Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 12.6.3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

233 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Excellent solution to control your codes

  • December 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use and exceptions versioning control
What do you dislike?
Configure integrations with other softwares is a little bit confused
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Manage our team codes, with complete way to get back on any version of code developed
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One of the best solution to manage code versioning. Have possibility to create your own environment, and store it in your own server


    Computer & Network Security

Gitlab a better UX

  • December 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the user experience in gitlab compared to other scm softwares plus having embedded tools like ci is really nice
What do you dislike?
I dont like the way projects and sub projects are organised and managed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scm and ci pipelines


    Sharmila K.

Ideal for DevOps lifecycle

  • December 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The creation of branches and projects is the best management process. It's secured with the roles like developer which is perfect to manage the team.
What do you dislike?
No tool tips are provided for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Publishing new projects became easy and owning the project is the benefit .


    Information Technology and Services

Gitlab repository review

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very good source control repository system with functionality of collaboration with team and project management. Interactive User interface with editing function for different types of files. Code can be shared among team members and it also so different code commits along with changed code. It has version wise code . From a master branch different branches can be created and merged as well. It also indicates conflicts while merging the code. Rich in terms of community support.
What do you dislike?
Code conflict while commiting and pushing the code is a tedious job. Functionality of code merging should be improved in web version of git lab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Source control for our project along with maintenance of code. Keeping different library on repository
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good version control for source code along with functionality of code review and collaboration makes it perfect choice for working on a project in collaborative manner. It also integrate with other software.


    Dave S.

Setup is easy, easy to use everyone can understand gitlab easily.

  • November 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab enables and secures information backup. It helps to monitor the progress of the project. Efficiently cooperates and shares. Gets quick and easy user interface to grasp what's next. Jenkins CI / CD interface is easy. It's nice to build a click repository and branch. One of the great features of the branch is the branch lock mechanism, which can not be passed to other developers. He has a task manager for himself.
What do you dislike?
Further free ideas can be saved in the storage space. I notice no other gitlab annoyance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is awesome and easy to integrate Gitlab with others. It works with a minimum instrument. We can create a token, and this token has its own read-write permission. Gitlab CI / CD implementation is excellent. Configuring notification is easy to set up. Gitlab is freely used most importantly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is the best way to manage projects but you need to purchase a paid version if you want to store numerous projects.


    Adam B.

I fell in love with gitlab

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In my work as a freelancer GitLab is an excellent tool to keep an order of each project that I carry out, each feature of this software is very important for all users, because we can import and export a project at the time we want and it will always be updated to the Most recent version that we have endorsed, the characteristics that I like the most is to be able to create branches of the same project in order to keep an order of the step by step I give.
GitLab is very simple to use once you know how to work with git, this being the most important thing today for anyone working in the development area.
It is very interesting to be able to create task panels where I can divide the workload into sections and these panels can name and assign people in case of working in groups.
I really like being able to integrate gitlab to softwares like Smargit or gitkraken making the use of git easier than having to do everything by command in the terminal.
What do you dislike?
I have been working with gitlab for 4 years and I have always had the pleasure of working at ease because I know that my projects are safe on your servers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Teamwork as a freelance worker is very easy to do because you can take an order and each colleague works individually with the branch assigned to him
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For me, Gitlab is the best version controller that I can have and what I can recommend 100% after working so many years with the


    Bonnie S.

Implementation and maintaining things is very great.

  • November 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When I work as a software developer, I used gitLab. The features that draw me are: I get different access levels (guest, creator, master) when working on projects. That's fine, I guess. In comparison to GitHub, it is a bonus that can be granted role-based access in Gitlab. For design activities and the visual analysis of the participation of individuals, analytics and graphics are available. Developing projects and handling tasks such as GitHub are sponsored.
What do you dislike?
It's nice and helpful. As such, I consider no restrictions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GitLab is a good tool to handle the design of the project life cycle. Test the progress and keep track of changes in history. Donation or revocation of the authority to workers involved in the development of the plan. It offers good GUI and useful analysis on the development of a project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Worth buying it. Worth buying it. The use of it as a project development management tool will be a good experience.


    Yaswanth K.

Best Private Tool to maintain code

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security in the application that meets enterprise requirements
What do you dislike?
The biggest is very difficult to configure emails and alerts system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helped to store our code in the and maintain it securely
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent tool in the market to maintain code and store the application data.


    Computer Software

Reliable tool

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Useful for storing our code repositories, tracking history, etc.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there are issues when merging as the tracking gets confused
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helped us to track changes in our code, to implement different branching strategies


    Umair A.

Simple to define CI/CD pipeline but Needs to be carefully use

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab provided one window solution for our CI/CD processes. All the provided parts are used to have high Quality check for the code base with four eye policy on the merge request. we took it to accomplish our implementation target Deadline in an short period of time.
What do you dislike?
It is an expensive tool if you go for cloud version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Merge request and discussions channel during issues on merge request
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Needs to have more Integration with other 3rd Party Services