Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle - Course Management System powered by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.0

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

256 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Erin D.

Basic Review of Moodle LMS

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way my courses are laid out on Moodle. I making visually appealing images for Module headings using another tool, and I screenshot them and create labels with the images in Moodle, which gives my course a nice flow. I enjoy using the gradebook, although it can be complex.
What do you dislike?
Our particular version does not allow students to record verbal or video responses directly to the online forums or other assignments. This would be very useful in foreign language classes. In general, I do think there is a bit of a learning curve with Moodle. Simple actions are easy to do (upload files, etc.) but other things sometimes take longer to figure out. The "question" button beside some actions gives more info and can be helpful. I think it is more difficult on the teaching end than the student end, which is simple. I would continue using Moodle if students could submit voice/video assignments directly. This is critical in 2020 and I've been wanting it for 10 years. Perhaps it is available in other versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I deliver fully online and hybrid courses on Moodle. I also use Moodle to supplement face-to-face instruction by accepting many assignments online and posting instructions and resources. It is nice to have a place where students can go for any and all course materials and to reduce paper submissions.


    Higher Education

Expensive and Confusing

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works well with publishers and other software like Zoom. The layout is simple, no images or fluff.
What do you dislike?
The gradebook is horrible and times out easily, and it does not communicate with third party sites like Turnitin after it times out. After 11 years of using it, I had to submit 6 grade changes out of 132 students because Turnitin timed out at a different time than Moodle. It did not communicate and record grades and did not tell me that this process did not happen. This also happened when I inputted actual items into my gradebook, so what should have been out of 950 in my Excel computed out of 835 for students. Each time the Zoom code was deleted, the participation points would disappear. It was a disaster. The grades for assignments would fluctuate from 10 to 100 points randomly.

Chaotic and unreliable at best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It proved to me that my system of not relying on any LMS for grading is smart. I use paper and Excel.

Benefits are that it is an easy interface and experts well to Excel for easy comparison and quick troubleshooting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't do it. Use Canvas.


    Higher Education

Great way to get information to students

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it has an online grading function, the ability to create and submit assignments through links, an announcement forum, the ability to create posts and respond to blogs and the ability to separate and selectively release modules.
What do you dislike?
If you do not have the grades properly weighed then your students will be shocked by the grades that are submitted to the school which is concerning but due largely to user error. Some professors misuse Moodle and require a little extra tech help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest problem was when COVID happened, all collegiate learning became online learning. We weren't able to use in person so this format takes the place of a lot of in person interactions.


    Corbin J.

Great online learning platform.

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy adapting Moodle to a variety of learning applications and thinking about architecture and functionality. I love it's also Online, open source, and worldwide. It basically provides a portal for instructor loading, which helps us to sign up and attend conferences if we already have a registered account. So speaking in particular can also help to communicate with friends so lectures. We can do it through Moodle, so it is very simple to use if we will submit assignments, etc.
What do you dislike?
At some point, we can't do it through a moodle if we have to load tasks with large data files, as this is not ready. It doesn't operate any file type extension. This can lead individual / institutional users to use business hosting providers or host the facility on a private server themselves.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are facing many challenges, like document lacking, a large amount of paper and course material sending problems, after we started Moodle, all problems have been resolved. Now we are able to work with them on time. We 're working with all our educational projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can handle the students enrolled subjects very quickly.
Setting up is very easy and I get to know the features included in Moodle more and more every time I do so. It has a wide archive of documents and a group network. Moodle open source platform is the best thing about it.


    Madusanka B.

Total solution for distant learning

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is learning management system which is open source.After configuration we can customize our site by using themes and images. And also, we can personalize our dashboard too. The main feature of Moodle is shearing course materials, by using this we can deliver documents to hundreds of students with a simple update.Manager, teacher admin and student are user levels of Moodle, which can control accessibility.
Real time chat solution and Announcement are helping the increasing relationship of lecturers and students. Mobile version of Moodle is a very useful app for who work with Moodle. This learning management system providing best security features for protecting our date. Logs and reports are help helpful for getting an idea of what users done in the system
What do you dislike?
Moodle can't Configured to own server without the previous knowledge and IT background, And also it has given limited access for free version, Excluding these things Moodle provides good service to the education industry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an education base company before use Moodle we deliver to all course materials and assignments by hard copy, as a result of that we have to allocate big number of cost to document printing. After stating Moodle we can save that total amount to the company. And also now we have a strong communication system with our students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Moodle because of it including all feature for distant learning.


    Omneya A.

Easy to manage and use

  • July 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to create a course structure, organize content and manage students and their grades. It's also easy to integrate with interactive course material. It collect good amount of students statistics to know who's lagging behind. It's easy to setup quizzes, surveys and assignments.
What do you dislike?
It has a relatively steep learning curve to know where everything is . Not all themes are responsive and work on phones and tablets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Delivering courses online and in person
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's one of the best lms on the market. It's free and open source.


