Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WatchGuard Firebox Cloud (BYOL)

WatchGuard Technologies, Inc. | 12.5.1 601804

Linux/Unix, Other 12.5.1 601804 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Good firewall

  • October 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What we really liked was that it was very easy to manage create new and scan our network.
What do you dislike?
What we dislike was that about https scan sometimes It made our network very slow
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically, we solved perimeter network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We highly recommend that made a proof of concept


    Benjamin G.

A fantastic device, Highly recommend it.

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Watchguard had granular level control, in a simple to use interface. BOVPN's operate flawlessly and never fail. Support is outstanding and I usually get a USA based tech and they are always helpful. The single sign on and multi factor authentication are lifesavers and work together seamlessly.
What do you dislike?
The renewal prices are steep, but when you consider the time savings, it is well worth it. The logs could be a bit more robust for troubleshooting issues, but I have been able to get along as is. Their Dimension product is a great idea, but fails to wow in service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a very secure network that allows employees to safely get their jobs done while not saddling our IT staff with constant tinkering. Once it works, it stays working even through upgrades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make the switch, once you have the learning curve down, it is a great and very secure product.


    Banking

Pretty strong box that is always up and running

  • August 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the web gui and their option to use the software to manage the firebox. it also has the option to save firewall logs into a syslog server which is pretty useful in generating reports
What do you dislike?
nothing at all, I have been using it since last 7 years from xtm 535 to m470 and its great
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
nothing so far just that have to renew the license every year
Recommendations to others considering the product:
check the different models of firebox before you make a decision as watchguard has a large scale of products made for different business size


    Benjamin V.

VPN

  • August 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy to install and very user friendly
What do you dislike?
I can’t say anything bad about the program
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Access the database
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Quick and easy


    Tomas A.

Impeccable protection UTM for your network

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
WatchGuard offers you the best of NGFW and UTM technology, I have used this equipment for almost 2 years and I can confirm that its performance is optimal.

By enabling all security profiles the device maintains its performance and users do not experience any kind of network slowness.

The configuration and administration is very simple compared with other Firewalls
What do you dislike?
The only problem I had with this Firewall was with an error in version 12.2 that didn't allow me to perform the content inspection, I created a case with Watchguard support and they immediately helped me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our company we were presenting problems of Spam and attacks of Ransomware, since the Firewall was implemented and the module Antispam was enabled we stopped receiving emails with Spam.

We purchased TDR licenses which greatly helped us protect against ransomware attacks.

In general the Firewall has helped us to optimize the resources of the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Acquire the Total License. with this you will have all the new Features that WatchGuard offers and aditionally you will have the APT Blocker and some licenses of TDR wich can help to protect your network against advanced threats like ransomware


    Jhon C.

Amazing performance, better security

  • July 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have a Watchguard Firewall installed in our main office and so far its performance has been exceptional.

The initial configuration was really simple as the configuration interface called WatchGuard System Manager is user friendly and easy to use.

By activating all safety profiles the device continues to have an excellent performance which has been maintained to date.
What do you dislike?
Until now I have not found any problem with this Firewall, its performance is optimal, keeps the perimeter of the network protected and analyzes user traffic for threats.

Sure the device must have things to improve, however, the way it works at the moment meets the expectations of the company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are many benefits, here I leave the most important in my opinion:

- Perimeter protection of the network
- Analysis of user traffic looking for threats
- Protection against advanced threats
- Blocking of undue pages
- Blocking of undue applications
- Load balancing
- IPsec VPN against other branches
- SSL VPN
- Antispam
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Watchguard APs are a good investment, you can manage them all from WatchGuard System Manager and you can apply the same Firewall policies to users connecting to these access points. If you have a Watchguard Firewall or are thinking of buying one, try the APs as well, they are worth it.


    Angie L.

