Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc | 3900.10.0 SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

736 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Solomon W.

The most organized and user-friendly learning management system

  • March 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The system is reliable and very little downtime. It is easy to setup for usage by students and easy for students to navigate it.
What do you dislike?
I feel like there are a lot of plug-ins and extra applications that I do not even know about. I often run across features that my college may or may not have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Students have course resources at their fingertips and the assessments that are automatically graded saves time manually grading them. Class notes can be posted immediately after class and all communication can stay in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I've used Moodle and Canvas, as a graduate student, and I believe Blackboard Learn far exceeds their usability and user-friendliness. I have heard Blackboard is more expensive, but it goes back to the saying, "you get what you pay for."


    Candace C.

Blackboard as an Adjunct

  • March 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard makes it easy for me to post articles and communicate with my students.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes banner can freeze up on you but other than that I enjoy the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
communication with students. Articles that are used for discussion that I dont have to print out and they are available for students to view at any time.


    Hans M.

Better course managers out there, but Blackboard dominates the market

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows me to have all my assignments and materials in one place. It's easy to offer feedback to students and organize my responses to them. I also use the announcements function to communicate with them. All those communications are saved on the page so it's easy to refer back to them and know what I've told them.
I also like that several other apps integrate well with Blackboard. I use VoiceThread and Panopto a lot for presentations. I'm learning how to add GoReact and Top Hat to my pages as well.
What do you dislike?
The interface is not good. I wish I could drag and drop files to the page to insert them instead of finding them on my computer and using the uploader. I wonder if the interface problems also deter students from taking full advantage of the site. Even though it's simple, I have to remind them every semester of how to upload their assignments and where to find my feedback.
The gradebook can also be clunky. I wish it was easier to add a grade for assignments don't have to submit anything, such as attendance or offline quizzes.
I like the quiz function, but I wish it had more features and looked better, similar to what I can do in Kahoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest problem I solve is organization. I would inevitably misplace an assignment or quiz when students turned them in on paper or via email. The gradebook also solves a problem for me of keeping all scores together and easily letting me and the students know how they are doing.
I'm trying to do even more with Blackboard to solve problems of encouraging students to use video and audio to tell stories, but I still need some work.
However, VoiceThread has been a good solution to continuing to assign class presentations even though we are meeting remotely now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has a bit of a learning curve, so take some time to play around with it before implementing it in a class or with an organization. Don't be afraid to try some of the more interactive functions, such as assignments and quizzes. They really make Blackboard the most useful. If you know a little bit of HTML, you can also make your pages look really interesting and engaging.


    Education Management

Using Journal Feature on Bb

  • December 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are many positive features of Bb like Gradebook and posting documents allowing easy student accessibility, but just recently, I have begun using a feature that has really enhanced student learning: journals.

In contrast to Discussion Boards which are public--and that students complain about, students actually enjoyed doing the journals where in my case, they commented on each chapter of the books they read. It was easy for me to reply and they loved getting all the feedback (privately). When it came time to grade the journal entries as a totality, I was able to review all of them in one place, easily and expeditiously.

Furthermore, with information communicated in this mode, it lent itself to a low stakes environment, where I did not feel compelled to correct their grammar (rather only conceptual errors). I also was surprised by the quality of the content and its variety. Students seemed to really enjoy having what was an informal , private dialog with me (their professor); many specifically mentioned how much they looked forward to my comments on what they said. It probably also helped that I didn't grade each individual entry, but only did so periodically.
What do you dislike?
It makes me crazy that when I pull up Bb, I can't set the default to match the number of students in the class, but rather each time, I have to adjust the number of rows visible for entering grades.

I also don't like how sometimes the left side menu bar disappears, and then I have to move the cursor around to find the arrow to show the toggle it so that the menu bar is visible again. It's really frustrating and wastes time.

Finally, the formatting when I post documents is really crazy. The spacing that I see on screen is often very different from what it looks like when I press submit. So I often will post both the document so students can easily see it, AND post it as an attached document.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Now that we have switched to having many hybrid courses, I love using the journal feature to give students frequent feedback. So it helps solve the problem of reduced in-person contact with students.

One of the benefits realized is that I feel like with the journals, I get to know students better, with conversational dialog, but based on course material.


    Higher Education

Blackboard review

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard's easy integration with Zoom! Students had no problem easily navigating to the links for our meetings.

The Communication feature is so helpful for sending out announcements to the whole class! I cannot imagine teaching without this, in online, Zoom, OR in-person modalities.

