Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Heimdall Proxy Standard Edition

Heimdall Data | 22.08.01.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

17 AWS reviews

    Matt Harbers

Heimdall Helps You Scale

  • October 12, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall's database proxy immediately solved a scaling issue without any code changes, which is a huge plus. It was easy to set up and contains a lot of options and features to fine tune for your specific need. They also provide very quick support with helpful suggestions on how to add redundancy and scalability to the proxy itself.

The query analyzer tool has also helped us further optimize our platform by easily identifying problem areas without additional integration. The entire installation took less than a day from signing up to finished implementation.

All of this at very competitive pricing.


    Hayden

Powerful product and great support

  • October 09, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall's SQL-aware read/write splitting enabled us to use read replicas in our Aurora cluster very quickly with no application code changes required. Also their technical support spent a generous amount of time helping us get the configuration right for our use case. Thank you!


    Crisanto Estipular

Awesome Support and Flexibility

  • February 10, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall Data are really great it gives you flexibility on the configurations and reduces overhead on our databases. Our application improves a lot thanks to heimdall. Support are quick and they are very helpful big thumbs up to Heimdall Data Support.


    Mohammed Abderlasoul

it's awesome product

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall proxy reduces the number of back-end connections to Amazon RDS saves resources and improves database scale! The Heimdall proxy can reduce connections at a 1000:1 ratio. as well as they have great support. keep it up, guys 👍👍


    mo

first it its class

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Heimdall team was great to work with! The caching, pooling, console interface, everything about this software puts it into a league of its own. Definitely plenty of value!


    Zach Lorimer

AD Credentials on Aurora PostgreSQL

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall Data solved a problem I had with using AD credentials in Aurora PostgreSQL without Kerberos. Their support is amazing and would bend over backwards to make sure everything was perfect. I can't recommend this product enough.


    Steve

Very useful

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall is definitely worth your time to check out, and by using this AMI you can get right into testing and bypass all the tedious procurement red tape that's weighing on the back of your mind right now. It's a very cool technology with a lot of potential. It can eliminate downtime from failover events. You can use it to greatly improve performance on many kinds of SQL queries, shrink your AWS footprint, or cut back on high DBMS licensing costs. The performance and analytics tools are very handy and the SQL firewall adds a lot of flexibility for tightening up security. Setup is pretty straightforward and their team is very helpful and responsive through the whole process. It's not quite a 1 size fits all solution but they've done a very good job with it and it will work great across a wide variety of environments.


    Bruce Bundeali

Great Service

  • March 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had the pleasure of working with the Heimdall Team. The product help with a flawless event. In 2019 we experienced a very large spike on the RDS Server causing the site to become unavailable for a 2 hour period.

We implemented the Heimdal Proxy in 2020 and our RDS server did not peak above 4% during the entire event. We have since lowered the size of the RDS instance which has lowered our overall AWS cost by $1600 per month.


    Georg

Good Solution

  • February 27, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Our mysql based saas plattform has its peak periods in november and december.

We realised in the middle of the year that we would need to integrate read-write splitting in order to be able to cope with the expected traffic on our systems without totally oversizing our MySQL aurora setup. The task turned out to be not as easy and a quick turn around in achieving this would not be possible.

Heimdall enabled read write splitting and thus enabled us to downscale the aurora instance sizes by 50% and at the same time we had the "elasticity" in the reader databases scaling in and out to cover peak periods.

The added benefit came in the query caching with elastic ache redis which drastically speeded up the responsiveness of the system. This was a real Bonus of the Heimdall System.

We now have 2 Heimdall Proxies managed by a worker (controller).

Analysing the cost benefits of the system we can break it down as follows:
- Decreased aurora cost by nearly 40%
- Increased cost of the Heimdall cluster, network loadbalancer, extra redis cache

I would say we are now running at 15% less total cost but have the huge burden of read write splitting solved, plus the advantages gained of the query cache in Redis.

The company also provides excellent support as the setup especially when you go to the clustermode to achieve high availability, is not that easy. They helped us all the way! You really feel that they are experts in their domain.

Overall – I highly recommend the software if you need a quick fix to read write splitting.


    Kenneth

I have used Heimdall Data in Two Production Environments

  • January 22, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Heimdall Data Access Platform Results

Example One: Production Database Dependent BioTech Application

In implementing the Heimdall Data Access platform I observed that transactions went from 7 minutes to 0.7 minutes for an interactive search that was dependent on an expert user waiting for results to proceed to the next search criteria.
These experts were very frustrated with previous performance and it was costly to have them wait on any delay as they were attempting to search through great quantities of criteria or “attributes”.

The search function had become the bottleneck in their processing of these attributes and was threatening the agility of finding “good data” for future research areas.

This performance improvement was as follows.

• Performance as the Time that it is Faster(times10):10x"
• Performance as the Percentage increase in Performance:900%
• Performance as a Reduction in Time calculation:90.00%


Example Two: Production Database Dependent Pharmaceutical Application

In implementing the Heimdall Data Access platform I observed that transactions went from 1306 ms to 80 ms for optimized queries. This also was the remediation of a Connection Pooling due to saturation issue that was periodically occurring in the environment.

The saturation issue was sporadic enough that the root cause had been elusive to determine before Heimdall was implemented. This remediation also addressed capacity planning that was currently in process that was going to be expensive to scale out to solve.

• Performance as the Time that it is Faster(times16.3):16.3x
• Performance as the Percentage increase in Performance:1532%
• Performance as a Reduction in Time calculation:93.87%