Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

63 AWS reviews

External reviews

195 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Parth A.

One of the best Linux Distros

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using CentOS for almost 3 years now and I like the no-GUI version of it because of its ease of use and very low compute power consumption.
What do you dislike?
I don't like their GUI version. The only reason behind this is that it works very slow and consumes lot of compute power.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used CentOS to automate different kinds of network devices and also for testing of different network designs. I also use it for backing up my network devices with the help of cron function.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are new to Linux and want to learn quickly and easily, I would highly recommend using CentOS because it is very easy to use and the community is really helpful as well. And it is free to use as well.


    mohammed w.

Centos the best OS for software developers

  • July 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In my point of view the most helpful thing in CentOS is, It reduced risk of crashes and errors. It only runs stable versions of software packages. You can easily leave a server for running 5 years. And also the best thing it is free and open source.
What do you dislike?
The least helpful about centOS is it tends to be less feature-rich than it peers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using centOS for the last 1 month. It is best for server side.


    Judah V.

Free Complete Linux Server Option For Developers

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For CentOS thousends of functions and tools for safety, performance and control it is a perfect free option for Red Hat Enterprise Linux. The RHE Server do have a little extra tools in comparison with CentOS Server, still is a well-known and recommended tool if you need an free option of a Linux Server with stability, fast bug-correction, and good long-term-support versions.
What do you dislike?
Red Hat-based systems are not our company type, the package management is not as fast as it could be. For a Server CentOS does have a good stability of versions, still, CentOS could be a little easier to mannipulate and administrate, would call a little more public.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At my Company, CentOS is our default Linux Server and security firewall system. We organize all our network using CentOS native applications for network managing and port forwarding systems. Following and reading attack attempt logs easily for more safety and control. Helps our jobs every day.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need an free, open-source, safe, Long-Term-Support, good performance quality server, CentOS is your buddy, it is a perfect option for almost every server type.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Great Linux system, faster and with great support

  • June 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is faster and compatible with RedHat binaries. It has 10 years garanteed support per main version and very simple to update. It is a fast and simple SERVER operating system.
What do you dislike?
I do not have anything bad to say about CentOS. May be the logo?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is designed for mission critical applications. It is a really fine, fast and reliable operating system.


    Information Technology and Services

Most secure and stable OSes straits from box.

  • June 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and quick deployment,Versions life cycle,cent OS provides a rock-solid basis for applications that rely on maximum up time,Good package management.
What do you dislike?
Increase speed of getting latest version of base package,documentation is not comprehensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast security patching,good package management,quick and easy installation process with sensible and secure default.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Cent OS provides a free platform for hosting all necessary network services such as file sharing, printer sharing, DHCP ,DNS etc.


    Information Services

CentOS

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free OS and very cool infra and good to use.
What do you dislike?
Application support and ease to install apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OS license and ease to use.


    Information Technology and Services

Cent OS is excellent!

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to customize your environment and the stability of a solid, long lasting, trustworthy and dependable Operating System.
What do you dislike?
I dislike nothing, it's easy to work with and has a great community of users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides a solid test environment and is consistently relied upon without the fear of downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you enjoy a trustworthy and dependable Operating System look no further!


    Evan B.

The best alternative to Red Hat Enterprise Linux - RHEL

  • May 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are three points that makes CentOS a great operative system.
The packages system works really good, like APT in Debian systems, RPM and YUM can deal with all packages and dependencies in very easy way.
The stability of the full system is awesome. In more than 5 years never get's hang.
The updates program in more than enough, There are critical and non-critical updates every week.
What do you dislike?
The effort that needs to become up and ready can be high, but when it's ready, the maintenance needed is minimum
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use in our company to run virtual machines of other operative systems, as native host.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a full-featured operative system. Based in Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), it's the best alternative to the expensive RHEL.


    Entertainment

Free open source version of RedHat

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable linux distribution and has a good community to support it. Since it is the community edition of RedHat, RedHat documentation also applies to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
sometimes due to this is lacks same newer versions of packages. There are solutions for this but sometimes it is not as easy as installing a package with yum.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The stability of CentOS allows us to provide stable servers to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, it is free so no additional cost to try it out.


    Muhammad Arsalan N.

CentOS Review

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable and reliable.
Long release and support cycle.
Free and Open Source.
Huge community support always willing to help.
Easy to install 3rd party softwares.
What do you dislike?
Desktop platform is average, best suited for server side deployment.
Nothing else really ......
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have around 100+ servers running on CentOS. From Web server to DB Server, monitoring tools like Zabbix and configuration management services like Ansible everything is on CentOs hosts. CentOs is a very reliable OS for our requirements and with no financial impact as its free. Open community is great and I always found a solution when ever I found myself in some dier situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a goto server platform with great community support.