Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LiteSpeed Web Server

LiteSpeed Technologies Inc. | 5.4.10

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    William L.

Fantastic Server

  • October 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
LiteSpeed has pretty consistent speed. To that end, it seems like it's fast enough that the whole stack appears to have headroom built into it.
In this way, the TTFB and load-speed of everything I've tested on it has had very little variability.
That means that it's consistently handling anything I've thrown at it with ease and almost nothing slows it down.
That power means that I've ticked off another item of low-hanging fruit and can now concentrate on other achievements.
It just makes life easier and simpler and results in a bit less work.
Also, the Wordpress caching plugin is as fully-featured and effective as even the most complicated ones I've tried elsewhere. Supercache, Totalcache, Hypercache and a few others.
Big fan. Haven't had any problems yet, just great results.
What do you dislike?
I haven't had any problems with it so far.
Nothing to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Slow loading speed. Slow response time. Slow page paint. Critical render path.
Also, balancing out demands on the server when resources are being taxed slowed down other servers.
Another issue that LSS helps with is counterbalancing slower page assets from external sources, like any AdSense content, sharing plugins that pull external JS, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unless you're on NGINX, you have to give LiteSpeed a try.
In both my direct experience and also research, it's faster than Apache and lets you just move on to optimizing your sites in other ways! Hallelujah!


    Computer Software

Litespeed

  • February 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I used Litespeed from 2014-2017. Litespeed is definitely a cheaper option, but in all honesty if the funds are there, Toad would be my choice.
What do you dislike?
Again, not all of the functionality of Toad, but definitely will get the job done for DBA.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Servers are never crowded allowing for the speed to never be an issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No recommendations.


    Information Technology and Services

It was great user interface for non technical is a great plus

  • February 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User interface and caching of page is also great
What do you dislike?
Nothing much all the features are good as a beginner
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Page speed
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best service


    Computer Networking

Excellent web server! Unbeatable.

  • February 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've used LSWS for some time now, Litespeed Cache and Litemage are absolute game-changers, it's simple and easy to troubleshoot, and it also provides great metrics and troubleshooting help.
What do you dislike?
I wish that there was an easier way to track LSPHP processes per user, but this isn't really a big problem, there isn't particularly much I have I dislike about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speeding up WordPress and Magento is a huge benefit, it leaves every other caching plugin in smoke.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make the switch, you seriously won't be disappointed, the gains that Light Speed Web Server has to offer,even as a load balancer and a web server, is fantastic, it can handle much more thrown at it than Apache and other alternatives can, while I, myself have some testing with products

Make the switch, you seriously won't be disappointed, the gains that Light Speed Web Server has to offer,even as a load balancer and a web server, is fantastic, it can handle much more thrown at it than Apache and other alternatives can, while I, myself have some testing with products


    Pedro G.

I've been recommending LiteSpeed to many companies I've been working for. Excellent product!

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data is always kept safe and UI is pretty fast. Excellent for monitoring.
What do you dislike?
Security could be better , even more the times we are now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps the servers to perform optimally, be proactive.


    Stefan B.

Litespeed: the Game Changer for Speed Oriented Devs

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I personally use litespeed for both dedicated and VPS installs usually without any 3rd party interface like WHM.
The improvements in page load times and response times for the aps are great and I find it flexible enough even from a power user's perspective.
For Magento and WordPress it does wonders and switching to it was the best advice I could give to my clients.
What do you dislike?
Multi threading would be a plus if it would be included in the lower licenses because even on smaller VPSs these days there is enough room for at least two processes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem I fixed is page load times that reflect into the Google ranking and conversions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just go for it and start using it. You'll fall in love with the results before the two week trial ends.


    Brad R.

Great product for the entry point

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The way with which the developers constantly update and maintain the product, as well as fast responses to any technical queries.

The fact that it is free to use (openlitespeed) is an excellent proposition as well as it easily exceeds even the paid cPanel solution in terms of functionality.
What do you dislike?
It feels somewhat clunky under the hood which means it does not inspire confidence when hosting 100+ websites. The team are working on this though and I do see improvement here in my 2 years usage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Drastically less physical server resources required. This means it is easier to set up hosting servers for client projects that are more performant at less cost.


    Harry K.

Happy, wish they'd have more promotions/a slightly cheaper license

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, the speed is fantastic and out of the box LiteSpeed works a treat, which is great. It's a direct replacement for Apache which makes it super easy to install and configure alongside cPanel. So much so that we run LiteSpeed across our entire fleet, which covers over 100 servers, ranging from low spec machines to top spec ones. We also suggest and recommend LiteSpeed to many of our customers on a day to day basis to allow them to ensure their servers are performing optimally.
What do you dislike?
Caching - LiteSpeed cache is great... but it's immediate out of the box coverage for things like WordPress and Joomla isn't ideal. I'd prefer for it to have a WordPress mode for our novice customers, that'd make it much more user friendly for them and easier to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The only issue we're seeing is customers being able to follow the caching guides and information, it's very complex for them. It's only on the UI side that I personally see complaints or problems from customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a smaller to medium server, LiteSpeed rolling out can save you the cost of upgrading RAM and CPU also as it severely reduces the load on the server when configured correctly. I'd opt for LiteSpeed over a CPU/RAM upgrade on busy servers.


    Akshay K.

Best server for holding large requests in low resources

  • November 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using litespeed for past 2 years. It handles more than double request on same server on which i was using apache.

I am hosting 1 Django website and 2 wordpress website on same $15 server. One of my website got 400k+ views per month and never feels downtime.

The Thing i like most is simple user interface provided by litespeed webserver. As a Web Developer, when i choose Apache or Nginx, i have to change the server configuration files manually. But with litespeed, we can simply configure the new website by web interface.

As i am also using wordpress on litespeed server. There is an official cache plugin called Litespeed Cache in WordPress repository.

This plugins has all the settings which includes in premium plugins like wp-rocket, and the fun part is it is free.

Static file handling of litespeed is best. It has inbuilt Gzip and Brotli compression which compressed the header size dynamically result in less response time.

Litespeed server supports http2 and http3/quic out of the box. Which allows us to send files concurrently. So that page load faster.

You can install latest version of PHP directly from dashboard.
What do you dislike?
The guide to configure different frameworks are bit old and not too the point. It will be better to have a video guide to deploy Django, React and other web frameworks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Handles large requests in low recourses
Easy Deployment
In built Gzip/Brotli Compression
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want fast deployment and easy to handle webserver with high performance on low recourse. Blindly go for litespeed web server. It also has analytics tab to show current live requests.


    SHIVAPRASAD P.

Superspeed Webserver with mind-blowing performance

  • October 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Drop-in Apache replacement.

2. High performance.

3. Better security.

4. 0% downtime switching from Apache.

5. Capability to handle higher traffic without affecting the server load or resources.

6. Easy Install and uninstall.

7. Compactible with control panels like cPanel.

8. Easy interface.

9. Lesser TTFB.

10. Built in DDOS protection.

11. Cache plugins available for variety of CMS

12. Top-notch performance.
What do you dislike?
1. There's no real downside.

2. The free version is limited.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Website loading speed reduced to half and even more.

2. Improved TTFB.

3. Better security.

4. GUI for user interaction.

5. Good support is received from LSWS.

6. Server stability issues.

7. Frequent load spikes is no more observed.

8. Server with less hardware resources with better performance.

9. Easily tweaking possible.

10. No more downtimes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are facing slowness with your websites, stability issues with your server, security concerned, you should definitely try out LSWS and you will be mesmerized by the magic of LSWS.