Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.1

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

526 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Events Services

It provides secure and solid protection

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used different kinds of anti-virus solutions but I prefer Symantec Endpoint Protection as it solved all the problems I used to have. It is now the only antivirus used by me and my colleagues, after careful consideration by our IT department. It provides computers and laptops with secure and solid protection.
What do you dislike?
It is only possible to use the software on computers with powerful resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The software's most amazing feature is that it provides a complete solution for all virus problems. Since I started using this software I have no more virus problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It was very good for what I was using the software for, I would recommend it.


    Chad G.

Recommended for any Windows based user workstation.

  • September 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec has done a great job with their centralized management portal. The agent/client itself is easy to deploy once you understand Symantec's interface. Policy management could use some work, but given the class of software it covers the basics and then some. Email notifications are a must for me and this software does it well. It doesn't matter if the event was resolved automatically or not, admins always get notifications.
What do you dislike?
Technical support can be a little frustrating at times especially if the problem at hand is not directly related to the agent. Portal related issues can take a little time to solve and more so since Broadcom took them over.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This software does add a layer of protection that is otherwise missing from native Windows. One of the best things about it is that end-users get a pop up for events and administrators are also notified via email, providing notifications are properly configured.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Like anything else, test drive everything including the management interface, reporting and alerting features.


    Events Services

Solid software for antivirus protection

  • September 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There really is one single aspect that I think stands out, that is they have very good and strong protection. They are ahead other software on the market. Especially now when a lot of people are working remotely and with cloud products, the security is very complete. I think that Symantec is a solid product for antivirus protection.
What do you dislike?
We had some issues with Symantec. The biggest problem has been the whitelisting feature. Sometimes the threats it detects are not real issues, they are essentially false positives.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The software is used as an antivirus solution and our systems. It makes setting up and managing security very easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
So far I've been very happy with this software. I would advice to go with Symantec for the best protection.


    Yagiz B.

Security that your clients and servers need with SEP

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP offers the best solution in endpoint protection. It is constantly up-to-date and provides effective protection against threats. The best part of the product is that it centralizes client management. In this way, we are able to manage clients' access such as USB and website from a single management interface.
What do you dislike?
I think the worst part of the product is that it causes some difficulties in computers with low configurations (insufficient CPU, RAM resources). In such PCs, SEP slows down the system a lot while running in the background.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The product is used in areas specific to our organization such as IT Security and IT Infrastructure, and is used as a protection tool in all clients and workstations.


    Ozkan Taylan H.

All My Experiences with SEP

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think SEP is a real investment product. Because you can use the product easily even in old windows operating systems. I also see comments on some forums like it uses a lot of CPU and RAM resources. If the PC you are using is old, it is almost impossible to operate with this computer even with applications that use some RAM resources. So in summary, this is not the case with SEP. On Intel's 2nd or AMD's Ryzen 1st generation PCs, you never feel the product running in the background.
What do you dislike?
The worst part of the product in my opinion is that the license form and price is high. The fact that there is a lot of difference between competitors makes you think when choosing the product. Ben Symantec firm needs to show its pricing policy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the product, we protect our company computers against viruses and threats from the internet.


    Orhun K.

Successful Solution in Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Thanks to the Admin interface of the product, you can keep track of which client is old and needs to be updated. This way, you can keep all clients updated against new threats.
What do you dislike?
I think the license fees are very expensive. Renewing existing licenses alone is both complicated and expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Symantec EndPoint Protection is an Antivirus solution that we use on our company computers and some servers. We protect all our endpoint client devices against threats with this product. In addition, by turning off the USB ports of PCs with SEP, we can prevent threats that may come with USB sticks.


    Hasret H.

Symantec EP: Safe, Fast and Always Up-to-Date

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The product is easy to use, maintain and easy to install. I think the best thing about SEP is the configuration management of all clients from the central server. This way, you can easily configure endpoint clients from the central server.
What do you dislike?
Migrating or upgrading to a new server is very difficult in SEP. Another disadvantage of the product is that it uses a lot of resources (CPU and RAM). Sometimes I think it slows down the computer .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the product to prevent unauthorized persons' USB flash memory connection on our company's computers and to protect them against threats from the internet. In this way, we have secured our endpoint devices.


    Birol S.

Safe Front Line Protection with SEP

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In addition to providing ease of use in managing security warnings, the product contains the least downloaded false positives. However, the product provides a very good endpoint protection with fast malware and virus detection. In addition, continuous updates provide effective protection for endpoint PCs against new threats.
What do you dislike?
The product uses too many PC resources. Therefore, while SEP is running in the background, the performance of the PC decreases. Also, the management consul is a bit complicated. Therefore, it is not that easy to use. Especially in these two areas, the product should be developed further.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the product, we made our company's end-user computers more secure against threats from the internet and other media. In addition, we can detect malicious behavior by reporting users' traffic on the web.


    Bilge A.

Reliable Protection and Rapid Threat Detection

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What the product does best is that it can quickly detect and block malware and virus threats. It can prevents infection of such threats, especially through e-mail and USB flash drives. It is really very successful to be able to do this job without any damage to the file, especially while preventing these threats.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about SEP is that it uses a lot of system memory. This negatively affects the performance of your computer. Using too many resources makes some programs very slow to open and use. This is a situation that negatively affects our business. I think Symentec should find a solution to this problem soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product of Symentec is used as an endpoint solution in all our company's computers. Especially due to the pandemic period, almost all of our employees connect with VPN from home to the company. This forces them to access the internet from an unsecured home network. With the SEP, we have brought an important solution to this problem. In addition, this product is used in our company's servers on the DMZ side. This provides important protection against malicious threats coming from the internet.


    Events Services

Really good and decent protection software

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I started using Symantec Endpoint Protection a few years ago. The software is very effective and it has kept me safe until now. The functionality is simple, just install and follow the steps indicated. The software shows its efficiency and protects in a decent way.
What do you dislike?
Symantec Endpoint Protection doesn't have any issues. The software is effective.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My experience with this product from the user's perspective is really good. It is really safe and runs without any problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good software and easy to install and use.