Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 13.11.1 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 2

External reviews

298 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jiahui F.

Great Self-hosted Git Repo Management

  • April 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab community is opensource and free-to-use with functionalities good enough for opensource and smaller teams.
What do you dislike?
GitLab consumes many resources to run. It is sometimes too heavy if a simple web UI is what you need.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem: We need a self-hosted Git repo management. Benefits: GitLab works well for this purpose.


    Vimal G.

Best Version control Tools - GITLab

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The GitLab is an all-in-one platform to manage your source code with multiple methodologies.
2. They support continuous development integration options like CI/CD pipeline, auto-DevOps, code management and security.
3. The agile methodology is very important nowadays for every software engineer, and GitLab has provided agile methodology tools.
4. The GitLab is the best code version control tools; they help easily to parallel work with a team, track and review your code changes.
5. Easy to track your bugs and review your code.
What do you dislike?
They did not provide any UI application to manage your source code, only supported the command-line interface its cause some time to face difficulty to manage code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Easy to track your bugs.
2.Fast and continuous delivery product
3.The GitLab help easily to parallel work with a team, track and review your code changes.


    angryuser

Have no idea how to login

  • March 14, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No instruction provided, admin / admin doesn't works.
Googled for some creds, but no luck.
Is that so difficult to put a short instruction how to login?


    User in Information Technology and Services

Great platform for collaboration

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab has a good number of capabilities for creating and managing repositories. It is also packed with good activity-monitoring features;
Provides us with comprehensive analyses of apps that help us improve them.
Allows us to operate in a more seamless manner and makes interdepartmental communications easier for us.
Comes with several useful integrations and various capabilities for time-tracking and source code management, among others.
What do you dislike?
GitLab's search capabilities need to be improved to show more accurate results;
Kanban board views of project could use some improvement;
Better explanations and granularity of user permissions and controls;
It lacks some features, and sometimes the menus are really confusing and hard to navigate. There have been some occasional crashes too when you need to restart your server to get it up again;
Sometimes it gets very slow and provides problem to connect or update to the servers. Search is difficult on some pages;
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GitLab prevents issues on flow and allows us to achieve our desired results. It is a secure platform with a friendly interface;
Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface. Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues;
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my opinion, this platform is better designed compared with its competitors. I am a long-time user and have witnessed how GitLab continues to enhance its services. It comes with many great features. My favorite part would be its excellent CI/CD section. It can be navigated with ease and it allows for greater flexibility.


    Eve O.

Source control for everything

  • February 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the flexibility of GitLab. The web version is also amazing as you can use it for free, unless you need some more advanced feature. However there is the possibility to use it on your own server. I think that is the true power of GitLab.
What do you dislike?
I miss the dashboard, like health charts for projects. Also the ui is a bit old school. But I guess it is a subjective opinion. Also it is not well integrated to other source control softwares like sourcetree.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it for code hosting. Also experimenting with the Community Edition to run our own server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out CI/CD integration.


    Peter K.

Good for small companies and hobby developers

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the full functionality which is available even for the free plan. Besides the must have code hosting support, you can configure runners and build jobs. Register your own server to build and deploy your product, so for hobby developers and small companies it is the universal solution for the first years.
What do you dislike?
The website for mobile is not optimised at all, so if you get the notification that your build failed, it is hard to check the result from your mobile. It also has a tricky login button location from mobile, so that part what they could put focus on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are hosting our entire code base on GitLab and also using the CI/CD for building and deploying the application.


    Sujay K.

Best Code Collaboration Platform For Software Engineering Teams

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has all the necessary tools helped us manage our software development and deployment processes. Easy to use interface with GUI and Git capabilities, support for CI-CD tools, branches, and runners. Software development is easier as multiple teams can collaborate easily by right permissions and security for private repositories. All the code changes and quality can be easily checked with the correct integrations. Overall a great tool for small to big working software teams to help ship and release the software's easily.
What do you dislike?
The things to dislike would be the fact that Gitlab's pipelines processses are bit slow, after deployment changes are reflected after 10mins, it can be be speed up. Also there is a critical problem when it comes to rebasing and non-mergable commits, sometimes cherrypicking and merging several MR's is a nightmare when someone had to deal with a large repo with multiple teams working at the same time, this process can be improved with some intelligent solutions. Overall othewise, I would say the Gitlabs team works hard to document and give updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Gitlab for all our software repositories for our company. Different teams working at different modules and microservices utilize Gitlab to collaborate, test, maintain and deploy easily. Gitlab has helped in easy management of repos, permissions, containerization of applications and improvise our overall Devops cycle. That giving said we have saved a lot of time and improved software development processes. A centralized place for all our development and devops team has made our products ship and scale faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a complete open source culture for Devops or Orchestration for your Software Engineering Teams, GitLab is a good choice for small to enterprise requirements. As you can easily manage permissions, repo access and setup end-to-end development to deployment processes with GitLab, its easier than ever to deal with code quality and delivery. It has all the integrations and documentations required to enable your team to have quality discussions over the engineering and Devops processes under one roof. So Highly recommended.


    Amrish K.

One place solution for all of Enterprise code management needs

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has all code management related features at one place. Apart from repository maintenance and the version control system, it provides

* Extensive CI/CD support (GitLab Runners)
* Issues management through Boards, storing and sharing code snippets.
* It has made code/repo access control across teams and members much easier.

The best part is that all these features are available at a single place and are intuitively accessible. This eliminated context switches between multiple products for issues, CI/CD, docs by providing all of them under one hood.
What do you dislike?
GitLab doesn't have a follow user/member support, this makes it difficult to see a particular user's activity in the activity feed. Although it supports the general repository starring, which allows you to track a repo's activity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use GitLab for maintaining repositories, CI/CD pipelines, managing issues, configuring access control for my team and group repositories

* GitLab Boards has made code issues management 2x easier, it eliminates the need to switch between multiple products.
* Groups and repos for groups provides granular member access control when compared to other alternatives
* Maintaining & sharing code snippets at group, repo level has rendered effective to seamlessly share code among team members


    Balaji K.

Very useful and best in its king

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its branching feature, compatibility, opensource, speed, secure
What do you dislike?
it will take some time to get flow into it, sometimes reverting the commit is tedious, commands are little bit tough to remember
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in a concurrent software development team, we use git in parallel code management. we also maintain task, bug in git


    Terri C.

The best frontend for managing internal repositories

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When a project is employee-only it is just best to have it behind a system that only allows access by single sign-on and separate from the main public repository until it is ready to become live or discarded. This means no accidental pushes to the wrong remote branch or mistakenly making it public since it works in a completely different system.
What do you dislike?
Some projects that eventually get canned are actually very good but since its outside of the public eye they just get forgotten and no chance that someone else takes over them and if you are planning to go job hunting since the commits are private that means that no exposure to potential employers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is our internal tool for managing git projects before they go to GitHub
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The public version of Gitlab is not bad, but there are better options, but the actual system can be mounted separately and work as a private repository for repositories, and that it is actually great in an enterprise.