Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef Automate (BYOL)

Chef | 1.8.85

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

39 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

Easy to deploy with Chef

  • August 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have build the scripts which makes it very easy to deploy with Chef.
What do you dislike?
If something goes wrong its not easy to debug
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All our deployments are with Chef now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it.


    Consumer Services

Chef Configuration Management tool

  • April 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our client uses Chef to deploy new code in an automated fashion. We also use it to update existing configurations and push those changes in an automated fashion to large groups of servers. Having the ability to deploy simple or full system changes out to a large group of servers with little human interaction has been a game changer for our company allowing us to deploy at scale and grow our infrastructure as our company grows.
What do you dislike?
It is very complex tool and The Chef-client agent needs to be run on the nodes frequently to update the details of it state to master. And also to index the nodes based on tags.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Chef is really great when teams are attempting to migrate over from legacy systems. In our case, it was a switch over from AIX to Linux. Thus, it was a great opportunity to use Chef to build out deployment cookbooks that could then be used win order to set up the new servers in preparation for the upgrade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, Centralized Configuration Management; Chef really excels at that as it provides a wide range of features that are well thought of, such as data bags, encrypted data bags, roles, shared repositories, cookbooks versioning, environment locking..etc


    Aiman N.

A Great Configuration Management tool

  • November 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Great centralized features: data bags (central data storage), encrypted data bags, restricting script (cookbook) version on given nodes...etc.
- Amazing ruby-based syntax. This what makes Chef my preferred configuration management tool over other tools that use their own DSL. You can always use Ruby directly for complex tasks
- Open source: Chef has an open source version that does not lack important features
- Ability to test your Chef scripts (recipes and cookbooks) using automated InSpec tests
What do you dislike?
- There is some learning curve involved, but it's worth it
- It might be an overkill for simple automations
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automates compute nodes configuration, so solves problems like: environment inconsistencies, speed up deploying new nodes, ..etc


    Computer Software

Cooking with infrastructure as code

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Once you're familiar with Chef, it's a very powerful tool for ensuring that your servers are all provisioned in the exact same way, and committing those choices to source control. There is a fairly active open source, and a lot of community cookbooks already exist for common tasks.
What do you dislike?
Reasonably challenging to get up and running with, especially if you aren't coming from a Ruby background. The documentation lags somewhat and I occasionally found myself digging into source code to understand a behavior.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating and standardizing server configuration. Reducing the number of errors that arise from server configuration drift.


    Earl W.

Automation meets DevOps

  • April 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works on most platforms windows and Linux many flavors. Robust offering
What do you dislike?
Server head must be Linux. Not a bad thing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server build similar to Desired State
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A proven leader in Automation software


    setu s.

Repeatable Infrastructure has been made easy

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IT infrastructure can be saved /reused as when required. Less time to create infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Difficult to learn the language for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Faster time to market
2) Less human error
3) Robust infrastrcuture


    Information Technology and Services

Chef to automate your infra

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to understand, configure the management of your infrastructure
What do you dislike?
available documentation is less as compare to other tools,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we need to deploy a software developed by our developer, our infrastructure is very complex with different OS, environment, DBs, explorers, with the help of CHEF we did this within stipulated time without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to learn, implement, configure, distribute over the landscape, Ruby is the main attraction, can cook the best food for you with its available cookbooks for your infrastructure to automate


    Food & Beverages

Exective chef at a university

  • December 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to feed people with simpe ingrednts
What do you dislike?
At times the lack of knowdgle of the time it takes to make a dish
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Meeting food cost
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not at this time


    Phil A.

Longtime user and fan of Chef

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Chef DK allows you to have a full CI/CD workflow for your infrastructure as code. With chef you can stick to the community cookbooks and boilerplate resources or you can make it do anything you like with raw ruby.
What do you dislike?
As everyone says it can be a bit daunting to get started. Most new development seems to be targeted at enterprises.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Chef, there's no excuse not to have your entire infrastructure as code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's worth spending a bit more time up front to understand the product than you might with other configuration management solutions. The benefit is much more power and a massive community.


    Christopher M.

Chef'ing up Liferay

  • November 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like chef because it uses DSL for configuration instead of XML, Rackspace supports it very well, etc. However the absolute best thing about Chef is the concept of recipes where you can get your platform up and configured extremely easily if that platform has a chef recipe. In addition most large platforms do have chef recipes so it's great! Also, I like that it;s open source
What do you dislike?
Some of the things i dislike about chef, and this might jkust be a criticism of configuration management in general, is that you need pretty much a full team to support it. Sometimes I feel like it adds more complexity instead of kless.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest issue we are solving with Chef is the knowledge gap that exists in new employees when first learning out platforms. previous it would take months for new developers to become effective because they spend several months fighting with the platform, build tools, etc. Chef makes this much less of a hassle
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn it well before you try to incorporate it in your enterprise