Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

Fortra | 7.5.1

Windows, Windows Server 2022 Base 2023.01.19 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Government Relations

An overall excellent and robust automation tool

  • December 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS has plenty of features to allow users of different skills to accomplish what they need. I specifically enjoy JAMS's PowerShell snap-in that allow me to run JAMS commands through PS scripts.
What do you dislike?
There's several odd issues with the Monitor (jobs not clearing away) and being unable to batch export jobs is a shame. Having to manually edit job paths instead of using parameters is dearly needed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows great flexibility in running jobs, either on a timer, on triggers or by parsing emails for phrases. It gives us many options which are always needed.


    John L.

Great partnership; Excellent support; Solid Batch Processing; Great automation for PROD deployments

  • December 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Overall, we are delighted with the flexibility of JAMS Enterprise Job Scheduler and the ability to leverage technology to further integrate into nightly batch processing and automate upgrades/fixes for core business applications to release through our project lifecycle (DEV, QA, UAT, PROD). I can't say enough about their support. Most companies have forgotten what customer service is and the importance of having great help. I can say that is not the case for this solution. They have an excellent support bench able to assist you.
What do you dislike?
With all technology, I am sure you can find something that needs to be changed. Through our partnership, we share what needs to be changed, and the company works to add this to their roadmap.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS allowed us to automate nightly batch processing using all core business applications. A job response (success/failure) can determine the next steps in the job schedule. When an error occurs, a process can be built into the JAMS scheduler to handle it as deemed necessary, such as notifying the person on-call, pausing the process, skipping a process, or proceeding after creating an incident ticket. There are many options available. Another successful use for us has been centered around fixes or upgrades to an existing business system. We have successfully automated two business systems deployments through our project lifecycle (DEV, QA, UAT, PROD) and looking forward to further expansion. JAMS is a powerful product that has reduced our internal effort and overall costs.


    Mark G.

JAMS Automation Software Saves Me TIME!!!

  • December 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS Job Scheduler is one of the most helpful programs that I use. There are so many programs that must be run at specific times, and in specific order and JAMS does it all!
What do you dislike?
Learning curve may seam daunting, but it really is not. Once you try automating a few simple tasks and then stringing them together you will truly see all sorts of possibilities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS is working while I am not. JAMS keeps to it's schedule which I set and it sends me notices that I ask for. I want to know when jobs succeed and when they fail.
JAMS sends me emails on these and even SMS messages to my phone if I want.


    Scott C.

So Far So Good

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We bought JAMS about six months ago to replace a legacy scheduler.

The system is easy to install and doesn't need a lot of admin.

There are lots of different execution methods. I chose Powershell, which has the most functionality. JAMS allows you to extend it, so you can create your library of scripts that can be reused.

It's easy to monitor what's currently executing and view the history of what's happened and what's coming up.

The support I've received from JAMS has been brilliant. It's like hitting a Tennis ball over the net; sometimes, the replies come back that quickly.
What do you dislike?
I haven't found anything yet, that has hampered my use of the application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's helped consolidate a lot of legacy processes. It's now easy to follow what is happening in our overnight processing.


    Adam K.

JAMS IUH Review

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since implementing JAMS 3 years ago, it has been the most problem-free solution of all that my team supports.
The layout of definitions and the ability to add comments at multiple levels of step build within properties are very helpful.
Controlling the failure severity notifications is a plus.
Log file review is convenient in diagnosing connection issues and general debugging.
What do you dislike?
There is very little to dislike about JAMS. The only drawback is the apparent limitation on security to control the definition views. We have several different support teams using JAMS in our organization and sometimes it would be helpful to not see the entire organization's listing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's all about step control and trigger control by job definitions. The flexibility presented by this feature is almost endless. We can copy and import triggers which makes repetitive tasks easier to do.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

JAMS is an efficient scheduler tool

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface (UI) is simple to use and has functions for every scenario. My favorite feature is the workflow since it keeps the task looking presentable while yet performing it effectively.
What do you dislike?
It still requires improvement. I recently tried using the Parallel feature and discovered it had an issue after contacting your support team. I do, however, have a use case for that feature, but the bug has put it on hold right now. Additionally, I think this program has a lot of hidden functions that users aren't aware of, thus I think it needs a comprehensive manual that thoroughly explains each feature with examples.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS serves a number of functions for us, like starting and monitoring a schema load and checking to see if analytical tools are active. It's easy to maintain and has improved our business.


    Julie B.

Nice functionality and interface. Very versatile and robust.

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The menu is flexible and intuitive. I like being able to customize it for myself.
What do you dislike?
Some features are not visible depending on menu selected. i.e. would be nice to view history straight from definition, and likewise view the definition from history. In some cases, we have multiple set ups with the same name but located in different definition folders.

Also would like to see the definition location in the job log file as well as and job completion notifications (I did stumble once on something that may allow this to be configured but can not locate it now in the help).

I believe the SQL Agent Method is fairly new and it seems to have some issues with jobs running in a continual repeat cycle. We are working through testing solutions for that, but I don't think the support team is well versed in all the advanced details to resolve issues and possible bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed to create patching/upgrading windows for various SQL Servers. This allowed us to do that by setting up SQL Agent jobs in JAMS and setting their resources. i.e. a SQL job on Server A need data from Server B. We set Server B as a resource on the job. Then when it is time to patch, we flag Server A resource as unavailable (0), and the job on Server B will wait on it to become available.


    Financial Services

Truly enterprise-level workload automation solution

  • November 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is extremely versatile with the workload it can automate. It has built-in native code-less functions as well as the ability to launch code in any runtime environment we've needed it.
What do you dislike?
Version 6 was buggy. We recently upgraded to v7 which seems to have fixed a lot of the bugs. Support is top-notch with highly skilled responsive techs. The UX could use a revamp/enhancement.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Replacing windows task scheduler. We are now able to automate workloads with detailed success and failure notifications. JAMS integrates with Paladin, which provides us SMS and phone alerts.


    Scott K.

Outstanding Support !

  • November 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support team for JAMS is outstanding, honestly one of the best i've encountered in my professional career of over 22 years.
What do you dislike?
JAMs could be more user friendly with a more intuitive UI and more tools to resolve job failures.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is automating jobs that would take human effort solving a great deal of time, money and reducing human error.


    Adrian C.

JAMS is a fantastic tool to automate tasks from file distribution to data extraction

  • September 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is easy to use, flexible and versatil. We are using it for a multitude of different task, removing the human factor and increasing productivity,
What do you dislike?
I wish JAMS would have user training videos on platforms like YouTube or LinkedIn Learning
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
JAMS processes and distributes data feeds and reports for customers, 3rd parties and internal departments. All that work used to be done by hand and took days to complete, constantly violating SLAs and company goals. With JAMS those processes are now fully automated and can be completed without raising a finger.