Some people complain about the layout's not being intuitive, but I do think it is extremely easy to use! I also love the ability to weight grades by creating categories for different assignments--I tend to use "low-stakes" assignments that, combined, comprise 50% of the grade, with perhaps three "high-stakes" assignments comprising the other 50%. Setting this up right at the beginning of the semester is easy (though I always have to review Blackboard tutorials to remember how to do it--it's not intuitive to FIND, necessarily). It's also crucial to remember, then, to change assignment categories when they are created: if you are using the "low-stakes" and "high-stakes" categories, you have to be careful because a journal assignment will automatically be created as "Journal" while a SafeAssign post will always be called an "Assignment"--mathematically, this can wreak havoc on scores unless you are very mindful of changing the categories to correspond with what you've created at the beginning of the course.
What do you dislike?
The Groups feature is so much more complicated than it needs to be. I worked extensively with tutorials as well as my tech support team to implement this in Fall 2020 to no avail.

The home page is pretty lousy. It doesn't at all give students any kind of incentive to interact--I hear much better things about Blackboard's competitor, Canva, and wish my school would subscribe to it! I wish I could somehow copy journal and discussion board prompts from one class to another: it is so much extra work to edit these posts then copy/paste them into the current class.

I wish weekly folders came pre-populated--it makes sense for every single class and would truly take away a TON of student questions about organization if Blackboard had this kind of consistency in every department and every academic discipline across the College.

At the end of the semester, I suddenly could not create any announcements or posts--and then I realized that, for some reason, the "Edit" button was toggled to "off." This must have happened automatically when classes had ended, but since most instructors continue to use Blackboard's announcement feature to communicate with students during finals week, this could be confusing with a less experienced user.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Minimize the paper load; easier to grade assignments online! This has been crucial with remote learning! Students can "talk" to each other, do peer reviews/editing, and debate/discuss on the discussion boards. I use the journals for almost everything else, such as midterm self-evaluations, final grade proposals, and quick formative assessment. I do really appreciate the archiving of previous classes taught and the ability to easily copy assignments from one semester to the next! I feel very lucky that I had already familiarized myself with Blackboard and its features prior to the pandemic: my colleagues who never used it were truly scrambling to have a way to organize content and communicate with students, but mine had a fairly seamless adjustment!


    Higher Education

Easy to use, very organized

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How organized each sections are. The availability to post content and keep it hidden till needed. Also copy and pasting content.
What do you dislike?
I don’t dislike anything about Blackboard Learn
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Viewing grades, discussion boards, and everything needed for a class in one place


    Logan H.

Ease for College Students

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can easily access my courses and interact with my professors. It can receive feedback on my assignments and know what grades I have received instantly.
What do you dislike?
I wish there were ways for students who have preferred names to show that on their account profile for the professor and other classmates to see.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Blackboard Learn to access course material. All my classes are online and this is the way my school has chosen to provide the curriculum. I can access lectures and lesson material, upload assignments, view my grades and assignment due dates, communicate with professors and classmates, and find helpful resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I find it very convenient for my classes and easy to use


    Higher Education

Great Interface for online class

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love that you can keep up to date with everything. My favorite feature is to the grade book tab.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the tab selections get confusing if you have a lot going on.

Some information might get hidden if you do mot select the proper tabs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Communicate assignments, grades, submitting assignments, syllabus
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Takes a bit to learn but then easy to use


    Amit S.

The new learning platform for students

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used blackboard both as a student and as a grader and I love the ease and convenience it provides. As a student, I like how I can go through my lecture notes, assignments, exams, and grades all in one place. As a grader, it's convenient to just open the grading center and easily grade all the students. Overall, an excellent product in the field of education.
What do you dislike?
The one thing I didn't like about Blackboard was its not so impressive UI. It's sometimes not as responsive and interactive as I would like it to be. Also, from a grader perspective, it would be great if a few exam proctoring actions are added to this platform to improve the exam conducting capabilities of this application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard learn provides all in one platform to the students for a course. Also, it's an excellent platform for instructors to host all the class materials. Other benefits all include integration with meeting hosting services such as zoom which makes taking a class online very simple.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can consider looking into blackboard learn but should also look into alternatives also.


    Summer W.

Not always easy to use - can be glitchy

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Streamlines education, especially during a time when nearly every university is operating virtually.
What do you dislike?
Could be a fluke on my end, but I find the program glitches often and doesn’t display tasks/information correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Eases the stress of online university, for both professor and student.