Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica BYOL, Amazon Linux

Micro Focus | 10.0.1-2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ujjwal Kumar G.

Wonderful experience with the scalable data warehouse

  • August 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Elasticity, Use of S3 as the storage, simple to use interface for monitoring and management.
What do you dislike?
Lack of in-built load balancing for vertical cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Querying large amount of data quickly and effectively by multiple users simultaneously.


    Financial Services

Review on Vertica Technology

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best about Vertica is it has 99.99% availability and 100% consistency. It has got powerful tools like Vertica Backup and Restore utility which helps recover single table or schema or cluster from past backup images. The most admirable is its K Safe Feature due to which it helps maintain the consistency among the nodes. If a node goes down it does automatic sync as well. It also has Database Designer which will help you tune your SQLs and suggest optimized projections. To add icing to the case it has management console its GUI interface as well which helps you monitor multiple clusters using the same GUI . It has got nice online support as well in case of issues.
The incidents of cluster down specifically to the projects I support had gone down 100% . If one node goes down still due to Ksafe feature your entire cluster remains up and available to the business. Over all on personal grounds a very reliable and useful products that any Organization can rely on.
Note : This is my genuine personal opinion only for the product I have worked hence the candid feedback.
What do you dislike?
About its upgrade path and just supporting 1 release backward compatibility if you upgrade your cluster.
Also cross environment restores for the cluster having different names but same nodes restores should be made possible that are having different names. So entire snap can be restored.
Note : This is my genuine personal opinion only for the product I have worked hence the candid feedback.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
100% cluster availability issue is resolved. Maintenance down time is reduced. Also business functions are executing per expectations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Over all a good product worth it for the money you spent.


    Jitender T.

A Good Columnar DB solution for analytics needs

  • August 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar storage, Various inbuilt optimization and performance improvement techniques.
What do you dislike?
Support for complex data types isn't too mature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analytics and reporting needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good columnar DB solution with optimized reads and performance improvement capabilities for queries.


    Maja P.

Very fast and scalable analytical RDBMS.

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is fast analytical distributed DBMS. This kind of architecture, which enables parallel processing, gives scalability through concurrent loading and querying data while also ensuring data availability in case of node failure. Also, it uses advanced encoding and compression structures which ensure saving storage space - significant feature in the world of data warehouse.
Personally, I consider that the best feature Vertica provide is it's completeness , which gives the user many possibilities through in-database developed funcionallities, and integration with other systems and tools, the different ones regarding loading data as well as the ones using data for analytics.
What do you dislike?
Regarding of memory consumption during query execution, Vertica requires substantial amount of prior techical knowledge to write memory-optimized queries. This includes knowledge about Vertica specifics, i.e. projections, encoding, resource pools. On the other side, when one improves his technical expertise, Vertica is by far the best choice of analytical database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica helped us solved the problem of loading vast amounts of data through ETL tools because it enabled us to create concurrent loading streams thanks to it's distributed architecture.
Also, Vertica in a very easy manner, enables integration not only with ETL tools, but also with visualization or tools regarding streaming data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is excellent when company has huge amounts of data, concurrent loading streams and extended needs for data visualisation and reporting. When learning more about tehnical concept and structures, one sees all the more possibilities this DBMS offers for the support of various bussiness cases.


    Raghav A.

Vertica amazing product and exciting toolset for DW and Analystics platform

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Troubleshooting on vertica platform is quite easy and it provides very detailed information as well about the insights what vertica is doing inside its database.

Tools and functions available to perform Analytics and handle Warehouse tasks are good.
What do you dislike?
Internal debugging documentation is one area which needs improvement
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use vertica for Store once and read more. Mostly helpful for warehousing tasks


    Banking

Likelihood to Recommend

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's Columnar and It's Analytical functions.
What do you dislike?
I Hate to manage it at Projection level.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am managing a DWH and analytical reports on DWH. It has very good speed and beautiful data management functions.


    Retail

Great product!

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Administration and Management, flexible scalability, variety of data types.
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind. It looks very good overall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It addresses pretty much all; structured and no-structured data. It has high scalability and all kind of connectors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product!


    Robert R.

Vertica for enterprise data warehouse

  • March 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Super fast when queries are optimized. Excellent support.
What do you dislike?
You must take care for lot of details for optimized use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We integrated data from various transaction systems and Vertica made it possible on very efficient way. It has very good integration with Informatica Power center as etl tool and with IBM Cognos and Tableau as reporting tools.
Vertica has excellent support and you can always find lot of resources on their web site.

I would recommend for data warehouse database if you have lot of data and many parallel users. It has very good user management for managing database resources across users in organisation. It also allows integration with active directory.

It has lot of embedded analytic functions but if it is needed you can build your own functions using Python or other programming languages.

It is scalable so if your data grows you can easily extent storage and processing power.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica is one of best analytics databases.


    Eva D.

From dark data into the ligh

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment and maintenance. Database performance on terabytes of data right out of the box.
What do you dislike?
It would have been nice if we could have integrated with our LDAP environment. Permissions on DDL functions were difficult to hand out as those were locked to the DB owner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The data was too large to be able to have any real insights into. We tried other columnar data stores and HDFS sorts of stores. With those we spent a lot of time trying to get data with no results. We stood up Vertica and all our data was available, clustered, highly available. We were able to gain insights within moments and continue to grow that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it! Get the free trial. It is worth it.


    Gambling & Casinos

Vertica Big Data

  • May 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is a analytical database 100% ANSI SQL that performs very well for large tables. Data load is incredibly fast and it is very easy to operate.
What do you dislike?
Updates are slow because columnar architecture, but you can replace with delete-insert.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Vertica as traditional Data Warehouse and Big Data experiences.