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and to administrate , Security by default is applied.
What do you dislike?
Not all packages are not easy to be installed and alot of dependencies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Administration of our infrastructure based on Centos , Light wieght Os that it's not taking too much from resourses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lite weight os that will not take too much resources.

1 person found this helpful

    Financial Services

Great for development

  • June 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and support from the community.
What do you dislike?
Red Hat policy change about development.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network services at datacenter
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very stable and pretty good for development

2 people found this helpful

    Information Technology and Services

Light and easily built

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Quick, Easy, lightweight
- can easily integrate with launching EC2 instances
What do you dislike?
1. sometimes distribution of other softwares are not available
2. Do expect a better turnaround/ response time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Launching infra EC2 instances in cloud

1 person found this helpful

    Srinatha P.

CentOS - A perfect OS for Servers

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Security features, ease of use, updated software versions
What do you dislike?
Not enough documentation, mostly need to depend on StackOverflow or server fault.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Webservers installation has been more straightforward compared to ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its a little bit different if you have used ubuntu prior, but its worth the effort

1 person found this helpful

    User in Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Linux based Operating System that works very well with very few issues

  • May 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You really can't be the cost. It's free. If you know Linux, then this free Operating System will work perfectly as a fully functional server.
What do you dislike?
You have to know Linux to make it work for you effectively. There is a learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can produce fully functional production servers with just about any application installed on them. Currently, we mainly are using SQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The install is pretty straight forward. If you are learning Linux, then you will quickly get to the operating system and start the learning process


    shoeb a.

Secured Flavour of Linux OS by RED HAT

  • May 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The main thing of this version of LInux is it is an open source which can be afford by small, medium and larger enterprises. Also the reason is CentOS is having less package updates compared to UBUNTU and others.It is forked from Red Hat enterprise Linux.We have to use the Yum command to download and install RPM packages from central repository. CentOS is highly customizable and it has been secure of all other flavours. It has taken a very good lead over Ubuntu. There are many premium features associated with it for the scalability at the higher organizational levels. We are using CentOS version in many of our servers and also in virtual servers as well. This can be integrated with multiple other softwares easily.
What do you dislike?
This would be a bit difficult for the beginners to work on it. Compare to other OS versions CentOS is having lesser tutorials and also online communities or books. This doesnt have much support in terms of cloud platforms. As there are less updates being pushed in CentOS, if any new applications needs to install we'll face a problem with their version not supporting. Need to have only Yum manager otherwise no other flavours will work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the problems of deploying this CentOS into multiple servers. As we have irrespective of physical or virtual servers by deploying at once using kickstart or other servers. Security of our environment with the help of OS. As less updates are being pushed we don't need to request app owners for the downtime in every few days. If there is any buggy update we can roll back to the previous version easily. Support from the CPANEL is also available in CentOS. Though it is a bit tough to learn and work on it for beginners CPANEL support is somewhat relief and helpful for them. We can download DEB packages easily from apt-get package manager. There won't be any slowness while using applications in this OS and also no hidden applications will be running in the background without our approval to consume most of our bandwidth. Deployment time is really less compared to others for this. Though we took help of the vendor for deployment but most of the part we did on our own.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please consider this one over UBUNTU because of packages to be installed and also frequent updates issues. Also this resolves security and compatability issues.