Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Heimdall Proxy Standard Edition

Heimdall Data | 20.07.10.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

12 AWS reviews

    Zach Lorimer

AD Credentials on Aurora PostgreSQL

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall Data solved a problem I had with using AD credentials in Aurora PostgreSQL without Kerberos. Their support is amazing and would bend over backwards to make sure everything was perfect. I can't recommend this product enough.


    Steve

Very useful

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall is definitely worth your time to check out, and by using this AMI you can get right into testing and bypass all the tedious procurement red tape that's weighing on the back of your mind right now. It's a very cool technology with a lot of potential. It can eliminate downtime from failover events. You can use it to greatly improve performance on many kinds of SQL queries, shrink your AWS footprint, or cut back on high DBMS licensing costs. The performance and analytics tools are very handy and the SQL firewall adds a lot of flexibility for tightening up security. Setup is pretty straightforward and their team is very helpful and responsive through the whole process. It's not quite a 1 size fits all solution but they've done a very good job with it and it will work great across a wide variety of environments.


    Bruce Bundeali

Great Service

  • March 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had the pleasure of working with the Heimdall Team. The product help with a flawless event. In 2019 we experienced a very large spike on the RDS Server causing the site to become unavailable for a 2 hour period.

We implemented the Heimdal Proxy in 2020 and our RDS server did not peak above 4% during the entire event. We have since lowered the size of the RDS instance which has lowered our overall AWS cost by $1600 per month.


    Georg

Good Solution

  • February 27, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Our mysql based saas plattform has its peak periods in november and december.

We realised in the middle of the year that we would need to integrate read-write splitting in order to be able to cope with the expected traffic on our systems without totally oversizing our MySQL aurora setup. The task turned out to be not as easy and a quick turn around in achieving this would not be possible.

Heimdall enabled read write splitting and thus enabled us to downscale the aurora instance sizes by 50% and at the same time we had the "elasticity" in the reader databases scaling in and out to cover peak periods.

The added benefit came in the query caching with elastic ache redis which drastically speeded up the responsiveness of the system. This was a real Bonus of the Heimdall System.

We now have 2 Heimdall Proxies managed by a worker (controller).

Analysing the cost benefits of the system we can break it down as follows:
- Decreased aurora cost by nearly 40%
- Increased cost of the Heimdall cluster, network loadbalancer, extra redis cache

I would say we are now running at 15% less total cost but have the huge burden of read write splitting solved, plus the advantages gained of the query cache in Redis.

The company also provides excellent support as the setup especially when you go to the clustermode to achieve high availability, is not that easy. They helped us all the way! You really feel that they are experts in their domain.

Overall – I highly recommend the software if you need a quick fix to read write splitting.


    Kenneth

I have used Heimdall Data in Two Production Environments

  • January 22, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall Data Access Platform Results

Example One: Production Database Dependent BioTech Application

In implementing the Heimdall Data Access platform I observed that transactions went from 7 minutes to 0.7 minutes for an interactive search that was dependent on an expert user waiting for results to proceed to the next search criteria.
These experts were very frustrated with previous performance and it was costly to have them wait on any delay as they were attempting to search through great quantities of criteria or “attributes”.

The search function had become the bottleneck in their processing of these attributes and was threatening the agility of finding “good data” for future research areas.

This performance improvement was as follows.

• Performance as the Time that it is Faster(times10):10x"
• Performance as the Percentage increase in Performance:900%
• Performance as a Reduction in Time calculation:90.00%


Example Two: Production Database Dependent Pharmaceutical Application

In implementing the Heimdall Data Access platform I observed that transactions went from 1306 ms to 80 ms for optimized queries. This also was the remediation of a Connection Pooling due to saturation issue that was periodically occurring in the environment.

The saturation issue was sporadic enough that the root cause had been elusive to determine before Heimdall was implemented. This remediation also addressed capacity planning that was currently in process that was going to be expensive to scale out to solve.

• Performance as the Time that it is Faster(times16.3):16.3x
• Performance as the Percentage increase in Performance:1532%
• Performance as a Reduction in Time calculation:93.87%


    Mario Veltini

Really powerful tool.

