Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MySQL

Jetware | 170503-mysqld_5_7_18

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,458 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Richard B.

MySQL is a very novice tool to do a lot of great stuff with data.

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite thing about MySQL in general is that it is very easy to code in. I have a lot of "new to coding" members on my team, and I find that using MySQL to code has helped them to pick up quickly. For example, the coding is very straight forward to English when using the expression "WHERE VARIABLE LIKE '%WORD%'".
What do you dislike?
My biggest dislike about MySQL is when you run a line of code that fails, the error message is either vague, or way too long to explain what actually happened. I have coded in R, and it explicitly tells you what is wrong, where with MySQL, sometimes you have a weird error message that you have to google, but the error only showed up because you forgot a comma or something simple like that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are working with big data. We are using MySQL to house all of our data, and this has been very good for us because MySQL works VERY fast with very minimal time out issues. We have been able to pull massive reports, build stored procedures, views, and tables to help us solve business problems through our company.


    Dino K.

MYSQL Review

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick SQL database implementation, open source.
What do you dislike?
Data corruption can happen if cheap drives are used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cheap, low rent, open source database to drive most applications for the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need larger scalability consider using PostGRES or Cockroach


    Prakhar G.

Structured database to use

  • October 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is likely to be the best database for MySQL. It has many obstacles. In addition, it provides security, system wide compatibility, reliability, redundancy and more for users. It has a good password protection protection enabled that keeps it secure and robust to use. It has a good range of constructions that can be used to create any type of field that can store URLs, images, text, numbers, here we will keep blank fields to fill later, which is the default or Can be set to zero or blank.
What do you dislike?
MySQL is the best database to use for every level of work, it can be either beginner level or master level. This provides a good service, but sometimes it limits the user to usability by entering the same exact data defined under the field. Also this field does not support multiple inputs at the point of instance which causes the creation of some more tables to handle the data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Recently I have been involved with some django related project, where there was a need to set up a database to handle the data which should be secured and easily accessible data should be managed in future. At that time I used mysql because of the well-connectedness between compatibility, reliability, structured behavior and constraints. Apart from this it also allows to store a large dataset and can be accessed in no time. It also provides a good range of security algorithms, on which data will be protected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As I have discussed about it's wide usage it will definitely help to reduce effort and data linking time usage. Hence it would be recommended to use for the wellness and proficiency of the project or website.


    Information Technology and Services

Great tool for Medium sized Businesses

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easily Manageable
Easy to learn for a beginner
What do you dislike?
Restrictions on Table Sizes and Schemes
Tuning is somewhat complex
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is mostly used for debugging and tracing of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is best suited for organizations where dataset is not large enough but is easy to install and easy to find tutorials related to it.


    Information Technology and Services

Best tool for Structural Query language

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best thing about MySQL is that we can fetch the data from single line of code and can find diserable query.
What do you dislike?
The thing which I disliked is that its commands doesn't match with others tools like postgres and sqlite.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem of finding the specific data from bulky table data can be done using MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended others to use MySQL


    Animesh P.

Best RDBMS to start with

  • October 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's the best and one of the simplest RDBMS for a newbie to get started. I started learning this when I was early in school in my undergrad. To date, this remains my favorite.

The query and its syntax are easy to learn and grasp for a newbie.
What do you dislike?
Well, there is nothing that I dislike about it. I used it in my grad school as well. At first, I was unhappy that it did not have a graphic based interface but then they came up with Microsoft workbench.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whenever you need to store structured data, it offers a one-stop solution. You can store bulk data and it offers very easy management of this data. It is one of the most widely used databases for enterprise applications.

While I was in my previous organization. I had built a monitoring application which provided real-time monitoring for business-critical applications and underlying infrastructure. We used to store all monitoring data into MySQL and then retrieve this data for reporting. Without this database in place, there could be no way in which we could have provided reports. Not only could we store reports but also we could retrieve data as old as 12 months. We later did have a data warehouse in place which stored archived data. But MySQL was a critical component in the performance of the application as well.


    Timothy S.

Deploy cloud-native applications using the most common open-source platform in the world.

  • October 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MySQL provides a very basic graphical user interface. I love it because it's not hard to understand the roles and commands. Also, the other best thing I've experienced is that it's got very full and quick import and export tools. Another favorite aspect that helped me a lot is that there is a variety of helpful documentation on the web in various languages. On the other hand, it runs very well on Linux servers, which are the ones that we have in the company. Another major benefit I have experienced while using it is that It is the best method for building data tables to manage and archive data in a standardized manner. It is conveniently compatible with other app programs.
What do you dislike?
I'd say the biggest downside I've come across when using it is that MySQL does not support very large storage sizes efficiently. The main disadvantage for me is the size of the data and it creates an inconsistency when dealing with massive datasets. There are low output scaling and reliability problems. It also does not support stored procedures in versions other than version 5.0. Often it hangs quite a bit because of queries that return a huge number of rows. Also, I have found that it becomes impossible to move that huge database to another server. It is fine at an early point, but not long-lasting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MySQL Database Service is a completely managed database service designed to deploy cloud-native software leveraging the most common open-source database in the world. It is 100% developed, controlled, and sponsored by the MySQL Team.


    Computer Software

Open source, best in class

  • October 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its the best opensource database I have used so far.
Its capacity of holding a large amount of data and good performance makes it a popular choice.
It can be connected with multiple user interfaces like MySQL Workbench, HeidiSQL etc.
What do you dislike?
Due to large databases, sometimes its performance downgrades. To improve this there is much effort is needed.
It hangs quite a bit sometimes for queries returning large numbers of rows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By providing feedback to MYSQL blogs I have got positive response and seen improvements in the latest releases of MYSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best in its class. Highly recommendable relational database. By using it you will start loving it.


    Shubham S.

Best known tool to handle database

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best example used for database tools. It is an excellent tool for creating, deleting and manipulating data in a database. It is easy to use and very reliable in nature. It is an open source tool which makes it open to reach and develop new heights of development in the region. At the same time it is a bit expensive which makes it different from other devices and sets the best example for widespread use of devices.
What do you dislike?
Mysql is an efficient and optimized tool to use, but again despite excellent support it offers some relatively scalability issues that make it relatively poor to use in an open manner. Development in the database is not community-driven.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
During my final evaluation I have to setup an entire website to show the authentication and functionality of my backend code. And I relied on database SQL to deal with data. But sometimes a tool was needed to fix some errors in the data that would help me manipulate the data in the database. At that time I used mysql and found that it was very easy and attractive to use the tool in an easy and effective way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Wide usage and extensive functionality makes it a perfect and must tool to use for the developers. It is recommended to every kind of developer who deals with the databases.


    Rajshekhar S.

Best Suited Database Server for Student

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Some of the major advantages of MySQL include data security, on-demand, scalability, high performance, the flexibility of open source, reduce the total cost of ownership as you will use it to make your own server, it comes with 24x7 assurance and a lot of solutions available on the forum for a different type of problems.
What do you dislike?
MySQL does not support a very large database size as efficiently, it also does not support ROLE, COMMIT, and stored procedures in the versions less than 5.0. Transactions are not supported efficiently. There are some stability issues. It also suffers from poor performance scaling.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a full stack developer and MySQL is my first choice for the backend. since this is an open-source therefore I can use it for free and also it is way easier to access as compared to oracle. It comes with a server and a workbench, by which I could apply all the operations without writing a single query.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this to all students, developers who wish to work in the backend.