Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

67 AWS reviews

External reviews

243 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Clarissa N.

Great!

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love making virtual machines of CentOS and just being creative with each. It is a great learning platform for anyone who wants to learn! If you are in IT and going for certifications like Linux+, definitely recommend CentOS. I love how in Linux, generally it is very easy to get the hang of it. With some code, it is difficult to remember some syntax while on CentOS is to like you are talking in plain English.
What do you dislike?
Nothing! It is great, honestly. You can use it for anything you want. I would need more time on CentOS to really think of something I dislike about it, but honestly, it is great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now, I am learning Linux, and I build a CentOS virtual machine, so I am just doing the basics like going into files, renaming files, adding files, and learning other commands, and just applying what I know to understand.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For those who are learning, please let others in the community know where they can go to for help or show them how to navigate CentOS. If you are considering CentOS, definitely try putting it on a virtual machine and mess around with it. It is easy to get the hang of if you put your mind to it.


    Saqib M.

My organization's favorite Linux OS

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an opensource Linux operating system. However, it is highly stable and reliable despite being an opensource OS. if you need to spin up a server with Linux that should be free, stable, highly reliable, and is based on RedHat, go with CentOS. In my organization, we use either Ubuntu or CentOS. However, most of our Linux servers are CentOS as they are better in terms of manageability, control, and security. CentOS are shipped with SELinux which makes the security of the services hosted on your linux box more secure. Although the update releases are very infrequent, the OS and upgrages are very stable. I personally never had any issue with any upgrade that was made to CentOS boxes. There was no instance where we had to roll back the uograde due to some failures or downtime. CentOS is supported by the RedHat community and is compatible with all the enterprise/business related appication that your organization may need a linux box for.
What do you dislike?
Low documentation and small development community is one the downsides of CentOS. Updates and patches come out once in a while. Not enough Knowledge Base articles are found on the internet either. The only support you could provide to youe CentOS is by yourself by looking up articles on internet. There is no customer support for the CentOS unlike RedHat. This is fine if you want to save licenses cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS operating system for our Linux needs in my organization. We host different kinds of services, from webservers to kubernetes clusters, on the CentOS servers. CentOS saves us the licensing cost. If my organization had to go with RedHat, we would have paid a fortune for licenses. CentOS comes with all the features like RedHat but at the cost of infrequent patches and updates.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a Free and strong Linux operating system and will meet your requirements most of the times without paying for any license. If you're fine with infrequent updates and patches for linux and want to save money by not paying for licenses, CentOS may be a good choice for you.


    Suresh k.

The CentOS

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has good security features and a lot of packages are available for use.
What do you dislike?
It take usually more space than other linux version and less user friendly as compare to other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for creating our hosting servers.


    Sumit K.

CentOS: stable, reliable, and secure Linux distribution

  • April 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source and that's the best thing about it. It's also brother of RedHat if you don't wanna spent money on RedHat license then go for Centos.
What do you dislike?
Default GUI is not very good but you can install other GUI's.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Centos for my personal use and i configured and installed all the NoSql databases and also created CDH cluster using five centos servers.


    Arvind S.

First step to learn redhat

  • April 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Similar to RedHat without any fee, easy to install and use.
What do you dislike?
Repository doesn't contain all the softwares
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Learning the redhat and testing the new application in Dev environment


    Jose C.

The free software of moment

  • April 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love this software because it Is the base plataform of all the software that i use anda above allí it Is friendly with the servers that i use, taking inti account that ir Is free,it Is robusto and solid
What do you dislike?
I do not like that it has updates that área not controlled since something The last deliverables of the versións áre not tested and there may be inconssistencies in their implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to have control of my software s. And specially of the plataforma of either database of internal anda External , applications of my company , saving the cost of renting outsourced services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend it since for the entire technomogical platform it Is indispensable AND necesary , every enginner should try this software.


    Игорь .

Great distro with the promising future!

  • March 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability, good compatibility with different software and hardware, good support of Virtualization & Different VMs (VMware ESXi, Citrix Xen Server, Microsoft Hyper-V etc.), huge repository, compatibility with RHEL & Fedora packages & repositories, free license. The main positive sides of this distro are its scalability, free of charge, compatibility with the whole family of RPM-like distributions (RHEL, Fedora, Mageia, SUSE, OpenSUSE and its derivations).
What do you dislike?
Moving to the rolling release model by RedHat decision: https://lists.centos.org/pipermail/centos-announce/2020-December/048208.html
Complicated migrations between major releases (e.g. some issues might appear while migrating or updating the distribution from version 7.x to 8.x, or 8 to 8.3).
Unexpected early end of support for CentOS 8.3
Difficulties with the usage of Microsoft technologies ASP, ASP.NET, Access, etc. If your project contains, for example, ASP.NET scripts, then certain problems may arise in the operation of the system on CentOS. Although this problem can be solved by fine-tuning and installing packages of additional, and often proprietary, software, this method is undesirable when running servers with increased stability requirements.
Another minor problem is the rather low update rate with help of YUM.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS Linux is indeed a very stable & reliable system for server & workstations usage - it's free and despite that, has good scalability, perfect stability & low consumption of the hardware-resources. With the help of CentOS, we have successively deployed several testing & reporting platforms, such as ManageEngine ServiceDeskPlus and OTRS for internal usage between our colleagues & virtualized these solutions with the help of VMware ESXI & Citrix Xen Server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This distro is tailor-made for busyness projects & large-scale applications, it is worth trying and create your own opinion and your own unique way of its usage.

1 person found this helpful

    Computer Software

Lightly system and easy to use

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system offer all you need to work and with his big community you can get help anywhere to grow up you business
What do you dislike?
He is low in a lite hardware to work with good you need a good hardware
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating a web server


    Media Production

Secure and Reliable OS

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is robust and secured. It is working well as the backbone of Nutanix main cluster. It is installed on all the central VMs of all nutanix nodes which are responsible of handling the cluster.
What do you dislike?
Need to have a good knowledge to use commands for a user who is more use to with the Windows OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is installed on the central VMs on all the cluster nodes of cluster. Handling all the jobs and process of the cluster. The OS is robust and reliable that it can be fixed, if there is any issue happened, with very little efforts and time spent.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

A stable and free Linux for enterprise level use.

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and package management system, the way to manage services.
What do you dislike?
Not too much. No fancy UI and centos 7 change a lot from centos 6.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centos serves as a primary server OS for most of my services. It is easy to configure and maintain.