Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc. | 3800.15.0. SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Xenial Xerus 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

722 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Braxton T.

User friendly platform.

  • August 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard made it easier for people to understand. Whether it is in the classroom or online, it offers a wonderful resource that helps students to exchange knowledge and class notes. I like how my classes are structured throughout. All classes and programs, tasks, grades and other content published by professors can be viewed by students. They are also able to apply tasks and comment.
What do you dislike?
It may also cause significant technical difficulties, such as not working the web properly or crashing the application. I think their courses and material will vanish once they have finished.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I tackle the problem of remote learning. The key benefit is asynchronous classrooms and other devices like Panapto are built into the app. In addition to making learning interactive, it enables clear communication of student objectives and objectives. I should have a place to publish and coordinate all my courses and their contents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in higher education or educational businesses, it's a wonderful software. I propose that this framework be introduced.


    La-Tonya D.

Blackboard is an ideal LMS

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is an ideal Learning Management System (LMS) that meets all of my academic needs. Some of the features that I enjoy most are, the ability to store
a reasonable amount content (i.e. Powerpoint lectures, assignments, files, videos). Through the use of Blackboard i am also able to create an inviting virtual space to enhance student engagement via the Discussion Board tool. I often use the discussion feature to introduce relevant course content that may also be controversial. I have found that this is the best way to engage students.

Additionally, it is a useful LMS for the facilitation of assessments (e.g. tests and quizzes) and it integrates seamlessly with third party content providers (e.g Cengage, Pearson).

Students have shared that they like that they are able to monitor their performance at anytime during the semester and they are able to receive feedback on assignments and quizzes immediately.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any dislikes. Compared with other learning management systems I have found Blackboard to be the best in meeting both student and professor needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Through the use of Blackboard I am able to remain accessible to students and facilitate continual learning at times that are most convenient for my learners. The LMS has a sleek design and is easy for content creators and users alike. One of its newest features, BlackBoard Ultra, comes with enhanced features. The one that I enjoy the most is Collaborate because it allows for a virtual meeting space within the Blackboard environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend Blackboard as the LMS of choice. It is an easy to use platform enjoyed by both faculty and students alike.


    Higher Education

Blackboard learn for the student

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is very organized and helpful with sharing of documents to the students. It is also good for communication of important announcements.
What do you dislike?
It takes a while to upload documents onto Blackboard Learn
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solving the sharing of documents and communicating important messages
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for large groups


    Cameron S.

Great Learning Platform

  • July 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a very simple to use platform for discussions, coursework, and anything learning-based. The design is appealing and very easy to grasp in a short period if time.
What do you dislike?
The one thing I would change about it would be the ability to upload more than one thing at time when submitting documents.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
BlackBoard Learn is a great tool for group discussions and knowledge checks instead of having meetings in person.


    Lane P.

Great platform for learning.

  • July 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You may split the class into sub-categories (teams) and bind them. When there is a team assignment, no teacher needs to enter all classes individually by selecting an option for a team. I like all of my grades at one point and it's very easy once I get the code down. I also like how you can directly send emails from the app to teachers.
What do you dislike?
You have many bugs and you will find it hard to manage before you get used to them. Blackboard can be streamlined so that students can navigate more quickly. In the first week of classes, that's a major complaint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There is a possibility to link Microsoft Outlook to Blackboard and to send each individual an e-mail by selecting send to the class to send a complete class an e-mail. This is a very useful choice for classes with large numbers of students. It makes it easier for students to keep track of their grades, it also improves student-teacher communication.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great platform with a large number of students for institutions. Firstly, it's a little difficult to use but don't be afraid to use it.


    Sandy G.

Student Friendly and Somewhat Easy to Administer

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how I can preview what students will see on their side. I love how easy it is to create assignments and ability to organize the grade center.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how it is difficult to navigate issues, technology accessibility concerns on blackboard meeting, and having too many options or tools that I don't understand how to use without a tutorial.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to teach more students who would otherwise not attend class. I do love how students with social anxiety can interact with others and still feel comfortable.


    Arabele T.

Excellent for college students.

  • July 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
They contact me sometimes and I know that BlackBoard is closed for some time ( usually a couple of hours overnight) so that they can update them. As a consequence, BlackBoard has never been ineffective and can still be used. For my entire college career I used BlackBoard and it was never a problem. The best aspect of Blackboard has to be to quickly fulfill the mission, to know that it is delivered and to be able to use resources such as SafeLearn, which can see how well the work blends in with another person's work.
What do you dislike?
I guess the only thing that I don't like about Blackboard is that you can't change it too much. I'm on the internet for several hours most days and I want my backdrop to be more than just a few bland colors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I complete my online classes via BlackBoard. I'll do my talk posts, my quizzes, my grades, I'm able to directly mail my teacher from BlackBoard and much more. BlackBoard advantage is that everyone is in one spot. It is certainly user-friendly, since Blackboard makes it fairly easy to check your grades and contact teachers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want more tools to encourage students to achieve the best possible outcome, Blackboard is an choice. Please contact the support team if you have any problems with BlackBoard. They are highly effective and supportive.


    Higher Education

Great Organized View of Courses with Compass through Blackboard

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how organized my classes are through blackboard. I can view all of classes and their syllabi, assignments, grades, and other content posted from professors. I can also submit assignments and post comments.
What do you dislike?
I have not had any issues with blackboard. Your courses and their content disappear after they end, but this I think can be changed so that they do not.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to have a place where all of my classes and their content can be posted in an organized way and viewed.


    Higher Education

BlackBoard Review

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is a user friendly product. It is utilized by both students and instructors. It provides easy communication and grading for education. There is always an app the provides convenient, on the go usage.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the browser, blackboard occasionally does not adjust to fit.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard allows students to submit work for the professor to grade, allows professors to upload important documentation for students, and organize class information. It allows both students and professors to remain on track for the course and share vital information.


    Higher Education

Brilliant Blackboard

  • July 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard has made learning easy. Whether, in-class or e-learning, it provides a wonderful tool to share content and lecture notes, that can enhance a student learning experience.
What do you dislike?
It can cause major technical issues such as website not functioning properly or the app crashing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving the problem of learning remotely. The major benefit is of having asynchronous classrooms as well as incorporating other tools like Panapto into the software. It thus enables for clear communication of goals and objectives to the students besides also making the learning interactive,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a wonderful software if you are in Higher Education or in education business