Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

CentOS.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

69 AWS reviews

External reviews

263 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohammad E.

CentOS: A fast Linux Operating System

  • October 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the open-source Linux operating systems. It is so simple to install and configure. I have installed it on VMware Workstation 15 player and connected through Putty. It runs very fast. Its interface is also good. connectivity is very much stable.
What do you dislike?
Its desktop hangs sometimes. If you will not open the host for sometimes it will lock and take time to get the password window. Sometime slowness in login.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have created the Oracle database through it. We monitor and resolve the database issue with the help of CentOS connected via Putty. We perform different activities like patching, Dataguard, taking backup, etc., using it. So simple to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very simple in installation.
Open source.


    MD E.

An open source OS to create the Linux environment

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This tool is very simple to install. It's interface is so amazing. Quite easy login and user friendly. Connectivity with putty is also stable and chances of changing the dynamic IP is little less as compared to others.
What do you dislike?
Some times it is bit slow in login and its terminal window is also very slow. But when we connect it with putty it work fine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have integrated the ORACLE Database through it. We have done so many activities like creating of database, backups, Dataguard etc with the help of it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vesy easy to configure and meet all your requirements.


    Youssef K.

My favorite alternative to Redhat Enterprise

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is open-source, very light, and has an easy-to-use package manager that simplifies adding/removing software.
What do you dislike?
CentOS looks a bit less modern compared to Ubuntu and other Linux distributions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is quickly hosting a website on a LAMP stack. In minutes you can set up CentOS and install all the necessary packages to have a website up and running.


    Program Development

you want stable service use centos

  • October 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
not release every month like another version of Linux like ubuntu. and very stable distro
What do you dislike?
i love everything on Centos only sometimes firewall harder to configure
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i have 2 web servers on it and those are not rebooted about 2 years
Recommendations to others considering the product:
sure i will


    cloud-init update

Update of AMI (cloud-init version 19.4)

  • September 22, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Any plans on releasing new AMI with latest Centos release? Especially interested in cloud-init update, as current cloud-init version doesn't support IMDSv2.

3 people found this helpful

    Accounting

Amazing!

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have to say what I enjoy the most working with this product has got to be just the way that it has an overall easiness of operation for anybody who is trying to use it.
What do you dislike?
For me the dislikes would be very minimal,if anything at all I could say maybe that the speed could increase if I was really going to nitpick.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So for our company the problems that this solves for us are honestly so amazing. When we switched over to start using this everything just worked so much better!


    Computer Networking

CentOS 7 provides a very stable development environment

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that they backport all relevant security patches into long-term versions of most packages
What do you dislike?
I don't like the fact that the user experience leaves a lot to be desired
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving appliance problems, ie, building repeatable, packageable solutions using CentOS that are quick & easy to deploy. The benefits realized include the fact that I can quickly spin up CentOS solutions for my products in a new environment quickly and easily without having to tweak things much if any.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering CentOS for an "appliance" or development system, you are doing very well. It will not let you down.


    ALTHAF A.

Lightweight Linux based distro for office works!!

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a free operating system, it is very easy to use and has a simple UI. We can easily install many free office softwares and also supports browsers like chrome firefox etc. We can manage user access very easily and also it does not have any frequent annoying updates.
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike anything but I have experienced some difficulties while installing some drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a very reliable Operating System. I dont have to take premium subscriptions and paid plans for using my essential office applications as free and opensource alternatives are available on CentOS.It has a good community support also.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOs has proved to be a very useful OS for managing my business needs as well as for programming. Our System does not require much processing capabilities for running. Since it is a opensource operating system it is free from viruse attacks and malware threats. It also has a good command line interface. Programmers can Code,run and execute their programms very easily


    Shivam S.

Stable OS in comparison with multiple flavours of linux

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is very secure and stable,As it belongs to OS family Red Hat Enterprises Linux due to which we got lots of security updates in very short period of time and it becomes a great choice for all the users.
What do you dislike?
It is more like server than desktop oriented as the server system ages it doesn't get many new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Packages installation with the centos are very promising and secure in order to get updates from the system.


    GOURI S.

CentOs Operating system for Servers

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about CentOs is that it is very easy to use, easy to code and very easy to understand. I liked the nohup part of the OS, where i can easily run the process in the background.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about CentOs is that in putty, it quickly timed out, and my connection gets lost. Once the root access is gone, then it is very tough to recover.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used multiple CentOS servers for creating the python Flask application and hosted the application on the public IP of the server.