Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kali Linux

Kali Linux | Kali Linux 2020.1

Linux/Unix, Other 2020.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

15 AWS reviews

    Leo Q

XRDP is painfully slow

  • February 28, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

When setting up XRDP it is extremely slow; I tend to have to go to /etc/xrdp/xrdp.ini and set max_bpp=8. It makes it work faster but makes the GUI look awful.


    https://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=6094

https://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=6094

  • February 22, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is bugged read here please https://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=6094 and try to contact someone to upload an older version at least. Iptables bug.


    Russ

Cannot connect

  • February 04, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like the others, I cannot connect to this machine after it is launched. SSH doesn't even connect to allow authentication with the keys.


    Hackerman

good but meh

  • January 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The 2020 AMI for the EU-WEST has bad design which prevent beeing able to ssh with ec2-user & key. Just use the december 2019 build. Works fine.


    Pentest

Can't login to kali linux 2020

  • January 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

There is definitely some issue with kali linux 2020 AMI. Never allowed to login over ssh and not even port 22 is listening to telnet. which suspect something fishy and need to look in to by the provider


    T

Is this AMI broken? Port 22 seems completely closed

  • January 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've installed this into a VPC which I have other AMIs running in. I can SSH into my other boxes, but this image, I can't seem to SSH into it. I don't think the problem is with keys or credentials (although I've double checked just to be sure I'm specifying those correctly). From what I can see, port 22 is not even OPEN on this AMI. I have verified that I have TCP port 22 allowed from my IP address in the security group. I'm certain of this, because I'm using this same security group for other [non-Kali] machines within in the same VPC.

From what I can tell, this current build is broken.


    l33th4x0r

I RTFM

  • January 30, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I read the manual... but since the SSH service wasn't started on boot it doesn't work. I ensured I had all of the proper security groups setup for SSH. I couldn't use the ec2-user user because the SSH port was filtered due to it not running.

I'd give it less stars if it was possible.


    MS08-067

RTFM

  • January 24, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

"Usage Instructions: Once your instance is running, connect to it with your SSH private key using the "ec2-user" account."

For those who need to hear it.


    InfoSec guy

Couldn't tell ya, won't allow login

  • January 14, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Well launched it, used a security group and key I use for other stuff (so I know they are good) and can't authenticate to the machine with the user and key indicated....


    bob

Can't SSH

  • November 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I ran a t2.medium instance. You can't even log into it after launching the instance. I verified my security group was setup correctly, I can see the instance screenshot is sitting at the login prompt. It just times out when I try to ssh to the instance.