Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

N2WS Backup & Recovery (CPM) Advanced Edition

N2W Software | 2.7.0a

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

1 review
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    AK-BST

The best cloud backup management system I've used yet

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The great thing about this system is that it utilizes and integrates with so many of AWS's services. The ability to backup and manage resources outside of the account where CPM is deployed is extremely valuable to MSPs and tech companies who are spread out into multiple AWS accounts. Lastly, I love the fact that the development team is so active with updates and adding new functionality, it amazes me how often (and how many) new features appear within the interface on a regular basis.
I gave the product 5-stars because of it's reliability and the fact that they haven't let me down yet. I will say that anyone getting into this product should know that the support is only e-mail based, it's not like calling traditional Veeam support and getting an engineer on the phone. That being said, in extenuating circumstances, they have provided phone support but this is somewhat unusual, given their support model.
I would choose this product again and again.


    Very Satisfied Subscriber

Fantastic Service

  • March 19, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to use and exactly what I need. Also recently took advantage of the new S3 snapshot storage and it works great! Thank you!


    James M.

The backup and recovery are its most valuable features. However, the UI is a bit dated.

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for backup of EC2 instances and RDS.
How has it helped my organization?
We offer our product to clients and backups is an expected feature. So, this is one of the many things that we can say we do. We have backups and recovery along with a lifecycle policy and schedule built-in for our clients.
What is most valuable?
The backup and recovery are the most valuable features. So, our developers can work with confidence. E.g., if we break something, we can quickly recover it instantly.
What needs improvement?
I would like them to make the controls a bit more user-friendly. The UI is a little dated and hard to use. Some of the buttons are a bit small. You have to go into the menu to get the settings you want. It would probably be good if there were some analysis dashboard or an easily accessible web dashboard for a lot of users where individual clients could see their backups, and even get recommendations or estimates of costs.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability works fine. It hasn't gone down.
We backup things as standard, so usually we have over 600 instances that we back up every day.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It should scale fine.
We currently have about 200 AWS accounts and more than 600 instances being backed up.
What about the implementation team?
With the integration and configuration for AWS, there are still a few manual steps when setting up a new AWS account. Obviously, we can automate it, since it's standard. However, it might be good if it were built into their product. What happens now is we have to make new daily, weekly, and monthly backup policies, and we need to make these per account. However, these policies are same. It would be better if there was a technical reason for all these policies since customers are using hundreds of our accounts right now. It would be nice to have policies as standard, e.g., have three policies for all the accounts.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The purchasing process through the AWS Marketplace is easy. Just click the button.
We're a large company, and if you go through finance paying by invoice, it adds delays and more things to manually track. Whereas, with AWS Marketplace, for AWS instances, On Demand pricing, and elastic pricing, you can stop and start as you need. It takes away all the overhead of having to deal with finance if we're just building products. We're all tech people. We don't want to worry about the financial aspect of it.
The pricing and licensing on AWS is fine, because you can do it for smaller tiers depending on your number of instances, so it's not that scary.
AWS adds more features and offer things for free, or cheaply. Therefore, we will be evaluating AWS Data Lifecycle Manager, because it will probably do backups. Thus, make sure the product that you are using is competitive or adds more value than AWS.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
There wasn't a lot of choice for backup. Right now, AWS is sort of moving into this space. So, CPM will have to keep working to stay on the forefront of AWS and keep improving its product.
AWS is always going to be the biggest competitor. Because if you can do it natively, why are you going to pay for another tool? So, companies have to have an add value over AWS by maybe building a better dashboard that way multiple users can login and obtain an analysis of their backups.
We did look around the market, but couldn't find any mature cloud media type products.
What other advice do I have?
See if you can do AWS natively if you're just starting out. Check out AWS first, then check out CPM. See what you can do it cheaply on the marketplace and what works for you.


    Silvia R.

Gives us flexible backup policies and schedules for AWS workloads

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for backup and recovery, to schedule the backups in the production environment in case of disaster.
How has it helped my organization?
The solution enables us to automate all the AWS workloads. Before, we had to make rules for every workload. Now we save time and are more relaxed.
What is most valuable?
* Easy one-click functionality
* Flexible backup policies and schedules for AWS workloads
What needs improvement?
Deployment is one area that could use improvement.
Additional features I would like to see are the ability to restore to different vendors, AWS and Azure, and/or the ability to take the information out of the AWS cloud.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We are able to use the product in production environments without disruption. The backup and recovery times are better, even if we put stress on the environment.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability looks good. We have 12 VMs on the cloud, and the tool is helping us to improve backup and recovery times.
How was the initial setup?
In terms of the integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment, it is an easy-to-use tool, easy to install, very intuitive, and saves time.
We have some DBs in the environment and it works well with them. We also have some VMs in deployment and the integration with them was easy, without any problems.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It has very good pricing per instance and comes with three options, for both small and large environments, to fit your needs.
It was easy to find everything; the AWS Marketplace is very intuitive for anyone. We procured this solution via the Marketplace because of the facility of the portal, and to ensure full integration between the tool, the portal, etc. The process was very simple.
What other advice do I have?


    Fahd M.

A reliable backup solution that meets SLA standards

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

One of our clients in AWS needed a near-immediate recovery for all of their cloud. That's why we opted for N2WS Backup & Recovery, which recovers it in 30 seconds or sometimes even less.
How has it helped my organization?
One of our clients in AWS needed a backup solution that would enable them to have a reliable backups solution and that would meet or exceed their SLAs without causing a dent on internal resources. So after evaluating, they used N2WS.
What is most valuable?
The recovery time is fantastic and it's proven. Also, it lowers the cost by providing a simple interface.
What needs improvement?
More documentation would be helpful, especially some step-by-step documents for recovery scenarios. In addition, a seamless integration with on-premise third party backup solutions would be great.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Its very stable and mature and utilized the cloud resources efficiently to do the job.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Its a cloud product and scales pretty nicely.
What was our ROI?
I give this product a ten out of ten because of the ease of operation, and the actual cost.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It was easy to purchase from the AWS marketplace. It is also very economical, and worth every penny.
What other advice do I have?


    Michael S.

Really good backup solution that suits AWS

  • October 16, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Leverages AWS resources to provide traditionally approached ideas to backups and automation. Really good, reliable and provides a traditional backup view into AWS resources.


    John Roeser

DEV\QA environments

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Allows me to restore EC2 instances to another account. Valuable feature for DEV\QA environments! We can stand up a fresh copy of production AT WILL!


    Food Production

Innovative Solutions

  • April 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The protection is comprehensive and flexible for snapshot management
What do you dislike?
Customer Support often takes a long to to respond, but it manageable
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making sure our cloud services are secure and manageable


    EJ

Best Backup Solution I've ever used...

  • June 14, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To All:
I've used a lot of Backup Solutions in my career, and as you know you don't need backups till you NEED backups. In the past it's always been a crap shoot if the tapes are good and the restore will work. There is always that little bit of doubt!!!

With CPM I can sleep at night, we use it all the time and never have had any issues with restores. I love the file level restore ability that was added - it was not there when I first started using CPM.

We use CPM restores to create Test Environments with production like data for our dev/eng teams.

We use CPM as a major player in our DR strategy.

A really awesome product, love it!!!

Thanks,
E.


    Jeff Strupp

Best Backup for the money

  • June 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

In looking for a backup solution for our AWS environment we tried several vendors, but CPM was the best solution for us. It was easy to setup and intuitive to configure our Linux and Windows servers ( including vss ). What really sold us on the product was the great support we received while still using the product in trial mode - Uri was very responsive and thorough in his explanations of any issue we came across.