Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 12.0.1-0

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

156 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Experience to worked with vertica cluster database and administration with the glassbeam product.

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this product due to simplicity but powerful and easily scalable features in it
What do you dislike?
At that time 2010 when worked for Glassbeam product what was my observation is very less technical support and not very well GUI interface which actually not help to managing all the nodes .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Used for storage realtime analytics data with very high volumn
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely great product for Big Data application


    Banking

Superb experience

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed performance, user friendly. Very innovative way of handling complex data
What do you dislike?
No cons till now. Mainly users UI TO BE improved
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Procurement domain and banking domain. Trillions of data rows with complex business logivs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Superb database


    Telecommunications

My Views on Vertica

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance and data reliability along with ease of architecture
What do you dislike?
while using on premise, extending or limiting to size and maintaining cleanups was bit hectic
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
analysis and data to information.
aggregates, snowflake architecture
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If someone wants high performance and much more analytical functions then one should go for vertica


    Marketing and Advertising

Vertica Database is Easy to understand AS RDBMS

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Since it is columnar database, its different from RDBMS and its saving data as column fashion, so while reading data instead of reading row, it will read column and it will be faster while giving less IO on Disk
What do you dislike?
lack of HIgh concurrency, Vertica can improve in with its concurrency transaction.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
since its transaction happen in memory, its way faster than RDBMS DB.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Since Vertica is the in memory columnar Database, read transaction for milion data fetch will be faster than Other RDBMS DB, mostly people will use this DB for productbase business.


    Piyush K.

Complete Value for money

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Supports a super fast information retrieval.
What do you dislike?
The GUI is a bit old fashioned. Can be implemented in a good manner.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Analysis and monitoring of applications.


    Computer Software

Fast and Easy to Use

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query Execution Speed, Best Database for Transaction System
What do you dislike?
Can't Write Store Procedure and Function
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Store huge amount of transactional data in shorts of time. Best benefits is projection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Add PL/SQL functionality


    GURJIT S.

Vertica review

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Columnar access to database. Fetch records fastly then row based
What do you dislike?
Only accessible on servers. Would like to see it in UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Dat files to vertica database and then access to SAS


    Bipulsingh K.

If you have bulk Data to process and heavy processing load then vertica is a good choice.

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
we have machine learning and NLP work, I like the most about is I can do much Regular expression and Data cleaning directly in Vertica. We can create our own function which is most helpful thing.
What do you dislike?
For simple crud operation with some joins query could be faster.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Regular expression at Vertica level I personally used the most for my profesional work. And our team is using it work various machine learning work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for ETL solution then give a chance to Vertica. Performance is good and maximize performance for work related to big data.


    Vandana B.

Vertica review

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's extremely helpful for fast querying on the reporting side involving TBs of data. We had migrated same data to newer streaming dbs which did not perform as well for the large data. It's easy to learn and implement - uncluttered and simple ! System tables are easy to read to understand underlying workings.
What do you dislike?
Tuning is developer centric. Which means performance heavily depends on the developers decisions and knowledge. Conditional Updates not possible for alrge datasets - db crashes
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sub second performance benchmark are met and nice integration with dashboards
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Awesome for sub second performance for huge datasets.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Vertica the high performance DB

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's performance, scalability and it's ease of use.Its reduced data storage is another great feature. It is IO optimized DB
What do you dislike?
Pricing, supporting procedure would be a good option.Deletion is slower in vertica
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helped in our huge volume and query performance issue which was a pain in traditional DB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please go ahead with vertica as it is one of the best DB for analytics.A POC will help in judging it's advantages