Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 13.2.3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

270 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Camilla B.

IT management is easier

  • August 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has increased our productivity and enabled us to create a software supply chain with built-in package management. It always takes in account all the security steps to keep our data safe. For security measures it provide us ‘secret variables’ , so that only authorized person can have access to the data.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes this software runs slowly due to which we have to spend time in its plug in and also much of the time gets wasted in opening cards. Also it is not so user friendly and it theme is not appealing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has helped me in developing the codes and provides us scalable, single source for collaborating on projects and codes help us to be more productive, I do not face any issue while working. It has helped me to work on remote basis and its easy configuration supports various applications. In all ways it is great platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is strongly recommended to other organizations. However, its integrated CD solution will help you in shipping the code with zero-touch and it automatically monitor metrics, thus informs you about any change in coding which could affect our productivity. Hence, it deals with threat detection and this is something I like about it.


    Kamrul H.

Version control is superb easy with GitLab

  • August 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like this version control platform because it provides much features in free version too.
It has many more function which are going to move to free version. So this is always developer friendly.
There are many reason behind the liking GitLab,
1. It is easy to maintain the stages of the Dev ops life cycle.
2. The branch management and branch merge management is so clean
3. The conflict issues are being handled easily.
4. It has good privacy and security policies.
5. I found the role management features are more perfect than others.
6.It allow SAML assurance level to bypass 2FA.
7. Multiple LDAP / AD server support
8. Various authentication mechanisms are supported.
9. Can be integrated with multiple 3rd party services, CI/CD, and other tools such as ALM, PLM, Agile and Automation tools.
10. Accelerate idea-to-production by identifying areas of improvement in the entire development process.

These are the main reasons and features behind my choice and likes to GitLab.
What do you dislike?
I have found nothing to dislike this version control and Dev ops tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Me and my all colleagues in my organization use this version control tool for version controlling and multiple users work merging. We preserve all of our source codes in Git Lab keeping them private.

It solves the complexities of working with multiple person in the same projects.
There are so cool features for our Dev ops process in our every projects of the company.

We also use all the roles like developer, maintainer, guest, author to access , share and manage the source code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Git Lab is highly recommended for version controlling, Dev ops and team working.
It has many more advance features which you can also get in free version so i will say you should surely have a try.
Me and our team recommends to others to use Git Lab.


    Morgan I.

Full service to automate the web.

  • August 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This platform provides security and trust to all our clients, in addition to protecting our source codes. It allows us to track if there was any code line change.
The tools that it offers us are perfectly adapted to automate the web page in order to offer results and avoid flow problems, the codes that are used are extensive, making it easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Something you can do with GITLAB is that you can implement thanks to its high platform level, in any way, so I have nothing negative to say about it, however I think it can improve the adaptation characteristics it can be slow to pass the information from gifthub or other accounts, it does not affect the system but it may be something to improve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its interface is very useful and easy to use for all our team, it allows us to solve any problem regarding administration and allows our working hours to be effective and fluid, in turn it solved the initial problem of changing our web base to its most advanced web base in order to offer the best to our clients.Its interface is very useful and easy to use for all our team, it allows us to solve any problem regarding administration and allows our working hours to be effective and fluid, in turn it solved the initial problem of changing our web base to its most advanced web base in order to offer the best to our clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can improve your file management, you will have security and confidence when you work within the platform. As for its features and easy-to-use tools and you will love it, that's why I always recommend using GITLAB, which in turn allows us to improve automation on our website.


    neela a.

Very clean product

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) There is an option to edit the code file in the browser, and publish my changes. This is very useful.
2) Works very well. No issues found while using the product.
3) They have lot of useful features like load testing, Infrastructure as a service, etc.
What do you dislike?
1) Search functionality is not great compared to GitHub.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use GitLab for hosting our code, load testing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I love Atlassian products. This is another great product from them. Works very well.


    Information Technology and Services

One of the best Version Controlling platform

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is the platform which having amazing featuring features like comparison of previous version of code with latest one so as to identify the difference between each and every line of code.
What do you dislike?
The most dislike feature about Gitlab is that sometimes site gets down without any notification
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The major problem of saving of work on cloud platform is solved by Gitlab.