Protect your Network with this Firewall

  • July 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Watchguard for 2 years and I can say that it is a powerful tool for network protection.
These Firewalls have an excellent performance, I have never had problems of slowness and I have all security services enabled.
In addition to the Firewall, we also have in the main office 5 WatchGuard APs 120 that give us the WIFI connection, these APs are managed in their entirety from the administration tool of Watchguard. They are very interesting because they work on the frequency of 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz and can have up to 8 SSIDs.
I can recommend Watchguard to everyone who wants to protect their network perimeter
What do you dislike?
The only thing I don't like about WatchGuard is that TDR licenses have to be purchased on a per-machine basis and are not integrated with the equipment purchase.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
What I like most about WatchGuard is the ease with which you can create policies, with just a few clicks you can configure a policy to deny certain traffic through certain ports or deny access to web pages or applications that are not allowed by the organization.
Content inspection can be enabled so that traffic is analyzed by all security modules provided by WatchGuard
The administration of the APs is also very simple because it is done from the WSM, the fact that the APs are from Watchguard is quite useful because you can apply the same policies of the Firewall to users who connect to them.
WatchGuard also provides a free monitoring tool that allows you to store historical logs and generate reports from them.
WG offers an integral protection of the network
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Enable content inspection so that you have the maximum protection offered by this device


    Denis F.

Excellent UTM protection, for a modest price

  • July 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Advanced threats are having an increasing impact on the health of businesses because if them do not have a device capable of providing protection against them the business is at risk of losing valuable information and money.

This is where UTM solutions come into play, Watchguard offers UTM protection with its Firewalls at a reasonable price.

I have used WatchGuard UTM protection and can validate the effectiveness of this solution. The Antivirus, Spamblocker and DLP modules are very powerful.
What do you dislike?
WatchGuard UTMs have an excellent performance however the only flaw I find is that sometimes the signatures of some security modules are not updated automatically and then you have to do it manually.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- With the Antispam module we have reduced the amount of spam emails received
- With the Web Blocker and Application control modules we have been able to restrict access to web pages and applications that are not allowed in the company.
- With Antivirus we can scan downloaded files for threats
- With IPS, attacks like DDoS, port scanning, etc. have been reduced.
- With the DLP module we have been capable of prevent important company information from being sent by email

There are other benefits that have been obtained with this device but the previous ones are the ones that I find the most outstanding.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must be aware that the signatures of the services by subscription are updated in order to obtain the adequate protection.


    Carlos V.

An efficient "wall" of security your company

  • July 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is compatible with other antivirus and security solutions, ie if your company has other antivirus operating on the machines WatchGuard will not disturb or conflict with it, thus avoiding a possible annoyance or loopholes arising from a possible conflict.
What do you dislike?
Being honest I did not find a technical fault that deserves prominence in WatchGuard, so I will cite as a point of improvement the technical superstore of WatchGuard, in some moments they really took longer than necessary to answer our doubts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security is never too much trouble, invasions, malware and viruses can result in disasters and great financial damage, and our company has been looking to increase its security using WatchGuard, it is like a great wall of steel in the online protection of our company, its firewall is extremely efficient and we can still configure it to avoid possible undesirable locks that could end up disturbing. WatchGuard gave the extra protection we needed to reduce the risk of intrusion and contamination of our system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The web security of a company is extremely important although many people still do not see the true value of it, if your company handles valuable material or data certainly WatchGuard is useful, it gives the company an extra layer of protection that is extremely necessary with so many threats and problems a company can face, from viruses to intrusions.


    David S.

Excellent Firewall, nice performance for a UTM

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In our company we have been using this Firewall for approximately 3 years and the results have been excellent.

These Firewalls have an excellent performance and allows you to protect the perimeter of your network and also make better use of your resources through features such as: load balancing, multiwan, web content filtering, application filtering, among other things.

The implementation of the equipment turned out to be quite simple since the application for the administration and configuration of the device is quite friendly and easy to understand.
What do you dislike?
Generally speaking, I think that this firewall does its job efficiently, however, there are some things that could be improved:

- In the Firebox System Manager there are some tabs that show graphics that are not very clear as to the information they are presenting

- They have a solution called TDR that is of great help against the ransomware attacks but the cost of the license is very high and you must also acquire a license per computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of this Firewall I was able to solve many problems about the management of network resources, for example:

- Optimization of bandwidth usage
- Blocking of websites and applications that are banned by the organization
- I was able to enable Failover schemes
- I was able to perform NATs to publish services
- I was able to run VPN Site to Site with other branch offices