Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Utilities

Symantec 12 antivirus

  • June 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec once set up is easy to manage. it doesn't require a lot of servers or too much hardware.
What do you dislike?
It tends to break quite a bit and support isn't the best unless you pay high prices for it. When things do go wrong i find that i am often told i need to go directly to the affected machines, disrupt my users to gather logs or run diagnostics. This is not easy to do in a large company and i feel they should have better remote management for this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we only use the antivirus portion of the software, this is deployed to Macs, PC's and servers. It does do a decent job of keeping viruses down but could use some improved malware support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Our security team is getting very big on Whitelisting. This is a very different approach and several companies are looking to implement it. When we reviewed this Symantec was not very high on the list when it comes to this. With the rep we talked to they also admitted that things need to change but this isn't happening soon enough. They aren't even sure what's going to happen with their management console as it is becoming outdated.


    Information Technology and Services

High end antivirus protection

  • June 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec has good central management and reporting
What do you dislike?
Symantec is more expensive than some other products so it is sometimes hard to justify it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Standardize antivirus protection and making sure all clients are up to date


    Telecommunications

User Friendly

  • October 16, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint is easy to use and efficient.
What do you dislike?
Symantec endpoint is little time consuming
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It creates secure environment


    Jeff R.

"SEPM" is a decent Enterprise Level Virus and Malware product for large or small shops.

  • April 22, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection's Management Interface/Dashboard is quite handy in keeping abreast of issues within your Enterprise environment. One quick look at the main pages of the dashboard shows you of any impending issues both internal to your network and external threats that Symantec is alerting users about. Purchasing SEPM also allows one to run the Symantec Mail Virus and Malware Gateway in front of internal mail services.
What do you dislike?
The client piece of Symantec Endpoint is clunky at best. Many 3rd party companies are quick to judge when they hear you have Symantec in your enterprise. They automatically assume the SEP client is the cause of the issue and make you remove it as a first course of action.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec Endpoint Protection allows us to have a centrally managed and configured Virus, Malware, and IDS solution with the ability to remotely upgrade clients that attach to our internal network from time to time. The main benefit of this ability it to lessen the need for a large IT force in place to manage the solution. Unlike more individual based Virus solutions, having Endpoint Protection in your environment allows a company the ability to have Enterprise grade solutions without an Enterprise amount of IT staff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In today's "have to get the cloud" world this product is still remaining relevant for shops with a lot of Windows PC's as you still need to protect the endpoint even if all of your data and solutions are cloud based. It is fairly expensive but I have found that the combination of enterprise level support with easy installation makes it a decent proposition for many.


    Information Technology and Services

Solid product, defacto standard for endpoint security

  • November 20, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cloud based management and setup
What do you dislike?
Have to buy thru a reseller only. Licensing takes a long time to obtain and register
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protect workstation and server and data assets


    Brittany H.

Safe and simple

  • October 01, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A little pricey, but worth the cost because it works
What do you dislike?
it bogs the system down when running in depth, but it actually works, so i'm okay with that
Recommendations to others considering the product:
for people serious about protection


    Bobby H.

Solid Enterprise Solution

  • July 18, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It protects my machine without adding tons of bulky bloatware or constantly asking me to update
What do you dislike?
From time to time, it can slow down my machine, but I think that's more to do with the system specs of my office omputer
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, it's pricey by worth it


    Eric M.

Does the job, and well!

  • April 12, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to launch a managed version or an unmanaged version of the software. We have several guys in the field all over the US and they are vary rarely VPN'd in or in one of the offices to get updates. For those that are on the managed version of the software we know who has the most recent virus definition file(s) and who needs them. We can also see and schedule full system scans to make sure each pc on our network is protected and up-to-date.
What do you dislike?
The firewall... we seem to have a lot of trouble with this and we end up turning this feature off on several people's computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Depending on the size of your company this may or may not be for everyone. It does take some knowledge of getting it setup correctly and managing.


    User in Information Technology and Services

Best I've used

  • February 20, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and effective UI, easy to navigate and set up custom scans. I have only used it in a personal environment but it does the job well and my machines have never been seriously affected by viruses.
What do you dislike?
Can be memory intrusive when performing full in depth scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Expensive but very good


    User in Information Technology and Services

Great Endpoint Protection

  • February 05, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great centralized management. Can assign different customization policies to different levels of your organization. Great for large businesses and enterprise applications. Maybe overkill for smaller businesses. Solid cloud offering. Just like most Endpoint Protection offerings, you still need a content filter.
What do you dislike?
Windows only. Pricey.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None.