Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

63 AWS reviews

External reviews

195 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Hosting Nosql db in cluster to support our application was easy.

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use and providing the vm on demand and faster. I have recently worked on project where I needed cluster of nodes to host our nosql db. Providing and editing the setting to meet our need was very easy.
What do you dislike?
Editing the configuration little tricky sometimes as same can be done multiple ways. Apart of that nothing much challenges to host our application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
VM for our cluster to host our applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, it helps to move faster to add new node in cluster.


    Security and Investigations

CentOS: The Best Free Linux Solution for Servers

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a repackaging of the open source portion of RedHat Enterprise Linux. It is compatible with almost every software package released for RHEL. It's also community-supported, meaning that patches are released in a timely manner. Did I also mention that it's free?
What do you dislike?
If it breaks, you get to keep the pieces. Since there is no vendor, there is no official support for the product except from 3rd parties. However, the CentOS user community is very large and I've seen few problems that couldn't be solved by a seasoned Linux admin and/or Google searches.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Almost all of our production infrastructure runs on CentOS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need support (or a wringable neck when something breaks) consider Red Hat Enterprise Linux. Remember that you're paying for a product that you could essentially get for free. However, by buying RHEL, you support continued development of the OS itself. It's your choice.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and just works

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-Wide variety of images that enable our software to run on a variety of vendors.
-Very consistent and manageable
-Predictable base to build our apps on
What do you dislike?
Changed from Redhat to Centos. No complaints
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Platform that our software is distributed on


    Retail

Powerful for personal use, even better for business

  • February 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of holdover power from RHEL, with none of the cost and even better community-driven support. Enterprise-ready with lots of features and guides.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes difficult to administer for GUI-minded people
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS powers thousands of our servers with purposes ranging from HTTP servers to PXE endpoints to CDN.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make the switch. It will save you money both in your support contract, as well as the implementation costs. You will almost always be able to find a community forum or technical expert to assist with any problems you encounter, and at a fraction of the cost compared to the RHEL and Canonical contracts.


    Alex E.

CentOS is an optimal server OS

  • February 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It supports all new developments, repositories is up to date all the time!
What do you dislike?
Commonly I have no anything to say about what I dislike in it. CentOS is simply good ^)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web-server, sharing files, inner hosting


    Tiffany C.

CentOS is alot less painful than Ubuntu

  • February 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While they both (Ubuntu and CentOS) function on the same platform, I just feel like CentOS is 3x easier to use then ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Having a really hard time getting my VM network settings to work properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to do away with Ubuntu because of the security issues that where found. While CentOS has some of the same issues, it seems that solution for CentOS are easier to find


    Caspar F.

Good serverside OS, not as good as Ubuntu for desktop

  • February 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a great serverside OS and is what we use for almost all our hosted services.
What do you dislike?
Not so good as a desktop OS, lacks the wide range of available software that Ubuntu has
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting services


    Viktor U.

"DeleteOnTermination": false for root volume.

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,

could you kindly explain why you enable "DeleteOnTermination": false by-defeault for you amis? Why you thinks that this is a good idia?

TIA.

3 people found this helpful

    BESI S.

Centos stable version for deploy

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
is a good operating system to create servers due to its stability and security and budget-friendliness, since it is a free distribution
What do you dislike?
does not have options for full access for admin users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The centos operating system is used mainly for our Asterisk PBX solutions for my comapny on vps server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Server updates can take a while. The time for this can be reduced.


    Kiran R.

A super-reliable free Linux server distribution

  • February 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Most reliable compared to any other Linux distributions that I have used by far
- Updates are extremely consistent and stable -- The only distribution comparable to this is its enterprise edition (RedHat Enterprise Linux)
- Conservative support for stable releases - typically longer release cycles
- The system literally has never given me problems
- Extremely light-weight installer ISO
- Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) - This repository has almost every necessary (up-to-date) software package
- The support community is relatively large
- Web hosting ability
What do you dislike?
- Documentation is not comprehensive
- Support for cloud and containers are not par with ubuntu
- Not all troubleshooting solutions are available for free. Many valuable solutions are restricted to RedHat community subscription
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Research
- Simulations
- Education
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a server installation, CentOS is hands-down the best.
For desktop, Ubuntu is better