Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Discourse Container Solution

Bitnami | 2.3.6-0

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

54 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Religious Institutions

By far the best (and most affordable!!) option for community software

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Discourse is already amazing. Yet, the pace of development is staggering.

You can interact directly with the co-founders, developers, and the rest of the Discourse community at meta.discourse.org. That's something you probably won't get with any other community software!

As an open source project, the level of innovation and collaboration from multiple stakeholders appears to be well beyond what any private company could sustain.

Discourse is fast, modern, and easy to use. It can handle a small community and scale to work with millions of people.

It is incredibly simple to moderate and serve as the admin for a Discourse community.

The ability to integrate Discourse with other platforms is advanced and convenient.

You absolutely have to spin up a version of Discourse and try it out before making a decision.
What do you dislike?
Whenever I have a complaint, I can bring it to the Discourse community at meta.discourse.org and see if others agree. When the concern is shared, the Discourse team will work to improve the product within months. Any dislikes about Discourse get resolved in a relatively short time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is enabling us to bring together a global community, provide customer service, offer paid access to content, develop niche groups, and even run our intranet.


    Kimberly A.

Best for community solutions

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a open source software, where the main topics can be discussed orderly. It doesn't matter how big or small the project is, you'll find the adequate tool to find a solution and talk about it within your community or the people you want to reach. For example, you'll be able to do surveys, bookmark, chat and keep track of your main interests. It's not only easy to host, but also easy to follow up.
What do you dislike?
It's a relatively new forum, where people aren't used to the privacy terms, for example, private messages not being private to the admin. Also, constant updates means interface changes, you need to adapt.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Efficient organization between a whole group of people regarding an specific subject. Ease to contact other members and let them know what's going on at the moment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a helpful tool to organize your projects and give them a follow up. It doesn't matter if you are a business or not, give it a chance by adquiring the 14 day trial. Anyway, I do recommend to buy the licence as you will find this software the best for your community organization towards future and ongoing projects.


    Higher Education

Great way to email clients

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can use it for email distributing .
What do you dislike?
There is not much that I do not like about the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to get more emails out and interact with our customers more efficiently.


    Entertainment

Good service if you need another way to communicate...

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a nicely organized way to communicate in a forum setting. And the ability to attach files is nice. It has a free trial which is great. It's nice that it switches automatically to a mobile layout for small screens.
What do you dislike?
It seems redundant. I didn't feel it necessary to have ANOTHER way of communicating with people. It seems more social than technical.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was a nicely organized space to collaborate and it helped streamline discussions on a particular subject.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest trying it out if you feel you don't have a reliable way of managing projects and/or collaborating with coworkers already. It seemed redundant to me, but if you need a more organized way to keep information linked between users, this might be the solution for you.


    Apparel & Fashion

Streamlined Modernized Software

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to log on, summarizes and condenses threads, blocks unwanted spam threats, is modern and versitile
What do you dislike?
The pricing tiers are a tad on the expensive side
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Streamlining our needs in Marketing; i.e.: Direct mailers, etc. all while satisfying the needs in other areas so that we can focus on other main criteria for business
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and friendly software in which streamlines various needs - all while at the office or on the go


    Individual & Family Services

Connect on a whole new level

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that someone who is looking for my niche services can inquire about them here. Not only can they ask about them, I get a place where I can talk about what I do and what I can offer them. It’s where supply meets demand and demand meets supply. It also helps me and people like me to cultivate fans of what we do. It’s Hollywood for everyone else.
What do you dislike?
I wish it were a bit more colorful and eyegrabbing at first sight. It’s one thing to be searched but one wants to have the ability to really stand out from the rest.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reaching more clients has always been a huge issue for me. Discourse can help me with that by allowing a platform for me to say “Hey, this is what I do. Could this work for you?” So mainly for me it would be the networking aspect of Discourse that solves a lot of my problems. It also gives me a chance to outline exactly what I do and don’t do. I don’t always get to do that with a basic website or just a pamphlet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Discourse more than serves its purpose in getting you noticed and putting you in the right place to be noticed. It gives you an opportunity to be in your element.


    Hospital & Health Care

Open Source for Forums - Discourse

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Frankly that it's open source and easy to use. Plus I don't know of any other software or cloud-base program to handle communications and data in large group settings or forums. This was very helpful with a previous job. There are also a lot of threads you can add to keep information organized.
What do you dislike?
I never really understood the private message function. Not sure why I need it to contact administrators when I was handling a group meeting. Setting up mailing lists seemed to be too manual - not easy to upload IMO.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for client and group meetings to record data in an effective and efficient way. We did use in it in that way although then uploaded it over to Basecamp which was used on a more corporate level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It seems to have uses beyond group discussions and forums, which it is marketed as. I could see organizations using it as a communications tool much like Basecamp, Trello and others. But it does seem to be best use for communications and notes from events.


    Financial Services

A great product for creating a forum

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Discourse is easy to use and allows users to communicate easily and efficiently which is vital. Members can come together in one place and ask questions, answer questions, as well as get help and assistance when needed.
What do you dislike?
It takes a bit getting used to and I don't think its as organized as it could be. It seems that questions can pile up quickly and it almost feels like I am swimming in unread emails. The navigation takes a bit of practice.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This has helped our business come together and streamline communication between various business lines. It has also provided for a central place to ask questions and seek help and guidance which the employees find valuable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to practice and learn the navigation and how the software flows and is organized. It will take some time getting used to but once properly implemented it can become a valuable tool for employees.


    Government Administration

open source discussion platform

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Private and Public Threads make it possible to have as much transparency, privacy
What do you dislike?
Mailing List Mode is very powerful but it's a bit tiresome to set-up consistently 
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Conversations can be tracked easier without the risk of being lost in a sea of messages as people tend to construct their posts more carefully than on any workspace messenger.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Discourse is perfect for communities and basically the best forum software out there. 


    Chris N.

My Discourse Review

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Probably the best feature of this software is its being open source. Allows seamless integration into other platforms, and lets you customize it to fit your specific needs, which is a unique feature compared to other similar softwares.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes managing the thread can lead to disarray and makes it a bit disorganized. The organization of the thread can use a better format.
Additionally, some features require external integration to be added in order to function.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I was working with a dozen other people in a research lab, it naturally lead to many Google docs and hundreds of files and documents all over the place, but discourse helped us organize all of them into one single forum and it allowed us to keep track of where things were and what we were discussing without having to scramble to find the corresponding Google Doc! Saved us a lot of time and effort overall.