Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 1901_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

61 AWS reviews

    Viktor U.

"DeleteOnTermination": false for root volume.

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,

could you kindly explain why you enable "DeleteOnTermination": false by-defeault for you amis? Why you thinks that this is a good idia?

TIA.


    kim jong teak

Great CentOS!

  • January 22, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thank you so much for providing such a good OS.
We will continue to use it in the future.
I love you.


    RocketWeb

Great for cPanel DNSONLY

  • October 22, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've launched an instance and installed cPanel DNSOLY version with great success. I condigured a t3.nano instance and had had it working seamlessly for about one week.


    Joshua Quek

Top-of-the-line Linux Distro

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Probably the most stable distro for linux, have been using it for multiple deployments and it has always been stable and predictable. Unlike Ubuntu and Debian, I havent encountered any dependency hell issues with this using yum. This is really the best linux server OS to use after RHEL.


    Jonas Steinberg

The Gold Standard of Open Source

  • June 29, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I really cannot thank the CentOS team enough. As an admin now with about 4 years experience, I have used CentOS for every job I've had as either an infrastructure foundation or as a personal dev box/VM and it is always stable. The AWS cloud offering is no different. I really, really appreciate the work they do and would recommend, without hesitating, that any enterprise small or massive use CentOS for all its OS needs.


    JBNobrega

Highly recommended.

  • June 03, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

My thanks to the CentOS team for keeping images up to date.
It has all the minimum necessary to customize an operating system.


    Jason Floyd

Doesn't work with user-data script!

  • May 08, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

These official CentOS images do not work with user-data scripts! just a simple script like below will fail:

#!/bin/bash
echo "asdf" > /tmp/foo.txt


    Leif

Works extremely well

  • May 04, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I can't really ask for anything else, this is an extremely basic CentOS with nothing superfluous added onto it so it gets my five stars.


    Irving

Improving!

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Glad to see the CentOS team publishing images more frequently as well as adopting better practices for cloud images!

One annoyance still remains that prevents me from recommending these images: the fact that the root EBS volume is not set to "delete on terminate" which is pretty standard for all other AMIs. Without this, my users leave tons of unused EBS volumes laying around which drives up my AWS bill


    Hunter F

Excellent!

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm using this to run Plesk Onyx on one of the new m5 EC2 instances (since the instance store with Plesk pre-installed only provides support for m4 or earlier). Everything is blazingly fast, even after weeks of uptime, and with reserved instance pricing I really feel like I'm getting a great value.

I would highly recommend this image for hosting any web application and for those seeking a highly stable, high performing, yet lightweight OS, capable of handling most anything a typical user would need.