Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux - BYOL

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Symantec Endpoint Protection Suite not what is use to be!

  • April 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Traditionally, this product has worked very well, although a bit bloated, for both servers and client machines.
What do you dislike?
We have used this product for many years. Since going to Broadcom, both support and product functionality have fallen off drastically. Clients seem to be very resource (memory) intensive and garner a lot of complaints from our user base.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solved: client machines: good antivirus and malware protection. Servers: Good protection for internal, and internet facing (exposed) servers. There's no performance boost, but past reliability provided ease of mind for protection.


    Information Technology and Services

Laptop secure against multiple threats

  • April 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Automatic protection without user intervention
What do you dislike?
Delicate client, in case of corruption, it forces you to reinstall the computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protección del portatil ante los virus y ataques de red.
Unified protection in a single client.


    Computer & Network Security

Symante Endpoint Protection: Endpoint multilayer protection

  • January 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is a multilayer endpoint protection solution (antivirus, personal firewall, IPS, application and device control, host integrity, memory exploit mitigation, …).
It provides effective protection againt actual threats.
The solution has simplified management and a logical interface.
The architecture is natively scalable. Deployment tools are also available.
What do you dislike?
The product misses some configuration templates to accelerate configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Endpoint protection from malware, ransomware, and new threats. Simple remediation and troubleshooting.
Report and alert notification help to maintain you informed about your a protected environment
If connected to Symantec EDR solution (licensed apart), you can manage Incidents with correlated SEP events through Symantec Intelligence, and you can also have MITRE ATT&CK tactics and techniques detailed information about incidents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Customize SEP configuration to enhance protection in your environment.
Install all available security features on the endpoint. The application control feature is one of the most powerful features if configured correctly.


    Vinay C.

Easy to use

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is one of the best application in security and it's very easy to use this application is very easy to use and for security purposes now a days it's very usefull
What do you dislike?
When we secure the data some time speed may be slow but it is very rare , traffic flow is increasing day by day on this that is why we have to face speed issue something
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An endpoint is any device that is physically en end point on a network . Laptops,desktops,mobile phones,tablets,servers and virtual environments can all be considered endpoints.


    Scott S.

AV to avoid

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The new cloud service was easy to setup and maintain.
What do you dislike?
Does not detect as well as other AV's. Takes up too many resources. Years of issues in the older software makes me not trust anything they make.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security issues. Drive Encrypton, web protection and overall security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are much better choices available. Sophos endpoint (if you have a sophos firewall). Bitdefender endpoint is outstanding.


    Computer & Network Security

Symantec Endpoint Security - modern layered protection for your Enterprise

  • October 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Variety of options, good protecton, stable performance, continuous upgrading product.
What do you dislike?
Tails of legacy AV approach, bad Support, and a little confusing cloud console.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Concentrating on work, while Symantec Endpoint Security protect our machines from malware and other attacks.


    Financial Services

Symantec is the go to for our company in 2 part authentication and security

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Once installed, it was easy to use, and our employees have minimal issues with logging in to the system. I trust this company, and I feel they are a leader in security. We use this cloud-based solution to protect our conventional and mobile devices.
What do you dislike?
There are updates quite a bit. I understand the need for this, but it does require some time to compelte.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a solid antivirus security product.


    VivekPrasanth R.

Traditional AV - Next gen AV

  • June 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best traditional Av (next-gen AV soon) to protect our environment safe and secure. They added Linux support as well and supported almost all the latest builds of windows and MAC. Simple SEPM will help to design the policy and implement it across the sites. It is suitable for larger clients, which is more than 10k. Daily def will have coverage for more vulnerabilities. WSS integration was the best notch of SEP WSS. We recently integrated SEP with WSS; it works perfectly.
What do you dislike?
Frequent version update irritates a lot. If you have a more significant number of clients, it's challenging to upgrade the clients frequently, and non of the customers will agree to the same. Everyone might be having a lot of internal approval processes for upgrades. by the time we finish all the approval processes, one version of Symantec will release another one. It's very irritating sometimes when the lower version has some product bug and no other choice than to upgrade.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can control a lot of security risks using the product. Since all the clients are reporting to the manager, sometimes we will consider this as inventory.
SEP WSS integration helps us to go with the agentless approach. We don't want multiple agents for proxy redirecting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ITs good for who is having larger number of clients. Easy to implement.SEP is particularly effective when paired with a second anti-malware solution, such as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.Symantec Endpoint Protection serves as an wonderful front-line antivirus solution for larger organizations who need to manage numerous computer systems, servers, and users.Simple SEPM will help to design the policy and implement across the sites. It good for larger clients. Daily def will have coverage for more vulnerabilities.


    Adnan A.

Symantec End-user Endpoint Security | Best security solution for my laptop

  • June 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Since I have been using Symantec End-user Endpoint Security, my life has become worry-free. Never have I been bothered about ransomware, virus, or other cyberattacks on my system. I have been using it for almost eight years now, and there is not a single time any malware has attacked me.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the automatic update doesn't work, and I have to do the manual updates myself. Other than that, the software is perfect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Daily system scans—laptop malware protection. My work is critical, and the data I work on is essential for my company and me, and we cannot compromise on its security. Symantec End-user Endpoint Security provides the necessary protection for the data and machine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easily the best security software for your system. Go with it without having second thoughts.


    Rohit S.

SEP - Our Trusted Endpoint Protection

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP is very simple to install, but at the same time the User Interface is too good to be used by a customer and partner. Its blocking new and unknown threats very well and which are usually missed by other Endpoint Solutions. Using it widely in our customer base and even as a Symantec Partner in our Internal IT to show the use cases to customers. Excellent Product.!!!
What do you dislike?
I could not find much issues or something that i can write to dislike about this product. The offline updates of the SEP can be made more simpler. I found that little troublesome by downloading and placing in folder and it takes so much time to update in the SEP window.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
End Point Security in General.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great Endpoint Solution and very flexible, stable and trusted one.