Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kali Linux

Kali Linux | Kali Linux 2020.2

Linux/Unix, Other 2020.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

    Gib

Need to install tools manually

  • August 27, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Barebones AMI and you'll need to install everything manually or just use of the metapackages. You should be able to get the default packages Kali normally comes with with the command
$ sudo apt -y install kali-linux-default

This makes sense since not all default packages such as desktop environments and wireless tools need to be included for a cloud-based AMI. The documentation explaining the process could be improved though.

Complete list of the metapackages can be found here:
https://www.kali.org/news/major-metapackage-makeover/


    Hacker who understands AMIs

Just install kali-linux-default and you get your tools

  • August 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

There is no GUI. You need to set up VNC or some other remote access setup if you want that. A lot of comments complain about nmap, other tools not being installed... The Kali Linux installer runs sudo apt install kali-linux-default by default, but you can do that with this AMI and get everything you want. It's an AMI, a base image. It expects you to install what you need, like any other AMI. It does what it needs to do.

It seems to flag behind Kali Linux releases, however. Kali Linux 2020.3 has been released for about a week and this AMI has not yet been updated. But 5 days isn't so long, I imagine it will be updated soon.


    disaster

no tools

  • August 15, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This strange version of kali on aws doesnt come witha any penetrating tools.
I suppose they will fix this beacuse its really annoying


    GK

Kali build without the tools

  • August 07, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Connected without a problem. As others have said, connect with the username kali. And if you are having problems connecting over SSH, make sure you create a rule in the AWS Security Group for it. It is a bummer that none of the tools that would normally be part of Kali are installed though, so what's the point?


    Gary Weessies

No tools or GUI? Why not just use Debian and install all your own tools.

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Who thought up a testing linux without any testing tools?
NOT included with your Kali: nmap, nc, wfuzz, gobuster, dirb, burpsuite, . . . .
Also, no GUI so forget BurpSuite or using a browser.

1 person found this helpful

    GlassEye

Kali in name only

  • July 25, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like others mentioned, there is not even one single pen tool installed. What's the point of using Kali if I have to install all the pen tools myself?

1 person found this helpful

    may

Connect but tricky

  • July 12, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could finally after several attempts. trick is to us "kali" user name, not ec2-user or root as mentioned in documentation/instruction. I spent several hours to figure it out. Here is the syntax
ssh -i <path to private key> kali@instanceIP


    Faber

No tools installed

  • July 11, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything went smoothly with the first config, I could connect to the machine via SSH (with "kali", not with "ec2-user" anymore!) and I could install the packages needed for RDP. The connection was great!
Unfortunately, once logged in, I couldn't find any of the usual Kali security tools (Wireshark, nmap, Metasploit, ...)...am I missing something perhaps?!

2 people found this helpful

    No pen testing tools

There is no any pen testing tool

  • July 09, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Where are the usuals tools like wpscan and others. ?
After I connect to EC2 via RDP, there is an empty desktop and at application menu there aren't any tools that usually comes with Kali

2 people found this helpful

    Leo Q

XRDP is painfully slow

  • February 28, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

When setting up XRDP it is extremely slow; I tend to have to go to /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini and set max_bpp=8. It makes it work faster but makes the GUI look awful.