Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 1901_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

61 AWS reviews

    Ofir Manor

Works without issues

  • May 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Good old CentOS....
Too bad it doesn't come with CentOS 7.1, but a simple updates solves this.
Other than this, worked well, including automatically formatting the built-in SSD with XFS and mounting it


    Tim Gerk

Not the same as CentOS 7 Minimal distro, Not updated.

  • May 18, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I feel misled. Systemd and firewalld are not installed or enabled on this image. Whether or not I like these changes from earlier major CentOS versions, I did not expect the AMI to diverge from the canonical minimal distribution.

Despite the title, the AMI is not up-to-date when started. You will still need to yum update and reboot first thing.


    Delta P.D Media

Ready to fly

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

this server is perfect, i had it up and running with everything i need in less then 20 minutes!


    GoodMirek

Good stable system working out of the box

  • April 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is Centos. It works and it is free. Repos are continuously updated by one of the biggest Linux communities. Memory footprint of a bare new machine created from this Centos7 64bit image is more than two times bigger compared to a bare new machine created from Amazon Linux 64bit image. It is 180MB versus 80MB.


    Daniel

Notification

  • April 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You cannot install cPanel & WHM on a CentOS 7 server.( up to date)
( In general very smooth basic centos installation )


    Neil

Latest image no issue

  • March 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Official CentOs 7 image. may need to reinstall remi rpm though.
Oh, and do watch that you login using centos.

Thanks


    Scott Goodwin

Solid and Free -- what more do you need?

  • March 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Love Centos for its rock-solid reliability and its dedicated community. Free usage for Centos itself, and enterprise reliability. A+ all the way.


    Matthew Dresden

Pretty much a base os install as expected with some cloud extras

  • February 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its the base Centos install as you would expect with the typical cloud.cfg.

If you want to change the hostname for example you would need to comment out some lines in that file. I haven't yet explored the potential usefulness of these cloud files that come with Centos or Debian for example, but I expect they are there for a reason.

I am quite glad Centos finally has an official AMI out now though :)


    xudong huang

t2.micro with CentOS7

  • February 12, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use this instance in Tokyo node. It provides appreciative network speed as I am locating at China.
It's enough to use as a development server.


    Patrick Sculley

Fastest CentOS Rollout

  • February 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We needed to roll out a new hardened web server. This was the fastest install, setup and rollout (not to mention the most flexible) I have ever been able to do.

That's why I love AWS!

Patrick