Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.2.529

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.09.09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Tommy J.

GREAT support

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is a good product. It has all the bells and whistles. The support is outstanding and it is clear that they are very customer focused.
What do you dislike?
During a recent supports session (the support was excellent) it became clear that passwords are sometimes stored in cleartext in settings files. That's very problematic. The setup process for connecting to an existing SQL instance is very bad. We made it through it because of the excellent support, but it should be more straightforward. For example, when creating a JAMS database on an existing SQL instance, it asks for the path for the data and log files. While a little more careful reading would have made it clear to us that it wanted that info to create the database on the server - it shouldn't have asked that in the first place. IMO it should have created the database in the default for that SQL instance. That's not something a person installing JAMS should have to know.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are centralizing our SQL jobs and in the future other jobs - a single pane of glass to see all of our enterprise jobs. We look forward to the more complete and concise monitoring and management this offers.


    Insurance

JAMS Job Scheduler Review

  • October 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jobs management with batch queues and Agents
What do you dislike?
The windows in which we have to set properties are too small.
The application is not intuitive.
To be able to bulk modify jobs we have created multiple PowerShell scripts - the option should be provided in the application itself.
Failure action cannot set easily. Sometimes we feel that to create a new job, or modify one job the application is good. But, it is not good to migrate jobs in bulk because not all properties from the servers are getting migrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We do not have to use jobs servers or DB servers to host and run jobs.
Easy maintenance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None


    Financial Services

Great job scheduler with fantastic support

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is user friendly, easy to use, yet robust enough to get any job done. Their support team is one of the best I have worked with, with fast responses and a knowledgeable team.
What do you dislike?
Knowledge base could be updated more frequently and provide more examples.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize JAMS for our entire batch process. This includes transmitting files to loading database tables.


    Higher Education

JAMS, the seemingly complicated but very thorough job scheduler with amazing support.

  • October 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to schedule Banner Jobs directly from JAMS is amazing. I also love their support! They are always thorough, quick to respond, and very helpful.
What do you dislike?
Honestly the only negative thing I have to say about JAMS is some of the complicated procedures and dated documentation. We have also encountered a couple of bugs when copying over sequences.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to allow users to run/control banner-related jobs instead of having IT handle it.


    Ahmad G.

JAMS Scheduler is the only tool that you need for full business automation process

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
To have only one tools that can automate my entire process for variety of jobs , the process is visible to all.
What do you dislike?
The lack of some tools that we need to install manually on the server manually, and hopefully they can be added on next version such as PGP , SQL Management tools, more template for cloud and so on
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
JAMS is the core tools for variety of automation jobs from different business groups in our organization. By using JAMS , we have centralized automation, visible the process to all, enhanced the security and bring cost to minimum with increasing efficiency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
JAMS is the best tools that I have ever seen during the last 28 years that I have worked on IT industry. it is the tools that can be used for any type of jobs on different OS, from basic jobs such as file transfer to run job on SQL, and easily to customize your job. It is the tools that you centralize administration and delegate management to other departments to do their jobs, and bring the cost to lower level, enhance security and entire process visible to all, and get best support.


    Computer Software

Nothing but first class

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can use Power-shell to automate everything and the support has always been prompt and spot on.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at this time. I always look for new ideas on how to improve automation so I will continue to look for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you like PowerShell you can customize and automate everything. In my case we even automate the job creation process.


    Scott B.

JAMS Scheduler - excellent job scheduler tool

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've had great success with the tool for about 8 years. We've been able to create any type of job or workflow that was needed. We've had some complex workflows with over 100 jobs in it. The database that manages the JAMS data is easy to understand and I often query it. It has great PowerShell APIs when we need to do bulk submissions. The Windows client is easy to use and helpful. The job configuration has a lot of options that we take advantage of (e.g. when most jobs finish, we only send emails on failures, but for a few jobs, we also send emails when the job succeeds.)
What do you dislike?
In complex workflows, when looking for a specific job, somethings it's bit difficult to find where in the workflow the job is located.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run about 30,000 jobs a day in JAMS, for various applications, on both Linux and Windows. It is easy to manage these jobs, and to fix and retry failed jobs. We had a recent unplanned outage, and because of how JAMS works, we were able to restart jobs in an organized fashion. With the database available for query, we often can find jobs that would otherwise be tough to find, e.g. which jobs that run on a certain server and run on a certain port for a certain client automatically run before 7:00 AM.


    David R.

The Product is Well Supported, Capable, and Actively Maintained

  • May 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease with which copies of jobs (e.g., used as a templates, test/prod reuse, etc.) can be created and managed. Job or Folder Parameters can be used to isolate changes between these instances.
What do you dislike?
I sometimes struggle with the interface. Of course, part (all?) of the problem is due to our own reluctance to expend resources to upgrade to current version - we are way behind on 6.3.27. Amazingly, I am successful using their help resources even though our version is so old - their support is tenacious!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Jobs, Folders, and Parameters to specify and schedule automation. We have reduced maintenance costs for scheduled jobs.


    Information Technology and Services

JAMS makes our jobs Easier!

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can schedule and run many tasks on a repeated basis individually or in a bunch, without having to worry about humane interactions and errors, add dependencies and also notifications, which cuts down the effort by a significant amount. Also the support we get from jAMS is very quick and efficient!We can count on them at any time of the day!
What do you dislike?
Mainly Price!! Sometimes some tasks are inconsistent, like triggers , permissions, security etc .,it would be helpful to add more time and date customization , more logging or maybe add a debug logging level if needed.
Errors are pretty generic most of the times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
its easy to schedule jobs based on a certain cadence and dependency as opposed to the traditional scheduler features on the servers. We can also club together any number of them.


    Ashok R.

JAMS - Excellent JOB Scheduler Automation Experience.

  • April 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS Job automation provides options of Workflow or Setups and both are very impressive in terms of an automation solution/approach they provide.
However, here at our organization we have considered Job-Setups combination and its very flexible.
What do you dislike?
Nothing which we have come across as of now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle FLEXCUBE (FCUBS) provides comprehensive functional capabilities across multiple lines of business and banking segments. JAMS automation was considered for the following critical functions in terms of scheduling automation solution and proved to be the best fit.
1. SLA driven Overnight batch processes (End of Day and Beginning of Day) to complete complex tasks such as interest and tax computation, incoming and outgoing payments processing, loans amortization and repayments, hand-off files consumption and generation from/to various external systems and interfaces, etc. All these overnight batches are automated and are scheduled using JAMS setup approach.
2. The calendar and time bound automation of outgoing payments and settlement processing files to the clearing houses.
3. Comprehensive solution across scheduled tasks followed by status/health tasks, which would send notifications/alerts to the Flexcube support team.

Overall, interfacing JAMS with Flexcube Core Banking product has simplified complex tasks and has brought in stability and robustness to our core banking platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Numerous options for interfacing and the best which we have seen is the SOAP interface with Flexcube Core banking system which is a seamless process.
2. Various other features available in JAMS such as SOA, FTP and SFTP which are utilized extensively to interface with various layers and modules of Flexcube Core Banking product (FCUBS).
3. Support services which is the primary requirement for any customer is excellent. Adding to this, the support team is technically sound and always solution oriented.