Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 14.3.3 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

364 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

The best for docs

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think it is the best for collaborative work on documentation
What do you dislike?
It is not the easiest product to manage software version control
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sometime it is not so intuitive the work you have to do


    Haimanot G.

It's a good tool for DevOps and developers. The pipeline tools are amazing.

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how it's free and allows easy management. And I love how PR renamed to merge requests.
What do you dislike?
Space limitation, but it's not a problem for me yet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My team can collaborate easily by creating frequent merge requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an excellent tool to facilitate your development and DevOps career.


    Ankit S.

A good alternative of Github

  • October 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using GitLab for a very long time, and here it is easy to create the branch and share the code with other teammates. It provides features like code versioning, continuous integration and deployment, and review code before the merge. Its user interface is excellent and easy.
What do you dislike?
It does not provide better user permissions and control. Sometimes after their update, it is tough to find the particular feature. Pricing is too high in comparison to others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use to deploy the code on GitLab and maintain our repository here. It ensures the safety of our code. With Gitlab, we can make our repo private in case of any issue. It helps us in the automated integration and deployment of our code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
GitLab is an efficient and excellent tool for maintaining our code in different branches and keeping the master branch clean. Also, it has robust CI/CD pipelines. So in my terms, you must try this at least once.


    Thouseef K.

An all-in-one DevOps tool that I need

  • October 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When I use GitLab, I don't have to depend on many other DevOps tools. I primarily use it for Source Code Management. The GitLab CI is a very good feature that allows you to write CI/CD pipelines using a YAML file. I feel this is much more simpler compare to other CI tools. It is easy to set up a runner as well. There are multiple options to choose a runner, such as shell, shared, it even supports Kubernetes cluster.

This tool also integrates with various other tools such as Jira.

User friendly UI.
What do you dislike?
There are no many major shortcomings that I faced. But I feel even though there are so many features offered by GitLab, it may not be useful for everyone or there could be other tool your organisation using for the same purpose. For example, GitLab Registry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is primarily used for Source Code Management across our organisation. All the application code used across the oranisation resides here, this is the source of truth. The DevOps journey starts fom here.


    Wireless

Code maintenance and accessibility

  • October 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a very good tool to maintenance huge or any code repository
What do you dislike?
Not many cons are there, only initial or fresher guys faces some command issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using it for accessing, updating and cloning codes


    Financial Services

Excellent for sharing your project with others and make collaboration

  • October 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very simple to use, clear documentation, and perfect UI
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the server is unresponsive and needs to wait until running up again
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Share my javascript projects with others to collaborate on it
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent platform for sharing your code with others


    vaibhavi p.

A tool to use for collaboratively developing a software

  • October 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- It is an awesome tool to use as a team to work together and maintain your development cycle hasel free
- It is easy to use Gitlab CLI is also very good
What do you dislike?
- Gitlab is easy to use but its UI and large menus may confuse sometimes also slow on the web user interface
- Code review system is also not so easy compare to other similar applications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently using GitLab in one of our software development which makes team collaboration so easy and effective
also helps out TL to review and comment on each new pull request/changes


    Rutul G.

Best source control manager tool with cool ui

  • October 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I work with many source control managers, but I loved UI of GitLab attractive and simple
What do you dislike?
I dislike the downtime of GitLab. It's throw 503 error many times. if GitLab control its downtime then it is a best tool ever
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GitLab solves my auto-deployment process. It runs my unit test cases and deploys code to AWS. I also loved this pipeline feature


    Computer Software

GitLab Version Control

  • October 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way they show code changes, Also the 2FA which improves security.
What do you dislike?
If someone reviews your code and commented on it it is hard to find how to check that part file structure is not working there that I don't like
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing code repository that gives I realized that I can see whole development phase from starting to the endpoint.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to save recovery code otherwise you will be lost if you enable 2FA


    Computer Software

Great tool

  • October 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to write CI pipelines as part of repo
What do you dislike?
The integration with a few other services
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All projects use this as a repo