Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

HashiCorp Consul packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 1.12.1-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

23 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

Using consul as part of container service

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I admire that Consul is relatively easy to operate. It is compliant with cloud-native standards which helps to integrate it. The best is that it can be seamlessly used with other Hashicorp stacks like Nomad and Vault. The essential documentation and tutorials are for all Hashicorp products sufficient.
What do you dislike?
I miss the documentation for fine-tuning and guidelines with troubleshooting scenarios. The REST API's of the consul are sometimes a bit inconsistent. I would like to see more docs/blogs regarding operation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Consul for keeping clusters of Docker nodes discoverable and observable. In addition we are using Consul together with nomad. In addition Consul kv store is used as storage for Vault.


    Deepak C.

Consul: Best in class service discovery

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Hasicorp does everything right in terms of SaaS products, and consul is also on the same path. This is one of the best, if not the best service discovery tool out there. The main benefit of consul is that, it can be used in polyglot architecture as well which is not bound to any specific language.
What do you dislike?
Although consul is best for polyglot architecture, but it's SDK for java is a little hard to understand, also auto discovery is not as good as Eureka. UI could have been a little better for consul
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well, in microservices architecture we all have to use some kind of service discovery so that load balancing can happen. In our project we are serving multimillion traffic through this consul. It's UI should have been a little better. But seeing the polyglot support nullifies the UI downside


    Computer Games

great tool better than zookeeper

  • March 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its cluster system way how it worked and worked evenly if one main node turned off
What do you dislike?
some time documentation on the website are not sufficient when cluster goes offf
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
central server and my whole application runs on this


    Education Management

Service Discovery is your need?? Consul has got your back!

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Out of the box service discovery features. DNS management.
What do you dislike?
Less documents on integrations with other popular third party softwares and use cases to use in cloud native environments
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using consul in our on-premise servers to design highly available infrastructures


    Education Management

Best service discovery and DNS software in market

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the service discovery feature and ease of registration services of consul.

Also the secure DNS service provided by consul
What do you dislike?
Third party integrations are needed with most of the open source software
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We create a self healing highly available webserver with consul


    Information Technology and Services

best service discovery tool out there!

  • October 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Service discovery, ease of learning and ease of maintenance
What do you dislike?
Third party application integrations are limited
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has helped us create highly available infrastructure and applications


    Sachin A.

Consul is best service discovery tool which helps in designing HA infra

  • October 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Consul helps us in defining the infra with HA and fault tolerance
What do you dislike?
third party integrations should be readily available to databases and other open source cloud native tools
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have designed HA webserver's and databases with consul
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Refer to documentations for quick help on Consul. docs are good


    Aman M.

best service discovery tool in the market

  • October 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Consul helps us in creating a highly available infrastructure based on top of premptible VM's
What do you dislike?
Lack of third party integrations with popular open source tools
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are creating a HA Infrastructure with consul for webserver's and databases


    Financial Services

Consul has best service discovery features and enables total automation

  • October 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Consul helps in service discovery and sets us free to operate on other aspects of automation. Automatic DNS is very notable experience IMO
What do you dislike?
Consul has a vibrant community support however I would like many third party applications so that we can integrate our favorite tools with Consul
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have created a highly available, self healing Infrastructure with Consul. Without consul it would have been a complicated tasks with scripts and other CM tools


    Financial Services

Bringing Consul to Large Financial Enterprise

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity of implementing service health and mesh across an entire organization.
What do you dislike?
Initially we had some challenges getting the documentation we needed to train employees to use consul
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We solved the problem of securing services across the entire organization. It was extremely helpful to know which services were interacting with each other and being proactive instead of retroactive when we run into issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
After putting in the upfront work, we saved thousands of hours in potential issues down the line and our executive sponsor is THRILLED by what we did.