Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc. | 3700.14.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Xenial Xerus 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

697 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vladimir M.

Using Blackboard in class to maximize student performance

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the best that each class can be divided into subcategories (teams) and that those are linked together. When there is a team assignment, there is not need for a teacher to input all the grades individually, it can be done automatically selecting a team option.
What do you dislike?
Blackboard could be simplified so that it is easier for students to navigate. That is a major complain in the first week of classes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In order to send a whole class an email, there is an option to link Microsoft Outlook to Blackboard and send everyone an email by selecting send to the class. This option is very helpful with classes that have a large volume of students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent platform for schools with large volume of students.


    Education Management

CWI Blackboard

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked being able to open up the software and the way that the layout was set up for each of my college classes. It made it super simple to navigate.
What do you dislike?
That it was always undergoing maintenance. It was never just consistent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I learned to check my email more frequently to make sure that it was not going under maintenance, and to always log out completely so that it reset when logging in.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just to do the software updates around like 3am to 5am so that students can do homework and assignments


    Education Management

Blackboard - the OG educational technology company

  • November 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Blackboard Learn is the user interface, it is SO simple and clear, unlike other similar educational organizational companies, it does not attempt to "over-simplify" the process.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how the login process currently takes you through a Microsoft online login page.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard is streamlining the way for Professors and Teachers all over the school communicate with the student, we are no longer getting hundreds of calls about "lost" messages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
10/10 would recommend using Blackboard over similar services because it really is the easiest.


    Higher Education

Awesome To Use During College

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
BlackBoard is constantly being worked on. Every once in a while they'll send me an email and make sure I'm aware that BlackBoard is shut down for a certain amount of time (usually a few hours during the night), so that they can do updates. Because of this, BlackBoard has never glitched for me and is always easy to use. I have been using BlackBoard for my entire college career and it has never been a hassle.
What do you dislike?
I think the only part of BlackBoard I dislike is the fact that you can't customize it too much. I'm on the page several hours most days and I would like if I had the option to choose more than just a few boring colors as my background.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My online classes are completely through BlackBoard. I do my discussion posts on there, my quizzes, I can view my grades, I can email my professor directly through BlackBoard and much more. The benefit of BlackBoard is that everything is in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you ever have any issues with using BlackBoard, reach out to the support team, which is usually your University's Tech Center. They are extremely knowledgable and helpful.


    Maria H.

Easy to Use

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature of Blackboard has to be the instant gratification of completing an assignment, knowing it’s turned in, and being able to use tools like SafeLearn, which searches to see how much of your work matches the work of another.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike about Blackboard is the server itself - there are issues with connectivity and it shutting down regularly throughout the year.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard makes checking your grades and connecting with professors fairly simple, it is definitively user-friendly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want something that has more tools to enable students the best possible outcome for education, Blackboard over Canva any day.


    E-Learning

Blackboard: Easy for Students

  • November 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and easy to communicate with peers and teachers
What do you dislike?
The app is slow and does not work well, other learning tools at other universities allow you to calculate your final grade and blackboard does not offer this feature
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard learn has benefitted my education by allowing me to take quizzes and homework online, creating a space for communication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It’s a great tool to use and allows students to further engage in learning. It creates a space for assignments, powerpoints, and syllabi to all be in one area.


    Education Management

Blackboard, despite some crashes, is a software I would recommend.

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is useful for many purposes. Although I am not a current user, I used the software daily for four years and had little issues with it. It makes it easy to see notifications and grades. Additionally, the mobile app is a great asset! It has all the features the online version does, but makes it easy to see as you're on the go. I did not discover the mobile app until my last year of using Blackboard, and now I tell everyone who uses it to get it!
What do you dislike?
Blackboard experienced crashes fairly often when I used it. It would crash at random, inconvenient times and hinder anyone from using it. These crashes were unexpected and obviously not conducive to a work environment. If there were a way to fix those, I would give Blackboard a 10/10. However, the crashes came about once every other month, so I rate it a 9/10.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard makes it easy and convenient to relay important learning information to hundreds of individuals from one source. This allows for easy, clear communication all across the board. It is also easy to collaborate with others on Blackboard through the Groups pages and Discussion pages, saving time and bolstering efficiency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this software to others. I think it is efficient and solid. However, it does experience crashes that come at random times, so I recommend being prepared for that.


    Patricia H.

Works well, good interface

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system works well. It is used friendly and you are able to find what you need. The app works well also and is a convenient way to look at things on the go.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the site is down randomly which can cause disruption to the day.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Communicating and posting updates for the group.


    Rachel F.

Blackboard is accessible for all

  • November 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to maneuver the site and find what I am looking for.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the website goes down unexpectedly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is easier to view documents on this website
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely is a great site to use when wanting to view documents and communicate about them.


    Alexis L.

Student

  • November 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has everything. My classes, grades,communication options.
What do you dislike?
When clicking on the red number on notifications, it doesn't always go away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not having to be in class or on campus to do schoolwork and communicate with my teachers/classmates.