Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Blackboard Learn for REST and LTI Developers

Blackboard Inc. | 3800.19.0. SaaS

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Xenial Xerus 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

730 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Amit S.

The new learning platform for students

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used blackboard both as a student and as a grader and I love the ease and convenience it provides. As a student, I like how I can go through my lecture notes, assignments, exams, and grades all in one place. As a grader, it's convenient to just open the grading center and easily grade all the students. Overall, an excellent product in the field of education.
What do you dislike?
The one thing I didn't like about Blackboard was its not so impressive UI. It's sometimes not as responsive and interactive as I would like it to be. Also, from a grader perspective, it would be great if a few exam proctoring actions are added to this platform to improve the exam conducting capabilities of this application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard learn provides all in one platform to the students for a course. Also, it's an excellent platform for instructors to host all the class materials. Other benefits all include integration with meeting hosting services such as zoom which makes taking a class online very simple.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can consider looking into blackboard learn but should also look into alternatives also.


    Summer W.

Not always easy to use - can be glitchy

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Streamlines education, especially during a time when nearly every university is operating virtually.
What do you dislike?
Could be a fluke on my end, but I find the program glitches often and doesn’t display tasks/information correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Eases the stress of online university, for both professor and student.


    Nicole K.

I love Blackboard Learn

  • October 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a valuable method for keeping up with the activities in class. This is a one-stop shop for assignments, seminars and contact with teachers and student colleagues. The layout of the course is simple and easy to use. I like how teachers can break classes and divide them with students into sub-categories. When assigning an option to a squad, no instructor has to attend any class separately. Both my reviews I like to see on the website.
What do you dislike?
The design isn't really intuitive, you just need to know what the board is looking for. It becomes very confusing and causes training and assignment issues when not tagged. Without a guide, I don't understand how to use so many choices or services. I like whiteboards interactive solutions. You have a lot of bugs, and before you get used to them, it's tough.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard has been instrumental in addressing students' logistical challenges and offering resources to keep on plan. It makes managing and enhancing communication with students and teachers simpler for students. The whiteboard helps you to attach Microsoft Outlook and any person can send an e-mail to a class sending an electronic mail. The notification system will give me a warning when teachers start something new relevant to their course, so I don't miss something.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Effective educational forum for many pupils. It is a little difficult to use, since the learning curve of the framework is very steep, but I would recommend that you do not care about using it, as it is complete. If you're new to it, take a Blackboard walk. Get the choices and easy walking.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Blackboard

  • September 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When I used this program, back when I was a student, It was a handy tool to keep up with what was goin gon in class. It was a one stop shop for homework, taped lectures, and communication with the professors as well as the other students.
What do you dislike?
The interface was not very intuitive, you really had to know your way around blackboard to find exactly what you were looking for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blackboard helped resolve organizational problems for students an provided us with tools to stay ahead of upcoming deadlines.


    Sophia B.

Great online learning platform, makes the job easier.

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The structure of the course is clear, and easy to navigate. Involved in no difficulty. I like the way I can see what the students can see from your hand. I enjoy the ease of setting up tasks and organizing the Grade Centre. The class can be divided into sub-categories and bonded. No teacher needs to join each class individually when a team is assigned to pick an alternative. I like students having all their grades on the website as it's really easy to write the code. I like to know how to send e-mails directly from the app to the students.
What do you dislike?
Instructors have a different perspective and are often confused on their part, particularly in regulating what should and should not be seen by students. When it's not labelled it gets a little messy generating problems for testing and assignments. I don't like whiteboard accessibility technologies and without a guide, I don't understand how to use too many choices or resources. You have a lot of mistakes and it is difficult to handle them until you get used to them. Blackboard can be designed to make navigation easier for learners. In the first week of school this is a major concern.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Send in assignments for all online courses that I take. It's a gale. It's also helpful to track and set goals for the courses. If something new relating to the course is released, the notification system alerts, so that I don't miss something. That is a very useful alternative for classes with a large number of students. It makes monitoring their degrees easier for students, and enhances contact between students and teachers. You can connect Microsoft Outlook to the whiteboard and each person can send an email by selecting to send an email to the class to send an entire class.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Successful educational forum that has a large number of students. Using it first is a little hard but don't be afraid to use it. Having said that, I would suggest adding this software as it is complete. Take a Blackboard tour, if you're new to it. Get comfortable walking around and the options.


    Kimberly C.

Robust platform.