  • September 27, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

“The Heimdall proxy gave us both AWS cost savings and technical benefits. With automated caching, we reduced our RDS instance in half as SQL traffic was offloaded. The proxy's web interface was simple yet powerful. It had the functionality you needed to control queries (e.g. routing, stack trace, triggers). Installation through the AWS Marketplace was simple with a couple of clicks. The configuration was quick and easy due to the AWS Configuration Wizard.

We experienced a query response improvement of 347% and the database time saved was 78% and for some queries we had a cache hit ratio of 83%! Fantastic! One of the key benefits was that we did not have to change one line of code. We simply changed our software’s connection string to point to the Heimdall proxy and then immediately saw a reduction in RDS resources consumption!

The support team was very responsive and they were very knowledgable to assist you until the problem was resolved.”


    Spencer Mahaffey

Great Software/Easy to implement/Huge performance boost with no code changes

  • September 12, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We moved a small genomics Java based website to AWS and wanted to implement SQL caching and Read/Write splitting for the database that we had migrated to Aurora MySQL Compatible. Heimdall Data allowed us to do both with no code changes in an afternoon and our overall page loading performance improved 93% over a 2 week testing period. Support reached out during our trial and provided very useful guidance on how best to implement a solution that would work for us. Great software and great support that has allowed us to improve performance and focus on developing new features not changes to support caching and read/write splitting.


    TBowe

Heimdall Data --> a hidden gem!

  • June 01, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We learned about Heimdall Data while looking for an easy-to-integrate caching solution for our Java application. We were having some growing pains with lots of new customers and we weren't ready for the higher volumes. We knew we had to do something - fast! To our surprise, implementing Heimdall was easy. We didn't have to do any code changes to our application to take advantage of their technology.

We deployed Heimdall Data to our production environment on AWS and soon starting seeing ~80% cache hit rates! We immediately noticed an improvement in response times and the load on the database was substantially lower. We have been running Heimdall Data in production for over 6 months and have had great results helping us scale without having to hire a DBA or increase AWS hardware specs ($$).

Other positives - Heimdall has a very good reporting system which provides monitoring and analytics of database queries. This helps identify any issues and optimize our database queries. In addition Heimdall provides very good support. They have very good expertise on AWS and some of their advice helped improve performance of our product.

I highly recommend them!


    Craig S. Connell

Easy to get started with good performance

  • December 19, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We implemented Heimdall primarily as a caching layer in front of both a standard PostgreSQL datastore as well as an Apache HAWQ datastore. It was very easy to get set up and get started. It was reasonably well integrated with AWS which made the initial configuration much easier. This was a very easy way for us to get started testing Heimdall on something more than a local database.


    Brian

Great Product

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We were very glad to find Heimdall Data and eventually implement their product. Their platform handles the caching layer for database queries, among many other things. The only comparable solution we came across in the market is Pgpool, but Heimdall Data has proven to be in a class of its own.

Pgpool handles connection pooling, read/write splitting, and manual caching, However, it is all manual and requires code changes. Pgpool also does not support SELECT FOR UPDATE and several other options we found readily available through Heimdall Data.

We first tested Pgpool and very quickly realized that it would require extensive work to update, maintain and scale. When we began testing with Heimdall Data we were able to see huge improvements in load testing very quickly due to its automation. We were able to increase our test throughput about 5-7x what original performance tests had shown. We continued to test and learned all about the rules engine, explain plans, and analytics which allowed us to quickly identify several places for optimization. We could easily see query response sizes, response times, and query count, among others.

Heimdall data has allowed us to see into the database queries and transaction times on both the application and Amazon Aurora. The level of monitoring and analytics that Heimdall Data provides allowed us to find and identify issues that only a seasoned DBA would be able to gather previously.

We deployed Heimdall Data to our production environment and have been seeing between 60-70% cache hit rate overall. Immediately we noticed an improvement in response times and the benefit of our application and database load being reduced greatly. We have been running Heimdall Data in production for over 2 months and have had great results. This has been an invaluable tool for helping us scale and allowing us to keep resources low.

Overall, We have been very satisfied with Heimdall Data and can highly recommend it.