One the best benefit about Gitlab is that we can work in a team by making various branches and at the end merge it and send the work to development
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend others to use Gitlab


    Information Technology and Services

Best Version Controlling platform

  • July 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can use ssh-key feature in gitlab for working in team and one can clone, pushing the project without using credentials again and again
What do you dislike?
In Gitlab there is nothing to be disliked
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem that I solved using gitlab is that we can push our code free of code to cloud and save our work.

The most important benefit of gitlab is that we can even download each and every version of file.

And we can compare line to line of code from previous version.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended others to use gitlab as version controlling system


    Sangeet A.

Experience of using Gitlab after using Bitbucket

  • July 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Pricing: For start-ups and small businesses Gitlab's free cloud-hosting plan is just awesome and boon for them.
2. Control: It's self-hosting version is perfect for teams which are capable to have resources to have their codebase in their infrastructure and it is also open-source.
3. Open-source: Bitbucket's Community Edition is Open-Source and great for modification as per your choice. User can think out of box and can include a feature which is not even thought of by Gitlab team.
What do you dislike?
1. Integration with Jira: In my previous company and the current one, Jira is used as an agile tool. So being an Atlassian software it is more compatible with Bitbucket then with Gitlab.
2. Pull Request vs Merge Request: If my source branch is rebased with the target branch then on approving Pull Request the tree structure in Bitbucket doesn't create an extra node for Merge, whereas in case of merge request in Bitbucket every time it is approved an extra node for Merge is created. This is really frustrating when you're going through history of a file in an IDE as sometime there might be more than 3 windows of code because of this merge node. A clean master branch is always preferable which just seems impossible with Gitlab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it as a version control tool for maintaining codebase. It is simple and easy to use and great in integrating our project with CI/CD.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its great for business just starting-up and also for established ones. There is huge scope for customisability in Gitlab.


    Md Khairul A.

Best DevOps application for covering almost all stages of the DevOps cycle.

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab provides the best features comparing the other DevOpsf applications and prices.

It covers all the necessary stages of the DevOps cycle which makes it more choice able.

It has well documentations for every parts.

It has good security facilities.

Version control using the Git Lab is very reliable and its command line feature also ippressive.

Further the web application of GitLab is so easy to find the necessary features and options easily and organized. .
What do you dislike?
The merging problem is an issue which occures very rare during merging the branches & rarely during roll back . But this is very rare maybe no one may faces except me.
Othee wise this is okay.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Everyone one of our team also me control the versions of all the projects of our office and all the software & applications we developed.

We maintain the DevOps stages through GitLab.

We also keep track the changes , changes times and commit so that we can roll back to any stage at any time.

We also stores our source code thre safely and accessible to the team member.

We maintain branches to work smoothly and safely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will recommend to use GitLab which is the single application of but solutions for all the major stages of DevOps operations.

I will also recommend to the developer to try .
it has easy integration , ease of use and complete package.


    Jamez C.

The system is more stable for html development.

  • July 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system that we use with Gitlab is different from others in the use and realization of any project, whether you are just a project or some development, implement it on our page to use it in everyday life since it has a structure, which I am happy because I It has served much more than other services such as Gifhub, since the tools are friendlier and my data is safe, in addition to keeping my applications and processes safe, it is much more attractive since I can protect all my information.
What do you dislike?
There are certain points in the system that could be improved so that this system is much more optimal in the sense of developing software or offering some type of information, adding features such as filters for users and optimizing servers to be able to be faster the system, however until Now it has worked very well, I am happy for what it has offered us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It definitely solved the usual problem and improving the security they offer to our data is much more remarkable because the privacy of our information is encrypted, be it the IP, software or passwords, I am much more secure and have an authentication system that is why Reason that we solve our problems because you keep all the information safe and we can develop freely, we also save important data that will eventually be used in programming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its tools, although they are very basic and new, are very similar to other systems, in this way we found it much easier, their use worked much better and I loved their good response.


    Computer Software

Gitlab review

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows all departments to report and track the status of technical issues
What do you dislike?
It is not user friendly or easy to navigate. We have several projects created and I have found it difficult to navigate between the projects to view details
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reporting technical related issues and requesting tech related feature enhancements to our product