Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica by the Hour, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 11.0.0-3

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

108 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

Fast and scalable database for enterprise data warehousing

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s the best database in terms of loading the huge chunks of transactional data and it’s very fast in doing so. It’s availability and consistency is good compared to other databases in the market right now. Due to Ksafe feature, data is almost every time available for the users.
This is my personal view on the database version I worked on
What do you dislike?
Expensive and few resources to learn more about the product apart from few tech blogs and the documentation comes from Vertica
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Banking domain, we were using for generating customer reporting for business users


    Animesh S.

Vertica: Present and future relevance

  • November 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed, Vertica is very fast to use and easily compatible with SQL Workbench tool which helps development , testing , debugging very easy. The columnar structure is the optimum solution for reporting. It is one of the fastest MPPs to work on.
What do you dislike?
The updates are a show stopper in Vertica, they are very costly.
The Projections and order by clause for better resource utilization are not hasslefree.
MemSQL provides a better solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is an advantage on Teradata and Oracle, it is much faster and reporting to iPhone apps works like a charm. The projection provide an easy way to optimize without changing the base tables and thus increases scalability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Vertica for Reporting


    Anshuman S.

Genuine review for Vertica users

  • November 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like it most because it's different from all other regular database. It's a columnar database while others are row based. So searching is easy if DB size is very huge.
What do you dislike?
It's little bit costly compared to other Db.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was using it for data mining. We were using mostly for creating report. It was very quick.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend to other users if they want quick output but their budget should also be high.


    Information Technology and Services

Strange to see every time query output time was exactly same

  • November 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast omputation time.
Very fast to retrieve the output of the query submitted.
Logical representation of the column database.
Good database at the presentation layer for reporting projects.
What do you dislike?
Not easy to write procedure or scripts on vertica
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps us to replace Teradata as database over the presentation layer for reporting to users.
Very fast in computation and almost same data retrieval time which is hard to see in Teradata helps us to move to Vertica for the reporting layer for over project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want the fast computation time and looking for a data base who can go with any technology.go for Vertica


    Telecommunications

I've been working with vertica for 5 years already. very happy.

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
very powerfully , fast , scalable database
What do you dislike?
sometimes it is overkill for small systems.
Pooling is not always makes the difference
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using it as production db and DWH. It performs good for those porpuse.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
sure


    Sheetal C.

Columnar storage datawarehouse on cloud

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MPP architecture
columnar compression
high performance
What do you dislike?
Data size limitations
high pricing
limited options for querying clients
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data warehouse, backend for BI and Analytical tools


    Telecommunications

Vertical Great Performance

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data loading is faster.vertics supports big data
What do you dislike?
Performance wise slow.it can't support in memory operations
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data Analytics 1M dollars saved
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it to handle billions of data


    Banking

Vertica is a powerful tool for Data ware house technology. I have been working nearly 2 years.

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance and robust. Excellent clustering technology if one of the nodes crashes automatically it will regenerate a new node.
What do you dislike?
I would say there is nothing we can say dislike and this is a wonderful product for DW.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly this has backup issues other than that I never faced any issue.


    Marketing and Advertising

this is very fast DB, good column compression and since it's SQL it is relatively essay to use

  • November 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
fast aggregation for bid data
no downtime when you add new column to existing large table
good compression
good function documentation
What do you dislike?
some time the optimiser is not good it may select to not the best way to get the data, and this is not that simple to improve the query.
join with large table are slow
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
analytic aggregation over very big tables


    Computer Software

Great analytical database, great performance.

  • November 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like performance and volume of data it hold.
What do you dislike?
Node goes down or crashes in occasions and need manual intervention.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using as Analytical database to store data in fact and dimensions tables for reporting purposes.