    Dana W.

Highly customizable LMS with tons of add-on, fully-integrated features

  • June 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is highly customizable allowing you to completely redesign how your course looks, how it is organized, and what tools are fully integrated into the LMS. There are a ton of free themes available for various age groups or purposes that give you a lot of flexibility as to how you want to organize (by topic, week, unit, etc.) and present your site (for K-12, university, public online courses, etc.) . There are also a ton of tools that are fully-integrated (not LTI like other LMSs) so that the students never have to leave your site to complete their work or lessons. There are fully integrated games and other learning experiences that make it easy for students to review vocabulary terms or practice skills. Within most activities/tools, you have almost complete control with a lot of options and settings to customize your delivery or how you want to integrate the activity into your course.
What do you dislike?
Since integrating certain types of assets requires SSH connectivity to the server, I've found that it was easier to simply maintain my own moodle server, but this requires a tremendous amount of knowledge and skill to maintain a secure server. This is not something that someone without a strong computer security background should attempt. While there are tools (like bitnami) that make it easier to get a Moodle site up and running, some of the customization and more interesting plugins require a little back-end knowledge or access to get working right. However, if you're just looking for relatively standard features (lessons, files, progress bars, games, etc.) - that's all easy to install onto your site and easy to configure. I have a few issues with specific plug-ins where they are not as flexible or don't follow the "standard" Moodle way of doing things, but that's not necessarily Moodle's fault. However, I feel like it is Moodle's responsibility to provide (and enforce) a common set of tools. For example, Moodle has the ability to support drag-n-drop reordering of widgets/items on the site and yet not all elements of Moodle take advantage of this. Like the gradebook, for example, I can't easily reorder items or move them into other sections (additional dialogs pop up, and then you have to scroll through dozens of items to find the right place) - when simply drag-n-dropping them should move them to a new order or to a new category without any additional issues. Of course, I've not seen other LMSs with better tools, so I don't fault them too much for this!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I teach programming at the university level and the most important feature for me in Moodle is the Virtual Programming Labs - they allow me to create short or long auto-graded programming assignments that are fully integrated into the Moodle platform. My students have truly benefited from these experiences as they get immediate feedback on whether their code is correct or not. There are some limitations to this plug-in, but it has overall been a fantastic tool that has taken a LOT of grading and evaluation off of my plate.

Students have commented on how they like the organization of Moodle over the other LMS my University uses and I certainly like its transparency. I like how easy it is to post something to Moodle and see that it is "live" or "hidden" from students - everything is right there, at the surface level, nothing is hidden or linked in some odd way. I am able to easily show my students their progress with check-offs next to each item and overall progress bars. My students are game development students, so they like being able to "complete" objectives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your school is using Moodle, then it is a great, easy tool. The flexibility and plug-ins will satisfy just about any need you have and the fact that they're fully integrated into Moodle, your students will find it seamless to use and intuitive to navigate. It's great for organizing and posting content - everything is on the top-level and immediately accessible, nothing is hidden from the faculty member or doubly linked or in multiple places. Take a few moments to explore the plugins library - it is an amazing set of tools that provide an enormous variety of ways for students to get involved with the content!

If you're building and administering your own server, Moodle can be quite an undertaking (not that any other LMS would be easier). Definitely use a tool like Bitnami to help you install and manage it or contract through an ISP that will support Moodle for you - this will solve 95% of your administration issues with Moodle and make maintenance much easier. But, for the flexibility of being able to install anything you want/need and configure the site to your heart's desire, using Moodle can be amazing!


    Education Management

Online Learning Management Made Easy

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of course set up is superb and simple to learn.
What do you dislike?
They do not offer a section to maintain transcripts so we go to another site to keep grades and send transcripts to our students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Model allows for a collaborative online classroom through the forum section. This helps our students maintain a classroom feel.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Using this Online Learning Management platform will propel you forward as your students will catch on quickly to the simplicity of using Moodle.


    Education Management

Great for large companies

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to create new assignments and manage student grading. Moodle will automatically grade certain assignments and provide feedback.
What do you dislike?
Creating online quizzes is tedious, time consuming and error prone. It can be hard for students to upload audio files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online student courses for higher education. Both distance learning and as web assist (in class)


    Aren M.

Moodle: A Way of Connecting With Your Students

  • June 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the connectivity of Moodle and that it makes you accessible to your teachers & students.
What do you dislike?
The interface in the "my assignments" section could be a bit easier to get to for the students.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting to students at a distance and performing all scholarly tasks without being in the same room.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Moodle for anyone looking to teach an audience at a distance or learn from their professor or teacher without being in the same room.