Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 7 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile, suitable for use in HVM instance types only. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. Please note that this is the default CentOS-7 image that... See more

Customer Reviews

61
Create Your Own Review

This is NOT VERSION 7 it is version 6.4!!!

  • By W. Flame
  • on 02/02/2016

Provisioned this AMIS which is advertised as being version 7.
After provisioning, it turns out it is version 6.4.

Provisioned a second one to make sure I didn't make a mistake.

See below:

>cat centos-release
CentOS release 6.4 (Final)


cfn-init is not working!

  • By Amazon Customer
  • on 01/13/2016

I installed this Centos 7 AMI and the cfn-init script is failing.

Here is the errors from /var/log/cloud-init.log

+ /opt/aws/bin/cfn-init -v --stack q1 --resource WebServerInstanceA --configsets All --region us-west-2

/var/lib/cloud/instance/scripts/part-001: line 4: /opt/aws/bin/cfn-init: No such file or directory

When I check the /opt and find the cfg-init file, none was found. When doing ls on the /opt directory, no directory or files?

[root@ip-10-8-8-32 opt]# pwd
/opt
[root@ip-10-8-8-32 opt]# ls -al
total 4
drwxr-xr-x. 2 root root 6 Jun 10 2014 .
dr-xr-xr-x. 17 root root 4096 Oct 7 12:19 ..


Is this a bug? my AMI use is ami-d440a6e7


security groups

  • By Krish
  • on 12/23/2015

When trying to launch an AMI from the marketplace, there is no way to associate more than one security group.


Well version

  • By ivy.fan
  • on 11/15/2015

trying for the poc enivorment and it is a better version for me.
but i am not sure some billing question will could release on the product pages.


Works great after a little setup

  • By DELIVER Plus
  • on 10/22/2015

We were looking for a bare bones install to play with CentOS 7 before deploying in a production environment and this image is perfect for that.

The AWS instructions say to connect as root but the image forced us to connect as centos. Once we were in, we were able to use sudo to set a strong password for the root user and su to root. We realize that logging in as root in a production environment is a bad thing but for testing we expect full root access. Glad this image gave us that ability...hope it doesn't get taken away.


At least It's better than their CentOS 6 AMIs...

  • By Thomas Jones
  • on 10/21/2015

To be honest, the AMIs from CentOS.Org are generally disappointing. While they're great starting points for creating more useful AMIs, they're not otherwise well-suited for generic use.

While it's nice that they're finally releasing AMIs with cloud-init, it's a bit disappointing that the AWS cli tools aren't included. It's really not that hard to export the SRPMs from an Amazon Linux instance and build them for other instance types. So, really not sure why CentOS doesn't include them. It's literally five minutes worth of work (if'you've scripted the process out). That they don't even include the awscli package from either pypi or from S3 is even more disappointing - as there's next to zero work to install that package.

Why is this a gripe-point for me? No AWS CLI tools greatly limits what you can do with your AMI: there's little point attaching an instance role if you've got no tools to make use of that role; if you want to make use of the HVM optimized drivers, no AWS RPMs means you're kinda boned, too.


nice tool

  • By obamacs
  • on 10/08/2015

I am new user,I am studying how tio use this ,what i can say is that the service of AWS is excellent

Obama cs


Flawless Performace

  • By The MistConjurer
  • on 09/28/2015

CentOS 7 flows like a calm, gentle and crystal-clear stream on a star-filled cloudless night.

Keep in mind though that SELinux is enabled by default. Depending on your need, you may need to either disable it or set it to permissive.

However, this is NOT recommended. Learn how to use SELinux properly with its Mandatory Access Control; it is a life-saver.

Three hearty cheers to the CentOS (upstream and downstream) and AWS team.

Hip, Hooray! Hip, Hooray!! Hip, Hooray!!!


Can't launch via API

  • By Vasili Syrakis
  • on 09/03/2015

I would rate 5 stars if it could be used to launch EC2 instances via the API... Apparently I need to accept terms and subscribe (which I've already done).


almost flawless

  • By marco
  • on 08/26/2015

/etc/cloud/cloud.cfg should come with set_hostname and update_hostname disabled by default, or configured in such a way that they don't override the hostname settings done in the OS.
I used all the well-known ways, but the cloud script would always override them and use the ip-<IP> name instead.
This caused some unnecessary problems. Other than that, all OK.
Thanks for providing an AWS-optimized CentOS 7 image.