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Enables people to be understood. It offers a marvelous resource for students to exchange knowledge and class notes, whether in school or online. I like the structure of my classes at all times. All classes, syllabs, assignments, grades and other content posted by teachers can be viewed by the students. Tasks and comments can also be applied. At any time throughout the semester I like that students are able to monitor their performance and receive feedback on assignments and tests.
What do you dislike?
I got no aversion. I have found Blackboard to be the best solution to meet students and teachers requirements compared to other learning management systems. It could, however, also cause important technical problems, such as web failure or application blockage. I believe that after they're done, your courses and your material disappear.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can remain accessible to my students by using the BlackBoard and make continuous learning easier for my students at times. The LMS is slick and simple to create content and users. BlackBoard Ultra, one of its newer features, comes with enhanced features. I'm addressing the distance learning problem. The main advantage is the integration of asynchronous classrooms and other devices such as Panapto in the app. It enables the clear communication of student goals and goals as well as making the learning interactive. All my courses and contents should be published and coordinated.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The LMS of choice would be highly recommended by me. It is a user-friendly platform both for professors and for students. It's a wonderful software, if you're in higher education or education. I recommend adding this system.


    Tushar A.

Teaching organization made easy

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Course organization is simple, easy to navigate. No complexity involved.
What do you dislike?
Instructors have a different view and often gets confusing on their end especially in controls what students should see and what not to. Gets a little mess, while creating questions for quizzes and assignments when not tagged.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Submitting assignments for all the courses that I’m taking online. It’s a breeze. Monitor and setting goals for the courses is a helpful too. Notification system alerts if anything new is posted related to course, so that I don’t miss anything.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When this software comes with school, login are the school email credentials. Always take a tour of bblearn if you’re new to it. Make yourself comfortable with navigating around and the options.


    Susan M.

Excellent online learning platform.

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how I can see from your side what students will see. I appreciate how easy it is to set up tasks and coordinate the Grade Center. You can separate and bind the class into sub-categories. No teacher needs to enter each class individually when selecting an option for a team when a team is assigned. I like students seeing all their grades on the platform, as they write the code it's very easy. I like to know how to send e-mails directly to students from the app.
What do you dislike?
I don't like how difficult it is to navigate the problems, the accessibility of technology on blackboards, and I don't understand how to use too many options or tools without a tutorial. You have a lot of bugs, and before you get used to them it is difficult to manage them. Blackboard can be designed to make it easier for students to navigate. This is a major complaint in the first week of classes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I may teach additional students not attending a class otherwise. I love how socially anxious students interact and still feel comfortable with other people. Microsoft Outlook can be connected to the blackboard and each person can send an email by selecting to send an e-mail to the class to send a complete class. For classes with a large number of students, this is a very useful choice. It facilitates students tracking their degrees and improves communication between students and teachers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great platform for institutions with a large number of students. It's a bit hard to use first, but don't be afraid to use it. This being said, I would suggest that this program be introduced as it's completed.


    Braxton T.

User friendly platform.

  • August 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard made it easier for people to understand. Whether it is in the classroom or online, it offers a wonderful resource that helps students to exchange knowledge and class notes. I like how my classes are structured throughout. All classes and programs, tasks, grades and other content published by professors can be viewed by students. They are also able to apply tasks and comment.
What do you dislike?
It may also cause significant technical difficulties, such as not working the web properly or crashing the application. I think their courses and material will vanish once they have finished.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I tackle the problem of remote learning. The key benefit is asynchronous classrooms and other devices like Panapto are built into the app. In addition to making learning interactive, it enables clear communication of student objectives and objectives. I should have a place to publish and coordinate all my courses and their contents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in higher education or educational businesses, it's a wonderful software. I propose that this framework be introduced.


    La-Tonya D.

Blackboard is an ideal LMS

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Blackboard is an ideal Learning Management System (LMS) that meets all of my academic needs. Some of the features that I enjoy most are, the ability to store
a reasonable amount content (i.e. Powerpoint lectures, assignments, files, videos). Through the use of Blackboard i am also able to create an inviting virtual space to enhance student engagement via the Discussion Board tool. I often use the discussion feature to introduce relevant course content that may also be controversial. I have found that this is the best way to engage students.

Additionally, it is a useful LMS for the facilitation of assessments (e.g. tests and quizzes) and it integrates seamlessly with third party content providers (e.g Cengage, Pearson).

Students have shared that they like that they are able to monitor their performance at anytime during the semester and they are able to receive feedback on assignments and quizzes immediately.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any dislikes. Compared with other learning management systems I have found Blackboard to be the best in meeting both student and professor needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Through the use of Blackboard I am able to remain accessible to students and facilitate continual learning at times that are most convenient for my learners. The LMS has a sleek design and is easy for content creators and users alike. One of its newest features, BlackBoard Ultra, comes with enhanced features. The one that I enjoy the most is Collaborate because it allows for a virtual meeting space within the Blackboard environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend Blackboard as the LMS of choice. It is an easy to use platform enjoyed by both faculty and students alike.